The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Chasing Dragons
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123226Chapter: 1
This is brilliant! This is a great weaving together of canon information to create a really touching insight into a Weasley that we don't see enough of, at least in my opinion!

Your portrayal of McGonagall is great throughout. I loved this bit:

---Charlie flipped his sweaty hair out of his eyes. "Sorry, Professor. Practice ran late." He grinned at her, knowing her weak spots.

"Hmm." She shuffled papers. "Well. Youíve read the pamphlets, I take it?"---

She's such a great softy at heart! Of course, she does come across as harsh in bits of this One-Shot but you illustrate the difficulty she's in well. Personally, I'd love to see a sequel. I'd really like to see Charlie's efforts and McGonagall's reaction to the 'miraculous turnaround'!

Reviewer: LalaDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106635Chapter: 1
Ha! One of my teachers did the same thing to me in the 4th grade. I said I wanted to be an astronaut, and she suggested meterology instead... she even gave me a weather chart to go with. Funny.

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106357Chapter: 1
love it! wonderflly done! perfect portrayal of Charlie, always wondered about him, hardly any fan fic. PLEASE continue!

Reviewer: anonDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102324Chapter: 1
well-written, ingenious, great characterization, takes the charlie we know and tells a story which we have never seen before. excellent and would love to see you continue.

Reviewer: angelbeeDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100232Chapter: 1
In case y'all were dying to know; angelbee is me, DefiantEyes.

Reviewer: SpringrynDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100153Chapter: 1
There's more, right? Because I like this, and I want it to go...

Reviewer: angelbeeDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99873Chapter: 1
I love this. It's in my favourites folder. Charlie Weasley and dragons are my favourite obsessions. This is the first fic I've read that has done them justice. Don't stop now. This is perfect.

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99844Chapter: 1
i knew what lingua franca was. That makes me excited and sad because that means I should really py attention in Elements of cultural Geography. Poor charlie. Are you going to update soon?

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99825Chapter: 1
pls continue this story-it's too good to leave

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98777Chapter: 1
I missed this when it posted. I found it when I was just looking to re-read some of your stuff. A ncie surprise!

And this is nice. I like the way Professor Mac treats Charlie. You can tell she likes him (probably the Quidditch!) and does not want to tell him no. But she faces her duty, rather than lead him on.

Looking forward to more!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98276Chapter: 1
Will there be more of this? I really hope so. My only real criticism about this is it seems rather short. I loved the little descriptions: "Charlie flipped his sweaty hair out of his eyes." Very Quidditch- player and, I suspect, very Charlie. And Professsor McGonagall was brilliantly characterized- I loved Charlie knowing her weak spots and knowing how to get round her- brilliant! Write more!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97016Chapter: 1
I like it! Well, I like Charlie's aspects of it. You've gotten into his head quite well. McGonagall's part could use some tweaking -- it doesn't quite sound like her, for some reason, though I admit she's not had a great many parts in canon -- but that's just minor.

You always find a really neat way to show your theme. We already know what happened to Charlie. So the "persistence/follow your dream" message came through loud and clear! Lovely work!

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 96995Chapter: 1
So ... is this going to be a chaptered fic? Because I love it so far. Poor Charlie.
My only comment is that hardly anybody speaks Bulgarian (Bulgaria is pretty small) and maybe Chinese or Russia would be a better third language? Bulgaria doesn't even have a species named after its region.

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 96964Chapter: 1
ZOOKEEPER?!!? CHARLIE WEASLEY?!!? are you kidding me . minerva, sometimes you make me want to laugh. in fact, i will. hah. zookeeper......humph.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96879Chapter: 1
Yay! New Mosylu for this Mosylu Fangirl! Featuring Charlie, my favorite Older Weasley! Can't wait for more.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96828Chapter: 1
Short and sweet-I love your Charlie!

-PQ

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96804Chapter: 1
Oooh, this is very interesting.

If it's okay with you (and this piece does not go past Book 5), I may purloin bits of this for background in Herm-own-ninny's and mine work-in-progress Charlie piece.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96799Chapter: 1
I don't think I can tell you how excited I was to see your name up for new stories. I loved this one, I can't wait to read more. Are you going to do more of the "home" series? I love these stories. Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!

Reviewer: Miss Stephanie D.Date: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96783Chapter: 1
An intriguing, interesting, and original premise, Mosylu. I liked reading it.

Your treatment of the subject matter, your portrayal of Charlie's emotions, and your view of the subject were as great as I have come to expect from you. Please do not take it the wrong way, then, when I say that the quality of your writing in this fic is not as good as your recent The Hero of Hogwarts and The Wrath of Loki.

There was not too many specific instances, an awkward phrase here (e.g. "for quite three years") and there (e.g. "she looked almost old") and a touch of repitition (e.g. 'quite', 'shuffling', and 'a few'). I have come to expect better than that from you.

Take your closing, for instance. "'Iíll give you a few pamphlets to read through.' She put a few glossy career pamphlets on the desk in front of him. The top one said, So You Want to Be A Zookeeper! Charlie wanted to rip it into confetti." This is a truly powerfull ending! I could see the slump in Charlie's shoulders, the way he slouched back in his chair, and the twisting feeling in his gut. I could feel his burgeoning anger and his determination form. Wow.

This is good. Please believe me when I say that I honestly enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading more from you.

Gramercy,
Miss Stephanie D.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96742Chapter: 1
Hurrah for a Charlie-fic! We love how you give hints about his personality:
<<Charlie flipped his sweaty hair out of his eyes. "Sorry, Professor. Practice ran late." He grinned at her, knowing her weak spots.>>
<<"And trust me, their standards will always come out the winner when the opponent is someone who thinks studying for Potions is finding out which ingredients produce the biggest explosion.">>

And showing us that dragons have always been a passion for him, rather than a passing whim, makes us root for him all the harder.

McGonagall's voice sounds just like her, and your dialog flows so smoothly we forget we're reading and just believe we're sitting in the room with them , eavesdropping.

Nice sentence:
<<Charlie felt his stomach turn into one long icicle and slide to his toes.>>

Our only complaint is that it's left us longing for more....and now we'll have to wait!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --