The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Fatherly Advice
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: DragoDate: 2007-03-05
Reviewid: 147369Chapter: 1
Know that this is old - but hey, I'm new. I really enjoyed ready this story - the characterizations were exactly right. and the ending was superb!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142964Chapter: 1
This was so cool. I've always like Mr. Weasley, lol. Wonderful!

~GW

Reviewer: lucyDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122290Chapter: 1
really good!!!!!!!!
and funny!!!!!!!!
ilaughed so much when i was reading this i almost fell off the chair!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: heatherDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117062Chapter: 1
very nice. i really enjoyed reading this- it was sweet and pleasant. i love arthur weasley and you did a great job keeping him in character. keep up the good work!

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 115000Chapter: 1
Most excellent. Thank you.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104780Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this piece, Magnolia Mamma. You have created a very convincing characterisation of Arthur Weasley and illustrated R/H beautifully. Keep it up!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: ShellsDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97797Chapter: 1
That was so beautiful! I've always wanted this relationship to be explored more, and this was just exquisite. Well done!

Reviewer: jameyz aka ravenlyDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97777Chapter: 1
Not the person I'd expect to give advice to Hermione, but it worked out really well. They were both in character and I liked that fact that Mr. Weasley was disecting something a little more modern. It flowed well and overall was a good piece.

Reviewer: LoveThePlugsDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97594Chapter: 1
This story was so good! I took a break from fanfictions this summer and this is the first one I've read all summer and it is one of the best ones I have ever read! The emotions and the moods about it all was perfect. Perfect.
~*Plug*~

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97553Chapter: 1
That was great! I loved it. Hermione and Mr. Weasley were both very in character. And it was such a cute conversation. I love that Mr. Weasley thinks of her as a daughter. And the ending was excellent. Awesome story! I'll be looking for more from you!

Reviewer: BJDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97518Chapter: 1
Loved it. I really liked the relationship Mr. Weasley and Hermione have-how they're so comfortable with each other. I'd really love another chapter/sequel in which Mr. Weasley eases Ron's insecurities and another where Hermione takes the initiative. But it's up to you. - __ ^

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97500Chapter: 1
wow, that's great....

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97497Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness, what a great story! I really loved your characterization of Arthur Weasley. You got right in his head and I didn't have any trouble believing his thoughts at all.

I especially liked:
"What is it with boys?" she cried. "Are you all mad?"
With a sinking feeling I realized I wouldn't be getting a sandwich anytime soon.
-and-
"Why you...you.... Oh!" She seemed to be at a loss for words, a state that no doubt irked her even more than my sons did.
-and-
"Affairs?" My Ginny has affairs? Does her mother know about this?

Lovely job!

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97471Chapter: 1
Most entertaining! Arthur the "father figure image", reminds me alot of my own father and I love the way you have written him in this story. His calm nature is such a good contrast to his wife's. I will look forward to your next story.

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97459Chapter: 1
wow i thougt this was really well done. Mr. weasley is not a character given much thought sometimes. Are you going to do more? Please? Pretty please?

Reviewer: nikaleeDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97426Chapter: 1
That was a cute one that made me smile.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97404Chapter: 1
^^ Brilliant work.

Arthur has always been my favorite of the Weasley clan... yes, I must admit to liking him better than Gred, Forge, Ron or Ginny, or the rest for that matter. I liked the way you showed that he sort of a... substitue father for Hermione, at least when it comes to the wizarding world. I always kind of pictured him like this, being a mentor. Kind of like Lupin is, another of my favorite characters.

Anyway, I like your writing style. It's a bit different from the norm, especially at the beginning. It's refreshing, ^^ Please write some more about Arthur, if ya don't mind.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97385Chapter: 1
That was indeed a very enjoyable piece. Nice to see Hermione vulnerable and girlish, in the only way Hermione can be.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97374Chapter: 1
Great work! I loved the last bit. =)

-PQ

Reviewer: NinaDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97345Chapter: 1
This is really good. In most stories the authors usually like to write about really major things,like the battle between Harry and the Dark Lord. It's nice though to read a story like this because it reminds you that all of them are just like us and not super heros.

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97339Chapter: 1
heh. this is good. mr. weasley with his boxes of batteries and the cell phone, and hermione with her little worries. doncha just love em to pieces.
"Arthur Weasley!''
Damn.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97328Chapter: 1
Beautifully written-nice characterizations and story. I hope that there is a second chapter coming soon-I'd really love to see how Hermione deals with Arthur's advice.

Reviewer: BlitheDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97324Chapter: 1
I began enjoying this from the moment I read your summary. You did a very good job characterizing Mr. Weasley. I liked his response to the information that his Ginny has affairs and what I assume is his amusement at and support of Ron's protective older brother routine.

I also liked the way that you brought back Mr. Weasley's hunger and his fear of his wife's wrath in the end. It made the beginning and the end seem to frame the main part of the story.

Reviewer: ThrenDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97323Chapter: 1
Ha! That was really cute. The language was a bit formal (especially on Hermione's end- have we ever heard her use 'whilst'?), but I really liked your characterisation of Arthur. Spot on. Very nice work. :)

Reviewer: TabithaDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97305Chapter: 1
I liked it. It was cute. are you going to write about hw Hermione gets Ron to 'notice' her? I think it would be an interesting read.

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97300Chapter: 1
Fantastic! I really enjoyed this - it was very well-written and very IC. It's not often I come across a fic between Hermione and Arthur, in fact, I think this is the first, but it didn't seem odd at all, and I can imagine them having this conversation. Will there be a follow-up fic? I'd like to see how Hermione turns Arthur's words into actions ;) Oh, and I liked the ending, too. Very funny, a nice touch :) Well done!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97286Chapter: 1
Wow, this is an amazing and touching story. I really like Arthur and this is the best story I've read about him.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --