The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145111Chapter: 1
Really Quite EXCELLENT. Thanks

Reviewer: marauder4everDate: 2006-02-26
Reviewid: 140303Chapter: 1
Nice sequel.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110158Chapter: 1
Oh, the snow globe...I want this to be a *movie* just so I can see that scene. (But Thewlis *cannot* be Remus, please!)

The relationship between Briget and Remus is great. (When Elias calls his present "expensive" and he says it wasn't, I grinned. Spoiling her, Remus!) And what she says and avoids saying makes it so clear how she's feeling.

This is a lovely story!

Kit

Reviewer: pogoDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101535Chapter: 1
Very nice, although I guess I should have looked at your other stories before leaving a review for the first part of this one ^ ^. I still wish to see how Connor would have reacted to the full story behind his wife's dissapearance.

Reviewer: LesaDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98651Chapter: 1
I was delighted to see that you were writing a sequel to this story. Great beginning and I'm looking forward to reading more.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95861Chapter: 1
This was wonderful! Thank you for this. It was great to see Bridget and Remus together again.

Reviewer: kathleenDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93960Chapter: 1
I loved this story. It was very sweet. I hope there is another one on the way for us to enjoy!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93387Chapter: 1
I do love Bridget. I was so glad to see this update. I like that Remus is so emotionally invested that just walking up the drive stirs him. I think you did a good job of showing that and not telling it.

Lovely work - as always!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93379Chapter: 1
Another excellent story! I'm really, really liking this. I would love to see a continuation...please? Pretty please?

Again, another fantastic job.

Reviewer: Sarah GarguiloDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93376Chapter: 1
Beautifully written, wonderful character dynamics. Your talent continues to amaze me, Chris. I can't wait to read more...there IS more, right?

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93230Chapter: 1
I can't tell you how long I've been waiting for this story, and it was worth the wait! How I've missed Bridget! You have a way of writing her so that she jumps right off the screen at you; she's so real you're almost able to scoop her up and give her a hug. :) I admire how you handle her point of view, particularly with regard to her understanding of her lycanthropy and the memory of her mother -- she can be in turns astonishingly perceptive and brutally (although never maliciously) frank in the manner of children her age.

>>Elias shot a glance over her head at Remus. "It's always a pleasure to meet someone who knows proper respect for their elders."

"Well, Daddy says it's important to be nice to old people." Bridget pointed in the direction of her father, oblivious to Remus's attempts to hide his laughter.>>

Hee!

And the dynamics between her and Remus are simply a delight! I think there's something about Bridget -- and you! -- that bring out a certain paternal quality in Remus that we rarely see in fanfiction, but which makes him so much more genuine as a character. As is Elias -- both wonderful fairy godfathers for Bridget. I'm so pleased that Conor finally relents to allowing them to help her and take her under their wings for her schooling. I'd certainly like to read more about her Hogwarts days -- I wouldn't mind setting aside reading time to sink into *that* as a series. ;)

Well done! You should be so proud of these characters you've given birth to! And thank you for sharing them with us! :D

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93214Chapter: 1
I very much enjoyed your Moondance series, and this is right up there with it. You have a smooth writing style, with a nice flow to it. I smiled when I read this:

"Not such a child! I'm seven now. That's practically ten."

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93187Chapter: 1
I'm so glad to see you've started up again! Your stories are charming. I love seeing Remus in this role.

Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93154Chapter: 1
i love this series of stories. throughout it, you've really captured the indignant attitude of a seven-year-old. "Not such a child! I'm seven now. That's practically ten." it would be great if you could write a sequel to this. maybe about when she goes to hogwarts. :)

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93127Chapter: 1
Thanks for writing such a wonderful story. It was so nice to read about Bridget again. She has to deal with so much more than a seven year old should, but she's doing a splendid job. And then there's her very supportive father. Great job!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93106Chapter: 1
This is so great. We all loved Bridget already, of course, and I love her even more now. I was very disappointed, however, to notice that this is not the first chapter of a proper sequel! We. Want. More!!

Right. Something more sensible. I really loved the stirring stick. Stirring coffee with a wand! Hilarious. I also love it that Amanda did magic to safe her child from death, and that Bridget made that connection now. I love the snowglobe with wolves. And Paddington. It's all just brilliant. Thank you for writing this, and I hope there will once be more.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93059Chapter: 1
I loved "Moondance," and I'm so glad you wrote a sequel. Bridget, Elias, and Conor are great OCs, and Remus is completely in character. I particularly like the scene where Bridget asks Remus if what she did makes her a bad person. It's so believable, and he answers in just the right way. And then the way he enchants the snowglobe is very sweet.

Thanks for this one. :)

Reviewer: AzaeliaDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93040Chapter: 1
AWWWW! I love it!! I have been dying for a sequel to Moondance ever since I read it for the first time. You have Remus down perfectly in terms of characterization, and you have created such a sweet little girl, I can never get enough of reading about them! Please please please say you'll write more eventually! I can't wait to read more, should the opportunity arise!
:-) Azaelia

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93039Chapter: 1
Beautiful! Should O join the others begging for a sorting story? That would be lovely!
Thank you!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 93015Chapter: 1
Beautiful, just beautiful. :) I was so excited to see this posted!

>>"Well, Daddy says it's important to be nice to old people."<<

LOL, that's just how a child would see it!

>>A stricken look washed over Bridget's face and her eyes seemed to be trying to convey a thousand messages at once, none of which Remus could discern. He started to reach a hand toward her, but she stepped back a pace and offered him a manufactured smile. "Horses take a lot of time and trouble. So we decided not to keep them anymore."<<

*worries, worries, worries* I'm scared to find out what happened, although I can guess.

>>Bridget looked up at Elias with an expression of hopeful enthusiasm. "Are you here to help me?"

Remus silently took notice of the eagerness behind her question. She was too fervent. Something was wrong.<<

*worries some more* You've got my Mum-o-Meter in high gear!

>>"I would have called you just to make sure you knew the time and date...but you're a hard man to find, Remus Lupin. No listed phone number, no address, not even any mention in the government records I was able to get my hands on. So what did you do when you left here back in October - disappear from the face of the earth?" Conor seemed to be making the question playful, but Remus picked up on the same urgency he had heard in Bridget's voice earlier. "Or does your address have to be top secret?"<<

Ahh...Conor suspects something.

>>She wondered if Remus would be upset with her. Part of her felt sure that he would be very cross and maybe even want to stop being her friend, but another stronger part was sure he would just feel sad for her. It was hard for her to feel afraid of Remus.<<

I just breaks my heart that Bridget would feel ashamed over something that she has entirely no control over. :(

>>"I opened the door and let her out. I had no choice. Icarus was out in the yard, barking like mad..." Bridget felt her eyes well up with tears and covered her face with her hands. She hoped with all her heart that Icarus didn't know it was her.<<

*hugs Bridget fiercely*

>>"She stopped me from falling down the stairs! I thought it was a dream, but it was real. I know it was. I was falling from the top stair and then Mummy was at the bottom and she yelled something and I just stopped falling and stayed frozen where I was. She ran up the steps and picked me up and hugged me."<<

I love how Bridget runs in and shouts that. That's what my daughter does when she's been mulling something over in her mind.

>>"Wolfbang Potion"<<

as;dofja;sldkfja;lsdkjflasjflajdf

>>I would stay calm. I wouldn't be in danger of hurting anybody. I would still be Bridget inside.<<

*sniffs*

>>"Can I have my own stick?"<<

Hee! That's just how my daughter would ask for it herself!

>>She looked down at his hand and saw the traces of scars. She didn't meet his eyes. "Does what I did make me a bad person?"

He put his hand under her chin and lifted her face. When she looked up, he wasn't smiling, but his eyes were clear and shining. "No, sweetie. You never would have hurt Icarus. It was only when the wolf lost the Bridget inside that it could do such a thing."<<

*dabs eyes*

>>After a while, one of the adult wolves lay down in the shadow of a tree and the smallest wolf, yawning, curled up against its side and fell asleep. Bridget's eyes closed and she drifted off to sleep, where all the dreams waiting for her were very sweet indeed.<<

Ahhhh....well woman, you've made me cry. Thank you for sharing this sweet and beautiful story. Bridget seems entirely real, and I'd love to see more stories about her. Bridget's sorting, perhaps? :D

~Katinka

Reviewer: MikeDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 93003Chapter: 1
Beautiful, as always. I don't suppose we're going to get a Bridget-at-Hogwarts story?

Reviewer: LizzieAnnDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 93001Chapter: 1
This story is absolutly wonderful! I loved it! Thank you for both these great stories!

Reviewer: NandiniDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92995Chapter: 1
Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for writing this. I've been recommending Moondance to everyone who cares to listen, I've loved it ever since you wrote it.. and I've always longed for you to write Bridget's discovery of magic. Maybe you can write something showing her first signs of magic too? But this is brilliant, as usual. I love your Remus.

Reviewer: Jessica V.Date: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92964Chapter: 1
INCREDIBLE!!! I love your stories. The imagination is wonderfully, expertly woven together with human emotion and your stories are really nice to read. I love how you can make your adventures really suspenseful, magical and touching when there isn't a overly dramatic storyline involved.
PLEASE write a fic about Bridget when she goes to Hogwarts!!! That would be absolutely incredible to read.

Reviewer: Kelley PaystrupDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92865Chapter: 1
Well done, JiminyC. I'm looking forward to another Bridget story soon. KP

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92862Chapter: 1
I never wrote to say how much I enjoyed "Moondance" but I'm so glad to hear more about Bridget. Loved it!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92843Chapter: 1
Oh, I was so excited to see a continuation of "Mooondance", and it's so nicely written! You always use wonderful imagery, I especially loved the last paragraph and the parallels between the two wolves and Remus and Bridget.

Do you have any more plans for Bridget?

Reviewer: BelitaDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92835Chapter: 1
Oh what a lovely end to the story!
Though, I must say you still leave me wanting to read more!
Simply lovely.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --