The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Guest Who
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124887Chapter: 1
Stepbrothers Series - Great works. I really liked them

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101898Chapter: 1
I'm getting scared. The Basilisk, the half-blood thing. I'm afraid Tom is heading down the wrong way.

On the other hand, I loved it that Tom behaved like such a normal boy in this chapter. I love the interaction between the two brothers, and I'm very impressed that you're still keeping the characterisation of both of them right.

Reviewer: MintonDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97044Chapter: 1
Why are you so underappreciated?! Why do you have so few reviews?! I think this is one of the most innovate AUs I've come across so far-- much better than the usual "What if Harry was a girl" or "What if Tom was raised by Dumbledore" clap trap I come across too far! And you even make me like the usually distasteful and annoying Hagrid in this fic-- no small feat, mind you! Bravo!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95824Chapter: 1
I could have SWORN I reviewed this when it was published. I did read it earlier. Hmmph. Ah well, guess I shall do so again. :-)

I love the absolute devotion these two have for one another, and I think it's wonderfully shown in Tom's jealousy over Xavier staying for the summer. It was also quite touching to see Tom's reaction to seeing Tavish for the first time since his sickness. Very nicely done.

Gus was a great addition to the menagerie, and I can definitely see Hagrid trying (and succeeding) to raise a griffin. Must have made Buckbeak much easier to handle! Lovely bit about having to be introduced to the plants as well. That was great.

As always, a lovely chapter. I can't wait for the next one!

Reviewer: The CorinthianDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94150Chapter: 1
Thanks for elucidation on the nature of Slytherins...no doubt the fine line between a Slytherin and a Gryffindor has and will be argued out in many chatrooms. Never mind. This story, though, is great. In terms of the writing, it is your best. The business of plot and character and conflict (oh,lord...I sound like my drama teacher) is well-done, and the business of the writing is solid and to the point. Your Tom and Rubeus are believable as the Tom and Rubeus we know, but they've got a life of their own now and could be any set of siblings. You guys have gotten really, really good!

Reviewer: MariagonerDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93740Chapter: 1
As always, another great ficlet. I love how deeply developed both Hagrid and Tom are: both are, and aren't, the people who know and love/loathe in the HP canon, and both are just wonderful to read interacting. They truly do seem like brothers who both love and irritate each other are various times.

You seem to focus a great deal on Hagrid's life at Hogwarts, and his social life. It would be nice to delve into Tom's issues as well... there's no doubt that he must have a few. Has he been confronted with being the Heir of Slytherin yet? I think you hinted at the Basilk in this one... hope it doesn't kill Myrtle this time around... though it might be nice to see Tom's reaction to that...

As long as you keep free of the dreaded Sues in the form of girlfriends (blegh!), I'd really love to see more about Tom's personal life.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93698Chapter: 1
"'Don't encourage him, Puggle.'

Tom immediately turned a brilliant shade of red and hissed, 'Mum!' as he looked at Xavier significantly."

HAHAHAHA! I loved that part. Even though it ended sadly:(, I don't think I'll get over that nickname soon. Puggle... hmmm, it even rhymes with muggle...

I think it is interesting that Hagrid has a very close friend (Xavier, whom I LOVE), but popular, older Tom-though, as I said, popular-does not seem to have a lot of friends around him ever, or even at all. More, he has people who watch him in awe, or in the case of the last chapters, who beat him up. I hope that we get to see more of his friends. If he has true friends.

I love this, and I can't wait to read more! Good job, as always!

Reviewer: ErikaDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93622Chapter: 1
I must say that I'm thoroughly enjoying this series. I find Tom rather fascinating. While the qualities that he's shown to have in the books are visible, we can also see how he's different from the boy he became Voldemort. Oh, and I'd like to say that I'm very glad that you didn't kill Tavish; I rather like him.

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93536Chapter: 1
Interesting ... so IS TR going to open the CoS his year? It does happen at SOME point right? And does he frame Hagrid? Or Weasley? Please write more!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --