The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Piecework
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141298Chapter: 1
This was a great follow-up to "Beautiful Morning". Please write about 35 more pieces of this size and we will have something BRILLIANT.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101440Chapter: 1
I'm finally catching up with my reading and I'm so glad I read this first. You capture so many things here so well. First, Gavin and David are guys--just plain guys. You really have a knack for hitting age-appropriate behavior. I know because I'm getting a quick course on teens. What touches me most is Gavin's observations of his parents. It all rings true. He's grossed out by the mushy stuff, but reassured by it at the same time. I also love Gavin's inner thoughts on being a weaver. That would be a heavy burden for a boy, but I know that many boys have great hand-eye coordination.

This is a very sweet and touching look at the family. It's fun and funny. Thanks for the Lily reference. She didn't meet him at the disco, did she? (Old Sev would cr-r-oak!)

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100460Chapter: 1
How did I miss this!? I don't remember it from workshop. It's so great to see the Interwoven universe continued. Long live AU! (And Abby and Sirius!)

[“How about when he backed the motorbike over your herb garden?”] *snert* I just love the idea of a grown-up Sirius still using his motorbike. And I can just picture Abby wanting to kill him for doing this. Reminds me of their Interwoven days!

[It’s a little hard to believe now when you hear him down the hall, plunking on the piano with Cara, but supposedly, the entire wizarding world was chasing after him at one time.]

Awwww, I love that picture of a reformed Sirius and a happy ending for him. I also adore the names of the products, especially Lockhart's Little Lady cosmetics!!! It's also great to see how children discover that their parents are human beings with pasts and stories of their own and are not just "Mom" and "Dad." It reminds me of the chats I used to have with my Mom and Dad and all the crazy stuff I learned about them!

[Well, with any luck, he’ll be doing your chores for the next few weeks while you hold that little tidbit over his head. Maybe he’ll even throw in some Droobles’ Ever-Belching Bubble Gum]

Hehehe. I love the interplay between the siblings. Very real.

[“We already have a dog,” she says. “His name is ‘Your Father’.]

sfsafjsposajkosad *dies laughing*

[“Never mind,” Mum says, pushing in the bench. “However, we do need to discuss David and discotheques.”
“Hey, how was that, son?” Dad starts to ask, before falling quiet at Mum’s scowl. He hangs his head in a lousy attempt to look contrite.]

OMG!! Sirius is the coolest Dad EVER!!! I love how he gets along with his children yet still retains a bit of free-spiritness about him.

[“Oh dear, maths…” Mum mutters] *snert* Great in-joke there.

Beautiful ending, I love how Gavin is both repulsed by his parents' affection toward one another and secretly awed/pleased. This was such a lovely look at the dynamics between parents and children. Wonderful, wonderful fic! I love how you always add humor to your writing and you have great timing! Please continue in AU!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98776Chapter: 1
I'm not sure how I missed this. I was just looking to re-read some favorite stuff and Poof! New Interwoven Stuff! My lucky day!

Technical: I think the First person version lets you do the Gavin to audience asides really well. If the story were any longer, I think it might grow tedious, though. But it heightens the humor. And you did it very well. I could get Abby's ire and surprises through Gavin's perceptions. So, that worked.
Characterization: Just great. Mostly we get Gavin, and I think he was spot on for his age. I like the way you underplay his growing acceptance of Weaving. You show it, but don't make it a huge point. Nice.

Just a great job. Again!

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96544Chapter: 1
Katinka, this is absolutely superb! I look forward to reading more of the Interwoven series! (It *is* canon you know ;))

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95662Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this a great deal! I like the alternative future for Sirius. It makes me happy to see a happy ending, and I enjoy the characterizations a lot.

Catherine

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95638Chapter: 1
I'm so glad I finally got to read this! The family dynamics, especially the interplay between David and Gavin, were wonderfully realistic. I also really liked Gavin's reactions to weaving. Of course he would be bored by it at first, but I liked how he felt a grudging sense of accomplishment as time went on.

And Sirius/Abby is always lovely. Hurray for you!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94983Chapter: 1
don't let this be the last one, I really like your stuff (hopeul smile) more please!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94980Chapter: 1
That was cute! I hope you do more little things like this in the Interwoven universe.

-PQ

Reviewer: ElshaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94832Chapter: 1
I don't review often enough and this seemed like a good place to start, since I adore the Interwoven universe to bits.

I liked this story - good characterisation of a bored teenage boy, sibling rivalry, and family interactions in general. Especially the whole 'if I summarise this really quickly she'll let me go' idea. And hey, it had Abby and Sirius, which guarantees enjoyment.

Only one problem - I wasn't sure the second person format quite worked. Third person wouldn't have, but I couldn't quite understand _why_ it was in the second person, when it launched into flashbacks. First person would have felt better, more...fitting? I don't know. I guess it's just a personal preference thing, though, since I'm having trouble articulating reasons.

And what's the chances of getting the story of Abby and Sirius' wedding, hmm? '"There just weren't any other people there..." that I'd like to see. No, even better, reactions. Not to pressure you or anything. If and when the inspiration hits.

Reviewer: AlchemillaDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94811Chapter: 1
Well, you've pinned the teenage British boy to the ultimate degree of perfection. It sounds like you live here in the UK, Katinka! The brotherly banter/inner monologue/weaving lesson all flows smoothly back and forth and entertains at the same time.

WE ALREADY HAVE A DOG HIS NAME IS 'YOUR FATHER'!!!! HAHA HAH HAhaha. Please forgive all those capital letters, but that line is so brilliant and hilarious, that I had to put this aside and laugh for a while.

So many warm moments in this fic, and since all are revealed through the eyes of a teenage boy, there isn't a moment where I feel that it is too sugary or over the top. The way he is thrown momentarily by his brother's compliment or the way Abby is simultaneously patient and pained at their queries is so lovely and natural.

And while the reader knows by now how important (almost desperately so) it is that somebody learn her skill, Gavin doesn't know, or he only is beginning to understand (the 'Eighteen years' line, spoken so matter-of-factly by Abby, was great). So when his initial disparagements and reluctance slowly moved toward a small sense of progress and a budding interest -- then I gave a little sigh of relief.

Nice ending lines, too, and a nice visual picture, with the kids around them, her hand on his face and his nose in her hair. Another great piece of writing, Katinka!

--alchemilla

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94782Chapter: 1
I thought it was a great chapter hope you write a follow up

Reviewer: ReeDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94732Chapter: 1
I like this AU. I think I've told you that one of my first coherent thoughts after finishing OotP was, "What about Abby?" so I'm happy to see that we're all continuing to live in that fantasy world. Makes me smile.

I really liked the PoV. It's different--a little quirky...I don't know. I'm trying to compliment you here, though, never fear. ;)

The ending was wonderful. Because as gross as it can be when your parents are mushy, sometimes it's really...not. It's just good.

Reviewer: BreenDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94722Chapter: 1
It makes me so happy when I see your name on the list of recent fics. :) This was really cute. I had been hoping that we'd see more of the Black children after "Beautiful Morning" I love Abby and Sirius together. To the point of rereading Interwoven and its successories every once in a while.

Anywhoo... I really like the idea of Abby and Sirius' children not knowing the full story of their parents getting together. I especially liked when the kids were doing "maths." Clever tricky kids. Each new time frame they brought up made me go ^_- even more. :) Hope there's still more coming!

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94645Chapter: 1
Lovely addition to your universe.

My fave quote: "“We already have a dog,” she says. “His name is ‘Your Father’."

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94625Chapter: 1
Katinka, this was wonderful. I love the happy household you've created here without making it seem cheesy or unrealistic. The use of the second-person is a good touch as well. Makes the reader feel like they're really a part of it. The last line was especially touching. And I liked the cheesy fandom references. The Black children obviously inherited their father's TRIXiness. :)

Wonderful ficlet. Looking forward to more Interwovenverse stories!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94622Chapter: 1
Katinka, have I ever mentioned that I love you? This is excellent. Your OC's are all wonderfully fleshed out and real and your dialogue is so natural, I feel like I am listening in on a conversation instead of reading one. Oh, andGavin's reactions to having to learn how to weave are so typical of a 14 year old boy! I wasn't sure how I was going to like reading it from second person, but once I got into the flow of things, it just made sense. Wonderful, as always, but I can't imagine anything else from you.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94565Chapter: 1
Oh, Katinka, this is just marvelous! I love the dynamics you've given this family - they're so realistic, I feel like I know all of them. The POV really works perfectly for this story - it really conveys Gavin's thoughts and emotions in the clearest way possible. Good choice!

Favorite bits:

>“And in this isolated incident, my brother is a stupid git.”<

LOL!!!! I can't tell whether Gavin is more like his mum or his dad here! :)

>“We already have a dog,” she says. “His name is ‘Your Father’<

Abby is wonderful - I just want to reach into this story and hug her. You always write her with such vibrance!

>As Dad puts his other arm around Mum and pulls her closer, putting his face in her hair, the wild thought occurs that perhaps the things you don’t know about your parents…aren’t as important as those you do.<

This is such a wonderful way to close out the story. I just want to keep reading more about these great characters!

Thanks for sharing this one!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94558Chapter: 1
Hee...giving my official review here! Can I say again how much I love this p.o.v.? I know you said some people might think it's pretentious, but hey...the kid's fourteen, and it doesn't come off pretentious sounding at all. I love all the nuances in this story...Abby/Sirius's relationship, how the brothers have that "code" thing where they both simultaneously admire and annoy each other, how I feel like I am in the head of a fourteen year old boy, and the lilac reference, of course!

I'm so glad that the Loomisverse and Sirius are alive and well in AU-land. :D

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94556Chapter: 1
You rock entirely too much *grin*

I loved the kids, and how they all interact with each other (the "I'll tell you this if you don't tell them that!" was so siblingish, LOL), and Gavin's unwillingness to admit he liked the idea of Weaving if it meant free Quidditch made me die laughing - he's such a man. :P

I also loved how Sirius kept doing his old sexy grins, much to the disgust of Gavin. Both he and Abby have aged well. :D

And now it's left me with this huge hollow feeling, because I know that Sirius has gone and that could never happen. How about if we just burn all of the end pages of OotP (would take a while, I know), and live in blissful ignorance for the rest of that lives? Sounds good to me!

Great job :D Looking forward to more?

Reviewer: SinbinDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94542Chapter: 1
I absolutely adore Abby. She is quite possibly my favourite fandom character ever. I just checked on SQ to read the rest of Morning Starr's Draco diary and even better (no offence Starr, but really, Katinka... dude!) more Abby and Sirius. Please write some more, I really can't get enough of these people!

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94532Chapter: 1
*beams* Perfect! I've been waiting for this for a while now, and I was so, so, so happy to see your name on the updates list :) I absolutely loved it - especially the interaction between Gavin and David, and the digs at Abby about the bath and the raisins were just too cute! I look forward to hearing more about life in the Black house from Gavin's POV - he's very likeable :)
Fluffy_Rose xxx

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94524Chapter: 1
*sigh* Wonderful job. I do like the interactions between Gavin and David, they're great. And Abby and Sirius are adorable. Great job!

Reviewer: ZenDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94505Chapter: 1
Lovely, lovely fic! I absoltely adore the Interwoven universe, great characters and plot, and very well written. *nods*
Just wanted to know that I apprecaites all your stories here on the Quill. Hope to see more soon! ^^

~Zen

Reviewer: FleurDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94503Chapter: 1
Beautiful, as always. I love these characters so much and really didn't expect to see any of them any time soon. Lucky for me, you've written a wonderful little ficcy that made me smile all the while I was reading it. Thanks for that.

Fleur

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94487Chapter: 1
YES! YES, it's here! Hooray!
I do have one turn-off, though -- I really don't like the second-person narrative. At first I thought that it was maybe Gavin saying "Imagine that it's the first week of summer and you're bored..." But then it started to lose that tone. It's not as enjoyable as the third-person narrative. Second person is pretty weird and I admire you for giving it a shot, though.
Overall, though, I can't wait for more. :-)
~Q

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94480Chapter: 1
Wow! So many familar names are back, this is awesome.

I'm glad to see that in this version of things Sirius and Abby are doing well for themselves. "His name is, 'Your Father'" makes me crack up!

I asked elsewhere, but I'll ask again, may I possibly borrow Abby for a canon-ish summer-after-book-five story?

Reviewer: RikaDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94475Chapter: 1
I loved it. The Black family carries on the same chemistry that you gave us when it was just Abby and Sirius. I don't care if the universe you've created now contradicts canon. It's still delightful, and I hope you will be kind enough to give us more of it!

Reviewer: Mirax_TerrikDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94473Chapter: 1
Yay! I hope you'll continue with your AU fics about the Black family! it's too cute!! (as well as therapeutic! ^_~ ) I love the style you used in this fic. Thanks for sharing it!

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94471Chapter: 1
Woooo, I love it! I liked the opening bit so well I read it nearly four times. The perspective you took was great, and really funny. I only wished it was longer!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94466Chapter: 1
I read this a couple days ago on ff.net, and LOVED it!!

Could not help but laugh at poor Gavin... one of these days he's going to have to admit that weaving is fun. :-D By the way, the non-girly options of the wizarding fashion industry are way cool. (I'd certainly take a job at Gladrags if it came with free Quidditch tickets!)

Aha! The truth comes out! (Though now I would like to know more about this purported elopement..)

Always love to read your stories, and this is no exception. By the way, I just read the new version of Interwoven; though I miss some things (such as the "stupid blue eyes"), I do like the additions of other things (the bit with Will, among others). Still one of my all-time favorite AUs!

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94459Chapter: 1
*sigh*
Oh, Katinka. Thank you, thank you, thank you for keeping this little universe alive. We neeeed it, I tell you. It's *healthy* to ignore canon completely and be delusional about our favorite fanon scenarios sometimes. I swear it is. ;)
This was also great fun! I really liked getting a little view of Sirius/Abby from the outside, and yet so close...I love the idea that these kids have to adapt to the fact that their goofy, lovable, 'stupid-git' dad was once a famous escaped-con. Great image of him plunking the piano with Cara (hah, did I mention that I adore musical!Sirius, long may he reign?)--awfully domestic for a mass murderer, don't you think? Anyway, these are the kinds of little issues (how does one recover from being such a very 'wanted' criminal?) that always made Sirius such a fascinating character for me. I always liked to wonder what his future might be like. Authors who Shall Not Be Named are *not* forgiven yet for taking that away. >:| You're a hero for bringing him back!
*Canopus sinks back into blissful delusion*

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94453Chapter: 1
YES!!! A new story about my favorite AU character and her family!!

Katinka- The more stories I read about Sirius and Abby, the more I wish it could be true!I love how you have portrayed the children's interest in Abby and Sirius' romance; they want to know, but they don't want to KNOW. ;) And I loved "Oh dear...Maths"!

Abby is definitely my favorite OC ever. I just love her. Her personality, her intelligence, her frustration with Sirius, everything.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --