The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 81

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133856Chapter: 1
That was absolutely adorable!! You are really talented. I couldn't stop squeeking - AW! Keep it up!!

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133570Chapter: 1
I keep attracting the attention of my family, by squeaking and squealing so loudly. Honestly, those last lines on this one made me laugh SO much...... I'm still laughing, woman. *Shakes head* A wonderful way to describe the Hr/R relationship!!! :D XD :) ;) Brilliant.

Reviewer: Lovers' RomanticDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133421Chapter: 1
Creative and amusing once again. Sums up the whole Ron and Hermione situation soo well. I loved the spoken part between Harry and Ginny!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133403Chapter: 1
I LOVE THE HARRY/GINNY ENDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: LuDate: 2005-07-14
Reviewid: 127116Chapter: 1
OMG that was awesome! I love it, how you paralleled them to chess and the library - brillant. Ginny's last line was the best "Damn straight." Honestly, you truly made me laugh out loud. Wonderful job!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124900Chapter: 1
Nice, Thanks

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111612Chapter: 1
Harry; This is going to take a long time, isn't it?
Ginny: Damn straight.
Hah! That's my favourite part.
Excellence, as usual. Did I ever mention how much I like your name?
Thankee,
Angie.
( I do hope that everyone notices that when i put in a playful review it's 'Angie' but when I'm sirius it's 'Angelina Weasley' and when I'm sad/sirius/thankful, it's 'AW'. Just a little note for the people who like to read reviews over and over again. Like me.)
(Woah, randomness. Feel free to email me,anyone at flamingbritchick@yahoo.)
(Er, sorry. Again.)

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111513Chapter: 1
Yes, I've reviewed this before, but just thought I'd share that I nearly got in trouble with my librarian today at school - I was reading this out loud to a friend of mine. I love this song, it's so adorably wonderful!

Reviewer: MicheDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111435Chapter: 1
I'm not sure if I've reviewed this before, but I think your entire "Hogwarts, A Musical" series is "bloody brilliant." I just wish I were this clever at writing songs.

Reviewer: herringprincessDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110537Chapter: 1
Sorry, one more thing. I just read one of your reviews says that 'reprimand' and 'withstand' don't rhyme in British English. As someone who has lived in various parts of UK I have to say it depends where you are. Birmingham, where I am orignally from, uses short 'a's (as in 'pat'), along with most of the north, whereas most of the south uses long 'a's (as in 'part'). For: stand, reprimand, bath, path, castle, laugh and various others...
Of course, if you are British as well, I'm wasting my time :-P

Reviewer: herringprincessDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110536Chapter: 1
Hiya. I really liked that song. Have you really written a whole musical? I'd love to hear the tune that goes with this. Can you borrow one of those digital dictaphone things? (Then you can talk or sing or whatever into it and upload it on the computer, my mate's got one.)
Alternatively, there are computer programs that let you listen to as you write music...it's time consuming to play with the note symbols till it gets to exactly what it is in your head, but it's what I used to do when I made up tunes (when I was at school, alas I don't have such a program on my own computer).

Reviewer: BlandsaftDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106308Chapter: 1
hahahaha it's great! loooved the ending, i can so picture it like a broadway musical! hermione stage left, ron stage right, harry and ginny sitting downstage in a dark corner and they're spotlighted at the very end......it's perfect!

and couldn't you find someone who is capable of writing down music and send them a recording or something of the sort? because the music would make it so much better. times 6.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106178Chapter: 1
This seriously is one of the more brilliant things I've read. I love this piece so much. Thank you.

Reviewer: Cannonsgurl90Date: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105747Chapter: 1
How funny! Is "Hogwarts, A Musical" on this site? I can't find it if it is.

Reviewer: jolene_xxDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103151Chapter: 1
The last two verses and then harry and ginny's lines are so touching and then so funny that i cant decide whether to laugh or cry. this is great.

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102290Chapter: 1
A very creative twist on R/H! I love the idea of a musical of Hogwarts and I love this little duet, particularly the way it's structured; waxing lyrical about each other and then ending up with their self-deprecating "that I understand"s.

And Harry and Ginny at the end! Hilarious!

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: ishieDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100649Chapter: 1
Brilliant stuff, that. I've been hearing about "Hogwarts, A Musical" for ages now and finally had a chance to sit and read. This is one theatre piece I would dearly love to see. Thanks for a great time!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99418Chapter: 1
Barbara, I just read this again, and every time I read it it hits me harder. It's just so beautiful, and Hermione and Ron are completely in character!

"She's brilliant, she's courageous
And she knows all the facts
And I really shouldn't tease her
When I know how she reacts.
While she's busy being brilliant
I just sit there, being bland. . .
            So, why she wouldn't want me?
            Well, that I understand. "

That was my favorite verse of Ron's, simply because its so RON.

-PQ

Reviewer: EchoDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99391Chapter: 1
I love Harry and Ginny's part at the bottom, it's hilarious! But you have to find a way to tell us the tunes, other wise it just turns to a sailor song in my head.

-Echo

Reviewer: silverstagDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99249Chapter: 1
I worship the GROUND you walk on! This is absolutly magnificintly spetacuarly BRILLIANT!!! *squeals*

Reviewer: Mostly HarmlessDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98476Chapter: 1
adorable!!!


Harry (spoken to Ginny):
This is going to take a long time, isn't it?
Ginny (spoken to Harry):
Damn straight.

haha! wonderful job!

Reviewer: Kobe GraceDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98171Chapter: 1
I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your songs. They're mighty adorable. That's all.

Reviewer: Daniel the LobsterDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98119Chapter: 1
O, that's a great song. I had very much fun bouncing in my chair singing quite loudly, glancing over my shoulder to make sure my sister isn't filming me for blackmail. Absolutely corking!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97842Chapter: 1
Hehe, I just discovered your treasure trove of excerpts from this Musical... Hrmm, why not send in the Lyrics (or AT LEAST the idea) to JKR, or Broadway, or someone or something. Lord knows someone would jump at the chance to actually make and produce "Hogwarts, A Musical." After all, the phrase "Harry Potter" and the word money are practically synonymous nowadays. ^^

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97816Chapter: 1
greatgreatgreat! i cant wait for Hogwarts, the Musical!

Reviewer: huffboy36Date: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97680Chapter: 1
And just before Harry and Ginny's comments, comes ... THE DANCING! ('cause you have to dance in a musical).

Think Singin' In The Rain, Music Man, Once More With Feeling ... (They got the mustaaaard ... OOOOUUUUUUUTTT!)

Reviewer: NymosyDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97425Chapter: 1
Two simple words: bloody. BRILLIANT. I clapped at the end of this, it was that perfect. Great job-you have their characters down to a T, and the song is written wonderfully. If you're not glowing with pride over this, then you had better start.

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97191Chapter: 1
Hehehe!!! This is just too cute. I really really liked Harry and Ginny at the end. Ginny's all, "Damn straight!" Hehehehehe.

Reviewer: ryoroowDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96308Chapter: 1
This is so GOOD! I LOVE it! Thank you! It would be great to do more songs!!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95701Chapter: 1
Oh, this was cute. And the snippet from Harry and Ginny at the end surprised me completely and cracked me up.

Reviewer: JuliDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94836Chapter: 1
very cute.

Reviewer: VashaDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94772Chapter: 1
LOVE IT!!!!!!

Reviewer: Daniel A. Thompson Jr.Date: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94743Chapter: 1
I intend to find you at an event some day and tie you down, putting a microphone in front of you, and force you to sing these lovely songs for us all. If I have to pay someone, I'm gonna get those tapes transcribed into sheet music.
Then I'll make a fortune for my [honorary adopted] daughter!
Your works are so wonderful, dear one; I truly think you should give thought to publishing these.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94147Chapter: 1
Yay! You updated yet again! My favorite lines/stanzas this time:


Ron:



She's saved our necks a hundred times
I haven't done it twice
When Harry needs some answers
She's got them in a trice.
She's pretty and she's loyal
And too smart to withstand. . .
            But her obsession with the library
            I just can't understand.



Hermione:



He's made us laugh a hundred times
I haven't done it twice
When Harry needs some strategy
He's got one in a trice.
He's brilliant and he's loyal
And his heart is there at hand. . .
            But his obsession over Quidditch
            I just can't understand.

I also love the Harry/Ginny spoken parts. And you said something about Hogwarts: The Musical...is that something real? If so, could I have a link? Or are you just referring to your work?

Anyway, great job--it really portrays R/Hr perfectly!

-PQ

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94141Chapter: 1
Funny! But uhh....When's hogwatrs the musical coming??

Reviewer: MiekeDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94131Chapter: 1
Such a cute song fic! Very nice!

Reviewer: TalimeekaDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94092Chapter: 1
LOL That's great! I especially love the end.

Reviewer: KatherineDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94048Chapter: 1
Hey! What a wonderful piece! You know, there's a good deal of works like this out there, but on many of them the syllables don't even begin to line up. I salute you! I'm a musician, and i wish i knew the tune - i'd write it down for you! ^_^ Great job.

Love from Katherine

Reviewer: ElshaDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94047Chapter: 1
I really like this - good characterisation and good rhythm. I can hear that there is a tune to it, even though I don't know it. I prefer that to reading a song written to a real tune I don't know, because then I feel like I'm missing things.

One thing I did notice - "demand" and "reprimand" don't rhyme with "understand" in British English (or Kiwi English, which is why I noticed.) But I don't think you can really count pronounciation as an Americanism, and it doesn't detract from the piece.

Reviewer: BeatriceDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93989Chapter: 1
Haha, that's hilarious! I really wish I knew the tune; I'd be singing this day and night! XD

Reviewer: kJDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93957Chapter: 1
Loved it!!! Done perfectly! also made me laugh! keep on writtin! sequel maybe!

Reviewer: Olivia BriteDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93946Chapter: 1
This is really cute and the lyrical rhyming is pure genius! You have a way with words. I enjoyed reading it and laughed at many verses. Good job.

Reviewer: MikeDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93925Chapter: 1
=D

Incidentally, if you wanted to send me a recording of you singing, humming, pecking out on the piano, playing on the rims of wine glasses any of these songs, I'd be happy to try to get them into MIDI or PDF form. Come fall I could even host them for you (I'll be at school, you see)

Reviewer: A Tired MumDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93905Chapter: 1
That made me laugh thank you so much you have no idea how much i needed that

Reviewer: cherryblossom08Date: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93901Chapter: 1
Bloody brilliant story! I love this...it's so funny...hahaha...You're a great author!

Reviewer: buzzfloydDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93900Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this! I could just imagine the tune in my head. Thank you - I hope you write more soon. :-)

Reviewer: RazzDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93880Chapter: 1
brilliant! can't tell you enough how much i enjoyed reading this. the idea of ron and hermione in song makes me giddy. oh, the possibilities. keep up the good work.

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93868Chapter: 1
As always - wonderful. In character and all that, but the best part is the sense of humour - and the last comments made by Harry and Ginny. Loved it.

Reviewer: Monotonous MaximusDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93854Chapter: 1
lol. Love Harry and Ginny's comments at the end. love the way ron and hermione start out in total bewilderment- then admit they like each other... lol. harry and ginny were right. it IS going to take a long time!

and by the way, i'm actually a girl. i just call myself that cos it's cool. so's purple, especially when it's blue.

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93828Chapter: 1
A great way to show Hermione's and Ron's thoughts about each other! I just love it!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93819Chapter: 1
I love this! It's a great way to showcase the pair's strengths, weaknesses, and blindness. The ending with Harry and Ginny made me laugh out loud. Wonderful.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: FionnualaDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93813Chapter: 1
OMG! That was just tooooo adorable! It stands PERFECTLY on it's own, but I'd love to see what you could do with a sequal!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93781Chapter: 1
hahaha! this is adorable! i love all of your songs, and finally, we get a light-hearted one! thank you!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93780Chapter: 1
Loved it! Particularly the add on from Harry and Ginny. I could see this continuing into an epic. Maybe even describe a situation, or a year for Ron/Hermione.

What about doing one on Harry/Ginny?

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93776Chapter: 1
Very cute!

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93770Chapter: 1
Adorable. The ending lines with Harry and Ginny put a big grin on my face. Excellent work!

Reviewer: Becky G.Date: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93715Chapter: 1
So beautiful! I loved every minute of it! It has very good rhythm and it's very in character. If Harry Potter was a musical this is exactly what they would sing. Speaking of which, what is this "Hogwarts, a Musical"? Is it archived by somebody else or is it something you're still working on? I simply must read it! Anyway, the speaking part at the end was hilarious. The only thing is I would have liked another chorus of, "So, why he/she wouldn't want me? Well, that I understand," sung by both Hermione and Ron in harmony. Bravo! Encore!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93709Chapter: 1
Oh! Oh--gasp! **wipe streaming eyes** You are too funny for words. We can just hear Hermione chiming in with her soprano...and the ending is all the more priceless for being wholly unexpected.

We're reviewing this for the weekly Review Challenge at the Pensieve.

Reviewer: ~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrongDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93700Chapter: 1
ok, im wondering, did someone ACTUALLY come up with a "Hogwarts, A Musical"? because these songs are hilarious!! and great too!

~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrong

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93693Chapter: 1
Lord, this was just as great as your other ones, if not better! My favorite lines were Harry and Ginny's at the end:
'Harry (spoken to Ginny):
This is going to take a long time, isn't it?
Ginny (spoken to Harry):
Damn straight.'

lol. That was great! Anyway, I truly loved this, and it's incredibly wonderful! Please keep it up!

Still in awe (and most-likely going to be for a long time),
Caitlin

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93692Chapter: 1
That was fabulous! I really really really enjoyed it. I'm off to read other such things you've written... onward!!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: AreDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93688Chapter: 1
Rolling on the floor laughing.

Reviewer: Too_Many_SoxDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93682Chapter: 1
brilliant once again, barbara

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93674Chapter: 1
Hee hee. So true. I loved this

Harry (spoken to Ginny):
This is going to take a long time, isn't it?

Ginny (spoken to Harry):
Damn straight.

and

So, why s/he wouldn't want me?
Well, that I understand.

that was great

You're so good at this

Reviewer: anonymousDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93656Chapter: 1
i hummed"Can't you feel the love tonight" as I read it. But it works!

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93636Chapter: 1
Brilliant! Very funny but also very true. I don't know why but I read that to the tune of the verse parts of How do you Solve a Problem like Maria from The Sound of Music!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93632Chapter: 1
*wipes tears of mirth from eyes while still humming made up tune to song...*
Another great song parody, Barbara!
You never cease to amaze me :o)

Jules

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93631Chapter: 1
You know Ginny's last line just made the entire song for me. I liked it a lot before then, but that was simply beautiful.

Great look into their relationship and how they view each other. One of these days I am going to find a way to show you how to transcribe the music!

Reviewer: Sherster6Date: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93628Chapter: 1
OMG! That's bloody brilliant! is there really a "Hogwarts, A Musical"?!?! you have to send me the link for it, pretty please?!! thanks a bunch!

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93627Chapter: 1
great song.
LOVE the ending :) :) :) :)

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93599Chapter: 1
It would be really cool if they did make a Musical stage production of Hogwarts and you wrote the lyrics that would be so cool.I sang it hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm hmmhmm. hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm. hmmm hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm. hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm.
Um... well that probably doesn't make sense to anyone but me but, oh well.

Reviewer: MangykneazleDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93596Chapter: 1
Completely brilliant like your previous compositions. I like the absence of musical notation -- it permits the reader to "sing" along to one's tune of preference. That said, I look forward to the completed musical!

Reviewer: green meanieDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93578Chapter: 1
this was great i needed a good laugh..............*chuckles endlessly at ginny's comment)..........
~!@#$%^&*()_+THE GREEN MEANIE+_)(*&^%$#@!~

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93570Chapter: 1
Love it, as usual!

(As though H & G are the ones to talk! HA.)

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93557Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant as always, Barbara. I soooo wish you'd find a way to get the music up.

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93545Chapter: 1
Fantastic! Had me laughing out loud (not that that's very hard..). Very, very witty - how on earth do you get it to rhyme, I'm always at a loss! Anyway, brilliant song, and the exchange at the end between Harry and Ginny was just perfect - not too long, but captured them perfectly :) Right, I'll stop gushing now...

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93543Chapter: 1
Hurrah! Another one! (she exclaimed loudly, frighting her little sister to death)
Siriusly, I don't know what to admire most about your work: your originality, your sense of rythm and rhyme or your great understanding of the characters...
You're obviously very, very talented - this is just so right!

Reviewer: CelesteDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93537Chapter: 1
Once again a wonderful piece which gets to the heart of each character. Keep up the good work! I look forward to your next one.

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93534Chapter: 1
That was great! I don't have anything contructive to say but it was a great piece of R/Hr songfic!

Nic xx

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93525Chapter: 1
Thanks for making me laugh again. Ron and Hermione are too cute for words.

Reviewer: no nameDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93497Chapter: 1
I think I've just fallen in love with this fic. I found the poetry quite clever, actually, with some good insight into how I imagine Hermione and Ron would actually see each other. And I snorted so loudly when Ginny said, "Damn straight," I must've given my dog a heart attack!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --