The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: This Clock
Review(s): 50

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-06-06
Reviewid: 143266Chapter: 1
I have a lump in throat. that clock is more than just a prop, that's for sure!

Reviewer: ankashaiDate: 2005-10-05
Reviewid: 133783Chapter: 1
Wow. The clock is one of those things that we all sort of saw, thought " Oh, how useful ", and moved on. But after reading this fic, I really feel for Molly -- how horrible, to see that clock hand turn up! And worse, there's no way around it. I can't imagine that you could add a "semi-mortal peril" setting to that thing!

Reviewer: fluffycatDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129832Chapter: 1
Very wellwritten.

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119862Chapter: 1
This is so powerful! What wonderful writing! Your insights and understanding of character are so spot on! I love the bit about Gideon's smile.
Thank you for writing this piece!

Reviewer: toastDate: 2005-02-27
Reviewid: 115096Chapter: 1
aaaawwwwwww!!!! i wuv it!! its awesome!!!!!! great job!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113051Chapter: 1
This raises an interesting issue. The Weasleys must have *known* that Ginny wasn't yet dead, right?

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102708Chapter: 1
Lovely fic! It was so sad, and yet so sweet, somehow. I'm glad you got Niffled-- you really deserved it. :)

~Brittney

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102207Chapter: 1
Wow! What a wonderful insight- I loved how you showed the anxiety of a mother, and her relationships with all her different children. The part about Ginny's near escape brought a lump to my throat. And I *loved* the reflections on Fred and George "Oh, c’mon l’il sis, we don’t want you keeping tabs on us now, do we?” The twins will never know it, but Gideon had the same silly grin that day that they have when they’re up to something. "- Somehow that quote really touched me- I loved the idea that the scapegrace quality might have come from *Molly's* side of the family- this story was funny and touching and lovable- very Weasley.

Reviewer: Kiki CabouDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102198Chapter: 1
Brilliant. Love it. :D

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101909Chapter: 1
Great read.. love how Molly starts getting used to her family being in mortal peril - it not meaning so much any more... once again, great read.

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100224Chapter: 1
Lovely little story. I like the rhythm to it. For a bit I had one of those confuddled moments where I confuse canon with fanfiction, as I thought Harry had a hand, but that was some story...

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98745Chapter: 1
OMG...that made me cry. It was so powerful and sweet.

Reviewer: t.A.T.u. ROXDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98649Chapter: 1
This is awesome—i <3 it

Reviewer: HowleyDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98487Chapter: 1
really enjoyed it, a clever and original piece!

Reviewer: TamiDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98382Chapter: 1
Hehe. I actually liked this story.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98007Chapter: 1
Excellent story! There's so much I love about it...especially the "love, hate" thing you've got going all through it.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97911Chapter: 1
It's about time somebody wrote about Molly's clock from her point of view! This is really excellent and my heart goes out to her and her love/hate relationship with it. Thanks for writing such an insightful story. I'm going to read it again...right now!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96415Chapter: 1
Ashtur, this story made us cry. We never cry over fanfiction. We are mums, and we don't think we could be as calm, cool and collected as Molly has learned to be if our childrens' hands were pointing to "Mortal Peril." And yet, you've shown her like that without making her reaction facile and trite: In this story, she goes through the "emotional arc" that major characters are supposed to go through in a story. We think it's brilliant how you've made her conscious of each child's propensity for mortal peril; she's got it figured out why each of them might be there at any given time: She's a Mum who knows her children.

Our favorite line:
<<They’ve never stopped on “jail,” not even for Fred and George, though I wouldn’t be surprised to see that someday.>>

Our only complaint is that we don't think Molly would really say "Harry still doesn't 'get it'." Otherwise, brilliant!

Reviewer: Ashtur an'VanganDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96039Chapter: 1
Thanks for all the kind reviews all. I especially appreciate that the mothers out there have resonated with the story.

Jme13... That's an interesting point you raise, and what I had in mind was where Harry told the assembled crowd about how he and Ron had found the Chamber... that was where she'd found out about the Acromantula. Ron was separated from the Basilisk by the cave in, so that wouldn't have been quite so catastrophic to my mind... though it's arguable... frankly, either one would be enough to scare Molly out of her wits.

Reviewer: ShandaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95968Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful story! I love it!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95950Chapter: 1
You've caught what Molly must have felt. I never really thought about the fact that Bill's and Charlie's jobs put them in "mortal peril" from time to time. I can see Molly getting used to that position after a while.

Then, to be reminded what "mortal peril" really means because of Ginny's experiences - I can completely understand Molly's love/hate relationship with the clock!

One little thing:
" I remember the incredible relief, when Harry bought my little girl back to me. Harry still doesn’t get it, what that meant to me. But then I heard the story… Acromantula! Both of my babies… in so much danger… I’ve never looked at the clock the same way again."
Don't you mean Basilisk instead of Acromantula? At least, I read this paragraph as being about Ginny's time in the Chamber. I'm sure Ron's hand was on "mortal peril" when he was facing the Acromantulas, too, but that's not the way I read this particular paragraph. Or maybe it's just me?

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95905Chapter: 1
I've been meaning to read this for a few days and I'm glad I did. Like your other reviewers, I liked the back story of the clock and how it was handed down from the previous generation. I enjoy the first person point of view because we don't get that in this series. I feel like you captured Molly's maternal nature and her very real fears.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95642Chapter: 1
This was lovely. You did a great job writing Molly's perspective. I really loved her protectiveness toward her family.

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95552Chapter: 1
that was beautiful! the best i've ever heard from Molly's point of view. i love how she calls Ron and Ginny "my babies"; it's so sweet! the part where Ginny's danger in the Chamber of Secrets caused Molly to take the clock seriously again was just lovely! great job!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95391Chapter: 1
The repitition at the beginning and end was chilling. Amazing job, I love Molly's thoughts on the clock.

-PQ

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95298Chapter: 1
Two thumbs way up from this mum! Excellent job capturing those feelings.

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95292Chapter: 1
...I've just got *chills* moving up and down my arms. You captured the worried mother's tone perfectly. Beautiful job!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95274Chapter: 1
Wow. What a great piece! I really like the backstory you have given for the clock, as well as giving us bits and pieces of Molly's life. I never thought about her knowing Ginny was in 'mortal peril' during CoS from the clock, but it does make a lot of sense, and I love the fact that it more or less shocked her awake from the sense of security she had about the phrase 'mortal peril'. I also really like how you began and ended the story with the same phrase. It reminded me of the passing of time on a clock, watching as the hand slowly makes a complete circuit and then comes back to the beginning. Very nicely done!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95272Chapter: 1
I have goosebumps!! I'm really impressed by how accurately you've captured so much of everything it means to be a mother. Honestly, when it's late and my kids are out somewhere...I have found myself both hoping for and dreading the ring of the telephone.

Not that my kids have ever been in mortal peril (Thank God!), but I imagine that Molly's reaction is spot on here. I love how she got used to seeing the hands move up, but had to redefine her idea of peril and consequently her whole perception of the clock.

Great story!!

Reviewer: Sammy05Date: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95212Chapter: 1
wow, i just wanted to say that was the best i've ever read from molly weasley's point of view.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95210Chapter: 1
Aww. :( I liked the last two lines - very ironic. I like how you captured Molly's fear.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95181Chapter: 1
Oh, great! What a great concept for a story, and very well executed. It's clever the way the family gets used to seeing a hand at "Mortal Peril" when Bill begins work as a curse breaker. And the words you choose for the opening and closing are excellent.

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95150Chapter: 1
I love this story! (Ha, get it... all right, never mind.) You have done a beautiful job at showing how Molly could feel about the clock in her home. I especially like the recurring motif of calling her children "my babies" and the switch-off of "I love this clock. I hate this clock." That's exactly how I imagine she would feel.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95137Chapter: 1
I like how you've made the clock a family heirloom, because otherwise, what sane mother would want that in her home? I can only imagine the anxiety it's given Molly over the years, and she's five kids up on me. ;)

>>That all changed in one night. It was a night much like this one. I was just getting a cup of tea when I saw that Ginny’s hand was now pointing up. Even then I didn’t think much of it, not at first. I actually sort of chuckled about it. I wondered if Percy would feel left behind since he was the only one it had never happened to. Then the owl came. Then I remembered what “mortal peril” really means.<<

I doubt she'll ever be able to be complacent about "mortal peril" again. Well done!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95096Chapter: 1
Wow! It's been a long time since I've found myself teary-eyed at the end of a fic, but this definately got me there. What a powerful, little piece. I think you got Molly down perfectly. Great job!

Reviewer: Sammy WeasleyDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95067Chapter: 1
This is a really neat story. I had never thought about how Molly might really look at the clock. It is an interesting perspective. Again, very neat.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95061Chapter: 1
Awesome! Beautifully written. I relate heavily to Molly and this story gave me goosebumps.

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95052Chapter: 1
I too Love and Hate that clock
its just so useful and taunting all at the same time
as a mother I can't imagine seeing those arms going straight up and not having a heart attack

"I wondered if Percy would feel left behind since he was the only one it had never happened to."

maybe this too will change

Great Fic Keep up the good work

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94995Chapter: 1
I have a bit of an obsesion with this marvellous time peice, and this story has just fuelled it even more! Short but bitter-sweet.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94987Chapter: 1
Very moving!

Reviewer: lenaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94963Chapter: 1
Oh wow. That was really good. It had me on the verge of crying. Excellent job.

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94952Chapter: 1
Striking insight into Molly Prewett Weasley. I enjoyed the delicate allusions to what little we know in canon about her brothers. I read once that "Having a child is choosing to let your heart go walking around outside your body." Molly personifies that -- and you've caught that very well, here.

Reviewer: TobyDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94933Chapter: 1
Great fic! I never thought about the clock during the books. I like how you explained why she wasn't panicking during the events of CoS.

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94923Chapter: 1
Lovely story! And so in character for Molly...My babies - they´ll remain her babies even when they´re well over a hundred years old :-)

And poor Molly, always in fear for what will happen to her loved one. No wonder she´d rather have them locked up somewhere *safe* instead of risking their lives!

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94902Chapter: 1
This was a really touching story. Really fantastic job.

Reviewer: JalienDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94899Chapter: 1
Great Job! You really captured the moment and it must be tough for her to sit at home when she sees mortal peril on the clock.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94890Chapter: 1
Wow. I had never realized just how serious that clock is. And it's true, she must have seen "mortal peril" many times by now. You've captured very well what it must be like for Molly to sit at home, not knowing what dangers her children are facing right at that moment.

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94880Chapter: 1
Very nicely written.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94868Chapter: 1
What a lovely piece! Sometimes Molly is only portrayed in all her stern disapproval of her children's activities. But WE know there's more to her than that, and we think you've captured her mother's heart perfectly. Well Done!!

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94858Chapter: 1
Interesting... I always wondered if Mr or Mrs Weasley kept track of the cloak while the kids were at school.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --