The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124888Chapter: 5
Stepbrothers Series - Great works. I really liked them

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122220Chapter: 5
Great! It's very un-canonish by now, and I seriously doubt the Basilisk is truly a friendly creature, but it's your AU, and I like to read it anyway. It's a very different story about the Chamber of Secrets, in any case!

Great job on it, and I'll be back to read the next part in the series another time!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122219Chapter: 4
Another great chapter! Dumbledore is very much Dumbledore-ish, interrogating (and trying to Legilimens!) Tom like that. I wonder what he suspects. Surely not that Tom visited the Chamber of Secrets?

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122218Chapter: 3
Interesting. So the Basilisk was told not to harm humans and is only supposed to guard the school? I wonder then how canon!Tom made it attack students. I also wonder what will happen if/when the Basilisk goes out hunting. Surely this is not going to become Tom's new pet for the next few years?

Anyway, great writing, great plot. I'm eager to read the rest.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122214Chapter: 2
I'm a bit scared. I'm not so sure the Basilisk will keep its eyes shut and be friendly at all to Tom and Hagrid. Oh well. At least they're going together. I'd better go read the next chapter to find out what's going to happen!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122213Chapter: 1
It's been about half a year since I last read something of this series, but I was rereading CoS and suddenly got interested again ... and it also helps that I have a bit of time to spare now. :-)

This is highly interesting! Will Tom open the Chamber? What will happen? And what will consequently happen to Aragog? Everything is different now, obviously. Tom and Rubeus even confide in each other, that's so nice to read about. And I love it that they're still the same: Rubeus feels sorry for the Monster Book of Monsters! Hilarious.

I'm quickly off to the next chapter.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102362Chapter: 5
...with no ill effects on the school population."
-made me laugh

I find your Tom's affection for Rebeus very touching.

Excellent ending.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102361Chapter: 4
I enjoyed Rubues's going on about the care a creature needs and how well that applied to Tom who with care has turned out to be a decent person.

The MacMillan girl clapped a hand to her cheek. "Rubeus! You're being enthusiastic about something nonvenomous! Are you all right?" She went as if to jump up and feel his forehead.
-Hah!

Reviewer: IggyDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100491Chapter: 5
It's taken me a while to actually read all of the stories but I love them. Please keep them coming.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100195Chapter: 5
Oh, humour. Bravo! It's got funny (damn, can't do italics). Liked the students asking questions...there's a realistic edge to that! Nice character work - Tom's becoming very charming, although I still think he's a little too nice for Slytherin, despite all those asides about not getting caught.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100118Chapter: 5
Loved it! My favorite chapter so far. The last line was great. =) Can't wait for the epilogue!

-PQ

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99945Chapter: 5
Oh I feel honoured! I'm the only one you left a message to!! Don't you worry! I won't go, this is way too good to pass!! I really like the way the presentation went! You know, it felt really natural. You guys write so well, there is really no stiffness or awkwardness in the story. Although it sounded stramge that Dumbledore would just wait for them there and catch them out. But you incorporated it so well, that it just passed well. I wonder if Harry will become a favored Tom's student (cuz i'm guessing Tom will become a Potion's prof)... Anyway, I'm looking forward for more! (and please don't finish this story yet!) well, i'm off to bed! goodnight everyone!
barb

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99885Chapter: 5
well that was a very good pre epilouge i do hope you write more i would love to see how our dear hagrid turns out if he never got explled and what a good tom riddle would be like I love you story and im so glad i got to read it

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99881Chapter: 5
Oh, I missed this story when the Quill was down! I truly enjoy everything about it. Tom's wit, his obvious affection for Rubeus, the banter between all the characters (human and beastial), I could go on and on. :-)

You both have taken two diametrically opposed characters and brought them together into this wonderful world, which could not have been easy to do, yet it made absolute sense. Wow.

I was so happy to see how you handled the chamber of secrets and it's establishment by Slytherin. It mirrored my thoughts on the matter so well! Brilliant on how you explained the basilisk's behavior in canon, versus this universe. It makes perfect sense, and makes me feel a great deal of sympathy for the poor thing Harry had to kill in CoS!

Loved the addition of Fido (I almost sprayed the monitor with water on that one.), the whole scene with Leona, as well as the possibilities of a budding romance between Tom and MacMillan.

My hats off to you both. Please continue! This is such a great series!

Reviewer: RobertDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99783Chapter: 5
OH a MOST satisfying story indeed! I suppose my expectations of a Grindlewald invasion were simply the idle musings of someone who enjoys alternate "what if" questions almost as much, and occasionally MORE than the original Cannon. :-)

Now I want a pet Ashwinder... he he... Looking forward to the Epilog, and any additional stories in the series... after all, Tom has two more years to go doesn't he?

Well done!
-Rob

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99281Chapter: 4
Hey there! I'm back! And I did keep reading, I just didn't have internet for a while and i was gone for some time, but now i can keep on giving my dumb reviews, where i don't actually review, but just boast for some more!!! And guess what i'll do this time? You got that right! Write more!!! Please! (you can do it for my birthday which was on the 21st!) I'm really looking forward to more! Oh and I love this series by the way! Brilliant! You go girls!

-barb

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98431Chapter: 3
I think my favorite part is how you did Dumbledore - smiling and smart.

From what I remember of your Founder's fic, I thought that Slytherin had died as a result of one too many werewolf transformations. Why would the basilisk say that he had left?

Why'd he keep her down here and if she likes it?" Rubeus suggested.
-Good job with Hagrid, making his first concern the comfort of a deadly creature.

Hope you update soon. Looking forward to the schools reaction and an invasion by Grindelwald.

Reviewer: RobertDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98361Chapter: 1
I just wanted to pop in a quick review... Love the AU fics that include a "different" version of Tom Riddle. What if he hadn't become Lord Voldemort? Enjoy both the Time's riddle series and this one!
Might be interesting to see what happens if Gridelwald tries to attack Hogwart's with Sharessa protecting it...

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98359Chapter: 3
once again loved the chapter and i liked that you had the basilik be the same as the one from moon and stone I hope this story has a happier not sure if ending for Tom is quiet the right way to put it but i hope he grows up to be a happir person because he has a nice step brother and what seems to be a more docile basilik any was cant wait for the update and to see how your imagination plays out =)

Reviewer: kassioDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98256Chapter: 3
Sharessa is really cute.
What I like most about your story that you changed only one small detail (Tom Riddle not being abanndoned) and still got major changes. I think this is very believable.
Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98225Chapter: 3
Sharessa the Basilisk! That's priceless! Love the new chapter...the conversation was perfect. I really like the way this story is going...kind of makes up for the tragic stuff that happens to Tom Riddle in canon. =) Dumbledore was also perfect.

-PQ

Reviewer: MariagonerDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97047Chapter: 2
>>"I'll keep that in mind, but at least I'm comforted that no Care of Magical Creatures professor in his right mind would assign [a Monster book of Monsters]."

Mwah! Is that foreshadowing I hear right there?

This story just gets more and more interesting, especially now that it's starting to tie into events that occured in JKR's universe.

I wonder... will the basilisk end up killing anyone this time around? Will Hagrid still be expelled? Will Myrtle still be killed and turn into a moaning ghost? I can't wait to see parts 3-5 of this story...

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96951Chapter: 2
Lovely new chapter! I'm really falling in love with this series here...can't wait to find out more about the basilisk!

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: The CorinthianDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96917Chapter: 2
I'm sitting here giggling at the thought of your oh-so-dignified Salazar from the other story deliberatly placing the entrance to the chamber in a girl's bathroom. I'm sure Godric thought it was funny, anyway. Nice idea, that Tom and Rubeus are the two people best suited to find the chamber. Although how Tom found it in the first place is a question you didn't answer. Presumably a combination of process of elimination and "shear, dumb luck". Anyway, you've got it moving along nicely. It is very focused, obviously, on Tom and Rubeus, which is good, considering how clean you've gotten the characterization, but I do wonder what would happen if you had a few more characters. Might be interesting. Mind you, Aragog has just made an appearance, so I shouldn't complain.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96907Chapter: 2
Oh, this is going to be VERY interesting. So our darling Puggle found the Chamber after all? I wonder if he'll be as successful keeping the Basilisk in check as he thinks he will be. I have my own theories about the "Hufflepuff first year", so we'll see what happens there. You definitely know how to leave a girl hanging, though!

I loved the interaction between Aragog and the boys. I think you did an admirable job keeping the tone of Aragog's conversation in CoS with this dialogue, especially the whole"None of them, ever?" Aragog clicked wistfully. " bit. That made me grin. Still love the fact that Tom calls Rubeus 'little brother'.

Great job, as always, guys. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96857Chapter: 2
My only compliant is how few reviews your stories get. I hope you have posted them elsewhere with better results.

He was listenin' ter me in th' egg."
-Cute touch, reminds me of pregnant women playing music and talking to their children in the womb. I get this picture of Hagrid singing to the egg which makes me agree with Tom when Hagrid said "His English ain't so good yet."

"Too large. For now."
-Yikes! Interesting creatures indeed.

He didn't exactly have real enemies at the moment, though. Rivals, yes, but that was different.
-LV would not be pleased with that sissy attitude.

Hmmm, wonder how you are going to handle Myrtle.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95821Chapter: 1
Ooooh. . . I've always thought you did a great job blending Canon fact with your own original ideas, but this is excellent. Nice explanation of where Hagrid got Aragog from, and an interesting twist on how Tom is going to find the Chamber. Can't wait to see what he does!

Reviewer: TobyDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95545Chapter: 1
Great start! Can't wait to see the next chapter. I always wondered where Hagrid had gotten the acromantula egg from. Your scenario is likely as any.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95480Chapter: 1
Excellent start. I like how Rubeus got the discount and "... but at least I'm comforted that no Care of Magical Creatures professor in his right mind would assign those." -Hah!

Usually the peculiar merchandise back here was supposed to warn the shopkeep if there was anyone lurking too long, but Rubeus had already made friends with them
-I love how you handle Rubeus

dome of silence
-Ever watch Maxwell Smart?

Looking forward to the next installment.

Reviewer: SilmelasDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95370Chapter: 1
YAY!!! Another chapter's up! I love the Stepbrothers series. I love the idea of it, and they're extremely well-written. I like how you keep Hagrid and Tom both in character (well, how Tom would behave if he didn't grow up in an orphanage). Yay, we'll get to see baby Aragog soon! I just hope that the basilisk won't get out again. Then again, Tom let it out in canon just to kill Muggleborns. So as long as he doesn't do that it should be fine. Sorry, I'm rambling. Anyway, please hurry, I want to see more! I love your stories.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --