The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 45

Reviewer: SunshineDate: 2005-06-05
Reviewid: 123342Chapter: 1
That was wonderful. I hope everyone reads it and takes a closer look at the punctuation in his/her stories (and anything else that might need to be reviewed, of course.)

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115654Chapter: 1
Very Enjoyable. As a solution to part of the problems presented, I tripped over a couple of fairly novel ideas for stories. Thanks. Unfortunately, I am a reader - not a writer.

Reviewer: BAGDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101578Chapter: 1
was grate, you should do one with the Marauders.

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98547Chapter: 1
You see! This is why you stay with Hufflepuffs! They are nice and mellow, they are happy to have anyone writing about them! Diet Dew is all I need to deal with them :)

Great fun here, a nice way to skewer the usual run of cliches and predictable writing (even mine eep!)

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98528Chapter: 1
that was a really neat story thanks for the smile

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97960Chapter: 1
Oh my, that was hilarious (even though I'm slightly disturbed to discover I've used no fewer than [i]ten[/i] of the plot devices in question myself ... ow). Particularly love Harry's "I think I'll go to America and be a professional mourner" line -- and the thought of Hermione lending him all those Greek tragedies :-)

Reviewer: Miss Stephanie D.Date: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97957Chapter: 1
Every time I read this story, I laugh. Your observations of the lowest common denominator are very astute.

I like your parallel with Dickens, and how you divided the topics by spirit: Harry, plot; Hermione, stereotypes; Ron, character. You built up your points very well.

On top of everything else, this is a well-written story with great descriptions. Thank you!

Gramercy,
Miss Stephanie D.

P.S.: I have saved a copy of Harry Potter and the Sixth-Year Cliche on my desktop and I refer back to it as I write my fic -- just to make sure that I am not visited by the spirits.

Reviewer: Hitchhiker's Guide to the GalaxyDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97849Chapter: 1
HAHAHA, hilarious!!

<“Of course I want it, I’m not mental.” Ron shook himself. “And quit writing me as always calling people mental.” Mincot hastily erased a word on her page.>
Seriously, a lot of ppl have trouble getting Ron into character so they just say "bloody hell," and "mental," and "git."

<“Something that has description and conversation mixed in—that isn’t just line after line of dialogue? I mean, we can hardly keep it straight—how can you?”
Hermione looked puzzled. “Umm, which one of us was just speaking?”
Mincot-the-person had been stroking Mincot-the-cat, and hadn’t noticed. In the end, they decided that it must have been Bella (because of course Ron couldn’t say anything smart unless it was Heartfelt Wisdom …)>
Thanks for bringing up that point, I HATE it when there's this long page of dialogue and you can't tell who's saying what. I also hate it when everyone assumes Ron is totally brainless, just because he's lazy and a bit clueless... ;-)

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93969Chapter: 1
Oh, marvellous. Marvellous.

Reviewer: spiffyjamDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93065Chapter: 1
How true! Is there an original plot to be had?

You did leave out the AU fics including, but not limited to, if Peter hadn't escaped, if Sirius had been proven innocent when Harry was 5 or so, if someone had different parents than we knew or if someone we knew had a kid they didn't know about who decided this was the perfect time to make themselves known...

And, of course, the American exchange students who come to Hogwarts even though there are perfectly good wizarding schools in America (where else would they learn Quodpot?)

This piece is wonderful; if only my flu time resulted in something so fun to read! I love Harry's Rocky Horror references and the Texan DAY-am (oddly enough, we've been known to say that here in Ohio, too) And this piece did manage to be original to boot.

SJ

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92025Chapter: 1
I'm all for the gin - I mean, the Marauders.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92018Chapter: 1
Well that was just like reading a very funny version of the Pensieve--from the Pet Peeves thread to the Grammatical Discussion thread--but with some-- er--special guests and a little local color thrown in for fun. Glad you could make something of your time spent in fan fic. land.

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91936Chapter: 1
Omg, this is awesome! It made me laugh out liud, cliche stories are my favorite! Everything you say is *so* true, I loved it!

“That’s the point. That doesn’t seem to be anyone’s goal, my happiness. They all want me to be immured in sorrow. I am having a horrible, terrible, no-good, very bad life, and I think I’ll move to Australia.”

DON’T call us that!” they snapped, in perfect three-part harmony.

^heh heh Good job!
~July

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91925Chapter: 1
Eats, Shoots and Leaves...cackle.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91845Chapter: 1
>>“Don’t tell me. You want to see the scar,” the boy said with heavy sarcasm.<<

hee hee...we're off to a good start. ;)

>>Although this was Georgia, after all, where kids started with Bud from the cradle (and some of them through the umbilical).<<

Oh dear, that's so sad... :P

>>"You were going to make me suffer, right? Make me brood about Sirius? Feeling guilty, angsty, and so depressed I couldn’t do more than lie on my bed and twiddle my toes and whimper? Make me fret endlessly about not using Sirius’ mirror?”<<

What, does Harry really do that in 6th year fics? ;)

>>"I mean, there’s wallowing and then there’s wallowing!"<<

asd;flasdj;alaf;a;dlfkjadlk

>>So, confusingly, Mincot sat on Mincot’s lap and started to purr.<<

tee hee hee

>>“Just tell me you weren’t going to have me work out my differences with Ginny. I’m doomed to take notice of her this year, I think. She’s either hauling me up short for self-pity, or being the only one who knows how to let me heal. And either way I start noticing that she’s …” His hand made a vague gesture at his chest.<

Oh, you naughty, naughty thing! *dies*

>>She found herself wondering what Rowling was going to have left to write. <<

I actually wondered that myself, until OotP came along and blew everything out of the water...

>>Mincot looked up and sternly quelled her inner fangurl. Or Fangurl, if one wanted to use fanon punctuation.<<

Kids are napping...must not laugh...kids are napping...must not laugh...

>>“I’d have a lot more time for Ginny—okay, yes, I’m emotionally clueless, but I get a lot fewer colds that way and life is less complicated!” Harry said, glaring meaningfully at Mincot’s legal pad.<<

Now that I think of it, it WAS you that spearheaded "Killing Ginny", wasn't it! :P

>>“Umm, Trio?”

“DON’T call us that!” they snapped, in perfect three-part harmony.<<

*really dies* dsfasdakd;lkfa'd;laf

Comic genius! If the Marauders do happen to stop by, I want detailed notes. ;)

~Katinka

Reviewer: ShriyaDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91615Chapter: 1
*GRIN* lovely. especially the ending- like The Outsiders, ending where it started...

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91610Chapter: 1
Oh, MAN! Canopus, you caught me fair and square. You're right: I mispunctuated "Eats, Shoots & Leaves" by adding the American comma to it. So much for being a careful researcher!

But I'm glad you liked it--and that the bit about Snape's hair amused you; I have wondered about that, & so put it in ...

Boo--yes, it is a satire ;). Of course fanfic is not going to be original--in fact, original fiction is not always original, and why should it be? Shakespeare stole quite a lot .. but in the process of his treatment he made the stories his, until someome else came along and used the themes in his or her way ... There are a LOT of great sixth year fics out there that have some or all of these elements, and why not? They are all extrapolating from the same source. It's just when you read a lot of them in a very short time ... ;)

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91604Chapter: 1
LOL Mincot!!!
Ahhhh...parody. That was hysterical. Truly.
.
"I am having a horrible, terrible, no-good, very bad life, and I think I&#8217;ll move to Australia."
*fangurl squee* I remeber that book!! I do! Alexander, right? Gosh, it's been foreverandever.
.
You really cracked up with Snape's cyclical oilyness--the urge to analyze was so Hermione, and yet the analysis was...well, SO unexpected. *snort*
.
I also loved the question: &#8220;Umm, which one of us was just speaking?&#8221; It peeves me to no end when I have to count my way back through lines of dialogue to the last tag to figure out who is speaking. Then sometimes it doesn't come out right and...URGH!
.
I hate to be picky in reviews, but you've driven me to it with your poking. Consider this a return poke in the same spirit of fun. There is only one comma in "Eats, Shoots & Leaves." According to my copy (which, I cringe to admit, I did not even have to leave my chair to consult), the second, "Oxford" comma, used in a simple construction like that, is a Yank thing. Hermione must have been caught napping, failing to britpick Mincot-the-person for that one! Incidentally, I hope I didn't just offend your inner Texan. I use "Yank" in the longitudinal sense only, I swear. ;)
.
Keep 'em coming--we love it!
~Canopus

Reviewer: Christina KeimigDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91601Chapter: 1
This was such a fun read! The punctuation has been driving me absolutely bonkers! Especially the apostrophe's in the wrong place!!! <grin>

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91559Chapter: 1
I gigled so much when I read this fic my husband came in to see what I did :-D

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91543Chapter: 1
Attack of the characters! With cats. Love it!

Sirius as Godfather... I dunno, there's something to be said with the vision of Sirius in a pinstripe suit and fine Italian shoes, cigarette dangling from his mouth, clutching a gat, and looking tough. :-D

'Well, they don&#8217;t torture people by singing atonally, but they do play together' - Singing atonally is torture enough for me, I'd definitely want to run away. 'Bellatrix and the Death Eaters' has a rather nice Garage Band feel, don't you think? Perhaps they could play backup to Kiss?

Hee-hee! Mincot the kitty sitting on the legal pad is just too perfect! Nothing like a kitty-butt-print to put the stamp of feline approval on things. And my boyz do the 'aggressive washing' thing to spark off a tussle.

Thanks for the tail (tale?) of woe, at least you got a story out of the visitation! And you're going to promise to Keep Christmas in Your Heart forever, right?

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91482Chapter: 1
I'm CRAXing up. This is utterly HILARIOUS! Great job, Mincot, especially on the last few lines!

-PQ

Reviewer: BooDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91475Chapter: 1
Satire. I'm correct in assuming that was Satire? This was quite interesting, definitely different, pointedly scathing, and does beg the question. Is there anything left for Rowlings to write? In all fairness, though, if originality were the key then it wouldn’t really be fan fiction. It is very hard to be too original and be respecting of the creator’s creations in the same breath. After all, have you been to fanfiction.net recently? There are some very originally bad stories there, if you can stand to lose a few IQ points in the process. Still, this was quite well done. You get a cookie.

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91472Chapter: 1
Wow--thanks for the kind words from all who have reviewed--very pleased to have amused you!! (As my inner Texas would say, Shucks DAY-am, folks, thanks! As Mincot would say: Mrrrrrrp! And as Bella would say, "Brrrratt." Thank you all for taking the time to review.

Sometimes I get a strange idea and it sort of grew like Topsy from there (rather like my part in the Murderous Hussies' "Killing Ginny"). I hope nobody whose sixth-year fic contains elements parodied here is upset--save for the grammatical pokes, most of the "cliches" are extremely valid and observant extrapolations from canon as we know it. There are an awful lot of absolutely excellent sixth-year fics out there--it was just reading all of them in one "swell foop" that made them seem ripe for parodying ... ;)

Hmmm. Maybe I should start reading lots of Marauders stories at once ... ;)

Reviewer: rosmerta16Date: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91463Chapter: 1
Wonderful work! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it! It's good to know I'm not the only one who gets annoyed by fanon punctuation, and all the other cliche stuff in there was hilarious. Please write more!

Reviewer: IsabellaDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91431Chapter: 1
Loved it. So hilarious.

Ron and Hermione aren't sharing sinuses (laughed at that for like half a century) in my fic. Yet. But all my reviewers want them too. Poor primary characters who are not part of a trio and are real people, not characters.

I think we all can't help but have some non-originality in our fics. So maybe you could go back and uncross some of those things on your list. I find Harry as a tae kwan do genius thing quite the amusing image. Maybe Mincot-the-cat could make an appearance. How many of them would have expected that? Ha!

Great stuff, put me in a good mood. Keep writing, cuz you're a terrific writer (and not just comedy-wise, although you're brilliant at that).

Isa ~8)

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91395Chapter: 1
*unleashes the Inner Texan for a moment* Day-am! *hustles her away back to Amarillo*

This was hilarious. Great take on their reactions to fanfic. Brilliant, brilliant work. Love the supression of the fangurl, and your wordplay with Spirits cracked me up. Fabulous!

Reviewer: Midge WoodDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91389Chapter: 1
Hee! This was very amusing. I loved the characterization of the Tri...er, Harry, Ron, and Hermione, and their little complaints about fan fiction. "Be original" was sound advice; this, indeed, is original.

God Bless,
Midge

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91376Chapter: 1
Oh, LOL! I just finished writing Jack Ichijouji that I loved his twisted mind. Love yours too! And how about all the pregnant-teen-still-in-school-H/G stories? Add those to your list! :)

Reviewer: nana hedwigDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91372Chapter: 1
Wow! That's really fun to read...and tell me about my worries if JKR actually would read fanfics...there are some nice ones, though, but yes, to find one...hard task. So your approach is very refreshing, thanks a lot for writing it!

Reviewer: phoenix arcDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91368Chapter: 1
i loved this piece so much. i loved the grammar mistakes. i laughed so hard when i saw the "been there, done that"

I would LOVE a marauders sequel.
LOL

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91351Chapter: 1
OMG! that was hilarious! some of these fic writers really do need a visit from the primary trio (i won't name names...) this was great! especially Ron and Hermione talking about their love lives. "Hermione, I love you, but we snog so much I think we’re sharing sinuses, you know? I’d like a break from the mucus." as much as i love R/H, it's so true! great job! you really made my day!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91339Chapter: 1
Hilarious. Riddikulus. Funnius.
:-)
I almost felt guilty, laughing at this. All those poor cliches that you poke fun at...
I really, really enjoyed this. I won't bore on about my favorite lines, because I can't decide which I like best...
Wonderful job! I hope you write more soon!

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91338Chapter: 1
Very funny. One of my favorite lines:

"At least you didn’t mispunctuate their name, as well. I get so tired of living with the Dursley’s."

The unnecesary apostrophe appears everywhere in fanfiction, and it drives me crazy! Thank you from a fellow grammar fiend. :)

And I'd like to add that after so many British stories (understandably), it's nice to see your inner Texan coming out.

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91335Chapter: 1
I really shouldn't be reading this at work -- sure, it's my lunch break, but I keep having to stifle my giggles and people are going to start looking at me funny!

So much funny stuff, but let's honor this one as my favorite bit: “Anyway, Harry, all that proves is that not only is the transformation easier than people have said, but that only fewer than ten people were stupid enough to register themselves.”

And I love the cats.

Stock up on the gin and have a conversation with the Marauders, please!

Reviewer: Heleen.Date: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91318Chapter: 1
I feel so wrong. O.o

What am I supposed to do now?

Niceeee job though- very...er- confronting?

Reviewer: Shooting starDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91313Chapter: 1
very original! and VERY funny! I don't normally read parody/cliche stuff, but im glad i read this one! lol....
"Mincot looked up and sternly quelled her inner fangurl."
wow....you managed to contain yourself, i think would have fainted by the time ron got there....

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91312Chapter: 1
Haha, that was really funny! Good choice of things to parody, and the grammar jokes were great.

“I learnt to punctuate properly, Hermione, long before that book appeared. But I can write “Malfoy’s” if you really, really want me to.” She stopped, and then said, “On second thought, I don’t think I can." --Yes! Finally someone who knows not to put that apostrophe there! I feel your pain.

She heard a loud pop!, and looked up. A scrap of parchment had appeared in mid-air over her desk and was floating down toward her. She opened it, and saw the words “been there, done that” in handwriting that somehow (magically! She thought) conveyed utter boredom. --haha

I, too, have read Eats, Shoots, and Leaves. I found it quite interesting, personally. But then, all my friends call me Spellcheck, so I suppose it's not really surprising.
And in conclusion to this not-terribly-well-written review... I loved this story, if only for the grammatical jokes. Those aside, the concept and such were quite funny. Thank you for livening up my morning!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91294Chapter: 1
A bit long, I thought, but clever and funny.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91282Chapter: 1
phenomenal!!!!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91276Chapter: 1
Just as well I had advance notice about this, and had finished my coffee and my lunch ...

I am not sure how many people will attempt a 6th year fic after reading this hilarious commentary on all the cliches. But it's a shame you couldn't work the "half blood prince" or Mark Evans into it all (nudge, wink). Love the boys' efforts at 'noticing' Ginny and Hermione, and Harry's attitude to the constant angst and grief post 5th year.

I do not wish youre health to suffer, but if a bout of 'flu can produce an effort like this, perhaps you should spend more time with certain "Snuffles" and sniffles LOL.

Alkari

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91274Chapter: 1
&#8220;Something that has description and conversation mixed in&#8212;that isn&#8217;t just line after line of dialogue? I mean, we can hardly keep it straight&#8212;how can you?"

Hermione looked puzzled. &#8220;Umm, which one of us was just speaking?&#8221;

Mincot-the-person had been stroking Mincot-the-cat, and hadn&#8217;t noticed. In the end, they decided that it must have been Bella (because of course Ron couldn&#8217;t say anything smart unless it was Heartfelt Wisdom &#8230;)

LOL! This was funny.

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91271Chapter: 1
That was so wonderful. “And, Hermione, I love you, but we snog so much I think we’re sharing sinuses, you know? I’d like a break from the mucus.” I laughed SO hard at that. Great job, please please please write one about the Marauders!

Reviewer: JuliDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91260Chapter: 1
What a great piece of fan fic. I laughed so hard and after the day I had, I needed a good laugh. Thanks for making my night.

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91259Chapter: 1
"Mincot surreptitiously crossed out another idea she had had for the sixth-year fic. She found herself wondering what Rowling was going to have left to write."

Well, that sums it up! I wonder about this too!

" Harry nodded glumly. “What the fanfic writers don’t know is that I made a deal with Rowling. She’s invented a heretofore unmentioned but highly known potion that completely blocks my thoughts, which I can take and forget about things. Of course, it leaves me a little wonky and I tend to pull a Lockhart from time to time, but it is better than dealing with Remus’ angst, Dumbledore’s apologizing, and Snape in general. It helps with the depression, too. Of course,” he added, thoughtfully, “most people think that Remus is getting … ah … comfort … from Tonks, so I suppose he’s okay on his own"

Ha-ha - great job. I feel like I had some of that potion!
Cheers!
Insanity

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --