The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: What's In A Name
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113718Chapter: 1
This was the 1st of yours that I've read. I quite enjoyed.

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110375Chapter: 1
Sirius dropped poor little Dora???!!! well, i guess that could be the cause of her clumsiness....Nice ending though. I loved the annoyed-mother-Andromeda. Sequel? Please!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99284Chapter: 1
I really liked this fresh approach to the Black family. It was great to see the characters written with so much dimension to them...not just the GOOD Blacks and the BAD Blacks.

I felt sorry for both Sirius and Andromeda in this story. It was very moving and well-written.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95850Chapter: 1
I like the way you have portrayed Andromeda and Sirius' relationship here. Many people tend to band them immediately together, but this works nicely. I wish I could see some of the things Andromeda hints at, with the whiskey and with the visits from Regulus. (I know, subtlety is not a forte of mine.) Great reactions from Sirius with Nymphadora, and a brilliantly Slytherin-ish reason for her to be named as such. Very well done!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95495Chapter: 1
Ouch! The was so sad. I felt so badly for Sirius, it must've been tough to be that age and all alone despite the Potters.

And poor, poor Andromeda!

This was very well written. I enjoyed it despite the sad overtones.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95483Chapter: 1
Excellent! I like the reasoning behind the name - makes a sad sort of sense.

Suddenly the baby’s face blurred and warped out of shape
-Yikes! I liked that.

Andromeda
-You handle her very well. I hope you write more about her.

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95479Chapter: 1
I liked it. I liked the explanation (yes, I know that's probably spelled wrong...argh) of how Nymphadora got her name, and why. I though Sirius was very in character, especially in the last thre lines.

'He didn't need the Blacks.
Any of them.
He trudged back out of the rain, alone.'

Very nicely said.

A very well written story. You should be proud. And, also, you should write more!

Much Love,

~*PD*~

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95393Chapter: 1
Poor Sirius, I feel sorry for him. :( But really, why was Andromeda expecting Regulus? For a while, I was scared you were going to make it that Dora was Regulus's son! (Glad that you didn't do that.)

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95363Chapter: 1
This is heartbreaking. It makes too much sense that of course Sirius would have less-than-happy relationships with Blacks other than his immediate family--even Andromeda, his favourite cousin. You don't turn your back completely on your family and remain super happy good friends with some of them. You spun the story together wonderfully.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --