The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: What's In a Name?
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: truefairy008Date: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144199Chapter: 1
nice

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2005-12-30
Reviewid: 137820Chapter: 1
Wonderful fluff. Never seen the twins written that well. High marks!! You've written about something I think every fan has been wondering since the introduction of Tonks. Nymphadora? Honestly! I highly related to this story, though. My name isn't anything to be proud of... To this day I think my parents did it to spite me. Honestly. THEY even make fun of me... *sigh* Anyway, Tonks is well written, Ginny is always good for a laugh and my favorite parts are:
"An irate female voice came from the stairwell. “Addled? Is that so?” Fred choked on his biscuit.
'Mum?' George squeaked.
Ginny stepped out into the room. 'Got you.'"

and

"'Wow.' Tonks blinked. 'Where on earth did Molly get that one?' Ginny dropped her forehead to the table top with a thud. 'Oh Ginny, I didn’t mean it like that. It’s just, I’ve never heard of that name before.'
'That, from a woman named Nymphadora!' Ginny moaned into the table."

*chuckle*
Kudos!!!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-26
Reviewid: 137674Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: KATIEDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109771Chapter: 1
CHARMING!

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109503Chapter: 1
Well, i've read Ginny/Hermione friendship fanfiction of course, but Tonks and Ginny?.....Hmmmm, I love it!!!!!!!! Write more!!!! (Though mind adding Hermione??) I mean Hermione is a weird name too right?....So thats: Nymphadora, Ginevra, and Hermione.....Girl Power!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108515Chapter: 1
Awesome story. Sequel PLEASE?! I've actually read this more than once though I can't imagine why I didn't review before. Great job!

~Alicia~

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96227Chapter: 1
LOVE IT! Finally, an updated fic that doesn't refer to Ginny as 'Virginia'! And this was so sweet, I absolutely love Ginny fics!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95296Chapter: 1
This was wonderful. I think everyone was very much in character, and I loved how you wrote F&G in this piece. For instance,

"Fred choked on his biscuit. “Mum?” George squeaked." Priceless.

The dialogue flowed quite nicely, the plot was cute and I truly enjoyed the subtle comparison of Ginny and Tonks through the piece. Great job!

Reviewer: Truly. Again.Date: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95254Chapter: 1
i felt the need to add some after reading other people's reviews. how the heck DO you pronounce Ginevra anyway!? (and did you realise it's an anagram for vinegar? :S maybe Gilderoy Lockhart wrote a baby-naming book or something, lol!)

and was that "family pet" line a nod to Indiana Jones? heehee

thanks to Matt & Pineapple Queen for giving me thinking-disease.

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95253Chapter: 1
GREAT charchterisation, especially of the weasleys - i love seeing Ginny like this, and i think you got a real handle on the way Jo writes her. As someone with a wierd name too (yeah, that's actually my real name up there. shaddap! :P )i really liked this story. hmm... reckon Tonks'd teach me that charm too? :D thanks for a fun story that i could really identify with, and one that felt *real*.

Reviewer: mattDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95119Chapter: 1
I liked it a lot. the end made me smile. but one thing that has been really making me mad lately is how in hell do you pronounce ginevra? gin-ee-vra or gin-e-vra. i neeeeed to know

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95088Chapter: 1
Cute! I love this fic...my favorite line would have to be:



“Tonks… that’s an interesting name for a girl.” Fred leaned casually against the kitchen counter. “Named after a relative? A historical figure?”

“The family pet?” supplied George.


I'm still cracking up over that!

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95048Chapter: 1
Well, that was the most adorable story ever! :D I think it's very possible that Ginny and Tonks could relate to each other over a common embarrassment such as this. Well done. :D

Reviewer: HiDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94938Chapter: 1
I might add that I definitely have some sympathy...being named Celia isn't exactly a picnic.

Reviewer: HIDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94937Chapter: 1
Nice...but I thought that the name'Ginny' came from 'Virginia'???

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94905Chapter: 1
That was sooooo cute! Fantastic job!

Reviewer: ReenieDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94904Chapter: 1
I loved it i giggled hard enought to get hiccups now it's hard to type. I understand about the name thing because i have a friend with an unusual name and she gets it ALL the time as well. please keep up the good work! Please write more about those two if you get more plot bunnies nibbling at your toes.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94881Chapter: 1
Very cute... I was actually sitting here with a big smile on my face. It's written well enough that you can see them fall, with out being too 'wordy'. Great story!

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94861Chapter: 1
What were their mothers' thinking really? Great story!

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94849Chapter: 1
This is cute. I got the sense in OotP that Ginny might be like a younger sister to Tonks, and this a nice depiction of how it came about.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --