The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 40

Reviewer: Kitty45Date: 2006-04-30
Reviewid: 142418Chapter: 1
Wow! I love how you took a small fact from OotP and made it into a full-blown one-shot! Brava!

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2006-02-05
Reviewid: 139395Chapter: 1
I realize it's kind of late for me to be hopping on the bandwagon here, but I love your writing. I just read the olive story, which I read after the beauty cult one, and now I'm here. And as I read, I love you more and more.

You are a MASTER at showing us the relationship between characters that we don't see interact all that much. I am now ready to believe that this is what happened between Luna and Hermione. It's just so great, and believable. I like how you handle the possible Luna/Ron feelings. This is a great story. Thank you!

PS I loved the Vermicious Knid reference, and was unduly proud of myself for recognizing it.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136616Chapter: 1
Great Luna.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2005-11-14
Reviewid: 135873Chapter: 1
I absolutely LOVE this! *squee* Seriously- what a wonderful missing moment- those are the best, the one's that you don't even think about untill someone oushes this brilliant a fic under your nose and you're like "Duh! This is SO what happened." I seriously just snerked tea all over myself because I was laughing so hard...okay, TMI...
Luna and Hermione are both spot-on- especially Luna, which is awesome because I find her difficult to put in character. Lots of people just make her seem random Loony Comic Relief, but you really caught her character. Vermicious Knids! Wonderfull... I'm very, VERY impressed.

Reviewer: JacyntheDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 134996Chapter: 1
I liked this one a lot. Luna is so hard to get right, and you've done it.

Reviewer: juliaDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128963Chapter: 1
simple but creative- in a good way :)

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98753Chapter: 1
This was lovely - very sweet and in character. I only wish it was longer!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98717Chapter: 1
This was hilarious! I loved Luna's bluntness.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: janeDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98318Chapter: 1
Had some trouble getting my review posted, hope this works. I thought this was another super story. It was funny and believeable with it's slightly whacko JKR-ish touches. Hermione and Luna are so hilarious together! Favourite line: “No, no, not the fictional Knids,” Luna interrupted, “The real ones. How am I to speculate on the vermiciousness of fictional Knids? I’ve never seen one.”

Hermione fought the urge to laugh. “Nor have I.”

Luna shrugged. “Well, then. You see, I was always under the impression that Knids were quite vermicious, but as it turns out, they’re rather mild-mannered.”

Reviewer: SarabandDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98214Chapter: 1
Excellent! It's (almost) always nice to read stuff with Luna in it. Characterization was quite good, though I'm not sure she'd be so direct. I liked the idea of Luna going to Hogsmeade with Terry Boot and finding him dull. And Roald Dahl references are wonderful things (though I haven't read that particular book).

Reviewer: nothingDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98156Chapter: 1
cute

Reviewer: Jack IchijoujiDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97897Chapter: 1
Few people characterise Luna well. They either make her too far out to lunch--out to dinner, perhaps--or completely forget the oddness and just make her... mildly eccentric.

And, of course, that even Luna has standards: how is *she* supposed to study fictional Vermicious Knids? Dur. Just madness.

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97852Chapter: 1
Well... I think I have a new author to add to my favorites list.

I really liked:
"That is, of course," Luna added, "unless she's only, say, one-eighth Slashkilter…" Luna trailed off, seemed to examine the bushy-haired girl, and said, "Are you Ronald's true love?"

You draw the characters so well it almost felt like I was sitting there at the Three Broomsticks listening to them talk. It'd be amusing to hear Ron and Luna have a similiar conversation.

I also got a kick out of:


"She is," Luna agreed. "Do you think she's part-Umgubular Slashkilter? Because they’re notoriously—"
"No, Luna," Hermione interrupted, a little tersely, "I’m positive she’s not."

:0) Nicely done!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97663Chapter: 1
That's sweet. I love a good Luna fic, and I think you got her voice just right. Kudos to Hermione for being so patient with her, though.

One little thing - I'm not Brit, so this isn't a pick, but this sentence came off as really American:
>>>    Luna shrugged.  “You ought to love him back, is all.”

It's the 'is all' construction. It may be just me, but changing it to 'that's all' would be more fitting. Heh, for all I know you are a Brit and now you're rolling your eyes at me.

Anyway. I really liked the story. Thanks.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97651Chapter: 1
That was simply adorable! :D

Reviewer: ErikaDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97085Chapter: 1
Wow, I absolutely loved this! It was well-written, great characterizations and very creative. I think you really captured Luna.:). Great job!

Reviewer: sDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96459Chapter: 1
funny. i like it. it's very hermione... and luna is very funny too...

Reviewer: NewtDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96159Chapter: 1
Well-written! :)

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96117Chapter: 1
Tres tres cute. Luna was quite in-character, and as bizzare as ever. You're one-shots are a delight! I better get reading.

"Are you Ronald's true love?" Har har har.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96063Chapter: 1
oh, this is lovely! yours has become a name we look for on "Latest fics," and we always feel like we've eaten dessert first when you drop a little gem like this in our laps. Cheers!

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95878Chapter: 1
Very, very cute. I like Luna's rambles, and Hermione's reactions...Luna is so terribly, terribly right. Ha.

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95802Chapter: 1
I loved it! Luna was very in character and this would have to be one of the best Luna characterizations I've read. I really enjoyed her comments about Knids and that Rita's things were sometimes too unbelievable("Please." and of course the Terry Boot thing)! I loved her last line the most " You ought to love him back, is all." Perfect.

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95797Chapter: 1
ooh, excellent! Luna is perfectly in character! i always thought she was in love with Ron. great story!

R/H forever!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95780Chapter: 1
Oh, I'm so glad you posted this at the SQ! I read the first version from your link on Lockhart's bookshelf, and I thought it was great, too, but I really like that you changed the setting to pre-meeting with Rita and Harry. I like the additions of Luna'a speculations about Rita, and especially this: Luna nodded. “All that rubbish about you being Harry Potter’s girlfriend? Please.” She rolled her too-large eyes. Heh...you really write comedy well!

Jules

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95766Chapter: 1
Hah! I love the way you opened the story! With the few lines I have read thus far, I can really tell that they are in character!

I love Luna's randomness:

“That is, of course,” Luna added, “unless she’s only, say, one-eighth Slashkilter…” Luna trailed off, seemed to examine the bushy-haired girl, and said, “Are you Ronald’s true love?”

Haha! So cute!:

Luna sighed. “Thank Rowena. I was hoping Terry Boot wasn’t my true love.”

Cute little fluff without being fluffy, really, at all! Shocking how it is possible!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95762Chapter: 1
Oh YAY! I am so glad to see this up so quickly. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, but you knew that. I love the dialogue you've added back in between Luna and Hermione, I think that really added a lot to the setting, as well as giving a bit more base to their relationship.

Besides, "Hermione, for lack of anything constructive to say, merely said, “Ah,” and went back to stirring her drink." is one of my favorite lines. Well, that and Luna's line about Terry Boot, which is simply inspired.

This is still one of the best characterizations I have seen of Luna, and I think you have showcased her logic AND her quirkiness amazingly well, especially when she is pitted against Hermione's cool intellect.

Fantastic job, truly. Oh, and thanks for the nod. *grin* It was most definitely my pleasure.

Reviewer: SimpkinDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95754Chapter: 1
Well done! I really enjoyed this--You portrayed Luna perfectly! I liked Luna's kind of simple wisdom in the way she discussed Ron with Hermione. Hermione may be logical and rational, but Luna is much better at understanding feelings, and she can recognize true love.

Reviewer: EnchantedQuillDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95739Chapter: 1
Well , i think all the writings were in character for luna, who i think happens to be a very hard character to write. You seemed to do it well though. of course, i loved the plot line... R/Hr ness all the way! and keep up the good work because that was a very fun story to read!

Reviewer: Midge WoodDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95731Chapter: 1
Whoo! Your Luna is a trip! 100% canon and 100% batty. You nailed her belief in the odd and her perception of "real" things. However, you do need to work on your dialogue tags. The many descriptions of what the characters are doing while they are speaking is very distracting, especially when they are in a heated debate. You do not always need to describe what they're doing to get their emotion on page.

God Bless,
Midge

Reviewer: LDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95699Chapter: 1
aw, this was precious. Great work!

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95692Chapter: 1
<<“Daddy’s a little nervous about taking Ms Skeeter’s article for the paper. He’s glad to print a story on Harry, of course, but he says that what Ms Skeeter writes is sometimes just unbelievable.”
Hermione stared. “Is that so.”
Luna nodded. “All that rubbish about you being Harry Potter’s girlfriend? Please.” She rolled her too-large eyes.
Hermione managed a weak laugh. “Heh. Right.”>>

This was wonderful! Too true! ;-)

Reviewer: FrazilDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95686Chapter: 1
Ack! I should really try not to read these humorous fics while eating. I was choking at the paragraph about the knids and Rita Skeeter not being believable enough for The Quibbler. Great stuff. :)

Reviewer: huffboy36Date: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95681Chapter: 1
Good job on the Vermicious Knids!! Ten points to Gryffindor!

Reviewer: Julia, age 8Date: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95674Chapter: 1
I liked this. Luna seemed very right. I hope Terry Boot isn't her True Love. I'm glad she has the sense to know that Ron isn't either. For a moment I thought J. K. Rowling had written this story.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95645Chapter: 1
Yay! Another story! I thought this endlessly cute. I love seeing interaction between Luna and Hermione, and this was one of the best. Luna's reason as to why Ron and Hermione are soulmates is priceless. =) Great job! And I do like the little added bit as to why Luna was humming 'Weasley is Our King' under her breath during the interview.

-PQ

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95639Chapter: 1
Delightful! Loved the reference to Dahl's Vermicious Knids. Of course Luna would have something to say about them!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95633Chapter: 1
Yay! That's telling her, Luna! ^_^

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95616Chapter: 1
This is WONDERFUL!!! spot on humour, totally in character... LOVE IT!!! [Especially the part where Luna's father questioned Rita Skeeter's story were not worthy of the Quibbler!!}

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95592Chapter: 1
Sweet, vermicious knids!! They look so at home in JKR's world (or at least Luna's perception of it). Nice characterization, nice Canon tie-in ... all around, a great job. Thanks!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95582Chapter: 1
awwwww! that was beautiful! luna's wonderful, isn't she?

thank you for such a believable almost-fluff!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --