The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Just Like You
Review(s): 45

Reviewer: Gred and FeorgeDate: 2008-02-02
Reviewid: 150489Chapter: 4
I got a tight, funny feeling in my throat as I thought about baby Harry sitting in there all alone. Had anyone comforted him when he was afraid? Was it cold in there? Did he get sent to bed without supper often? Did they beat him?

Thats a horrid thought- Harry must have had the worst child hood the world has ever heard of...:(

Reviewer: Gred and FeorgeDate: 2008-02-02
Reviewid: 150488Chapter: 3
[Percy bristled. “I don’t see why I have to share every possession I own. It’s not my fault you and Mum have too many kids.”]
*slaps Percy in face* You are the most ungreatful, stupid, annoying, stuck-up, selfish, Ministry loving, famliy abandoning git I have ever met!!! You are a stupi stupi Prat who can't tell an arse from an elbo!!! *glares as percy shrinks inder my shower of insults and and retrets into a corner*
I Hate Percy, I Love Your Story!!!

~Jack(ie)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-05
Reviewid: 144638Chapter: 4
Thanks for another good read>

Reviewer: HorseloverPennyDate: 2006-02-05
Reviewid: 139364Chapter: 4
awsome! write more write more!

Reviewer: June LuttrellDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133858Chapter: 4
I hope yoou will continue with this storyline. Fred and George are two of my favorite Charachters. I would love to see how you will end this!

Reviewer: SaraiDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128619Chapter: 4
Please update this soon! I love the whole plot! P.S. my brother once made a promise that he was never going to tease me... he broke 5 minutes later

Reviewer: KristinDate: 2005-07-20
Reviewid: 127464Chapter: 1
Great story... keep it up, will you... I'm really hopeing that you are planning to write moore soon... four chapters are way too short for story like this...

Reviewer: Dumblydorr729Date: 2005-06-07
Reviewid: 123439Chapter: 4
Beautiful job ... its really great writing. George is so sweet but still playful ... and Ginny is AWESOME and so adorable. However, I guess something is going to have to happen with her and George, huh? Something that makes him lose her confidence and makes her turn to the diary ... maybe a misunderstanding or George accidentally confessing something to Fred ... I don't know. While I love that she's confiding in him right now, to align it with Canon she will have to lose faith in him to allow her to invest her full faith in Tom Riddle, right? I'd love to see how you tackle this ...

Reviewer: CybèleDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119210Chapter: 4
Hi!
I was supposed to start typing chapter 5 of my own fic but I couldn't stop reading yours. ^^
I so like the fact that you don't see the twins as two versions of the same person. It's much more realistic that way. Not that I know real twins but I've read a lot about the subject because I like making comparisons with my sister and me, who have been brought up in a way that make us feel like twins (same clothes, sharing a bedroom, being referred to as "the girls" and even our names being mixed up by people in spite of the fact that we don't look alike at all).
You can count on me to read all the next chapters, of course!
See you.
Cybèle.

Reviewer: ReesesPiecesDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115326Chapter: 4
It's awesome! Please, do add more!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-01-13
Reviewid: 110815Chapter: 4
Hey! This is an excellent story so far. When are you going to write more?Usually you only see stories from both of the twins points of views, or sometimes even just Fred's. It kinda looks like you're an F/A shipper (Like me!) 'cos you have several references to Angie here (Fred's first kiss,flying to Devon). Actually, I'm writing Angelina's Diarys, and I have her first kiss in third year, too.
Anyway, you need to write more IMMEDIATLY. I'm anxious to see what happens when the twins get back to school, and how you write the rest of our beloved characters. thanks for a great story, so far.
AW

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110645Chapter: 4
Of course I remember the whole rescue scene from CoS, and I'm very glad that George tried to see things from Harry's point of view. I really liked how he noticed that Harry was hungry. I felt sorry for both of them :( And I'm sure that George would have seen what Harry saw in the Burrow if he'd given it some more time.

I'm also really enjoying reading about George's relationship with Ginny. She is a brat like Ron said, but a real firecracker, too. I'm glad you're merging JKR's Feisty!Ginny with the one we all knew from the previous books!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110635Chapter: 3
And I seem to have read this chapter before, too, but apparently failed to leave a review. Thoughtless me <_<

Another great chapter. I thought it funny that Ron and Percy have something in common though both may deny it - apparently, they're both frustrated with their family. Ron's whined about being poor before in canon and Percy, in OotP, distanced himself from his family so he could further his career. It hurt to read that Percy's feelings are more deep-seated (in this fic, anyway) than originally thought, but again I appreciate how it adds dimension and realism to his character.

Poor Mr. Weasley. I wanted to give him a hug (and Ron and Percy a good whaling each) during that scene in the hallway. I'm glad George was there to try and console his dad for me.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110631Chapter: 2
Hey, I had already reviewed the previous chapter! Yay! And I remember reading most of this chapter, too :)

I think you depicted the Weasleys and their family life very realistically. I appreciated reading about the kids' flaws because it gave me a clearer picture of what they are like and how they relate to others. I enjoyed your portrayal of a bratty Ginny and an insecure Ron. Mr. and Mrs. Weasley sort of finishing each other's sentences was cute, too! :)

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106039Chapter: 1
i love how you had the twins finish each other's sentences. it's so like them. i love the idea of fred being a seer.. yep, just trelawney being crazy..

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105386Chapter: 4
Ah, Poppy P, what a fun look into life at the Burrow! We love Arthur's defense of Muggles: You have a really good grasp of his character. Also, Ginny saying, "How could you let me go out there looking like this?"--so cute! You've built in such a nice relationship between her and George: We'd love to see you write a one-shot sometime where they interact when they're older.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104553Chapter: 4
I've just typed out a very long review and then somehow managed to delete it, so this review wont cover as much as the first one did, sorry. Anyway, I especially liked how you have Harry sort of inavertantly bringing up his like with the Dursleys and Ron and the twins' reactions to it. Your characterization of George is very good, especially when you have him seperate from Fred. In the books we mostly see them together, so I imagine writing those bits took a lot of creative license. However, you did very well with them. The way you've got George explaining how Harry's homelife is instead of Ron is very interesting. In canon we generally assume that it was probably Ron who explained it, or Molly and Arthur got the general gist on their own. *Switches to fangurl speak after that rather stuffy review* This story is effin' awesome! The twins are my favorite Weasleys and George is so much different in your story, as in different from Fred. In canon the differences are *grr, switches back to stuffy speak* minimal if you aren't paying attention, with George being the slightly more careful one. Anyway, keep it up!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104544Chapter: 1
Why, oh, why did I let this fic slip through my fingers?

Masterful work as always, Poppy :) I've read quite a few other fics giving George a different personality from Fred, but you let it unfold so naturally here. My favorite moments were the ones wherein he said he was willing to wear Charlie's old robes until they were see-through, and when he felt he had to fake around a bit to keep up with Fred. Let Fred go on thinking that they're exactly alike, so to speak.

The "twins" moment toward the end of this chapter was lovely, too. I mean, George still is a Weasley twin and given to mischief. I think their bargaining with Charlie was a lovely reminder of that. (Hee, and Charlie's off-target Apparation was so funny!)

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104258Chapter: 4
Wonderful chapter! As usual, you do a fantastic job of really making us feel what the characters are feeling. The way you slowly described George's realization of Harry's hunger and his state at the Dursley's was wrenching. I also loved Molly and Arthur's reaction and how Molly kindly sent George off to bed.

Oh and btw, I ADORE your "other stuff". Your stories were one of the chief inspirations for my own fanfiction writing.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104239Chapter: 4
Hi Poppy, I've just read your first 4 chapters in one sitting - what fun! - so I'm lumping all of my reviewing together. I like how you're weaving what we know from CoS and forward with your own excellent embellishments. It's a great view of Weasley home life, and I'm all for that. Your Georgie is delightful, as is his interaction with Ginny. Your family dynamics are very realistic (I especially liked Ron and Percy's shoving match last chapter) and Charlie's handling of his siblings reminded me strongly of my older brothers. (I'm the 6th of 7 kids.)
And you're making first person narration work for me, which is particularly tricky. A great evening of reading, and looking forward to more.

Reviewer: FireflashDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103579Chapter: 3
Hee hee...I like that Ginny beat them every time!! I do love your interpretation of George, as little as we really know about him. Please keep writing, you bring so much joy into your readers' lives.

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103571Chapter: 3
Aww, this has been a great fic! I really enjoy fics that manage to show off both the bond between Fred and George AND the differences. You've managed to peg all the different personalities of the Weasley children very well, and I really like your Ginny! Her confession to George about fancying Harry was too cute. George thinking about why Arthur works long hours and getting mad at Ron and Percy was a very nice touch -- although I wanted to slap Percy and hug Arthur to bits after their spat!

I can't wait to read more. Great job. :)

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103560Chapter: 3
More great writing! Boy you have the knack for dialogue. It's so real. First things first - goodness no I don't have seven children...my husband would be in the looney bin! Three little munchkins is wild enough for me!

So many great things...I love Ron in this chapter. The twins and their magazine, Ginny and the hairpin - all wonderful.

I must tell you, in all honesty, because I love your writing and have such great respect for it, that I was really hurt by Percy. I think it is because I see Percy at this stage of canon at one of his sweetest. Fred comments that Percy doesn't even gloat about his OWLS during this summer and when Harry sees him for the first time he comes down all cheery, talking about what a "lovely day" it is. I think I feel very sensitive toward Percy's human and sweet moments being ignored.

Having put that out - I will say that I completely relate to angry privacy needs, sibling scuffles and a 16 year old boy pulling away from his parents.

I'm really looking forward to more.

Julu

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103550Chapter: 3
*Sigh* You have such a gift for writing humor! We're going to plead the excuse that it's late at night and we have head colds, so we're not going to quote all our favorite parts, but there are many! The bit about Arthur covertly encouraging the twins to try out the flying car was especially funny, in an endearing sort of way.

Percy's comment to his father--so cold! And yet so typically adolescent! We love George's comment, "I like big families." What a sweet guy! And sticking up for Ginny...We couldn't possibly like such a big joker if we didn't believe there was some sensitivity and depth under there, and you're making that so easy to believe. It's exactly like we picture him: In fact, we feel like this could easily be a "prequel George" to the older one we're writing about now.

We're loving reading these "Missing Moments" from Book 2. And Ginny--you've got her personality down to a T. We were excited to see your name on the postings, even if it did take us a few days to get to it, and this continues to be a great read!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103487Chapter: 3
I love things from George's POV. He is my favorite twin. This is very in-character for everyone. I love the twins' dialogue as well.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103480Chapter: 3
This is a really great fic! Interesting characterization of George, in that he's starting to grow apart from Fred, just a bit, even at this early date, and also that he's more understanding of their parents and of Ginny than any of the others. I like your Ginny as well--she's definitely a young girl here, but she has that spark and energy displayed in the fifth book--just more innocent. And also a good way to tie in her breaking into the broom shed with teaching her brothers how to pick locks so they can rescue Harry.

I'm really eager to read more of this! Nicely done.

Reviewer: Rachel FraserDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103466Chapter: 3
Wow!

So, I happened to stumble upon this site one night while looking at fan art (something about Harry Potter that has intrigued me, and helped to pass the time till book six). And I happened to find all these stories, telling of future love between Ron/Hermonie and Ginny/Harry. Oh it was fun, but I can't say I enjoyed it more than anything about Fred and George. Alot of the fanfic is of corse taking place after a time when the books are done and the trio is out of hogwarts. This is great, the setting which it is based in, and especially since Georoge is one of my favorite characters. I hold the twins in the highest respect for keeping me addicted to the books. They always have some secret knowledge hiding, and now you can possible uncover that.

No, but really, I must say, you do a great job. You have a great skill, keep it up. I love procrastination, and it's always so much better when its time filled with Harry Potter things!

I hope you'll keep wirting about George. I plan to read more stories by you when I have more time to procrastinate, but at the moment, this very well may be the first thing I've read by you.

Sincerely,
Rachel Fraser

Reviewer: JUST.DANDYDate: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103328Chapter: 3
I love this story! I love how it's from George POV, how it shows Fred and George aren't one person and the realationship between George and Ginny. I also like how you intervine(sp?) your stories, like with the Mrs. Gabby doll. Please update soon!

Reviewer: etcDate: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103249Chapter: 3
Wow, you do the twin thing really well. I'm a twin and I thought you did an excellant job with the dialogue. Also, George's thoughts on keeping things from Fred are very accurate. I am also a George fan and I love your portrayal of him. You also portray the large family well. I have 11 brother and sisters and I thought the interaction between siblings was great. Keep up the good work and update soon.

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98341Chapter: 2
This is such a lovely fic! I adore the interaction between the Weasley siblings, and I think you've characterised every single one of them brilliantly. The twins tease everyone to death and I particularly like that Ginny has some of the spunk she showed in Ootp while also swooning over Harry. George's concern over his mother shows us the tight bond shared between all the Weasleys - it's just lovely. I think you've also got the dynamics of a large family spot on.
Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97937Chapter: 2
Mealtime at the Weasley's sounds like mealtime at my house!! It's a great chapter Poppy. I love sensitive George and spunky Ginny. And...Percy with his letter...of course, that steals my heart. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97121Chapter: 2
Oh, yay! An update! *does the happy dance*

Sorry, had to get that out of my system. :-) Great chapter, all around. Love the quidditch game, though I wonder when they are going to do poor Petey in. I still love your dialogue within the family, I think (especially for being an only child) you've got a great hold on the family dynamic the Weasleys have. I liked the conversation between George and Ginny, and having her make the Weasley jumper was a stroke of genius! As always, great work. Can't wait to read more!

George Lovers Unite! heh. :-)

Reviewer: TorrenceDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97088Chapter: 2
I love this story!!!! I think you depicted all the characters really well and I love how it's from George's point of view. In the books it's usually said as the twins or Fred is the one talking and George just makes a side comment. I also love the way you characterized Ginny, please keep her as one of the main characters. Please update soon.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97077Chapter: 2
Great start! I love Weasley family sagas! I have a special place in my heart for them (as you would know, if you've read my essay in Gringotts!). Keep it coming!

Reviewer: LlalariaDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97024Chapter: 2
Yah! I love having a George perspective and I am very intrigued by your mention of a Slytherin friend. His sympathy for Ginny and the feelings of another Weasley (George) about the money situation are very unique and free from the trite repetitiveness of so many fics. Reading your author's notes, I don't think that most twins simultaneously speak like F&G, but maybe it's a side effect of magical twinology! Please update... Oh, and does anyone know why they don't just use a regular ball? I know that's how JK described it, but is it because of money or do they just not know about regular balls? Just a thought...

Reviewer: Ara'Date: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96641Chapter: 1
Wonderful, Poppy! I love fics that center around just one of the twins, it's great to see their perspective on things. I cna't wait until the next chapter!!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95853Chapter: 1
(Word that Cap'n Kathy hates)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry, I couldn't help myself. I hardly ever see fellow George Lovers write stories, and this one promises to be excellent. I think you have done an admirable job showing both the similarities and distinct differences between George and Fred, and I am thoroughly looking forward to more!!!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95579Chapter: 1
Hurrah for George! This is so great; quick and funny--just like the Twins. It's so nice that you've shown George as the more sensitive one: Even if you hadn't mentioned it in your summary, we would have picked it up b/c the scene where he overhears Molly and Arthur talking is done so well.

Some of our favorite lines:
<<Argus Filch suggested many different alternatives, none of which would be to the boys’ benefit.>> Ah, of course! It's Filch to a 'T!'
<<I swear, even if he wasn’t my twin brother, Fred would still be my best friend; he always manages to save my arse.>> Nice little play on their "enchanted bums!"
<<They were quiet for a second and I turned towards the stairs, keen to get away before I heard kissing or some other disgusting activity.>> Ah, 14-year-old George! But will this mysterious Slytherin change his mind?
<<I’ve always admired Mum’s ability to sound both tentative and firm. It’s a gift, (or a curse, depending on what side of it you’re on).>> What a grasp of the feminine nature you have!
<<I sighed loudly and added, “Bugger!” for good measure.>> Har!

And of course, the whole scene with *pissed* Charlie, and a touch of the Trademark Weasley Twin dialog (finishing each others' sentences)--so funny, all of it.

We've been waiting for this for a long time. Would you mind posting the link to your LJ next time, so we can discuss too?

Reviewer: LDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95570Chapter: 1
oh this is great!! i just love George (can't stand Fred though). Great idea, I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95497Chapter: 1
Seeing your name on the update's list was a pleasant surprise and it was even more of a treat for me when I found out it was a story about the twins.

This is a great start. I like how you make the difference between the twins "real", that is that you are not writing the difference just to have it there.

I really look forward to read more. :)

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95482Chapter: 1
Oh Poppy! You are so wonderful, my favorite SQ author!

What I love about your stories is the way I can feel like laughing and crying at the same time. I still think you do the most beautiful job in finding the intimate beauty of families. The way Arthur and Molly can kiss and worry about money all at the same time - that's so perfect. Charlie coming home schnokered and the way Fred and George can read each other - it's very real and very lovely!

I can't wait for more.

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95419Chapter: 1
A very good beginning. I especially like how Fred and George continue each others' sentences that way. It's as if they read each others' mind.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95399Chapter: 1
You know, I haven't seen too many fanfics like this... I really want to see where this will go!

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95361Chapter: 1
"I swear, even if he wasn’t my twin brother, Fred would still be my best friend; he always manages to save my arse." Literally, eh? Oh, dear, I disturbed my cat by laughing.

I adore your characterisation of Fred and George as two separate people, and love the Weasley family dynamic you've incorporated. I am eagerly looking forward to more chapters of this!

Reviewer: infelerDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95358Chapter: 1
I'm a twin, so I'd be interested to see in how this story turns out. Everyone always thinks of them as "the twins" and they've never seemed to have an identity crisis or anything yet, but it would be nice to seem them want to be more individuals. Since I'm a twin, I've always had problems with us being thought as one unit or one little group that always goes together. I won't get into it, but it's not as awesome being a twin as most people think. So I hope you'll add some of that into this story somehow, if you can.
By the way, I love the idea. George is awesome and he's my favorite twin because he seems a bit quieter and less of the leader than Fred. BTW, my theory on why he doesn't have a girl yet is because JKR's saving him for me, but that's okay... ^_^
Anyways, I'm really looking forward to seeing more of this story. Update soon!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --