The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Styling Nightmare
Review(s): 45

Reviewer: SnorkackCatcherDate: 2006-11-05
Reviewid: 146076Chapter: 1
Very silly, but very funny too. Had me laughing out loud in places. :)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140366Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138470Chapter: 1
You know what I do now when I've had a bad day? I come here. I read your fics. It never fails. On this day, as you may have noticed, I have had a particularly bad day and have decided to review every single one of your fics to the best of my ability. I find I am running out of things to say. Although “Mullet! Mullet! Look at the mullet!” is something that I have said on numerous occasions. If you are a Mullet Hunter as my friends and I were (when you live in a small town in BFE you run out of interesting things to do fast), you may enjoy: www.mulletlovers.com

Reviewer: hey there delilahDate: 2005-12-06
Reviewid: 136803Chapter: 1
You're nuts. I love you.

Reviewer: CurlzDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121343Chapter: 1
Filius has a short temper!!!! HAHA!! ROFL~

That was really really fabulous!really!
I love it!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-12-09
Reviewid: 107368Chapter: 1
[Severus Snape did not make a habit of setting his head on fire.] Hahha! You always have the best opening lines! I absolutely love your style of writing!

Very funny. I love how Severus's mind kept repeating "Mullet! Mullet!" over and over again. You have this fantastic ability of making the absurd seem so normal.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102696Chapter: 1
That always happens, doesn't it? Not the whole hair being set on fire thing, but the most obvious characteristic about a person is their mullet. They could be a mother Theresa with Albert Einstein's mind, but if they had a mullet, forget about it. That last bit where you discussed what would happen in the alternate universe was really original. I love reading your stuff.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102628Chapter: 1
Hah! I knew it, evil hairdressers exist in every realm. Cherrs for the chortle.

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102598Chapter: 1
hahahahahahahah...........mullet, mullet, look at the mullet......nyngh.
ahhhh. great story, jack. it made me laugh.
angie
p.s- mullet, mullet, look at the the mullet...........hahahahaha.

Reviewer: SaeasDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102493Chapter: 1
Wow this was really funny! A very simple idea, but you made it excellent!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102476Chapter: 1
**wiping our eyes** The Mullet is truly the most heinous hairstyle known to not-so-modern man. This is brilliant. Brilliant! **run off to read the story again**

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97912Chapter: 1
And this, my friend, is the great tragedy of today's youth. "And since Severus couldn't quite remember the name of the man, 'Mullet' had remained as a temporary name." This is the reason I know people such as Little Punk Smoker, Twitchy Hair Guy, and Creepy Rupert, whose name isn't Rupert at all (as far as I know). Love the small details... don't skimp on the shampoo.

Reviewer: PhoenixWingsDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97757Chapter: 1
Rabbit of Love? Bwahahah. Thank you for making my return from Interlochen so enjoyable.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94221Chapter: 1
The house elf, Herbie, had been all right, though he did spend some time afterward vaguely wanting to be a dentist, and singing songs to that effect.
Hilarious!
“Mullet! Mullet! Look at the mullet!”
hahahaha!! Words can not express...Well actually they can:
I'm in love with you Jack! heh heh

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92793Chapter: 1
*grin* Excellent! Poor Snape... such a slimeball, with his head on fire! Does Louis use sheep-shears when he has to cut Hermione's hair? Oh, one nitpick, it's gonna drive me crazy otherwise, Flitwick has white hair. So that's gotta be his natural hair colour.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92591Chapter: 1
An amusing pontification.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92095Chapter: 1
Mullet, mullet, mullet, Severus' brain warned.

I'll have you know I almost cried laughing at this point. I was also drinking a can of coke. You probably have a good idea what happened. My nose is still fizzing slightly. In hindsight, perhaps I should have listened to Katinka's warning...

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 92005Chapter: 1
I'm so glad that *finally* someone has uncovered *the* leitmotif of the HP series. I'm talking hair, of course. Obviously Harry isn't the only character with that obsession, as your story brillantly "proves."
Some favorite lines:

<The house elf, Herbie, had been all right, though he did spend some time afterward vaguely wanting to be a dentist> and every year at the Christmas season.

<Most people found it difficult to describe him past the existence of the mullet, much in the same way that people can't remember what color the Elephant Man's eyes were> hmmm Joe Dirt also had a "french" name.

<abandoning his vulture hat> so glad he had a use for it.

Great ending.

I truly hope that Lockhart's haircare products dream and Snape's potion prowress will come together in a sequel. This is a weighty topic which needs to be examined more intently. Bad hair days in the HP world is a worthy topic for graduate study or one more funny fan fic.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91839Chapter: 1
This fic is truly bizarre, but in the best of ways. I grew up in the heyday of the mullet, so I feel a certain connection to the subject matter. ;)

>>It was all Potter's fault. Severus wasn't sure how, yet, but if experience had taught him anything, it was that he could blame Harry Potter for anything that went wrong in his life.<<

Of course! :P

>>Louis du Lapindamour was a graduate of Beauxbatons, and then Le Beau Institute, and can best be described as such: a connoisseur of Muggle culture, but approximately one decade behind. Thus, he had a mullet. Most people found it difficult to describe him past the existence of the mullet, much in the same way that people can't remember what color the Elephant Man's eyes were.<<

ad;lakjd;alkdj;fad

>>“Mullet! Mullet! Look at the mullet!”<<

Guess what I'm going to be thinking the next time I see one of these accursed hairstyles?

>>"It may 'ave been male pattern baldness."<<

*snort*

>>Mullet, mullet, mullet, Severus' brain warned. “No. You will restore my hair and I will leave. Any attempts to change my hairstyle will result in violence, bloodshed, and property damage.”<<

*snort snort*

>>Louis knew more about most people than was healthy for him. This was why the First Law of Le Beau Institute of Magical Hair Design was “The trust of the barber is sacred, and the tongue of the trusted must be well controlled.” The second was, “Don't skimp on the shampoo.”<<

Oh, dear...this falls under the category of "fics not to read while drinking a beverage or while the remaining members of the household are asleep." :D Thanks for a good laugh.

Reviewer: RomulusDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91729Chapter: 1
Cute story:) Just what color is Filius' hair I'm wonderin'...

Reviewer: Newbia The ElfDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91679Chapter: 1
This is funny, but there are some plot holes. Why didn't Snapes eyebrows burn?

Reviewer: DexDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91619Chapter: 1
After reading the last line:

hmm, I believe a joke so bad as *that* warrants . . . what was the phrase again? Ah, yes--"violence, bloodshed, and property damage."

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91547Chapter: 1
*sighs melodramatically and gets down to start kissing your feet again*

Such funniness!

Reviewer: sergeant majoretteDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91506Chapter: 1
"...he'd met with a mysterious and violent end. A bookend, as a matter of fact."

It's been quite a few years since I was in school; nether Strunk nor White had anything germane to say in the matter, so tell me: is this what they call a Shaggy Grim story?

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91484Chapter: 1
Hilarious as always, Jack!

-PQ

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91464Chapter: 1
I love this! It is too funny! I can see it all happening (and by the way, I love your a/n!) Oooh, I can't wait to read more of your work! This is funny!!!!!!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91418Chapter: 1
"The house elf, Herbie, had been all right, though he did spend some time afterward vaguely wanting to be a dentist, and singing songs to that effect." LOL! I have to say, that was probably one of the most demented fanfictions I have ever set eyes on. Not in a bad way, mind you. There is a difference between bad demented and good demented, and your's was most DEFINITLY good demented. Mullet.

Reviewer: NatashaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91393Chapter: 1
Mr. Ichijouji, you write brilliant, funny, and meaningful fanfiction. (Or, as much as can happen within the bounds of fanfic- every genre has it's limits.) But I must say, this is the strangest thing you've published on ffn or the Sugar Quill. I like it. Thank you for writing it.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91385Chapter: 1
“Mullet! Mullet! Look at the mullet!”

Brilliant, as usual, and absolutely hilarious. I wouldn't mind seeing the AU where his books were published.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91371Chapter: 1
::shakes head like Lockhart: Jack, Jack, Jack....you never fail to amaze me.

i swear you could write about any subject and the world would rise up in a standing ovation.

i loved his name: the rabbit of love? lol also the Law that said not to skimp on the shampoo.

still confused about Poppy's potion, but ok...

love the comment about flitwitck too. :)

you always make me smile...

Reviewer: pamrDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91370Chapter: 1
Mullet, mullet, mullet, Severus' brain warned. “No. You will restore my hair and I will leave. Any attempts to change my hairstyle will result in violence, bloodshed, and property damage.”

That one line made me laugh like a hyena. Excellent story and thank you for the nice healthy laugh. I needed that.

pamr

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91367Chapter: 1
*eyes twinkling merrily* I love your stories!

<"The house elf, Herbie, had been all right, though he did spend some time afterward vaguely wanting to be a dentist,"> and did he get to remove Abominable's teeth? LOL!!

Love love love your twisted mind!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91347Chapter: 1
Wow--this is REALLY funny! I can't even imagine how you came up with all the Snape-sarcasm. Brilliant!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91337Chapter: 1
You know, few people are able to nail Snape perfectly in just a few words. "It was all Potter's fault. Severus wasn't sure how, yet, but if experience had taught him anything, it was that he could blame Harry Potter for anything that went wrong in his life."
And the vulture hat - priceless. "Severus would have growled had he been the type of person inclined to growl. Instead, he sneered, and felt slightly better for it." That too is perfect; can you tell that I love a well-written Snape?!
I didn't quite enjoy this as much as your other stories (do you mind my saying that?), but you can always make me laugh. Good job!!

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91330Chapter: 1
*Snort* very funny! It took me a minute to place Herbie the Elf who wants to be a dentist, but now I can't get the image out of my head of a blonde elf yanking out the Abominable Snowman's teeth. Snape was pricelessly funny, too. Good job!

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91310Chapter: 1
this was great my favorite line was mullet'mullet'
look at the mullet keep them coming yours are the funniest storys on the quill and something tells me your not even trying to be funny

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91292Chapter: 1
"He was wearing smoked glasses and what Louis could only assume to be the only hat that the professor owned. For no other reason could Louis imagine anyone electing to wear a hat with a vulture on."

"Severus would have growled had he been the type of person inclined to growl. Instead, he sneered, and felt slightly better for it."

These two fragments absolutely cracked me up. I don't know how you keep coming up with this stuff, but really - outstanding! The one thing that's a bit incongruous is the ending. I think I see where you wanted to go with the tongue-in-cheek humor, but somehow the parallel universe joke was too abrupt. It felt like you jumped from a Rejto Jeno novel right into the Hitchhiker's Guide, and slammed the latter's cover before we finished reading the first page. (If you're not familiar with Rejto Jeno - who is admittedly somewhat obscure - I highly recommend looking up his books on the web. I think you'd enjoy his style.)

Reviewer: DustyDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91291Chapter: 1
Jack: You are brilliant. Your stories are ALWAYS guaranteed to bring at least a smile to my face (or usually gales of laughter - and queer looks from my children!)

Another excellent masterpiece. Don't you dare stop writing!

Reviewer: ZARADate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91289Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHAH ooooooy it was histriacl!

Reviewer: KristiDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91287Chapter: 1
"Most people found it difficult to describe him past the existence of the mullet, much in the same way that people can't remember what color the Elephant Man's eyes were."

“Mullet! Mullet! Look at the mullet!”

I love your sense of humor! How ever, I have to remember not to read your stories in a quiet house at 4am ever again. It is a miracle I didn't wake anyone!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91286Chapter: 1
LOL! Fun story; I really enjoyed reading it. There's just something about the word "mullet" that invokes a laugh...especially in connection to Snape. :) Great job!

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91273Chapter: 1
Tehe. I laugh. That was highly amusing. Louis of Loverabbit, hey? Was he born with that name, or did he change it to suit his profession?
Snape was absolutely priceless. I loved the vulture hat, and his calling Louis 'Mullet' and Louis's continuous attempts to change Snape's hair.

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91263Chapter: 1
LOL! I needed a laugh--nicely done! The mullet was priceless. You know, there are wild theories floating around that Peter betrayed the Potters because James convinced him to get a mullet ...

Reviewer: MagdaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91255Chapter: 1
I was wondering about the haircut issue the other day. However, I did not wonder in the brilliant manner that you did. I think you're possibly evil. Possibly a genius. Possibly one of the most talented fanfiction writers out there. Possibly, probably, all three.

"Louis du Lapindamour was a graduate of Beauxbatons, and then Le Beau Institute, and can best be described as such: a connoisseur of Muggle culture, but approximately one decade behind. Thus, he had a mullet. Most people found it difficult to describe him past the existence of the mullet, much in the same way that people can't remember what color the Elephant Man's eyes were."

Possibly one of the funniest passages I've ever read in anything ever. And confirms my suspicion that I am not the only one in the world with a sick and twisted fascination with the Dread Mullet.

Reviewer: RedDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91249Chapter: 1
This was a wonderful piece! I never wondered about a haircutter but you are right, I wouldn't be surprised if there were a Louis the barber somewhere in Hogwarts.

"Everyone knew that Filius had a short temper."

Pure gold.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --