The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Phase of Courage
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-03-28
Reviewid: 141414Chapter: 1
For the reviewer who said "aw, how sweet"- Have any oneof your children ever been terribly, horribly hurt? As a parent who's child has had that kind of hurt, it tears a great, bleeding, gaping wound in your heart; that you'd do ANYTHING to helpyour child and there is NOTHING THAT YOU CAN DO, except be there, and hold her hand and cry with her.

This is one of the best short stories that I have ever seen. Not as in entertaining, but as being so insightful, and so intuitave, and so heart breaking, and brave. Thank you.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118829Chapter: 1
Nice MM

Reviewer: Max InfeldDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94748Chapter: 1
I have found you, now found me.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94196Chapter: 1
Wonderful, I don't think there are too many stories out there about Remus's mother. I like your repitition of how she said: "Because she was courageous. Because she'd been a Gryffindor."

-PQ

Reviewer: MoonpawDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94136Chapter: 1
My god...I am not one to cry, I swear. I never cry during movies, I don't cry when people leave or anything like that. Once or twice I got teary-eyed from something on TV or that I read. But this...No, I didn't need a tissue, but my eyes got wet. This piece was just incredible. The emotions just came right through my own heart and I feel his pain. You did such a good job here. Keep up the great writing!*blinks back tear*

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 93996Chapter: 1
"...or else in his room, meticulously tearing things apart to find out how they worked." What a great line! I can so imagine a little Remus meticulously prying apart some little kid wizard toy and poking at the insides. Fantastic characterization.

And his mother, oh my goodness, the poor woman. I felt horrible for her. This story clearly illustrated why Remus was a Gryffindor. It's very, very good.

Reviewer: ElwenDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93984Chapter: 1
aww
that was really good! and so sweet, i can easily imagine a mother doing that for her son. i really love the way you write too. nice and easy to read, yet doesn't loose any quality. great job! ~elwen

Reviewer: marauder4Date: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93943Chapter: 1
oh my gosh! I loved your short story...It was really touching abotu a mother's love for her son.

Great job!

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93842Chapter: 1
That was just heartbreaking. In such a short story you were able to make me feel like I knew Rhea. Great job.

Reviewer: Nicole Clem.Date: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93823Chapter: 1
I great little story, to get an idea of Remus's childhood. I enjoyed it, and it was intelligently written. Bravo!

Reviewer: Too_Many_SoxDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93788Chapter: 1
wow interesting topic. not something i would have ever thought of. very good.

Reviewer: ~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrongDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93757Chapter: 1
poor Remus. hes the coolest!! its not fair!! GGRR to the wereolf who got Remus!!!

~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrong

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93742Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwww good story

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93624Chapter: 1
Wow. Amazingly moving and utterly heart-wrenching. I don't think I have ever seen a portrayal from Remus' mother's POV, and this was excellently done. There were a few oddities with tenses I noticed, but the raw emotions you have packed in this piece are incredible. Thanks so much for sharing this!

Reviewer: BroxyDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93533Chapter: 1
I have to admit that your story was a tear jerker...
But I loved it, so maybe you could write a second chapter or even a whole book on this because the first bit is AWESOME, I swear! lol!
Broxy

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93519Chapter: 1
One perspective that I never thought about was Remus's mother. It is insightful. He is inquisitive with an unending thirst for knowledge like his Ravenclaw father, and he has the courage from his mother.

It is particularly insightful to have the mother's sensitivity to her son's pain attatched to her courage. It makes a lot of sense.

I don't know if this is meant to be a one-shot or just the beginning, but I like this a lot. Very good job!

-----Miriam

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93498Chapter: 1
I... loved this. I especially appreciate how you made Rhea such a real person to us. Few pieces focus on his parents' reactions as opposed to Remus's, and this is wonderfully done. Thank you!

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93494Chapter: 1
Awwww...that made me sad. I really liked this. I don't usually read Remus fics but this one caught my eye. You made Mrs. Lupin's torment very real. Nice job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --