The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Proof of Birth
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: NonymouseDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118334Chapter: 1
Nice ficlet! Interesting idea, though, as you said, extremely unlikely.

However, when you say this -

'“I’m glad you listen to Hermione Granger at any rate” at the end of chapter 12, book 5, Bloomsbury (how did she know what Hermione told Harry?).'

She doesn't know, but she knows Harry wouldn't have worked it out, while Hermione would have. It's based on their characters, or at least that's my interpretation of it.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114287Chapter: 1
That was strange....and good. Before the Proffesor Weasley part I had suspicions that McGonogal was actally Hermione, lol. Glad to know my suspicions can be trusted sometimes :D. Nice work, even if it was a bit short ;).

~G

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111201Chapter: 1
this was good

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111050Chapter: 1
Bloody weird! i dont really like the idea, sorry, but its obvious that you've thought this through well, so Well Done on a really confusing story.

Reviewer: ChaosStormDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107487Chapter: 1
Update on the facts behind this story. Due to new info released on the JKR website we now know the exact birthday of Hermione. The discussion wether she was born in 1979 or 1980 had ended. It turns out that she was born in 1979 - making a little fact in this story incorrect.

Reviewer: Sandy PhoenixDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106733Chapter: 1
As you say, a far out theory but such fun, just the same! Wonderful little fic and I am glad I found it. Thank you!

Reviewer: BrianaDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103568Chapter: 1
Interesting! New point of view, I always liked those!

Reviewer: SiorsaDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101312Chapter: 1
Merlin travelled backwards in time, why can't Minerva/Hermione? And isn't that the trick with time-travel - how much, if anything, do you tell?

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100950Chapter: 1
wow. that is creepily interesting

Reviewer: puddleduckDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99089Chapter: 1
I love these crazy theories about Ron being Dumbledore and Hermione being McGonagal (not so crazy about the Harry being Tom Riddle one but its interesting). At first I was completely suckered in but now I regard them warily, they are fun though!

y the way this was a good fic! It was sad how she lost her family- I would've liked to explore that a little more but then you get into way angst ridden teritory.

- puddleduck

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99080Chapter: 1
Wicked! That is so cool! Where do you come up with these things? You are a very talented writer. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98884Chapter: 1
This is the first of your writing that I've read. It's very intriguing! I hadn't heard of this theory before, but I'll keep my eyes open for future clues. You did a great job of showing the gaps in her memory and also how she struggled over what she did remember.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95069Chapter: 1
As you say, it's not a theory that seems likely...yet you did a wonderful job with it. Kudos.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95041Chapter: 1
Oh my -- what a great twist. I guessed she was Hermione as soon as you got to the bit about the broken hourglass, but that's just a testimony to how well you set up the clues. Haunting story, especially the detail about the gaps in her memories (it makes you wonder if she DID give into temptation, disastrously, over the Sirius Black issue!)

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94138Chapter: 1
to be completely honest, this makes no sense at all. Someone explain please? what theory?

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93888Chapter: 1
thats a really interesting theory....if you think about it, it works! :)

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93881Chapter: 1
Wow - so well thought out. I was completely baffled at the start, and things gradually began to piece together. Very convincing story, I must admit - makes the theory appear quite logical.

Thanks for sharing this! :)

Reviewer: theory isn't all the wayDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93855Chapter: 1
really cool, imaginative plot. only... McGonagall was highly emotional when Harry and Ron told her they wanted to visit a petrified Hermione because Hermione was her favourite pupil- obliging, clever, brave- reminiscent of herself in younger days, perhaps? she knew that Harry wouldn't have listened to Umbridge of his own accord and that out of the Trio, only Hermione would, so that was probably how she knew. Apart from that, COOL plot!

Reviewer: Edd WoodwardDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93807Chapter: 1
that was a great story. At the end I got goose bumps.

Reviewer: BrianneDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93771Chapter: 1
She knew that Hermione told Harry because Hermione is astute about such things while Harry is not. It's easy enough to look at that trio and see who's the brains of the operation. Plus, McGonagall was sitting at the High Table and could probably see Harry drifting off during Umbridge's speech.

Reviewer: DragonladyDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93760Chapter: 1
Well, that is an interesting theory...I don't support it either, but I do enjoy reading about it, especially since Minerva is quite possibly my favorite HP character. I like the way you've done this-you get the feeling that something's going on, but you don't find out what it is until the chapter's over.

Reviewer: ChaosStormDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93749Chapter: 1
Thanks for you comments so far, everyone. Maybe there will be a sequel one day, but I also want to get some more work done on Hermione's Summers right now.

Frankie: did you realize that, following this story, she would not only have taught her kids without them knowing, but even herself?

Too_Many_Sox: as you can see in the little text I wrote at the end of the story, I don't support the theory myself. No need to point out why it is unlikely. The most unlikely theories however, often make very nice plot bunnies. I would have appreciated more if you said that you liked or hated my writing than explaining why you believe this theory is incorrect.

Reviewer: Too_Many_SoxDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93716Chapter: 1
she knew hermione told harry because she knows the two of them very well having taught and graded them for five years and she is a smart woman. u could tell in the text that harry sounded like he was repeating something he was told and not something he had thought of himself. mcgonangall knows hermione's nature and knows she would have ranted about umbridge to hermione and ron. there is absolutely no proof whatsoever of mcgonagall being hermione. as for the thing about hermione being petrified, who wouldnt be emotional about two young boys separated from their friend for months?

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93712Chapter: 1
You know, I've actually thought that this theory is possible too, at least in fanfiction; I can't see it really being so, but I do find it interesting, and it works in fanfics, like this! McGonagall really does resemble Hermione in some ways, and she has spooked me out time to time, I'll admit. You explained this very well, and made the theory plausible, which was the best part.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93633Chapter: 1
What an interesting concept! I would never have thought of this, but it does bring up some interesting scenarios. What if she has to teach her own children, but they don't know it's her? Very interesting.

Nicely done, and definitely an interesting twist. I would love to see more of this!

Reviewer: Sergeant MajoretteDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93614Chapter: 1
I generally think time travel is about the lamest plot device there is and I was disappointed that JKR resorted to it, but it can make a cute little diversion if it is taken lightly, as you have demonstrated here.
Crisp, lightly flavored and not too sweet; think I'll make myself a cup of tea and read it again...

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93516Chapter: 1
This is no more absurd than Ron=Dumbledore and I think if it was continued you could explain how it happened:)

anyway very enjoyable read

Reviewer: mahavishnuDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93490Chapter: 1
Very well "turned" tale about time-traveling in the Potter Universe! Sometimes a one-shot can be more effective than an a multi-chapter story. You handled this well.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --