The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 131034Chapter: 1
That was awesome!

Reviewer: grumpygrimDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98507Chapter: 1
WICKED

Reviewer: SeremanweDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94006Chapter: 1
This was, to me, bittersweet. A moment that Harry can actually be a child, but has to return to the Dursleys. Mrs Figg was great; she reminds me of one of my aunts. The description was wonderful. A very nice, short piece.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84812Chapter: 1
That made me want to cry, the part where Harry was talking to Mr Tufty and Mrs Figg came in. I loved Mrs Figgs good advice, and the way she boosted Harry’s self esteem without seeming to and the hints about her knowing Harry’s wizard… I thought this was very well written, you really gave me an insight into the character of Mrs Figg, one I’ve never had much interest in before, and made me feel fond of her. Very good!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68793Chapter: 1
What a great story! I love Arabella Figg, and I think you have done a wonderful job capturing her in this. Bravo!

Reviewer: kitzamaeveDate: 2003-11-18
Reviewid: 60528Chapter: 1
awww. that was sweet. i did kinda wonder how Harry wound up being so cheeky to his horrible relatives and not a nervous cringing wreck. nice job.

Reviewer: Jack IchijoujiDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32664Chapter: 1
I've read this many a time on ff.n and here, and I have to say I still love it. The phrase "tough old bird" somehow pops into my head.

Sorry, I'm not one for long reviews. Honestly, I don't review much at all, unless I can offer constructive criticism, but hey, this is just one long piece of kick ass.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32355Chapter: 1
[He climbed up into a soft overstuffed chair, not even trying to brush away the tabby, Mr. Paws, that sullenly agreed to share it with him, or the tabby's hair, which pretty much gave the chair it's color.] I love that image of the cat "sullenly agreeing to share" the chair. That's so typical of cats!

I like your take on Mrs. Figg. So many people make her extremely cuddly and loving, but she can't be that fluffy sweet or canon Harry would like spending more time with her. She's this great, no nonsense older lady. I really like her. I love her Earth Mother approach and her advice to Harry about building character. This story has a great message to it, very uplifting.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19832Chapter: 1
I can see this all happening to Harry, it's written so well. Keep writing please. :)

Reviewer: kateDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15631Chapter: 1
well, given mrs. figg's tutelage harry should be pretty good at herbology...and maybe even potions

Reviewer: slyevaDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9346Chapter: 1
This is a very sweet story, and you did a very good job of portraying Harry as the timid ten-year old we first see in the books.
The descriptions of the house and the garden are nice touches to the story; gives it that subtle development that good short stories have.
And your cat descriptions CRAX me up.
"I think he may be milking this a little for the attention. He is a cat, after all. "
How true :)

Reviewer: Lady PythonDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 270Chapter: 1
Aww!! That's such a sweet and cute story! VERY beautifully written! Good job! Loved it!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --