The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Severing Charms
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: Kitty45Date: 2006-04-30
Reviewid: 142417Chapter: 1
OMG, I read this at fanfiction dot net, and loved it then, too! You've gotta love innuendo.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136482Chapter: 1
That was good for me too. Innuendo is good.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131356Chapter: 1
Melena, Nessa, and Fabala-- Three of gregory McGuire's character's from one of the best books ever written: Wicked.
And, of course, all of us here at the Sugar Quill have the same dirty minds. Who'd 'a thunk, though?

Nice one,
Angie.

Reviewer: VikkiDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99431Chapter: 1
OMG!!!
WUT A HYSTERICAL, SUPRISING STORY!!!

My best friend Margie luvs Sugar Quill like I do and emailed me a link to ur story.

She told me it was very shocking and I totally agree!!

It was great and I'd personally like a sequel!!
wink ;-) wink ;-)

Reviewer: Jack IchijoujiDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97904Chapter: 1
I can't say I didn't see it coming, but by the end I was growing a bit doubtful. "Maybe... maybe I didn't see this coming. Maybe she set up the hints to lead me astray and then... *shudder*" Fortunately, no need for "*shudder*"

Reviewer: AristotleDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97874Chapter: 1
WOW. You really had me going there! I was sitting there thinking, 'This is really weird for Percy to go to a place like that!' And then, when she started talking about green streaks, I realised it wasn't what I thought. Excellant lead on! ^^

Reviewer: Chocolate MuseDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97661Chapter: 1
*can't quit giggling* Oh, I quite like your characterization of Percy! Reading Percy-esque stories are one of my guilty pleasures, and your's are very entertaining. Now, the name Fabala gave it all away, its from "Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West"! Lovely book

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96230Chapter: 1
hysterical. that's all i have to say.

Reviewer: TeresaDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95751Chapter: 1
wicked! fabala, of course, being the wicked witch of the west; Nessa was the sister and melena the mother. Quite hilarious to imagine such inherently serious characters cutting hair for a seedy joint in Diagon Alley! The green streaks were a nice touch, too. great story!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95696Chapter: 1
I remember reading this last week, and I thought I had left a review, but apparently I overlooked it. Don't know why because I remember that I thought this story was very clever. Lucky I came back to see if anyone had guessed about the girls' identity. I loved the twist at the end. Despite the innuendo (which I love, BTW) I did feel that I got an insight into Percy's character with this. Very well done. :)

Reviewer: JenJen the JollyDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95297Chapter: 1
*blushing heavily* Oh my, you really had me going there! Dear Percy Weasley going to a place like that... -_- God forbid. It was a wonderful piece of fanfiction, though. ^_^ Poor dear, not having Mum around to cut his hair.

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95264Chapter: 1
lol, if i had seen this posted anywhere but on the sugar quill... lol delightful innuendo. i think it must've been quite hard for percy actually, getting his first professional haircut... awww! i know he misses molly!

i actually thought it might've been a psychiatrist or a tattoo parlour as i was reading.

another fun twist! thanks

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95138Chapter: 1
Heh. Nice little story, I enjoyed it! :D

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94979Chapter: 1
Excellent twist! You totally had me going there.

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94567Chapter: 1
I love those stories that you think are going one way, but are actually going another! One of my favorites is "The Contortionist's Pussyfoot" on ff.n--that one's terribly horrifying at first.
Very cute; my favorite line of innuendo was: "...from the look of you, I don’t think you could wait until tomorrow. If you don’t mind my saying so."
But who are Nessa, Melena, and Fabala? They sound so familiar...do you mean, where their names are directly from? Because I think they're from "Wicked." At least Fabala is, and the others...gah...just out of reach.
I love your stories, and it's very happy for me when you update.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94389Chapter: 1
Ha! Once again your wonderful tongue-in-cheek humor has hit the spot. Great characterization of Percy, and I love the plot. I can definitely see him spilling his guts to a hairdresser. Who hasn't when they have a lot on their mind? Fabulous, as always. :-)

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94275Chapter: 1
we think the girls are musicians, but we can't place them. Latino music maybe?...

Great story! You really did the double-entendre thing well, building suspense and getting in a serious moment or two as Percy talks about his family...very fun.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94259Chapter: 1
At first I was kind of like, "what the..." But then I sort of caught on to the fact that it was a hairdresser. It made me laugh.

-PQ

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94240Chapter: 1
In response to Jules's review--oh, goodness! How embarrassing. Let's chalk it up to the idea that Fabala, like JKR herself, has a weakness for maths. Thank you for your helpful review!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94238Chapter: 1
I'd never read any of your fics before today, but I've really enjoyed your funny posts, so I thought I'd give this a try, and it was hilarious! I knew it wasn't what it seemed, but I was thinking it was a massage he was after...it was when Fabala came closer and Percy gasped at her appearance that I got it. Way to go! I went back and reread the whole thing, and it was still very cute even without the innuendo. I really think I should have figured it out sooner because after rereading it, Fabala was making chitchat exactly liek my hairstylist! You're very clever! :o)

“Merlin!” Fabala exclaimed. “Three sons? How did your mother manage?”
It was Percy’s turn to laugh. “Not three. I also have three younger brothers and a little sister.”
Fabala gasped appreciatively. “There are ten in your family? I’ll bet it was never quiet, was it?”

This is actually a mistake. Percy's family has seven children, so there are nine in the family, not ten.

Cute little vignette, and I think you still managed to showcase Percy's personality quite nicely!

Jules

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94227Chapter: 1
Well to be honest, I found the innuendo kind of obvious. I was anticipating some sort of "mothering" situation, perhaps with a bit of Monty Python's "I want to buy an argument" thrown in.

The identities? Maybe those three greek goddesses who supposedly spin lifelines? something like that, I'm a bit vague on greek mythos, but I've read something like that before.

thanks for sharing

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94219Chapter: 1
Ohh! A hair cut!!! A hair cut!!! You, you, evil thing! This is sooo funny!

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94161Chapter: 1
*cracks up* I love it!

Reviewer: MiekeDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94157Chapter: 1
That is so cute! Very nice writing style! Love it!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --