The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Because I Can
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136483Chapter: 1
Cute

Reviewer: Jack IchijoujiDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97907Chapter: 1
I wonder if you get pulled over mid Apparate. "What the hell? This isn't London." "Sorry sir, license and registration."

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95630Chapter: 1
Tee-hee! Poor Arthur! At the same time, however, I found some grain of truth in the way you depicted their relationship. Great job.

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95248Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness, what a great story. What it lacks in length, it more than makes up for in content. I love your attention to little details, like the way Percy refers to his mum and dad as "Mother" and "Father". Overall, your choice in his wording is spot on.

I definately got a giggle out of this:
"If you have to cram, your test’s a sham. A wizard who waits—“ But what happens to a wizard who waits?? :oP

I also really enjoyed:
“Mum hasn’t cooked sausages for breakfast in three and a half years.”
“Maybe she should. I like sausages.” -It was amusing and a lovely example of their relationship. I like how Percy switched to referring to Molly as "mum" and Arthur's comment was just right. So easy to imagine him saying that.

And this just has the makings of being the next "Sweet Merlin!":
“What does that have to do with the price of asphodel in Queerditch Marsh?”

Great job!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93428Chapter: 1
An excellent story, Deborah Peters- I appreciate its humour and GoF (I think) tie-in.
I especially like this bit:“What does that have to do with the price of asphodel in Queerditch Marsh?”

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: MadelineDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93374Chapter: 1
Your characterization here really was spot-on. I love the way you portrayed Percy and Arthur's relationship, because it really is a precursor to their future distant one. Excellent job.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93284Chapter: 1
What a great missing moment! Loved your characterization of Percy. . .I think his constant chatter and his continual admonishons that he's NOT nervous were great. Oh, and the bit about apparating downstairs every morning! Arthur was also well done, though the last sentence read a bit wonkily to me. Fabulous idea about the disappearing doors! Wonderful, wonderful work.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93248Chapter: 1
"   Percy looked scandalized.  “Father!  Last minute revising means first minute failing.  If you have to cram, your test’s a sham.  A wizard who waits—“"


I was laughing out loud at this! Nice one-shot, as usual. Very cute missing moment, I can't say I've seen one like this before.

-PQ

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93093Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwwwwww cute...

Reviewer: BlitheDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93056Chapter: 1
Poor Arthur, I can just imagine how much worse it would have been if Percy hadn't passed his test.

I enjoyed your story, I don't think I've ever read one about an Apparation test before, so good job on originality, among other things :).

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93034Chapter: 1
::cracks up::

Debora Peters, that was *marvelous*. Thank you for bringing back a bit of the lovable Percy.... you captured his nervousness, Arthur's patience, everything wonderfully.

I loved the disappearing door and Percy's wondering about the smudged license, but my absolute FAVOURITE line had to be:
Well, son, if you want me to help you do some last minute revising…”

Percy looked scandalized. “Father! Last minute revising means first minute failing. If you have to cram, your test’s a sham. A wizard who waits—“

“Percy!” Arthur exclaimed, waving his arms in defeat, “I get it! You don’t need to revise for the exam.”

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! "if you have to cram, your test's a sham!" HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

plus i liked the bit about sausages. very much the kind of conversation Percy needs to deflate himself every once in a while. ;)

brilliant!
~TPR

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92927Chapter: 1
This is hilarious! I love how Percy acts! You should write how the rest of the family gets their liscence, I love it! Good job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --