The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: It's Not Personal
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2005-12-27
Reviewid: 137719Chapter: 1
Great. I really enjoyed this. i liked the way you made it was a completely self-contained story and totally compatible with JKR's world. A perfect missing moment.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136617Chapter: 1
Very amusing

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135227Chapter: 1
[For example, I’d left this one in the Staff Room earlier today, and when I came back to get it, I found that Professor McGonagall had turned it into a handbag.]

*snert* I can just see McG trying to be the bigger person here and finially just giving up and hexing the darn thing.

This was a really great gen fic. You really give Professor Grubby-Plank a good voice and she presides over the lesson really well, especially when she's talking about the magical trade-off between cleaning out the gnomes herself vs. putting up with a jarvey. The insults were great oo and I liked the twist you added with the jarvey's insults being directed at people's insecurities. Good job!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120757Chapter: 1
"I'm- I'm not that short!"
Oh, Lee, if you spend seven years surrounded by Weasleys, then you get kinda used to insults, don't you?
And, man, you just had to work something moral into Grubbly-Planks' speech, didn't you? It's cool though. It's almost like... a Simpsons episode with a moral. Rad.

Reviewer: Clumsy ManiacDate: 2005-03-20
Reviewid: 117194Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness! What a fic! All of your stuff is so good, however "It's not personal" had me in tears. Yet also you're able to subtley throw in a tiny bit of seriousness and made the characters (Portia Langley-Bramblewaith - what a name!)your own with their individual insecurities.
Fantastic bits of cleverness, all very JKR:
"Keith Wilson snorted behind his hand. Adrian Pucey snorted and left the hand out altogether."
"The Jarvey was kind enough to add, “Balls!”"
"I found that Professor McGonagall had turned it into a handbag. Apparently it called her a ‘stodgy old sheep-biter."

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107150Chapter: 1
I read this thanks to Persephone Kore's niffle over at FA, and I'm quite glad I did. Your comparison of the Jarvey with the boggart, but for insecurities, is extremely clever - worthy of canon - and very well-handled. I like Lee, but considering the way he was laughing, I'm glad he got to see the jarvey's sting. I also like the fact that Portia, who was picked on by the Slytherins earlier, was the first to understand the jarvey's MO.

Plus the idea of McGonagall turning it into a handbag is quite funny. :)

One quibble: shouldn't the jarvey say "ballocks" rather than "balls"? I'm not British, but that seemed a bit off to me.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105316Chapter: 1
Here from a FA Niffle. Very funny and I love how you focused on Lee, Alicia, etc.'s grade instead of Harry's class.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98684Chapter: 1
Made me laugh, anyway. And on the subject of names, bravo to you for Portia Langley-Bramblewaith.

Reviewer: emmamoonDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98595Chapter: 1
I know I already reviewed this story before, but I couldn't resist reading it again! I love the Jarvey, how it runs out of insults and starts cursing! Classic!

Reviewer: JaneDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98317Chapter: 1
Great story! I read about your work on the review thread and since your name came up so often, I decided to check it out. I like how you turned this CoMC lesson into a lesson about real life. It was hilarious when you mentioned how Jarvies started swearing when they ran out of insults, just like some people... I have to confess though, I didn't get this, "Apparently it called her a ‘stodgy old sheep-biter." What's a sheep biter? Do they really bite sheep? Why does it sound dirty?

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98153Chapter: 1
Ohhhhh, heeeehehehehe, hoooooo! That's funny! Heeeeheheehehehehe!!! Love it! HA! That was funny! "stodgy old sheep-biter" indeed! OOOohhhhh I can see McGonagall's reaction to that! Whoo! lol Great!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98091Chapter: 1
You know, I loved this story over at Lockhart and I adore it still. This is absolutely wonderful. Almost (but not quite) makes me want a jarvey of my own! :-)

I think the changes you made from Lockhart's were very good ones, and the story is still fantastic. I'd give a limb to know what it called Snape.

Great job with the jarvey and it's emotions(?), thoroughly enjoying the attention it was getting but not understanding why it was.

"The Jarvey was kind enough to add, “Balls!”"

Oh. Oh my. You crack me up, Deb. Fabulous job.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97988Chapter: 1
Bwhahahahaha!

This story... is... pure genius.

I love how you've expanded Grubbly-Plank's character: she seems a little like McGonagall, but with a wonderful off-beat sense of humour. I'd love to know what the Jarvey called Snape! XD

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: SpewingSlugsDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97947Chapter: 1
LOL! Short,Sweet,and oh so funny!

Reviewer: Jack IchijoujiDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97902Chapter: 1
I have this very strange mental image of a sweet old lady stroking a Jarvey as it lets out curses as if it were purring.

"Who's a sweet wittle thing?"
"Smelly old toe sucker!"
"That's right! You are!"

Reviewer: Bird_is_the_WordDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97860Chapter: 1
Heh I like it but you should've said that Jarveys are a magical version of insult comics.

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97850Chapter: 1
“Don’t be frustrated if you find that you don’t have the patience for dealing with them. Why, even your own professors sometimes have trouble. For example, I’d left this one in the Staff Room earlier today, and when I came back to get it, I found that Professor McGonagall had turned it into a handbag. Apparently it called her a ‘stodgy old sheep-biter.’ Why she was offended by that, I don’t know, but it says something interesting about her character, don’t you think?”

Oh my goodness, that part just had me rolling on the floor. Does raise some interesting questions about McGonagall. :0)

I really enjoyed your story, you managed to capure NEWT-aged students perfectly and in a thoroughly amusing manner. Well done.

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97774Chapter: 1
*chortle* Grubbly-Plank's classes are a bit more serene than Hagrid's, it seems!
I always enjoy a little insight with my humor, so I was pleased to see this:

"After all, nobody who sits around insulting people all day long can really be intelligent, can they?"

Sharp.

Well done.

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97727Chapter: 1
Oh, so funny! The insults were really original (my, that's a strange kind of compliment) and you seemed to have captured perfectly how a class would react to this! Wonderful!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97715Chapter: 1
Ohh, wow, this is good! I love what you did! I'd like to see more classes from other's viewpoints! Awesome job!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97707Chapter: 1
Very original idea - you pretty much put an equality sign between Malfoy and a Jarvey. Never thought about him in quite that light... :-)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97691Chapter: 1
After all, nobody who sits around insulting people all day long can really be intelligent, can they?
-nice reference to Draco.

proceed through the alphabet from there.
-Cute.

Thanks for fic!

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97683Chapter: 1
[i]Snigger[/i]

Just endorsing the comments of the other reviewers.

Also, the character of the Jarvey is nicely done. I do like the idea of it sharing some of the abilities of a boggart. A ferret with Tourettes is one thing, a creature that always knows the worst thing to say to anybody is something else. Though from an evolutionary point of view it's a wonder any of them survive live long enough to breed. Perhaps shouting insults is really part of their Gnome hunting strategy.

Incidently, Jarvey is English 19th century slang for cab-driver. Modern London taxi-drivers are notorious for lowering their windows and shouting curses at other drivers. I think this is not a coincidence.

Reviewer: emma moonDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97679Chapter: 1
This story was hilarious! I love how you had the Jarvey annoy everyone. Quite cute. Love to see another story like this.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97674Chapter: 1
Delightful! Thanks for that.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97665Chapter: 1
Good work - you managed to describe your OCs so effectively that by the end I had a clear idea of who was who and their distinguishing personality features. Excellent work in such a short one-shot!

The word 'critters' stuck out a bit - a mostly American word, is it? I confess I'm not sure. Perhaps 'creatures' would be better, but I can see you might be aiming for more casual speech.

O.O Now I'm thinking what word the Jarvey might be up to in its Alphabet of Insults.

Thanks! I'd be interested in more about these OCs - have you written more about them?

Reviewer: wendelin.blogspot.comDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97658Chapter: 1
Whee! I'm totally giggling. An intelligent story after *such* a long time! I'm rec-ing it on my blog. :) It's very, very well written, and I'm keeping my eye on you, author. Better post again soon.

Reviewer: TobyDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97654Chapter: 1
Elitist pig dog.... nice.

Reviewer: andy33Date: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97649Chapter: 1
One of the funniest fics I've read in ages. What more can I say?

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97643Chapter: 1
Oh, good...I'm your first reviewer for this one. Your story is informative and cleverly written. I love how the Jarvey ran through the alphabet using slang and swear words at the end: one could probably learn something from a vocabulary like that!

From a teacher's POV this was a good lesson since Grubbly-Plank gave her students time to consider their answers before calling on someone and also trying to involve the entire class throughout the lesson.

Please post again soon. I'm looking forward to what you submit next.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --