The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Borrowed Heaven
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114640Chapter: 1
Finally a story where friends can just be friends; and well written too. Thank you.

Reviewer: Sicilia.Date: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92436Chapter: 1
Exceptionally cute!

Very nice, good characterization of the Weasly sibblings, as well as of Hermione and Harry.

Pretty piece.

Thank you for writing it, I look forward to reading any other work by you.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91759Chapter: 1
I think this was a great Missing Moment. A story like this doesn't really have a plot, but I thought your Ginny and HRH were quite IC. I liked how Ron is still somewhat clueless as how obvious it is that he likes Hermione, such as when he says "some people" like freckles, but is a little hesitant to admit that it was Hermione. And I can so see Ginny making a bet with Fred and George about it. I like the cute Weasley touches such as Ron in a tutu that Arthur brought home after collecting it in his work. The R/H bickering and Harry's exasparated response also seemed very IC. And is it my imagination or are you hinting at a bit of H/G by having Ginny choose to sit in the chair usually claimed by Harry? Thanks for making me smile, and even laugh. :)

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91682Chapter: 1
Good fic. Some things just don't match, though. For example, when Ginny teases Ron about his situation with Hermione, instead of blushing and denying it, he grins, which sort of implies that he acknowledges that he likes her. Later, though, you said Ginny wished they'd just admit it to themselves. Stuff like that kind of distracts readers' attention from the actual content...well, readers like me, anyway :)

Besides that, there weren't too many mistakes...a nice story in general.

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91591Chapter: 1
Great story! Very in character, and I really liked your Harry. You did quite well with him where others fail; he's not always yelling and screaming, though Ron and Hermione are always afraid of it at this point - I'm putting this rather inarticulately, but what I'm saying is that they all interacted perfectly. Ginny was wonderful, of course. You nailed her. Great story!

Reviewer: Hunter's MoonDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91522Chapter: 1
What a sweet fanfic. It really warms the heart! The portrayal of the bond between the Weasleys and Harry and Hermione was just...awwwwww.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91487Chapter: 1
Cute missing moment! Great job on characterizations.

-PQ

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91452Chapter: 1
Oooh! I love it! Will you write a companion piece? Do they meet down there again? It is really lovely!

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91433Chapter: 1
Very sweet. Keep Writing!

Reviewer: phoenix arcDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91387Chapter: 1
LOVED this piece. I was laughing so much at the idea of ron in a ballet costume that i got the hiccups. still have have them as a matter of fact :)

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91378Chapter: 1
What a wonderful little moment. I love getting to see each of them being normal for a few moments instead of the constant rush they are usually in. Love the image of Ron in a tutu, and Ginny bouncing off trees.

"This heaven was borrowed, but hopefully it would soon be hers to keep." Brilliant line. Well done!

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91362Chapter: 1
Oh, very nice. Nice relatively peaceful interlude in the middle of their chaos. *round of applause*

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91272Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this. It was a nice, light, entertaining little fic that I really liked. Keep writing!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91266Chapter: 1
>>Ginny made a mental note never to let Hermione decorate a house.<<

tee hee hee

>>“Yeah, I know. I just wish I’d stop.”<<

That's okay, Ron -- some of us like tall and lanky. ;)

>>“Well,” said Ron hesitantly, “she didn’t actually say she liked them, just that she thought they were very…individual.”<<

Ah, that's sweet. I can just imagine his ears turning red as he says this.

>>Hermione flushed slightly and smiled, taking the proffered seat and relaxing into it, taking care not to let any part of her touch any part of Ron.<<

LOL, too funny! I remember acting much the same, back in the day.

>>Sitting together here, in this borrowed heaven, this escape from the trials of their lives, she felt…yes, she felt comfortable, and even safe in the companionable near-darkness.<<

A very sweet, wistful, and friendship-affirming story. Well done. :)

~Katinka

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --