The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Girl Talk
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: truefairy008Date: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144212Chapter: 1
awwwww .. great story

Reviewer: BradDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121033Chapter: 1
(It hasn't turned into a series yet ... hint hint?!)

A good read, thank you. A bit 'fluffy' maybe but I wanted something light-hearted to read for breakfast anyway; this brings back the lighter days before Voldemort's resurrection. Ginny's continual mental self-reinforcement that she's "over" Harry, trying to convince herself, was a continuing element of humour throughout. Harry and Ron really *were* unsympathetic beasts, weren't they? Although JKR was trying to portray them as immature 'boys', exactly like that, I guess.

The existence of 'the list' was excellent - very clever! If I could think of (funny) things like that maybe I could be a writer too ... but I don't have the imagination for it, alas.

Thanks for the story. I think your work here on Sugar Quill is all over a year old ... it'd be great if you could rustle up something else. Think of your fans, Mr. M! I vote for something along the lines of 'Hero', one of my all-time favourite HP stories ever.

I'll be quiet now. Thanks for writing these tales. Brad.

Reviewer: TalimeekaDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115818Chapter: 1
I love this so much. You really got into Ginny's head and showed her what she's thinking and the character is spot on. This fic reminds me of...me.

Reviewer: feildhockeyismyloverDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110288Chapter: 1
please, please proceed through Go, collect $200, and start your peice at the end of fifth year. Or just write more. But then you don't ge the $200. So meh.

Reviewer: aliciaDate: 2004-12-11
Reviewid: 107506Chapter: 1
you should write more of these. they're really good and interesting for girls to read.

Reviewer: spooky foxbabeDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107460Chapter: 1
so funny & so good!!!
"i swear by merlins's purple, sequined shoes..." lol!!! so perfectly ginny!!! more more more!!!

Reviewer: who wants to know?Date: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103197Chapter: 1
I understand that these reviews are supposed to be useful, but praise is useful, right?

I love this story, especially hermione. BUT I LOVE THEM ALL!! make it a series, please???

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96379Chapter: 1
woa. ya gots lotsa typos. they were kinda distracting.

Reviewer: LeahDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96351Chapter: 1
Hey,
i like your story,and it would be a great series! the only thing is all the extra letters and things. it's sooo distracting and hard to read. if you do decide to persue this for a longer time (please do!!), try to spend a little more time on the little things!
~Leah <3

Reviewer: JadeDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95915Chapter: 1
All the punctuation is really messed up (not sure if you noticed already) which makes it hard to read. It looks like a interesting fic though, and i'll be back to see if it's been fixed later.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95673Chapter: 1
You have certainly captured the "girl talk" in all of its unreasonable glory. What really rang true for me was the benign self-centeredness which ran through it all. There was no other side--because there *is* no other side when you're young and emotional.

A great little slice of life here.

Reviewer: TobyDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95547Chapter: 1
I was going to try to read but the formatting issues turned me off. ( I absolutely, one hundred per cent, without a question of a doubt, give up on Harry. ) Get it fixed and I'm sure this could be a great story.

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95509Chapter: 1
Ah, babes, why does this always happen to you? It's a fantastic story, don't worry about it.

Reviewer: SusieDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95456Chapter: 1
I adore this! Especially:

<<"They are pathetic." Yes! This is why I love Hermione so much. We agree on all the most important things. >> See? Now don't we all need friends like Hermione to agree that boys are pathetic.

<<I think she might say, I swear by Merlin's purple, sequined shoes, I will scream.>> I laughed out loud at that bit!

<<I allowed myself a brief fantasy of showing up at a future ball in brand-new robes, my hair done up, on the arm of Oliver Wood. Harry, of course, would immediately realize what a git he's been and apologize and we would sneak away to snog for ten hours. >> And what female Harry Potter fan HASN'T had that fantasy. :)

<<I could see it all in his beautiful green eyes. I could see...Nothing. I couldn't see anything. Ugh.>> I love that bit! It's so true to real life!

Anyway, the story is SO realistic! It's exactly the way that most of us would react! Well done!

The only problem, is the formatting problems. That's my only complaint and since it's not your fault, never mind! Well done!

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95410Chapter: 1
Series! SeriesSeriesSeries! Series!

...um. Yeah. Normally I don't bug authors for more on standalones, but you've given me a glimmer of hope, so...*pleading, starving child look* More?

Anyway, this is fantastic and I love it and will rain praises on your head for hours if you like (although they might get a bit redundant, I'm not in an "intelligent reviewer" mood at the moment). Go you!

Reviewer: BasilMDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95402Chapter: 1
yes... I know about the formatting issues. I emailed Mme Pince, so hopefully it will be fixed soon!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95398Chapter: 1
Oh, Basil, I -love- your Ginny POV stories! I'm so glad there's a new one!

favorite lines:

<<"Ginny, Harry's not ready for you. He's much too much of an-" Hermione paused, then yanked open the drawer to my nightstand, grabbed a small, worn sheet of parchment, and, scanning the list of alternate adjectives, continued, "moron." Actually, I'd been waiting for her to do that for a while now. Calling Harry and Ron 'idiots' over and over again is only so satisfying; the list usually comes out a lot sooner in most of our conversations on the subject.>>

<<"They -are- pathetic."
"Yes!" This is why I love Hermione so much. We agree on all the most important things.>> All girls need a best friend like Hermione to agree on the 'most important things' like boys really can be pathetic- *checks Thesaurus* -fools!

<<I allowed myself a brief fantasy of showing up at a future ball in brand-new robes, my hair done up, on the arm of Oliver Wood. Harry, of course, would immediately realize what a git hes been and apologize and we would sneak away to snog for ten hours.>> I think -I- sometimes have this fantasy! :o)

I love it! It's so true to life...I can't count how many times my friends and I have bashed boys in such a way only because we cared about the stupid gits! I DO hope you turn this into a series! I love the way you get inside your characters' heads.

I posted on the Fic Errors thread in the Erised Forum about your formatting problems. I hope it can be easily fixed by you resubmitting or something, because it was kind of distracting to read, but other than that, your story was perfect! :o)

Jules

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95388Chapter: 1
Hey, this is a very good fanfic - poor Ginny. However, it's a bit hard to read, because I think something went wrong with the formatting. Did you use microsoft word? You may want to re-submit.

Reviewer: IrisDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95386Chapter: 1
OOh! I love your stroies from Ginny's point of veiw. They're so...real. I really hope you do turn it into a series. My favorite part was the list with synonyms- had that problem before myself- idiot only works so many times....
ANyways, Good job! do some more!
Iris

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95364Chapter: 1
I really liked this - and I'm proud to be the first reviewer. I thought it was psychologically very accurate, with the girls recognising the boys' insensitivity towards Neville as well as themselves, and the female dormitory dynamics well handled.

Do you have any theories about why Parvati and Padma were desperate and dateless, and with whom they might have preferred to go? Are you making any assumptions about whom Neville does or doesn't fancy? Expanding on these ideas might make an interesting second chapter - perhaps one that focuses on dressing up and dance steps.

Your word processing program doesn't seem to be compatible with the SQ however - the formatting was just horrible. Can you (or Madam Pince) do something to fix that?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --