The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: All That Glitters
Review(s): 57

Reviewer: Solarius ScorchDate: 2006-12-29
Reviewid: 146658Chapter: 5
An excellent work, really. This fic is actually able to conjure emotions, to make the reader actually feel them, and this is the most important thing. Maybe Ron's thoughts are sometimes too analytical, but what would be the point in wtiting (and reading) this fic if it was otherwise? An alternate POV is exactly about this!

Just one question: since when September is in winter? ]:)

Reviewer: Sandra L.Date: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132448Chapter: 1
You impersonnate Ron so well!!! I,m really totally impressed..if Ron Weasley and the philosopher stone existed...I wonder if it would be like that :P
hehehe Go on, this is awesome!

Reviewer: chelsDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129474Chapter: 1
Very nice. i like your style of writing. I would have liked it if you elaborated on Ron's character a bit more though. All in all, it was good.

Reviewer: SamiDate: 2005-07-25
Reviewid: 127791Chapter: 5
Please don't tell me that's all. Are you going to write his point of view of all the Philosopher's Stone or just this much?

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123166Chapter: 5
Bravo! I loved this entire fic! Poor Ginny... so glad she only had to wait that one year without Ron! A similar fic about Neville would be really good.

I liked it that you had Harry sing "Nature Boy"... one of those songs I don't often think of, but really like the meanings there.

Please let me know whenever you post anything new.... I do LOVE the way you write! Discovering your fics has been a joy!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117835Chapter: 5
Percisely.

Reviewer: LotusSriDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107777Chapter: 5
I love it - you expanded Ron's character without mucking up the good work for JKR. Re: your Author's Note - I'd really like to see something *else* from Neville's POV - how about the Department of Mysteries? Thanks for writing!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101759Chapter: 5
Well fellow Libran - here's an even 50! I really liked how you did Ron's running commentary during the Sorting Hat song and the sorting itself.

I especially liked this paragraph:
There was a sudden hush as Harry stepped forward (it wasn’t Ron’s imagination, he definitely looked green now), and then whispers rushed around the Hall. Ron’s stomach clenched in sympathy as Harry walked up to the hat, looking straight ahead, as cool as a cucumber. They’re going to be doing that all the time you’re here, he thought sadly, and then, as Harry put the hat on, a fierce and surprising desire suddenly rose in him: Put him in Gryffindor! Please put him in Gryffindor! He`s my friend! Surprised, Ron examined this thought.

This shows Ron's power of observation, his great empathy for Harry, and his loyalty.

I also liked your recap of Ron's day - some days are like that - so full. You really captured this feeling for Ron!

And thanks for the plug at the end of your story - very sweet! And I agree about Jo - she's a wonderful beta!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101135Chapter: 5
I really liked this- it's interesting indeed seeing this from Ron's POV nad I think you got his characterization mostly well- a harder task than one would think. I for one find it very hard to write from Ron's POV at all- he's a brilliant character, but in many ways a natural sidekick, and I think you have done well in captring him. Saying that there were a few moments which seemed to me less convincing- for example when Ron mentally corrects Malfoy's grammar, and when he taalks about coniferous forests. I know Ron is bright, a lot brigher than he seems sometimes, but I don't think this is him. He's grown up with the twins, I think he's be a little carful about sounding like Percy. That is just my opinion however. I really liked the bit where Ron was introduced to Angelina etc, and the teins shwoing him a rare bit of respect- and the relationship between him and Ginny was masterfully portrayed. Well done, keep writing!

Reviewer: 1121Date: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100788Chapter: 5
I really do like your story. Keep writing please !

Reviewer: AdaraDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100667Chapter: 5
Oh, I love Ron.
I can't really think of anything to say except that it's a great story. You've got Ron down exactly right.

This isn't the end is it? I want more!
But I'll be happy with a Neville story. I like Neville.

About the bolding: it isn't *that* anoying. It just seems weird.

Thats all I've got to say right now. It's late and I have to go to bed. Why do I always review late at night?

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100000Chapter: 5
Another wonderful chapter. I don't have anything constructive to say. I did really like this sentence: “How did he get covered in blood?” asked Seamus, who seemed to enjoy asking awkward questions.

And I really liked that Hermione was a little jealous that Harry already knew Quirrell. Good job!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 99999Chapter: 5
**AUTHOR'S RESPONSE**
Mostly Harmless - you got me. Harry goes in before Ron. Let's just say that Ron was too preoccupied to notice. *lol*

Hmm, perhaps I didn't make it obvious enough, but this is the last chapter in this particular story. The reason I put 'The Beginning' at the end was a little nod to the fact that although this story ends, Ron's story is only just beginning. ^^;;

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Mostly HarmlessDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99976Chapter: 5
Wow, this is really excellent! I look forward to more chapters!

My fav part so far: "Lions were in it of course, along with badgers, and eagles, and snakes... it seemed like they were chasing each other. Or were they dancing?" Seems very symbolic to me.

One thing...forgive me if I'm wrong, I don't have the book next to me, but doesn't Ron come through the platform AFTER Harry? I seem to remember a part where Mrs. Weasley points at Ron and says "Ron's new too," then tells him how to go through.

Anyway, great job!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99947Chapter: 5
Great story! I really enjoyed reading it. I think writing a story about Neville's journey to Hogwarts is a great idea, I look forward to reading it. ^^

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99931Chapter: 5
YAY! What a great fic! Ron is the best character HANDS DOWN!!! *gives Ron a big hug*

"Harry was not just his first real friend, he was also the first person who had liked Ron for himself. Harry liked him for being plain old Ron Weasley. He didn’t compare Ron to his brothers. He didn’t care about poverty or Dad’s position in the Ministry... He just liked him. Ron bit his lip. He suddenly wanted Harry to be in Gryffindor so badly that it almost hurt."
that was too adorable!! great job!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: kailinDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99894Chapter: 5
Excellent story! I really enjoyed viewing things from Ron's POV. Especially since canon is now darker and more complex, it's a treat to read about the trio's "innocent age". Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: MarleyDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99888Chapter: 5
That was really great. I loff Ron ^_~ so yeah hmm good job. I loved Ron's sarcasm, even if he mostly only said it to himself and the relationship between him and Ginny was like I always thought it'd be.

If you were to do one like that for Neville, I'd definately read it. ^_^

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99851Chapter: 5
WOW. this was amazing, Ron is my favorit charicer, and this was totly him. the little extra stuff was wonderful, how happy he was to have a friend, the back round on the family (the part in the flash back with percy helping ron was soooo cute). love write more.

Reviewer: SelDearDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99785Chapter: 5
I can't remember if I've already responded to this story, if I have, then I apologise for the repeat!

This was great - spot on the money for characterisation of everyone. You're right: there aren't too many stories that focus on Ron, and I loved your look into Ron's mind. Although the Trio are my favourites without a doubt and I rarely read stories that don't involve at least one of them, I wouldn't mind reading your look at Neville's first day.

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99769Chapter: 4
Just came across your story. I love Ron's POV! Nice job.

Reviewer: puddleduckDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99721Chapter: 4
I absolutely loved the first two chapters. Especially the way you've included something about Ginny and Ron's relationship- their farewell at the station made me tear up a bit. I'm looking forward to the next chapters.

- puddleduck

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99596Chapter: 1
Enjoying your story! Not having Ron fall madly in love (or even a hint of attraction) with Hermione first time off is a good move, and likely the correct one. Looking forward to seeing how that develops--I imagine that they simply grow on each other over the years. We aren't always privy to the relationships between Ron and his other siblings in the books, so seeing how you express them is refreashing -- every fic can't about romantic love; familial love (and conflict) is a great theme too.

I have one (really) minor quibble. It feels that the way that Ron's thoughts are expressed is not quite in character: He seems to be more eloquent and observant in thought than can be expected--judging by speech and action.

Nevetheless, thoroughly enjoyable! Thanks.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99580Chapter: 4
**AUTHOR'S RESPONSE**
Berte, I wouldn't know about SS, since I'm British. ;) I thought the vocab checks were proof of that? If you read 'Filling in the Gap' through to the end, you'll see positive proof. Anyway, thanks for pointing out my little errors. ^^

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99558Chapter: 4
Cool, I love seeing the story from Ron's POW. He's so sweet in all his insecurity. Very 11-year old. You sure have some writing to do if you're going to follow through with this with all books. Not that I mind :-D I look forward to the next chapter - What does Ron think when he's putting on the sorting hat?

I'm sorry but I can't help my nitpicking genes... 7th line from the bottom: Hagrid actually says '... still got yer toad?' not 'your'. (I accidentally happened to have PS next to my computer, so I checked on impulse. Does he use 'your' in SS?)

Reviewer: AdaraDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99547Chapter: 4
>>"I read in "Hogwarts, A History" that the Founders added the lake years after they actually built Hogwarts as a protection method, so that nobody could sneak up and attack from below"<< I really like that idea! It makes sense.

Sorry if my last review didn't make much sense.
It was 11:30PM and my brain wasn't working properly.

Reviewer: Seriana RitaniDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99536Chapter: 4
This is very well written and soundly characterized. I will be looking for more.

Reviewer: SelDearDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99533Chapter: 4
I am loving this alternate point of view; you've gotten Ron down exactly the way I imagine he'd be looking at everything that's happening.

Looking forward to reading the rest of the story!

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99531Chapter: 4
I am enjoying this story very much. I love Ron's voice and POV, and especially how he notes that he never would have thought that Famous Harry Potter was so "nice" but he preferred him that way rather than full of "star quality." And his reaction to Harry's snubbing Malfoy is priceless.

It's amusing to see Ron compare Hermione to Percy.

Looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99430Chapter: 1
**AUTHOR'S RESPONSE**

Hello everyone! I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far!

Adara: I wanted to keep italic for Ron's thoughts and leave bold for emphasis on the words, although I understand everyone has their own preferences. ^_^

Morag: Ron's desperation to escape Hermione is highly ironic, no? ;D

Nundu: We both know there's only one Ron Weasley, and that's the one JKR gave us. *hugs Ron* I hope the movies will never creep into my books.

St. Margarets: Thanks for your support and kind comments! I'm awaiting the next chapter of 'Red is the Heart' with baited breath! :)

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: AdaraDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99424Chapter: 3
Ilove this story! there are lots of stories from Hermione's pov but not so many from Ron's.
Ron is very ic. I love the way you've shown him being concerned about being poor, and how he wants to be cool.
The only problem I found with this fic is the way you bolded some of the text. that doesn't seem right somehow. you'd never see it that way in a book. I think you should use italics insead.
I am proud to say that I already knew about all of the vocab words exept pickle. I always thought of pickles as pickled cucumbers.we do have other pickled things- pickled carrots and things- but we don't usually put them in sandwiches.
Anyway, great story! I can't wait til the next chapter!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99376Chapter: 3
I think my favorite part - out of many favorite parts - was when Ron thinks:
HARRY POTTER DOESN’T GIVE A DAMN ABOUT YOUR MONEY, HE LIKES ME!!”

I just love how they became instant friends and how this sentiment sums up Ron's insecurities - and also how he came to have such loyalty to Harry.

Such a wonderful way to look at book one all over again.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98801Chapter: 3
I've really enjoyed reading this story Starsea. Ron's mentality is well written and thought out. I particularly enjoyed these two bits:

"Please, whatever decides our houses, put her in Ravenclaw! She’s obsessed with books, she’s practically got it written all over her! Ron prayed.

"Just when I thought I’d be rid of Percy, I’ve got a female version of him in my very own year! Why me?"

Keep writing.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98769Chapter: 3
Really excellent! You have captured Ron's personality to a T, and haven't gone overboard with it at all. Most importantly, you have not allowed your Ron to be tainted by MovieRon. I will keep an eye on this story to enjoy the future chapters.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98716Chapter: 3
I like hearing Ron's perspective about the first train ride to Hogwarts!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98675Chapter: 3
Great Great! lol. I loved the part about how Malfoy should brush up on his grammar a bit. In fact, I loved all of it. I can't wait for the rest. ^^

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98668Chapter: 3
It's funny - I think this is the first Ron's POV I've read, everyone seems to everyone except Ron. Well, I love it; it's very in character. The meshing of quotes from the book with your own writing is seemless. And I really loved the family dynamics in chapter 1. Lots of love!

Reviewer: BobcatDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98657Chapter: 1
Erm, just to give you a head's-up, this seems to have been an earlier draft or something, since it has quite a few red, crossed-out words. Anyway, it's very good so far. It's nice to see things from Ron's point of view.

Reviewer: JessieBDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98646Chapter: 3
I love the comments Ron makes to himself. I think you've done a very good job sticking true to his character. I especially enjoy his vehement sarcasm and his acknowledgement of when he jumps off the handle.

Reviewer: nightcrawlerDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98624Chapter: 1
Very nice! I agree with Alabaster- you've got Ron's character down pat. The alternate POV works especially well here.

Reviewer: Alabaster BlackDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98557Chapter: 2
WOW! I love this, you've got Ron's character down perfectly. I like the relationship between Ron and Ginny, and how Ron didn't see how it could REALLY be Harry Potter. I can so imagine him doing and thinking everything in this story. Are you SURE you're not JKR in disguise? Anyway, this is awesome, and please keep writing it!!!!!!! The vocab checks are really helpful, too, thanks!
Alabaster

Reviewer: St.MargaretsDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98346Chapter: 2
Some favorite parts of this chapter--how Ron notices and describes Harry. How he has a prickle down his back when he realizes Harry is watching them. How he feels about Ginny's emotional display. His Gryffindor courage (already) striking out on his own on the train. And his doubts about Harry - since his first info is from Fred and George.

So as you can see, I really liked this chapter!

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98181Chapter: 1
I like it so far! But if Ron is using Charlie's wand... what is Charlie using?

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98142Chapter: 1
A lovely version of the books from poor, overlooked (and much maligned) Ron's point of view.

Your characterization of Ron is spot on (I'm very impressed). Your language is rich and varied, keeping the tone of the books, but you do not fall into the trap of making Ron sound like Harry.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98104Chapter: 2
Ah! I finally managed to get my browser to go to Chapter 2. ^^ It's great once again.

I can't wait for chapter 3 though... I was hoping to see their first conversation here in Chapter 2, but it's still a good stoppin' point.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98102Chapter: 1
Ooh, great story. This is very well written and fun to read. I can't believe I didn't find it before. I can't seem to get my browser to move on to the second chapter right now, but I promise I look forward to reading it.

I like the relationship you show between Ron and Ginny, and the way you describe the twins behavior. ^^

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98074Chapter: 2
I started reading this for the Weekly Review Chalenge over at the Pensieve, and I am so glad I did! This is absolutely wonderful. I really think you have captured the Weasley spirit well, and I love how you have portrayed their relationships within the family group and outside of it. Wonderful little snippets from canon, and your explanations make so much sense. Great descriptions of Ron's mixed emotions at both wanting to stay behind so that he can be in familiar surroundings and go on to the unknown. I love the twins in this! Great job mixing their protective side with their natural puckishness. Wonderful, wonderful beginning and I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98070Chapter: 2
what a cute story love how you wrote ron you did a fabulous job =)

Reviewer: Sergeant MajoretteDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98035Chapter: 2
Ooh, goodie! Ron's my favorite -- I'll be waiting breathlessly for each new chapter!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97964Chapter: 1
**Author's Response**

Hello everybody! I already have the whole story written, so you will be getting regular updates! ;) There are five chapters in all.

I noticed that the beta version seems to have been uploaded, don't know how that happened, it looked perfectly fine in Word! Well, I'll upload it again, along with Chapter Two!

Deborah: I've never seen any stories about this from Ron's POV either, so when the inspiration took me, I had to follow it. I really enjoyed living in Ron's head!

Author by Night: I hope I don't make Ron sound like he's wallowing in self pity, but I do think he feels a *little* sorry for himself.

St. Margarets: I'm glad that you want to read it again! ^_^ I'm also glad you like the title. I thought it was quite appropriate, yet mysterious.

Thanks for reviewing, everybody!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97953Chapter: 1
SWEETIE LOVES RON FICS! this is so cute! i feel so sorry for Ron; why does have to be poor? i love the bond between him and Ginny and when he was talking with Scabbers (why did he have to be evil?) excellent job! keep writing!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: IaDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97951Chapter: 1
Oh, this is very good. I like your writing ; please continue !!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97944Chapter: 1
Love the title! It's intriguing and it fits the theme of your story so well. I enjoyed reading this the second time around just as well as the first. And I have the happy anticipation of the other parts! Great job!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97935Chapter: 1
I'm enjoying this. Ron is my favorite and I love how you've written him!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97932Chapter: 1
Hmm, I think this is intriguing so far! I feel a little sorry for Ron.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97921Chapter: 1
I'm really looking forward to the next chapters. I hope they come soon because this is such a great start to the story. You've captured Ron well; I really like your description of his relationship with Ginny and how he views his place in the family.

Please post again soon. I'll be looking for your name.

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97891Chapter: 1
It's weird. You'd think I would have read a tonne of these by now, but I haven't--Hermione's PoV, Ginny's PoV, but never Ron's, poor boy. I love the parallels between Ron and Percy, and the my-rat-Scabbers irony is done quite well. (I suppose you've noticed that the beta version seems to have been uploaded by mistake--so sorry, that.) I'll be looking forward to more of this!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --