The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 62

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-08-23
Reviewid: 148996Chapter: 1
Thisis really an inventive story. I love the original characters you created and the unique plot. It adds a very rich layer to the Potterverse and I love reading about American wizarding systems. Dominick sounds really cool--can't wait to see what his view of Hogsmeade is!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-01-06
Reviewid: 138101Chapter: 7
Well! This is quite an amazing story. I loved the combination of original characters and familiar ones, so that we still felt connected to the wonderful world of Harry Potter's Hogwarts, but also learned something new. I was particularly struck by the Dr. Mengele-type experimentation. I have studied some of the Nazi medical experiments, and I can tell you have too, because your descriptions were scarily similar to some of the diaries and first-hand accounts I've read of the Auschwitz experiments. Actually, the whole story presented a wealth of detail that made it easy to just dive into it and lose myself in the action. Thank you for sharing this with us!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135065Chapter: 7
Excellent work. Thank you.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131245Chapter: 7
OMG: Wow, that was way good, and I'm glad you sent me towards your stories. Wow...I LOVE what you've done with the American backstory, it was very much how I imagined it. Bravo to you and Mrs. Nonymous for thinking it up.

Reviewer: BlueNinjaDate: 2005-06-06
Reviewid: 123383Chapter: 7
Well, I wish I had kept up on my links - I might have noticed my name mentioned months sooner! *laughs* An excellent story, though I admit I was expecting it to be a little bit longer. I look forward to your next one, though I dread to see what will happen if Charlie (Weasley, I am assuming) has even a tenth the mischief of his twin brothers.

Reviewer: CasimiraDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121554Chapter: 7
Wow. *shakes head* that's all I can say. Wow. The history is great, the characterisation fantastic and the plot... *shakes head again* Wow. Speaking of the history I'm writing a fanfic in which one of my characters has a military back ground. I wouldn't use any of your main characters but I'd like to borrow the Awvees, their battalions and commanders, mainly 2nd Battalion. Naturally you would be credited.

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115779Chapter: 7
Oh, how excellent! It's not over.

The "feel" for post WWII is marvelous and not easy to do. It is this history that I know the best, because WWII got me started on history as a wee lad. It may be immodest, but I must say that my appreciation of your story comes from a very serious student of the era.

So very well done!

Reviewer: jaelonnaDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115776Chapter: 7
good story!!! i enjoyed it v. much. your rendition of american magic is one of my favorites. keep going. :)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115479Chapter: 7
I'm glad to read that you will be keeping the world of Dominic Salvaggio running in a new fic. Hope you post it soon!

Also, nice work tieing in WWII and Voldemort's quest for immortality.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115467Chapter: 7
Very good job on dealing with the American view of Voldemort's downfall. I love the way you've written Dominic and Uriah, and I hope you aren't taunting me in saying that you are going to write anther story with them. I loved this story because you wrote it so authentically (is this a word?). Everything was so great. Putting those synopsises(synopsi?) at the end was a wonderful touch.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115461Chapter: 7
Your story has great originality. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115410Chapter: 7
You write such amazing stories. I really love your work.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112733Chapter: 6
I'm still loving this blend of history and fanfic, even if I haven't had the chance to read anything in ages. Great details on the Battle for Hell's Hospital. . . but I am worried that you aren't going to tell us what the heck Tucker was laughing about in the last chapter! Though this chapter was the shortest, you packed so much emotion into it. . . very nicely done. I like the use of Dominic's memories to show us what happened in between the battle and the scene in the Three Broomsticks. Very nicely done. Oh, and the wedding was perfect. Not overly angsty, which it could have easily become given the circustances. Great job all around, as usual!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111968Chapter: 6
I can see why this chapter would be the hardest to write. At the beginning it was nice, they were celebrating and all; then, as it often does, the world comes crashing down. The "thoughts" (the parts in italics) were very well written. The naration between the vows could very easily become cliche, but that was wonderful. This whole chapter, but especially this part, gave me a whole new level of respect for the Iron Professor.

This exchange:"My turn. And I should take this one to share some good news with you. I know what I'm doing after the war. I think only your shamrock-pal got a better deal than I... and I didn't get a dishonorable..."

Dominic's temper flared at not only the derogatory "shamrock" Salem folks (and even Hughes on occasion) levelled at O'Shaughnessy students, but insinutating that Herschel acted dishonorably. "Those guards deserved it! Unforgivable Curse my ass... what those Nazi sons-of-bitches did was no better than Hell's Hospital, and Herschel knew it! They got what they deserved."

Uriah shook his hands in dismissal. "Sorry... sorry. Forgot the circumstances. Still, landing a job at Peasegood Brooms... but enough about him. My good news!"

was very realistic. It also shows Uriah developing. Uriah did the impolite thing of talking before thinking, but he actually realized it and tried to make up for it or have an excuse for it.

I thought the last line of the story was very poignant, like I said, whole new respect for Professor McGonagall and why she's a Gryffindor.

The next chapters the next? Darn. Oh well, its been a most excellent story, and looking forward to the next. Thanks for updating, the wait was worth it.

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111885Chapter: 6
You do realize that when this is all over - assuming Dominic lives - you have to have a reunion in 60 years to watch the Red Sox win...

-Steve

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111826Chapter: 6
It's a sad ending, which is appropriate, but it's also rather abrupt. I'm assuming this isn't meant to the last chapter, but there isn't a sense of closure to *this* chapter, either. I do like your description of the wedding, though, and the Memory Modifiers in the drinks.

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111449Chapter: 6
Well done story. I particularly liked the "confusion" of those who survived the battle when they wondered why certain things were done during the battle, particularly by those who sacrificed themselves in some way. That seems to be a common line of questioning for those who have "seen the elephant."

The poingancy of the wedding and known life span was just enough but not over written. Once again, well done.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111438Chapter: 6
Yes, the wedding met all my expectations. I was looking mainly for a pervading sense of sadness rather than any out-and-out drama, and you delivered beautifully.

Only one more chapter? :(

Reviewer: MoonrunnerDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111401Chapter: 6
Damn. This is just bloody awesome. You do know you made me cry, right? I thought it was going to be a deathbed wedding, though I guess this is fairly close.
I'm a sucker for war history myself. I can't stand the rest of it, but war history I like. And this story is a great combination of two of my favorite things: HP and history. And it's accurate, which is always cool. Now if you'll excuse me, I need to go off and cry.

Moonrunner

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103913Chapter: 5
The bit about the Red Sox was hilarious. Is that guy a Seer or something?

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103890Chapter: 5
Thanks for waiting to post this last chapter until after Boston won the World Series. Your footnote made me smile.

I generally don't read other-era fics but your title intrigued me and as I read, your characters drew me in. I really like your take on Professor McGonagall's back-story as well as that of Albus Dumbledore. Since this is a review for all the chapters (I read them from start to finish) your graphic depiction of what could have gone on in the "hospital" didn't phase me one bit. I realize that some of your readers may have been disturbed, but I am more affected by what I've seen on the History Channel than by what you write about in "Experiments". I also realize that no matter how delicately an author tries to put things, the realities of war are just that; one must expect gore and devastation in a piece set in a battle zone. Speaking of battle zones, I really like how you used Dominic's animagus form to further the demise of Grindelwald's twin followers. That kind of writing spellbinds me for some reason and you do it quite well.

Finally, because I really like your work, I'm going back to read some of your other stories. I look forward to the next chapter of this epoch and hope you post again soon.

Reviewer: BlueNinjaDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103463Chapter: 5
Just wanted to say that I love this take on the WWII era. Reminds me a great deal of my favorite alternate history author, Harry Turtledove. I'm greatly looking forward to the rest of the chapters!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103245Chapter: 5
Another great chapter. The description of the battle scenes was riveting. I especially liked the voodoo part, it was a cool and unique detail. The mention of Flash Gordon and the Curse of the Bambino were enjoyable, too (although, as a Yankees fan, I must admit I didn't really like being reminded of how this season ended :-p )

I was hoping Minerva would get Alan back safe and sound, but it doesn't seem like it anymore :( I can already sort of imagine how bittersweet their wedding will be. Can't wait to read about it!

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102980Chapter: 5
Congrats on a really original story idea, yet still within the Potterverse.

I majored in History and I have had a life time fascination with the everything WWII. Very well done on:

1) Giving a WWII writer's feel to the fighting
2) Subtly capturing the "Over Here" feelings of the Brits
3) Weaving the sinister medical experiments of the Nazis into a wizarding context
4) Wizardizing the Jedburghs - the joint British/American spy teams sent behind enemy lines
5) Incorporating the "Yank" mentality into our hero

To quote Knightly - "Well done. Very well done."

Reviewer: NevDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102947Chapter: 5
Haha, that's great how you worked in the whole Boston-Yanks curse thing... I love it!
Keep up the good work! I'm really enjoying this story!

Reviewer: kmc0213Date: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102895Chapter: 5
oh that was AWESOME! GO SOX!!!!

As always, I am impressed with your ability to detail the horrors of war the way you have- its a difficult subject to write about, and you include enough detail to get your point across. I love the Muggle/ Wizard team.
Excellent story- am eager for more.

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102862Chapter: 5
Wow this chaoper and the last raly drew me in. Well written- oranal and a nice hiosortal beand. Saidy your right abotu pople rhining the conatation campes were lies.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102858Chapter: 5
Hey, thanks! Excellent, a Southie who can tell the future. You also did good having the Sgt from Nouveaxbatons (excellent names for the schools by the way) doing voodoo. A lot of people who try to write ermm...regional magic I guess would be the word, come off being cheesy or too showoffish. That scene was written excellently. Ah, my red sox. I'm a displaced Bostonian at the moment, and it broke my heart that I couldn't be there. It was really surreal seeing the internet headlines. "Red Sox Win the World Series" and I'm thinking, this seems like a joke.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100812Chapter: 4
Wow. This is an amazing story! Just read the last two chapters and am, once again, completely blown away. Your knowledge of the events surrounding this story is fantastic and really adds a nice depth to the plot. You mix Muggle and Magical practices/morals in the war impeccably, making it not only believeable, but almost historical. Great OC's, great descriptions. . . just a great story! Can't wait for more. :D

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100485Chapter: 4
Hurray for an update! Great chapter as always. The descriptions of the patients in Hell's Hospital were incredibly chilling o_O I'm also glad I finally found out where Alan McGonagall is, even though he isn't in a very good place. (Considering that Minerva's canon last name is McGonagall, I'm hoping that things ended well - even if only for a while - for her and Alan!)

Kudos to Dominic for holding it together until after he had left the hospital. I liked how he ignored Fawkes pecking at him for a while :D I don't know why.

More soon, please!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98030Chapter: 3
Yay for the new chapter! I am really loving Dominic's food snobbery ^_^ I also just realized that Joe DiMaggio's younger brother was named Dominic, but that doesn't have to do with anything.

Enjoyed this installment as usual, and can't wait for the next one -- but of course I will have to because of the Great SQ Revamp!

Reviewer: JessieBDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97744Chapter: 1
Brilliant! I absolutely love the little touches that show America's melting pot personality, like Nouveauxbotons's and the different elements of Salem. It's thoroughly thought out in the cultural aspects. Can't wait to read more.

A Section 8 is for sexual perversions, actually. Most people chalk it up to insanity because of MASH. Not something you really want to explain on primetime tv in the seventies. But back in the day they lumped insanity and sexual "perversions" (like men wearing dresses and homosexuality) all together.

Sorry for nitpicking, but my brother's in the military.

Like it alot so far!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97717Chapter: 3
do like the story and of course my morbid curiousity has kicked in and i want to know what he saw when he transformed back into his human form but you probally can't tell us that cause its basicly a kids story any how great chapter cant wait for the next update =)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97690Chapter: 3
I liked the C&C instructor. Anyway to get more of him in the story?

"I've had a day's worth of training on it." he said tentatively
-Hmmm. Reminds me of my one day of training in basic with the Claymore mine - leason learned: let someone else handle it.

If you change this fic a bit by getting rid of the Harry Potter stuff, you could have a very good original story.

Nice job with the link to the WWII website.

Reviewer: Nowegian BlueDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97681Chapter: 3
I loved how you included that part about Calais. That's just awesome. You're doing very well at connecting the wizard war with the Muggle war. I keep thinking that you are going to make a mistake that will make my history major skin crawl, but you are doing an excellent job. I also like how you included the map you used, so we could get an idea of exactly what you were talking about. You are also doing an excellent job of the whole Italian family thing. Simply splendid.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97648Chapter: 3
This is fascinating, tying Grindewald into WWII. My husband might actually get into fanfiction if I show him this. :D

I'm not sure I want to see what is making him nauseous, but what the hey? I look forward to the next chapter anyway. :)

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96637Chapter: 2
Fantastic, yet again. I loved your subtle additions from canon (Fudge and McG nee Burns, as well as your brilliant reference to Binns.) and think you have done an admirable job keeping them in character within the context of your story. Great view of Britian from the eyes of an Italian American, though! Love the bit about having to wait for real food until after the war is over. *grin* My favorite part, though, was the interaction between Grubbly and Salvaggio. What a telling portrayal, the blue blood and the 'street rat' coming together to defend their country against the naysayers. Very patriotic, very American. Great job, and I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96589Chapter: 2
This is exlant. Not my usagl sort of fic- but very good

Reviewer: Norwiegian BlueDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96425Chapter: 2
This is aweswome. You know what's weird? I know someone who was in army intelligence in WWII, and a lot of the stuff you've got in here, i.e. working with other armies and knowing where they're going to be split up before they leave the boat, fits with what you've got going.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96402Chapter: 2
Yay for your new chapter! It was great reading about Dominic moving around in the British wizarding world. The Rank-View Ring was a clever idea :) (of course Dominic would need one)

Of all the canon-character appearances in this chapter, my favorites had to be the ones by Dumbledore and Burns-McGonagall. I really liked how you noted Dumbledore's graying auburn hair, again another nice era-conscious detail. And I hope we get to meet Alan McGonagall in the future -- I've encountered only one other "married-Minnie" fic before, and Mr. McG didn't get much screen time.

The magical bar brawl was great, too. It would have been nice to have Uriah orate the British purists into the ground, but this way was much more fun ^_^ Great job! Thank you for sharing.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96393Chapter: 2
This is, by far, the most unique HP fanfic I've ever read. The canon characters you've included are very much in character, and the OC's you've created make sense. As a military brat myself, I like your new wizarding military terms. I love the background you've given Minnie. :o) great job!

Jules

Reviewer: TamaraDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96349Chapter: 1
Klinger never did get that section 8 all those years

Reviewer: Sylvia AlvarezDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96288Chapter: 2
Wonderful! I have been reading Sugarquill stories for about a year now. In fact, they have rescued what little sanity I have retained by sneaking a read during work. This is one of the best series I have ever read! I guess I especially like it because I (despite the Spanish surname-husband's fault!) am Italian. My Uncle Rey served under Patton and was part of the liberation of Italy as well. Ciao!

Reviewer: TiffanyDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96284Chapter: 1
i think it is a great storie.i personly think u need sum romance in it or aleast a sex scene.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96249Chapter: 2
*Love* this! The American Wizarding society you've created is interesting and unique - I love the Four Points school system, the FBM, the name "Amvee." I also love the tension and irritation between the first generation immigrants of O'Shaughnessy and the bluebloods of Warlock, and the fact that in spite of that irritation, Uriah stands with Dominic in the Three Broomsticks. It's so believable.

I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: Scriptum VeneficaeDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96220Chapter: 2
Terribly clever story! I absolutely adore it! I am also one who greatly enjoys doing their history homework and, needless to say, this story is a real treat for me to read. Your character Dominic is also just wonderful, I especially enjoyed the comment about the condition of the food in Britain (Italian-American Pride!). Update soon!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96203Chapter: 2
Wow, those were an amazing first two chapters. Very rarely do I find a fanfiction concerning mostly American characters that is well written and works with HP canon. I am a HUGE history buff, and one of my favorite time periods to study is WWII (with the Civil War and the Depression being my others). I'm really looking forward to what is in store for Dom in the next chapter!

Reviewer: BeatriceDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95346Chapter: 1
Wow, this is just the kind of story I wanted to read! I've recently been wondering about how Muggle wars and international affairs affect wizards. This is great stuff; I hope you continue!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95321Chapter: 1
Definitely original! Look forward to the next installment. I like the idea of the Four Points.

Muggle soldier would less likely question a higher-ranking soldier about what he did
-good point.

Reviewer: Adel SialDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95287Chapter: 1
I recognized the title from "Chicken Run" and it amused me. Being an historical buff and kinda war buff, this interests me alot. It's very good so far, and I look forward to the rest of the tale!

-I also tried looking for Civil War Fantastic at Amazon and at my library, and had little luck. As I love anything to do with the Civil war, and "Historical Fantasy" this book looks excellent. Any other info you can give me on it?

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95277Chapter: 1
Oh, this is fantastic so far! The whole war with Grindelwald, as well as the possibility of American wizards helping in the fray, has always fascinated me. Nice backstory for each of your characters, and I think they work well together. It will be interesting to see how each of them interact with those wizards in Britain! Great job adding in bits and details from WWII so they blend seamlessly into what we know of the wizarding war. Can't wait to see more!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95256Chapter: 1
This is an excellent story. I'm a history major, so obviously this type of story appeals to me. Usually period stories sound like the author was trying too hard. With this story, however, everything flows naturally. Also, congratulations on receiving my first ever review on this site. Been reading for quite a while, just never reviewed.

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95242Chapter: 1
This promises to be a very interesting story. I look forward to reading more!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95199Chapter: 1
Eeeeee! Something new from you! *jumps for joy*

This was an excellent beginning. You did a great job of setting the story firmly in the WWII era -- the mentions of DiMags and the 48 states were greatly appreciated. I also loved how you sketched in the US wizarding school system, especially showing that there is some degree of interaction despite the distances separating them. Very, very nice.

If you don't mind the pimpage, I made a very short Salem ficlet myself. It's on http://www.livejournal.com/users/hex316/32763.html :) [/pimpage]

I will definitely be looking out for this story!

PS Herschel Yauch wouldn't be related to the Beastie Boy, now, would he? ;)

Reviewer: KevinDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95196Chapter: 1
I'm intriqued, keep writing! The only complaint I have is that the conversation about baseball with Hersh and Dom seemed a little silly to be truthful, and it didn't last very long. You should expand on it. Excellent work and keep writing!

Reviewer: pjmDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95103Chapter: 1
ooo, my two favorite subjects in one - military/historical fiction and HP!! YEAY!! Can't wait to see where this series goes - I really enjoyed your first chapter. Keep up the great work :)

Reviewer: ReaDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95055Chapter: 1
very enjoyable. I love the US magic and world war 2 tie in--I'm a sucker for anything WW2.
The Four Points was a good way to divide up schooling in the U.S., too.

Reviewer: Steve CalareseDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 95001Chapter: 1
Wow. This is kind of different. Seems like you've done your homework, too...

Rats have some good qualities - I hope that some of those are revealed in the story...poor Dominic, always getting compared by the read to Wormtail.

Reviewer: LesaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94956Chapter: 1
Wow. This sounded & looked amazingly authentic. I'm very impressed with your writing skills. It's usually difficult for authors to get period stories to sound right. I'm looking forward to reading more.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94951Chapter: 1
This looks like it will be a very interesting story. I recognized the WWII source of the title but still was pleasantly surprised by the premise. I'm looking forward to seeing the Americans & British interact.

Reviewer: zenjackDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94950Chapter: 1
Sweet. An American story that doesn't suck. Your use of type change adds to the story (orders). Looking forward to meeting Sgt. Dom's comrades.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94897Chapter: 1
B!!!!!!!!! How are the twins? How's the wife?

So good to see you posting again! Love the title (recognize it from "Chicken Run"); very fitting!

Looks like you've written other stuff since book five that I've missed (how did I miss that?). Will check those out soon. :D

Lilac

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --