The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Think, Harry!
Review(s): 41

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-10-04
Reviewid: 133753Chapter: 1
I would love to try to write music for these. Feel free to email me about it. First off, just describe the songs the best you can as far as happy/sad, fast/slow, major/minor, etc. I'll see what I can do from there.

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133569Chapter: 1
That was wonderful! :D I really love how it turned out. Snapes' and Ginny's were my favorite bits, but they were all sweet. ;) Another favorite!! :)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124901Chapter: 1
Very Nice.

Reviewer: JamesDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109962Chapter: 1
Think Harry Think Harry! I just love it!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103506Chapter: 1
If it was a real musical and I went to see it, I probably wouldn't be able to help singing along during this song! Harry needs to actually use his brain sometimes... *can't help but imagine that if it was a real musical in the Harry Potter world a completely unaccounted-for harp would be heard playing along to this song, although it would be unlike Sirius to be mad at Harry for being thick-skulled OR to do something so creepy*

Reviewer: RinoaDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102354Chapter: 1
Loved it! xD~

Reviewer: RaneDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100940Chapter: 1
Tee hee. That's great; I laughed my way through the entire piece. I especially enjoyed Ginny's verse. Delightful on the whole as well!

Reviewer: DonnaDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98656Chapter: 1
This is brillant. I can't wait until it's finished. I can just Imagine this on Broadway with Choreagraphy and everything. That would be so exciting. Keep going, can't wait to hear the music.

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98634Chapter: 1
hee-hee! I like this! I'll want to see the whole thing when it's done!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98186Chapter: 1
Amazing!
While I read through all of your songs, I was planning on suggesting a recording (before I saw your A/N.) I'm sure your voice isn't horrible, but even if it was, I wouldn't care. Please don't get discouraged and stop making the recording. I'm dying to hear the tunes you imagined.
My favorites are "Afterwards" and "And They Claim You Learn Nothing At School." After seeing your songs, I can truly, truly imagine a Harry Potter musical, and that makes me very excited.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98076Chapter: 1
And on the day when someone can transcribe them, there will be much rejoicing at the Quill. :-)

I still love these. You capture everyone's personalities amazing well in such a short ammount of time. I especially like Snape's verse in this one. Very well done, as always!

Reviewer: PaddywaackDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98034Chapter: 1
I enjoy all your songs - just figured I'd send one review for all of them, rather than flooding your inbox. :-) When you finally get the "badly recorded" versions of the songs. would you mind sending me a copy of Snape's song? It strikes me as a fun song and, with your permission, I might try to make my own recording thereof.

Reviewer: anonymousDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98025Chapter: 1
I love what you're doing- "Hogwarts, A Musical" is a brilliant idea. Your lyrics are hilarious. I would love to hear the tunes, which I'm sure are ewually well done.

I have only one suggestion. In your "notes" at the end of this song, you made several less-than-complimentary remarks about yourself and your singing talent. I know first-hand the temptation to make remarks like this, but (and I know it's cliched) such remarks have a habit of backfiring, even when said in jest. A confident attitude, in comments and in thoughts, works wonders. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97940Chapter: 1
Ever consider contacting these fine gentlemen? I'm sure they can help with the transcribing: http://www.eskimolabs.com/hp/news.htm

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97909Chapter: 1
I thought parodies were also supposed to be humorous or satirical, but I could be confused. :) At any rate, I love these songs. This one in particular has a delightfully unusual structure and keeps each character in-character and in voice. (Well, accounting of course for the fact that they are hardly likely to burst into song under normal circumstances. If they were in a musical, they would, and if they *did*, this would be how.) I like the way Ron's, McGonagall's, and Ginny's stanza's are clear representations of things they actually said in OotP. (I suppose the other two are as well, really, but Hermione and Snape seem to me to be expressing sentiments they usually feel, though they're certainly pertinent.)

Ah, and I've Niffled you over at FA. I wouldn't say you seem exactly overlooked here, but I figure the rec is still appropriate.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97840Chapter: 1
I don't usually like songfics, but I got a kick out of yours. Snape's verse in particular is really great. Cheers!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97838Chapter: 1
Bloody Brilliant! ^^

My Favorite bit was Snape: "It works wonders ... when applied."

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97815Chapter: 1
that was absolutely hilarious. fantastic job. i loved Snape's verse.

Reviewer: SDBDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97811Chapter: 1
I love all of your songs. They are brilliant and I always wait eagerly for the next. This one was great, especially Ginny's verse.

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97801Chapter: 1
Ah! Your lyrics are so good! Now I'm dying to hear the tune! Please try to get a recording, or sheet music, or whatever!

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97786Chapter: 1
i actually couldn't supress a giggle while reading this. snape and mcg especially. i made a tune up in my head and i think it's catchy.

Reviewer: Daniel A. Thompson Jr.Date: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97767Chapter: 1
Dear Barbara, This is very good. All of your work has been very good. You seem to be able to reach into the hearts of the characters and reveal their souls. And you do it with such brilliance that when it is read the reader has only one option, to sit there and say "Yes, exactly! Thats right on!"
And there will be more? What a wonderful thing to do, to give people the hope to read more such artestry!
Thank you, Barbara. You are a true blessing.

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97756Chapter: 1
If you would like your musical performed at a science fiction convention in Maryland, when it is done, I might be able to make arrangements. Please contact me.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97753Chapter: 1
Brilliant, especially the Ginny verse!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97741Chapter: 1
You are amazing! Every song is as wonderful as the last! I particularly love Ginny's verse, the wording is great.

hmmm, more r/h please? And a bit of h/g?

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97724Chapter: 1
It's about time someone told him that!
Yet again I can congatulate you: you never fail to make my day, even though so much is expected from you every time again...
It'd be wonderful if we could have music to this; you really should sing them to someone who can write down music. The other songs you've written (or al least posted here) could pass for long poems, but in this one you can really see it's a song, which is good for this kind of feeling.
I've had a really, really bad day today, Barbara, but now I actually feel much happier - thanks!

Reviewer: MangykneazleDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97720Chapter: 1
I was looking forward to another part of the musical, and have not been disappointed. This is great. Impatiently awaiting the next installment...

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97710Chapter: 1
Another wonderful job! I'm trying to comprehend how you can do this, and I just can't seem to figure it out. It's absolutely amazing!

I really liked Snape's verses - they describe his personality and his attitude towards Harry so well. I must admit that when I first saw Snape's name, I was wondering how you were going to pull it off. But I have to say that you pulled it off really well, and that you did a great job with it!

I also liked this one line from Ginny's: 'And you forgot... Well, lucky you!' lol. That was great, because that is something that she would say, and in fact did say in OotP. McGonagall's was also very good, because it sounds just like her as well; stern and sort of proper, but still trying to look out for Harry and see things from his perspective.

All in all, great job! I think that this one has to be my new favorite poem/song of yours. Please keep up the great work, and write more!!

~Caitlin

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97705Chapter: 1
Mahvelous, bloody mahvelous, dahling, as always! Long may you warble!

Reviewer: ErikaDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97702Chapter: 1
I think this was quite wonderful. I especially loved the Snape section: I could here him in my head. I've enjoyed all of your songs and this one is quite good (I'm already singing it to myself :D)

Reviewer: jellybeanDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97701Chapter: 1
wow, a hilarious concept but it works extremely well!

also, your name is just top class! you havn't by any chance seen monty python's holy grail? roger the shrubber?

if you do ever get round to recording your stuff, I'd love to have a go at writing it down, or if i don't manage it i have tons of orchestra friends that love harry potter...well whatever, if you ever want any help :)

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97696Chapter: 1
I spent a year with You-Know-Who
And you forgot... Well, lucky you!

I think that's my fave line :)

Everyone once again was in perfect character. (I'm re-reading OotP right now so reading this was interesting)

I like all of your songs (and I can't wait for the recording, I play guitar so I will DEFINITELY be trying to learn these!)

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97693Chapter: 1
New and brilliant. Feel free to send the recordings to me, I can transcribe them.

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97684Chapter: 1
Two snorfles up, Barb! 8-D This is one of my favourites from you so far--especially Ginny's part, which is funny but dead-on with some thoughts I've had. People really *need* to be paying more attention to the fact that Ginny had Voldemort in her head for the better part of a year and fought him off longer than a lot of adults could. Enjoy Snape's snarky observations as well. Now if only we could hear the music you've imagined for these--look out, Gilbert and Sullivan!

Reviewer: DazzleBoxDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97677Chapter: 1
Oh. My. God. These are brilliant. When I first read Hogwarts: The Musical, I admit I was worried. However, I think you're brilliant, and now I know things are in good hands. I love it!

Reviewer: Evil WombatDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97664Chapter: 1
Aw! Excellent! I'm printing this one off and putting it on my fridge! When my family asks what all this is about, I'll just reply that Barbra the Wallpaper-er ROX! (When they continue to look at me like I have three heads, I'll say it's a Harry Potter thing to which they'll roll their eyes and life will go on...)

I loved how you made the pauses in each verse fall in the same place and MAKE SENSE! I know, that's probably all standard stuff when writing a song, but...well, I couldn't do that and I'm impressed. Ginny's verse was my absolute favorite.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97655Chapter: 1
:) I really liked it - although now I head Colin piping up with 'Think Harry!' at the very end.

Great work - I'd love to hear the melody you wrote it to fit.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97650Chapter: 1
Yes...an update from St. Margarets, Deborah Peters, and Barbara the Wallpaper-er all in one day...how lucky!

This one was really cute! I especially liked Ginny and Snape's lines...your work continues to be amazing.

-PQ

Reviewer: MaiaDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97642Chapter: 1
Another wonderful song! I can't wait to hear you sing these songs yourself; I'm really curious about the tunes, although I kind of make up my own as I go along, anyway.

Again, great characterizations. I love that they're all yelling at Harry to use his brain, but make it clear that it's out of their fear for his well-being. Ginny's lines are especially satisfying for me, being a big fan of the Lucky You Scene. Well done!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97640Chapter: 1
As always, you made me smile. I love McGonnagal's and Snape's verses because I can hear each adult voicing those opinion to the word. You are very clever and a fine lyricist. I'm hoping you are successful in finding someone to transcribe for you as I'd love to hear the entire musical from start to finish. Keep up the great work and post again soon.

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97636Chapter: 1
That was awesome! You really have a talent for this. I enjoyed Ginny's part the most. Keep the songs coming! I really love your work!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --