The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139774Chapter: 1
Short Letter

Reviewer: PrettyPixieDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137132Chapter: 1
Hmmmm, it was ok, but do you really think that they would give a whole personalized letter to him?? I thought that they were busy people!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115870Chapter: 1
Neat idea.

Reviewer: LinDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99010Chapter: 1
Brilliant! Just when I was mulling over how the IUMO monitors magic for a fic I'm writing. I can tell you put a lot of thought into this. The map sounds a bit like the Marauders' Map; wonder if the Marauders used some of the same spells? I have this mental image of witches and wizards in a huge magical version of an air-control tower, constantly scanning maps. May I use some of your ideas if I give you credit? (Of course, there's no telling if I'll ever get said fic done.)

Happy writing,
Tourmaline

Reviewer: PoofDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98364Chapter: 1
This is the crappiest thing I have ever read. Really, who did you pay to get this on a site, that usually, has such great work.

God I could barely even make it through the "story" without falling asleep - and that's sad because it's so short.

Don't quit your day job.

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97597Chapter: 1
Wow. I certainly wasn't expecting that. But it's still good, and well-written. Sometimes I got a bit confused, especially with the levels, but it all worked out in the end. Good job!

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96696Chapter: 1
This was fun and original too, which was nice. :) I especially liked how if you removed the magical elements/references, it could have been a letter from any Muggle agency in the world. It's good to see that Governments are the same the world over!

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96695Chapter: 1
Brilliant.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96623Chapter: 1
Oh, how interesting! This is one of the most original ideas for a story I have seen in a long time. I love your explanations of magical levels in areas. The whole system is brilliant. Very good job on keeping the tone of the letters from Canon, but expounding on them. How can I say this. . . it was sufficiently snooty, but still informative and interesting to read. Translation=Very nicely done!

Reviewer: ChaosStormDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96615Chapter: 1
I love it. I like the way you have set it up as a letter, it is believable as a letter and the theory explained in it all makes sense.

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96600Chapter: 1
wow pretty good standard goverment reply that tells the recipent pretty much nothing that they wanted to know i hope that you plan on posting more to this story like harrys reaction to it

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96586Chapter: 1
cool

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96551Chapter: 1
This is wonderful! It's not your run-of-the-mill fanfiction, but truly, we should have more things like this in the archives. Your every point was well-thought out, plausible and presented in a clear, succinct manner. We pity the company that ever gets a letter of complaint from you: They'll have no chance once you get through making your case. You never once, in this letter, stray from the voice of Mafalda Hopkirk that we get through her letters in canon.

We hope to see you venture next into the realm of writing stories but, if that's not your thing, you may just have a permanent post here as writer-of-policies-and-procedures-for-the-Wizarding-world.

Reviewer: FourDayHeroDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96432Chapter: 1
This was very good. I generally skip non-Professor's Bookshelf authors, but this one grabbed me. I very much enjoyed this, as it's a topic I have often pondered, myself. Perhaps a more indepth fic about how the system started? *visits Plot Bunny Corral*

Keep writing!
~FDH

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96409Chapter: 1
Interesting and well thought out.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96389Chapter: 1
Interesting letter! I never even thought of the ideas that would revolve around improper use of magic. Very creative and well written. The letter flowed like a letter from a department head shoud. And I just love the name Mafalda Hopkirk. I can't remember if it was used in the books, but it is very fitting to her position. Although your letter might not appeal to other readers because it is not a story, I hope people stop to read some because they'll find a jewel. Keep up the good work! I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96375Chapter: 1
I didn't think Harry would bother sending a letter, but the letter that responded to him is interesting. It makes sense and it's straightforward.

By the way, I think I saw your summary somewhere in the forums before. Have you ever posted it in the Pensieve forum? I think I might've remembered it and that's how I got here. :) Nice piece.

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96361Chapter: 1
Oh gosh, thank you for this letter. This cleared up things immensely for me, this should be canon. Really. :o)

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96352Chapter: 1
This is really very good, Miss Stephanie D.! The letter is very informative, and I like the thought you put into Ms. Hopkirk's answer. It seems likely to me that Harry should want to know this information, although he would probably not ever think to write the letter. What a great idea, and I look forward to more from you in the future! :o)

Jules

Reviewer: shooting starDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96337Chapter: 1
hmm, interesting theory! And very plausible too- very clever!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --