The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Malleus Maleficarum
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-26
Reviewid: 137669Chapter: 1
Delightful

Reviewer: LellDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120452Chapter: 1
I was browsing the professor's bookshelf, and the title alone caught my eye, for I had to use the Malleus Maleficarum to work on a project last year. I was curious to see why a fic would share its name, and your fic definitely did not disappoint! Wow. I can just imagine the inflection the narrator would use to tell this story--it's spooky, I tell you. And in that universe, very likely, too. Thank you for the wonderful read. I absolutely love your style--I'll have to go check out the rest of the work now.

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118352Chapter: 1
This is the Grey lady, right? I think I've read this fic all ready but I never reviewed so I will now.
This is awesome. I like how you write it as if she's telling a story: it makes it all more haunting, especially the last sentence. I like how you don't name names; you keep it all very... well, theoretical, but that's not really what I want to say. I mean, by not naming names it all seems more mysterious or something.
I actually went "What? But-- No! They can't do that. they're her family!" when they captured her. And when she says she's not sure whether she died on the rack? *shivers* This is a really good fic.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102669Chapter: 1
Well, since the forums are down, I figured I best get caught up on my reading. I've read this story before, and it sent chills down my back. It is a high quality analysis of what witches and wizards, especially Muggleborns, would have to go through. Generally, like when Sir Nick explained it in OotP, or in the movie Casper, being a ghost sounds kind of sad. But with the Grey Lady, it seems like she may have made the right choice. I especially like this part: My pride, anger and resentment brought about the other reason. I could not force myself into an eternity with a Creator who would allow me to be abused simply for being what He made me. I never asked to be a witch, but I have never once been ashamed of it. I saw no reason that He should be shamed by the talents He bestowed upon me. I've read a story on FF.net about the Fat Friar, and I remember it being quite good. It answers the question no one's thought to ask, which is Why would a Catholic Monk be haunting a magic school? I can hunt it up if you're interested.

Reviewer: ThrenDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102072Chapter: 1
Every time I read this, it just blows me away. To echo many others: wow. Just... wow.

Reviewer: mistyDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101949Chapter: 1
awwwww. But then again, what do we really know about the grey lady. Fascinating.

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100949Chapter: 1
woah. that's so cool even if it is sad. I love libraries ;)

Reviewer: HelenDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100608Chapter: 1
Lovely work. Well written and nicely composed. I liked the (mostly) contemporary voice you have given your narrator and the little details you have included to fix the events into an historical context. Plus, I think someone else said this already, but it is brave (and smart!) of you to address the position of the Christian Church in it's opposition to JKR's Magical World.

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100563Chapter: 1
Wow! Well done! My only question is, where did she stay for the summer holidays? Amazing work!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99993Chapter: 1
Oooh, Frankie! An overall outstanding effort! I loved everything about it--the language, the tempo, the fact that it's not a frightening story, but a story about a ghost. Nice little twist!

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96461Chapter: 1
This is really good (though rather depressing). It's a very interesting idea on why the Grey Lady stayed, and I think it could be true. I can imagine her telling it to young Ravenclaws (for some reason I keep thinking after the sorting). I haven't read anything else by you, but I will now!

Reviewer: SailoranimeDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95725Chapter: 1
Wow... just... wow. What do you say to a story like this? It was very well written, and definitely realistic. The emotion's very strong, and the lack of dialogue doesn't take away from the story as I thought it would. Once again, Very well done!

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94005Chapter: 1
How terrifying... it's really well done. There aren't too many horror stories I've read in the HP fanfiction world, but this one is really brilliant. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I assume this is about the Grey Lady? Because it is a very good explanation of why she is as she is instead of happily passed on.

Reviewer: RoxanaDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93941Chapter: 1
This is a very well put fan-fic. I love it, and trust me, I don't love many fics.
I've read about that book, Malleus Maleficarum or Hammer of Witches. Written by German witch hunters in 1486 right? It's supposed to be a guide to identifying and prosecuting witches and stuff.
I really did like your story, and I look forward to reading more from you.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92304Chapter: 1
Very well done. I'm assuming that this is the Grey Lady? I love the voice and the back story that you've given her. Not many authors that I've read will bring up Christianity in their stories and how it relates to the wizard world. I think that it was very brave of you. Your discription of the attitude of the "church" at the time seems very accurate. The ending is sad and thought provoking.

I look forward to reading more of your work.

Peace,

Jenn

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92286Chapter: 1
Wow. Just.. wow.

You did an exceptional job of combining literary devices and a poetic vocabulary with fanfiction. I've never seen such a thing more beautifully executed.

Reviewer: LawesaDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92270Chapter: 1
Wow! splended writing. Before I read this story the only reason I could think of someone wanting to become a ghost was if you were afraid of the after life but your story gave me more insite on the subject.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92263Chapter: 1
Well, if the Gray Lady (that's who she is, right?) became a ghost, then don't you find it out of character for Sirius to not become a ghost? Oh, wait. Stupid me. Spirits who are beyond the veil are in the afterlife; he had no choice. Oh, well. Poor Gray Lady. I'm almost surprised she finds it so obvious she got into Ravenclaw, she's quite brave, isn't she?

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92232Chapter: 1
Wow... :( poor thing. It must be terrible - torn between knowing you are a witch, and knowing it's illegal to be thought of.

Oh, and dopestoinfinity - Do you *enjoy* threatening people?

Reviewer: CarissaDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92169Chapter: 1
This was quite good (in fact, I just read all your stories and enjoyed them greatly). I'm assuming this was the Grey Lady? The ending was quite sad, but very true, and it makes me feel for her even though it was her own choice.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92098Chapter: 1
Wow. Interesting story. It starts out quite funny, like this:
>>Mother bossed the servants around, pretended to tend the children, and spent Father's money with parties and extravagant feasts.<<

But it slowly turns darker, almost without the reader noticing. You're a really good writer. The end is just sad.

I like the references to searching for knowledge and Ravenclaw throughout the story. And then this line:
>>Death is a most fascinating voyage, but through my own choices made in pride and anger, it is the one piece of knowledge I have no chance of ever grasping.<<
Just brilliant.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92057Chapter: 1
Is this the Grey Lady speaking? The story takes quite a swift, brutul turn towards the end -- eep! Chilling, but it gives a compelling reason for why she might have chosen to become a ghost. :(

~Katinka

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --