The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 101

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-04
Reviewid: 145182Chapter: 15
A Brilliant Piece. Simply Excellent.
Thanks.

Reviewer: K-chanDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135256Chapter: 15
ooh, I get to be 87 and 100!

I knew this chapter was up, I'm not sure why it took me til now to read it. Anyway, great job, Mom!! This chapter is beautifully written and ties everything up very nicely. I like that we get to see Addison having a happy little ending- getting to move on now that Gilderoy's gone, and discovering he can do magic! I also like that he and olivia are friends. It's very cute.

OLIVIA/NOAH!!! *squeeeeeeeeee* I am so glad they got together, I love Noah as a character. He's great, and she deserves somebody like him. ^_^

I love your stories!! Write another one so I have something else to read!! *love*

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132618Chapter: 15
::sighs with the unmistakable joy of Noah-happiness::

Oh, JiminyC, how I love this. You write so well, and I'm sorry it's been more than a month since you updated -- my head's been in the clouds, I suppose.

anyway, the review: ::squeals fangirlishly::: NoahNoahNoahNoahNoahDidIMentionNoah? I love Noah, and Madame Flourish and Mr. Blotts, and especially Addison, poor Addison. (Or should I say Bainbridge?) I'm SO glad he finally gets the chance to learn magic again, and that Lockhart got his comeuppance. BRILLIANT, by the way, when he has to face what he's done by refusing her as an assistant. (and poor Fiona as well!)

Love your writing; hope HBP inspires something in you soon!

~TPR

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130129Chapter: 15
Dontcha just love it when something is happy and sad at the same time? When you feel so very sorry for Lockhart, but know at the same time he got what he deserved . . . ? And feel so happy for Olivia, yet sad at her loss, too. and I like what you did with Wells! without Lockhart around, he can also start to recover and have a life. I was halfway hoping *he'd* end up with Livvie! What a torture *that* would be for Lockhart, though.

Very skillfully done. Way to go, JiminyC!

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129869Chapter: 15
Wow... just... wow. Oh, what an ending. Gilderoy and Olivia choose exactly what I would expect from the way you've portrayed them, and that "It's worse than I had imagined. It's worse than anything..." gave me the shivers. What an irony that he's happier without his memory now.

And a happy ending for Addison! And Olivia and Noah... *sigh*.

What a wonderful story. I know it's one I'll enjoy coming back to again.

Thank you!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129865Chapter: 15
I'm glad that Olivia got her happy ending. I always thought Noah felt something for her. I actually feel sorry for Lockhart now, I never thought that would happen!

Looking forward to reading more from you,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129830Chapter: 15
Wow. I actually feel sympathy for Gilderoy. Poor chap. It did all turn out okay in the end. A bittersweet end. This was so well done, JiminyC. Thanks for writing it and for making Gilderoy more than just a useless pretty boy without enough brains to fill an egg cup. :)

Reviewer: JenDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129814Chapter: 15
It's hard to believe that I could actually feel sorry for Lockhart. Well, at least things turned out well...at least for Olivia and Noah. I'm glad they got together.

Thanks for providing this new view of Gilderoy. It's been a pleasure to read. I look forward to whatever your next project may be.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129813Chapter: 15
This was lovely. I'm glad Gilderoy still remembers Olivia, and that he seems to have loved her. She's much better off married to Noah, though. I've always liked him. And yet, there's still the bittersweet knowledge for us that there is an important part of her life she will never remember. Good job.

Reviewer: CatDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129048Chapter: 14
So sad! Beautifully written. I feel for Olivia (and even a bit for Gilderoy).

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128872Chapter: 14
Awwwwww! Well, that was horrible, but redeemable at the same time. Poor Livvie. Poor Gildy.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128399Chapter: 14
Oh, poor Olivia. And it seems that Iíve misjudged Sable, at least a little bit. This chapter was just poignantly beautiful. I await more from you (Iím assuming that this fic has at least one more chapter)Ö

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128286Chapter: 14
ow. oh.

*pang*

ow.

Reviewer: K-chanDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128235Chapter: 14
(Durnit, it didn't post it right... let's try this again... Also- I was soooo your 87th review! w00t!!)

I cried so hard at this chapter...

You write so well- you always see both sides of the situation. We completely understand both characters here, which is cool. Plus, I know the way it had to turn out, but it just kills me that it has to end this way!! Aargh! I love also that you write Gilderoy so completely in character, he's the same person he is in CoS, but I feel so bad for him here!!

I loved poor little Sable's 'ghosties'. It took me a second to figure out what she was talking about, and as soon as I did, I started crying. Poor thing, she was trying to protect Olivia- and it turned out to cause what Sable was trying to prevent! It would have happened sooner or later, but I feel sad for Sable. She had very sweet intentions...

You absolutely have to write more and as quickly as you can get it posted, DO. You can't leave me with that. I need something else here. You have to give me the ending to this story!

I did recognize a good few bits of it from the original version- I liked the addition of Sable, there, and the bit about his shining moment. *sigh* Poor Gilderoy. I feel so sorry for him now...

Great chapter!! Great job! *big hugs and kisses for a wonderful story*

Reviewer: K-chanDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128234Chapter: 14
I cried so hard at this chapter...

You write so well- you always see both sides of the situation. We completely understand both characters here, which is cool. Plus, I know the way it had to turn out, but it just kills me that it has to end this way!! Aargh! I love also that you write Gilderoy so completely in character, he's the same person he is in CoS, but I feel so bad for him here!!

I loved poor little Sable's 'ghosties'. It took me a second to figure out what she was talking about, and as soon as I did, I started crying. Poor thing, she was trying to protect Olivia- and it turned out to cause what Sable was trying to prevent! It would have happened sooner o

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128211Chapter: 14
Oh, what a beautiful and yet heartrending chapter. You really brought forth Olivia's honesty, but you also made me feel bad for Gilderoy, I didn't think that was possible. Well done.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128151Chapter: 14
This is such a wonderful story. I look forward to reading the rest!

Reviewer: JenDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128124Chapter: 14
Well...I knew that it had to happen eventually. Poor Oliva. Poor Gilderoy. Poor Sable. It's not fair, but life never is. I hope you have at least one more chapter coming. :)

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128109Chapter: 14
Wow.

Reviewer: K-chanDate: 2005-07-20
Reviewid: 127513Chapter: 13
Mom, this story just gets better and better- since it's Gentle's day on my calendar I figured I'd come read this chapter! Every chapter gives me all these new questions and I want to know how it ends!! Write quickly! (And let me know when you post more) Love you!

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127261Chapter: 13
Oh, I was totally not expecting that! Jiminy, you're amazing!

I'm really intrigued by the fact that Addison is trying to protect Olivia now. I can really picture her winning both Addison and Gilderoy over... although somehow I'm not sure it's going to work out happily... *sigh*

What a great chapter!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126940Chapter: 13
Ooh, that rat! Wonderful writing, though. You're a wizard!!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126905Chapter: 13
When I got to the part about Addison, I gasped outloud. The revelation was just...WOW! Anyways, it's really, really enjoyed this chapter. It was wonderfully written (as always).

I'm rather surprised that Olivia has stuck with Gilderoy for over a year. I thought he'd surely give away some ofhis character flaws by now.

I liked the reference to Harry and wonder whether you will incorporate the book signing from Chamber of Secrets in one of the future chapters. Don't worry about finishing before HBP, since I'm sure it won't affect your fic (unlike mine), we'll need something good to read during the post-HBP speculation period.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125370Chapter: 12
Excellent! Each chapter seems more satisfying than the last.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125232Chapter: 12
An Abby Loomis cameo! Yay!

I really like the way you explore the themes of safety and danger in this chapter. Olivia is in danger, but the real danger isn't what she thinks it is... and ending up in a situation where she's lying to herself is the biggest danger of all! Brr... I hope she gets out of this OK!

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124546Chapter: 11
Oh, Gilderoy... I love the way you show what it's cost him to keep up his facade, and also how you point out that he does have some talents and he could have used them differently. As big a jerk as this chapter shows him to be, you also make me feel sorry for him.

I'm a big believer (along with Wordsworth) that imagination and compassion are linked, and that if you can imagine yourself into other people's positions, you'll feel compassion for them. You really show that in this chapter!

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124544Chapter: 10
Oh, Mr. Blotts - how I love him! And Madam Flourish, too - I want their portraits so I can hang them up and get advice from them!

You show Olivia's feelings so well here - she's so conflicted, and she's so often on the edge of realizing something before she pulls back again... it's nerve-wracking suspense!

And Noah is a hottie! I knew it!

Thanks for this great chapter. :)

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-06-06
Reviewid: 123391Chapter: 11
Ooh, that Sable is a vindictive House Elf, isnít she. Youíve created a very human, almost likeable Gilderoy Lockhart, and I like the things that we are learning bit by bit about his past. Olivia is an excellent OC, as is Noah. And I really enjoy the portraits of Mister Blotts and Madam Flourish ó they provide such an interesting commentary. Keep writing!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: IssyDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123259Chapter: 11
This is a lovely story. I've read the first eleven chapters in one session, and enjoyed them immensely.

One part I particularly liked was the interaction between Gilderoy, his agent and his editor - it was really well written and flowed nicely. Another thing I really liked - even though it's just a small thing - is the name 'Thomasina': very Potter-y!

The only criticism I'd make is that perhaps the Gilderoy/Olivia romance moves a little fast - but only a little. As I said before, I thoroughly enjoyed this story: I've never read a Gilderoy story before, and this one was excellent!

I'll be looking out for the next installments!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122839Chapter: 1
Oo, well done. Now we see the cur in all his awfulness. And he had had a chance at redemption, too -- a couple of chances, in fact. I love how you have him straddling the fence, then justifying his actions to himself, so it's all neat and tidy. In his mind, anyway.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122836Chapter: 11
How cleverly you create Lockhart's backstory, stemming from insecurity and jealousy. And how well you draw the example of how he obtains his best sellers. He's a snake, but you continue to make me feel for him - as someone who has just gotten in over his head, and can't stop the momentum, even if, with a flicker of conscience, he wants to.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122768Chapter: 11
It's always so exciting to see your name on the update list! Every chapter of this fic is wonderfully delivered. I was sad not to see Noah in this chapter but am hoping for more of my boy farther down the road. Go Noah!!! ::waves fangirly pennants::

Anyway, even without the Noah goodness, this was a lovely chapter! Excellent explanation of "Gil's" methods (love the nickname, how fitting). Poor Patrick; I wonder if Gilderoy's ever scarred anyone with his charms a la Bertha Jorkins (he did, of course, scar himself, but that was mostly due to Ron's wand, wasn't it?).

And this passage sent chills down my spine:
"Everyone there believed him a hero. And reality, after, was nothing more than the beliefs and memories of the people who experienced it. If she believed him to be the man from his books, then thatís who he was. If she doubted, he could craft whatever reality he needed. It was a very simple thing." Beliefs and memories, of course. :P

Poor Olivia's got some hard times a-coming. Can't wait to see how you explain away what happens to him in the Chamber!

~TPR, very excited.

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121434Chapter: 10
Mmmm. Very nice. Good glimpses into Olivia's head and the way the night before made her feel. It's great to see someone treat the emotional consequences of such a decision.

I like Noah. He's sweet. :-)

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121220Chapter: 10
Awwww! Lovely Noah/Olivia action going on there. Yes, she does need to be her own champion, especially when it comes to Gilderoy.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120998Chapter: 10
::alternates between sniffing and emitting a fangirlish squeal::

Oh, Noah! ::sweeps him up and hugs:: Oh -- as much as I want to get them together, I admit you handled this very well, as it is true Olivia is clearly not interested in him. But, oh Noah! Your day will come! Loved the poker Valentine's game. This setting is depicted so lovingly -- I wish I could walk in and start browsing. Madam Flourish and Mr. Blotts were spot-on wonderful.

Olivia, stop being a blockhead! (Although not jumping to conclusions is a good thought, it is SO PAINFUL to watch her being consistenly wrong about Lockhart!) And be your own damn champion! (Good advice, that.)

Excellent line: 'When he looked back at her, his pleasant smile had disappeared. ďWhat makes you think Iím not working, Miss Townsend?Ē'

Favourite little detail: Sable's clothes, made from damask tablecloths. Of *course* Lockhart could never stand to have his servants parade around in filthy rags*. :D

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120987Chapter: 10
I love this story, just my kind of tale. Keep writing!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120951Chapter: 10
JiminyC you are da best! I love this chapter and the previous one. I actually *like* your version of Lockhart. Sure, he's a conniver and a superficial, greedy manipulator (uh, wait . . . did I say I liked him?), but I think he actually feels something for Olivia and wants her love. Uh, unless he's faking it. If what the house-elf said was true. But Sable doesn't seem too reliable, herself. Too jealous and acts too oddly.

Anyway, I love what you brought out in the previous chapter -- Lockhart's vulnerability, the story with his father and the tapestry, his mother telling him to hide the dirty laundry. His trying to tell Olivia the truth, not succeeding. Very believeable, could fit in with canon and his less attractive qualities, but gives him more depth, more shades of gray.

And Olivia's doubts were very nicely portrayed here. Trust -- the basis of any relationship. Does she or doesn't she? and should she? I like the way you wove around the story gradually, instead of telling everything upfront.

You are a skillful storyteller. Well done!!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120918Chapter: 10
Oh, good stuff, good stuff! This reads so effortlessly and the story is so complete within itself, thanks to your wonderful OCs. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2005-04-17
Reviewid: 119766Chapter: 9
Oh no, Olivia! I thought you were a lady!
I love this story, your Gilderoy is great. You can really see how he became the way he is. Sable gave out some intriguing information...Hmm...Please update soon!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-15
Reviewid: 119669Chapter: 9
Well, I have just flown through chapters 4,5,6,7 and 8. Your writing is so compelling, it's easy to do. (But still no excuse for my not keeping up.) I am struck by your wonderful original details, both physically and in backstory. You've built this believable Lockhart - at least, believable as to why he is who he is. As far as his intentions, well yes, he's conflicted, but not enough, Olivia!
I wonder what else you have cooking behind the scenes. I wanted to yell at Sable to spill the beans - kind of forgot she was a fictional character. Here's to your masterful mix of storytelling and writing style. I'll be waiting to read what comes next.

Reviewer: Talking Purple Rabbits (again)Date: 2005-04-14
Reviewid: 119645Chapter: 1
after reading reviews, i realized that i haven't been the faithful reviewer i thought i was! i'm so sorry i haven't reviewed more often; i've loved this story (and the dylan thomas poem) from the beginning. And *please* listen to your readers and get Olivia and Noah together! Or at least put Noah back into the story!!!!! Pwease? ::puppy dog eyes:: ;)

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-04-14
Reviewid: 119644Chapter: 9
Oh, Olivia, no! This story is so heart-breaking! I only hope she can find a good man soon afterwards. Maybe that Noah at the bookstore? And why am I not surpised Gilderoy's elf is named 'Sable?'

More soon, please. Your writing is so engaging (and that backstory sure explains a lot...)

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119574Chapter: 9
Olivia, no!! Oh, dear... didn't Madame Pomfrey teach those girls anything?

Wow, I was intrigued to see Gilderoy opening up in this chapter. The part where he talks about his parents was so well done that it was even sort of an anticlimax when (I'm guessing) he almost told her that his books were made up. I can imagine that to him, the story about his parents was a much bigger part of his life for him to reveal to her. And the way his mother taught him to value appearance over reality - no wonder he turned out the way he did!

Sable the house-elf is so well-written. I keep guessing what she could be thinking/hiding ... at least the "Master Gilderoy is not having many lady friends" is hopeful!

Yay for the update!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119485Chapter: 9
That stinker! No, Olivia, don't do it!!!

Wonderful chapter, my dear. Just smashing. :D

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119301Chapter: 9
No, Olivia, don't do it! This really is excellent. I'm starting to be interested in Lockhart in spite of myself, but he can't really do anything but break her heart. Olivia is so naive, but very sweet, likeable, and worth of love. I'm looking forward to the rest of the story.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119293Chapter: 9
Lockhart actually was thinking about another person's wants and desires - how shocking! He must truly be in love. At the onset of this fic, I had not imagined that I would be routing for and Olivia and Gilderoy match, but she's really a very good influence on him. Too bad it could never last. How many more chapters are you planning, Chris? I'm interested to see where you're going with this. I can imagine a followup eventually where Olivia visits him at St. Mungo's.

Lots of wonderful imagery in this chapter. The details in the house seemed very Lockhartish. I was very glad to see another chapter. You're very talented at writing OCs.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119268Chapter: 9
I am going to CRY when this gets broken off, and I am going to hate him even more. Which makes me so mad! She doesn't deserve this! He's a little too perfect to be real - you do that very nicely - but also kind of sweet. If I didn't know his whole background, I would like him in spite of myself! I'm so conflicted! WOE!

...This is amazing, I look forward to your updates.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-12
Reviewid: 116326Chapter: 3
I'm trying to catch up so I know what's going on in workshop! Good portrayal of a woman falling for someone who is completely wrong for her. I like how you make Olivia conflicted in her feelings; it makes her seem so much more adult.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114021Chapter: 8
What a lovely chapter and how timely. It was great to see some of the background of Olivia this time, especially the mixed marriage producing one witch and one Muggle. The macaw was a great detail for Lockhart - so appropriate!

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113993Chapter: 8
Sigh... Oh, Olivia... how little does she know that her version of Gilderoy Lockhart is as fictional as Indiana Jones...

It's fascinating the way you reveal more of Lockhart's character. He's so creepy. *shudders*. And as much as he thinks he's in control of everything about his persona, he doesn't realize that he's actually falling for Olivia -- that kind of blind spot is very true-to-life.

Olivia's mom is a great character. I liked the dynamics and the glimpse into her family life. And Eleanor is great!

I keep hoping that after his stint in St. Mungo's Lockhart will become a decent human being... kind of like "Regarding Henry"... sigh...

Kit

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113992Chapter: 8
I'm having such a good time with this! Thanks for the Valentine's Day chapter (although of course, the next chapter would have been even more appropriate . . . I hope!).

Reviewer: HallieDate: 2005-02-09
Reviewid: 113282Chapter: 2
Noah glanced down at the paperback copy of The Muggle and Me: Magical Mixed Marriages in his hand.

Cool name for a book! I'd almost be tempted to write it, just because it is such a catchy title!

"Believe me, I'd rather stay here and chat with you than play nanny for the Prancing Prince of Peril"

Have I mentioned that I love Noah?

"Better than the best of boys
No one's eyes match Gilderoy's,
Anything he'd ask, I'd do
Even face down You-Know-Who..."

You're incredibly good at getting the nuances of the Wizarding World down to pat! I'm seriously impressed by the little details; they're what move a story from 'good' into 'excellent', and this definitely classes as 'excellent'!

"Pardon me, Lydia, but my signature color is blue and this quill is definitely silver. Would you be a lamb and fetch me a proper blue one?"

Can we shoot him? PLEEEEASE? Because he really is horrible. Poor Olivia; fancy having your admiration thrown back in your face like that!

Reviewer: HallieDate: 2005-02-09
Reviewid: 113281Chapter: 1
Finally getting caught up with workshop reading! Just wanted to say that I've enjoyed the first chapter, although Olivia should fall in love with Noah, not Lockhart - I like Noah, I like Olivia and I think Lockhart is a... Well, we won't go there!

:o)
Hallie

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111295Chapter: 7
Ahhhh, poor Olivia! Lockhart needs a good smack you-know-where! I continue to read this story because you are an excellent writer, but Lockhart gets more insuffrable each chapter!

I'm glad at least I know he gets what's coming to him...;) I hope Olivia gets a good man as well. How about that Noah? :D

~TPR

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111144Chapter: 7
Hmmm...he at least wants to give it a go with her, but he won't do it publicly if it hurts his career. For Gilderoy, that's pretty unselfish. :P Lovely chapter, m'dear. :D

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111134Chapter: 7
Oh Gilderoy.
His mental pictures of Dame Francesca are enough to make me fall off my chair!
With each chapter we're just peeling back the layers of his character. I'm most intrigued to see what happens next.

Reviewer: Andy33Date: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111043Chapter: 7
This just keeps getting better - it is so sad to think of where Lockhart is actually going to end up by 1996, but at least there is a year's worth of sly skulduggery to come. Let's hope the skill in memory charms saves Lockhart and Flannery from the lawyers of the (real) Tantalus Books when they find their trade name has been stolen!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110360Chapter: 6
Very interesting! I love the personal history you've given Lockhart. The plot of this reminds me a lot of the movie "Win a Date With Tad Hamilton"...Are there more chapters coming?

Reviewer: Brian TurkDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110123Chapter: 6
I was waiting for one of Lockhart's memory charms at the end (he was rather well known for them, you see). It would have been appropriate for him to expose a certain vulnerability to someone, then wipe it from that person's mind. You do very well to show the shadow behind his bravado. Well done!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109884Chapter: 6
Another excellent chapter, as usual. I really love your Gilderoy - he is so perfectly ... Lockhartish!! And LOL at the book title "Accio Wizard".

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109815Chapter: 6
*giggle* At first when he said "contracts should be signed" I thought he was actually going to go get a contract and make her sign it. Silly me. :P

Oh, and this line is just chilling:
<<"Not often, no. He always seemed to forget to tell anyone about it, so there were rarely any repercussions at all. But then, his memory always was a bit shoddy." Gilderoy ate a forkful of meat. "As I said...absolutely delicious.">>

I love the way you manage to keep Lockhart in perfect character, but also make him... likeable? I don't know, you make it so that he works as a main character in the story, and while I can't bring myself to like him knowing what he has done and will do, I still want to read more. I'm very curious about just where your going with his character and the story!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109757Chapter: 6
Very sweet! I never thought anyone could make me feel charitable toward GL, and I know we're probably coming up for a big fall, but it's so sweet. . . . I hope she catches onto him before the end of the year, when he'll obliviate himself!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109683Chapter: 6
Contracts? fdjsakfjdsaklfjdkslfjdklsa;f Did she sign one? Because she didn't mention signing...unless he memory charmed her, the stinker.

But I do so love the lovely spine melting kisses.

Reviewer: susy_gwenDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107081Chapter: 5
Oh, poor Olivia. She's such a nice person that it's sad to see her being treated in such a way. I really like your last sentence "...Gilderoy Lockhart..was beginning to seem like the only person she could trust" but it certainly doesn't make me see any hope of her finding a great guy--like Noah--any time soon. Well, great job. I'm anxiously awaiting more.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107055Chapter: 2
[Witches' Studies] Hehe, clever. Great insight for the inner workings of a bookstore. Great touches.

I love how you show Lockhart's self-absorption by his constant forgetting of Olivia's name. Poor girl, she has a crush on a jerk, but I guess we've all been there!

[The young ladies seemed disappointed, but Noah was relieved when they placed their knickers back in their bags without incident.] Hahaha! Great mental image.

Reviewer: AdrienneDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106740Chapter: 5
Oh no! I was really hoping that dude would come back, even though I didn't think he would, and had I been in Olivia's position, I would've told him "Nice try, come back when you've got some cash." I like Noah. I think you should write more.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106667Chapter: 5
Oh, waaaaah! Poor Olivia! She's such an engaging and identifiable character, especially to me. When I got my first retail job at age 16, the shoplifters would always try to come through my line because I looked like such a sweet-faced, trusting young thing. *grumbles*

>>A handsome young wizard in burgundy robes was looking at the travel books and as she passed, she noticed that his head turned to follow her. It made her feel suddenly very confident and pretty.<<

At first, I was pleased that he gave Olivia this attention, but then I grew a lot more uneasy. Toward the end of the chapter, I was waving my arms and screaming, "NOOOOO!!! Don't trust him!!!"

>>"It's a bit of brilliance, that. The register operates like a scale. This box reads the charm, as you said, displays the price and sets the monetary compartment weight expectation. That's what made that ticking sound you heard. You place the money in this hopper and when the scale reads the correct monetary weight, it releases the merchandise from the Commerce Charm."<<

The C.A.S.H. register is a wonderful and very fitting invention -- I might have to steal it from you at some point. ;)

>>"Blah blah blah...it's nice to know someone has been reading the Employee Handbook. But you're mistaken. That money is gone, my friend. You've seen the last of that chap or I'll buy you a butterbeer after work tonight."<<

Sadly, I'm afraid I agree with Noah (whom I really like, BTW).

>>Where do we stock the 'many happy returns to a naÔve prat who should know better' cards?"<<

I shouldn't laugh at Olivia's expense, but that's a great line. :)

>>The only thought in her mind was Apparating to the dining room and losing herself in the company of Gilderoy Lockhart, who was beginning to seem like the only person she could trust.<<

Oh, dear...that last line seems foreboding. You've really drawn me into this story. More, please? :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106466Chapter: 5
That dirty rotten scoundrel! Poor Olivia...and she thinks that Gilderoy is the only one she can trust? Oh dear....:D

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106450Chapter: 5
Oh, poor, sweet Olivia - naive girl that she is. You must have done a pretty great job in the previous chapters developing her character because I realized very quickly what would happen - the charitable act was so true of her character and her naive innocence. I had hoped that the young man would indeed return (perhaps he may yet?) and perhaps be an alternate love interest (but that's Noah's job, isn't it?). I must admit though that I began to suspect the man when he started asking about the cash register.

Well, you've done another great job with character development and I'll look forward to Olivia and Gilderoy's next meeting.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106408Chapter: 5
Oh, poor Olivia. It seems like she's destined to get conned, doesn't it, even if Gilderoy isn't out to exploit her. I'm interested to see where you'll take this - is it going to be a long story? I hope so. ;)

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Chartreuse BirdDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104498Chapter: 4
Augh! What a prat! A prat in a very good story no less!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104051Chapter: 4
>>"You said your guest tonight would be a young lady. Do we have a description of the young lady's husband...boyfriend...er, whatever complication may have the inclination to raise its head?"<<

Oh dear, it's Lockhart's Love Lair!!! :P

>>He grinned. "Let me answer your questions in order. I'm not telling, I'm not telling and...er...I'm not telling." <<

Bwahahahaha!

>>Drinking himself into a stupor, gambling away our family fortune and groping women. The thought came, unbidden, into his mind. He quickly shoved it aside.<<

I'm impressed with the manner in which you balance the many facets of Gildie's character. You move skillfully between the humour and the more poignant moments, such as this memory.

>>His knowledge on the subject of his own heart and mind were not so finely polished.<<

Oh no, I'm feeling sympathy for the man! What are you doing, Jiminy??? ;)

Wow, so there really is depth to Gilderoy Lockhart. You've hooked me!

~Katinka

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104050Chapter: 3
>>She knew there were people who disliked him because of his boasting, but something in it had always made her feel sorry for him. It had always seemed to her that his bravado served to cover up some kind of fear. Perhaps, like many other famous people, he had no close friends to give him the confidence and self-assurance that comes from knowing you're loved.<<

Aaah, very insightful!

>>Olivia found herself staring at his fingers, which looked almost too delicate and well manicured for someone who had seen his level of combat.<<

Hee hee hee...

>>Before she could even begin to fathom how she truly wanted to answer, she heard herself accept his invitation. It was, after all, Gilderoy Lockhart asking her to dinner. How could she have even considered turning him down? <<

Alas, sad proof of how our hearts and minds don't always work in concert.

>>She could have sworn that he looked both ways before he winked at her.<<

That's a hilarious touch of characterization. Hmm...where might Gilderoy be taking her?

~Katinka

Reviewer: tapestryDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102902Chapter: 4
"Gilderoy queued up his indulgent smile and let it spread leisurely across his face" you have such a way with words, the phrasing on this is wonderful and the chapter is off to a great start.

I love these glimpses into Gilderoy's nature. He comes across as faintly smarmy but still likeable. "His knowledge on the subject of his own heart and mind were not so finely polished." Wonderful insight!

I can't wait to see what Gilderoy is up to, I'm definitely intrigued.

Thanks for a great chapter, I'm looking forward to the next.

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102884Chapter: 1
Wonderful start, Olivia is so vivid and engaging. I love your writing style.

"Of course. Snogging with Snidgets, isn't it?" LOL, the mix of humor and introspection in this first chapter is just perfect. And I love Olivia's sneakiness!

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102719Chapter: 4
I agree with Coquillage -- didn't Madame Pomfrey teach those girls anything about not going off who knows where with someone you've just met :)?

No, really, I like Olivia. I get the feeling she's not naive enough to trust Gilderoy forever. And Gilderoy -- wow! You write him so well. I know he's lying and completely amoral, and even I have a hard time remembering it when he's being nice.

And Addison sounds like he's going to be interesting. Hmm... did Gilderoy blackmail *him*, or was it the other way around?

Thanks for the story.
Kit

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102529Chapter: 4
Oh, I'm really enjoying this! Good writing, nuanced and entertaining. I like the fact that Lockhart isn't completely horrible, he actually likes Olivia. She's very appealing, too.

Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102468Chapter: 4
Hmmm...intriguing. And sweet. And I still don't trust him fully, but still...sweet.

:)

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102453Chapter: 4
You had me very intrigued before, but now you've really got me hooked! And of course you know I always love your writing.
I can't wait for more. I can use more study breaks like these, please! : D

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101962Chapter: 3
OK, I have crawled out from whatever cave I have been hiding in and have just read ALL of your work. How could I have missed it? Your writing is wonderfully smooth and engaging, just carries me along into the story. Your descriptions are clever and novel, yet accesible - they immediately wrap us in your world. Your characters are fully developed and engaging. And you're funny! I realize I'm leaving a review on one chapter of one story that is really intended to cover your entire body of work so far - but I was overcome with the need to gush. Meanwhile - Olivia! Don't go! Haven't you been taught not to Apparate to unknown coordinates with a wizard you barely know? Or didn't Madame Pomfrey teach a health class?
Looking forward to more, now that I know enough to pounce when I see your name.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101429Chapter: 3
What! That's it! But I want more! :)

I love it. Lockhart's change was completely unexpected, but I like it. Isn't it always the hope of every girl that the guy who she likes will finally notice? Great job. I'm looking forward for the next chapter.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101377Chapter: 3
OK Chris, you can't do this to us. Please don't let her fall for that oily snake! (*aside to Olivia: Don't you believe him, honey. Noah is the man for you.*) As always, your writing is such a pleasure to read: it flows effortlessly and makes us forget we're *reading* at all. We thought we were actually in the storeroom with them, the whole time.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101366Chapter: 3
Hmmmm...I'm not sure if I trust Gildy's intentions, the scoundrel. :P Great chapter, Chris. That was some brilliant Gilderoy goodness.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101354Chapter: 3
Brilliant! I'm loving this story more and more and am so glad that it didn't end with this chapter. The Mark Twain quote was positively inspired! Perfect! I love Mark Twain quotes, they're always funny and very true. Anyway, loved this chapter, especially the way Olivia changed from thinking Lockhart was a creep to thinking he was a selfless hero in such a short time. I guess Gilderoy's charm worked its magic on her. ;-)

I'm eagerly looking forward to future installments!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101352Chapter: 3
AHHH! How could you leave me hanging there! I can't wait to read the next chapter. So, we see that he truly is playing his audience. I'm not sure if that makes me like him more or less. I swear, I know this guy--he was student senate president when I was in college and yes, I went out with him once. Oy!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101348Chapter: 1
I love that you're writing about an OC who works in Diagon Alley. There aren't enough stories that break away from the Trio or MWPP and tell us something new about the magical world. The title is also creative.

[Jeremiah Rankling had been the manager at Flourish and Blotts for eleven years and was known throughout Diagon Alley for his strict adherence to policy, zealous worship of punctuality and regrettable taste in clothing. Most of the hair from his head had seemingly migrated to his eyebrows, which were frequently knitted together over his pinched face, lending him a perpetual look of displeasure.]

Wonderful description! Vivid, imaginative and unique. I can really picture this character.

["Attentive...I can be very good at being attentive. Thanks for your advice, Madam." Olivia whirled around and promptly collided with Noah, knocking the box he was carrying to the floor. "Oh, I'm sorry. I must not have been..."]

*snert* Nice timing. Very funny. Love Olivia's scheme to meet Lockhart. Madam Flourish is also delightful. Great opening chapter!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99860Chapter: 2
Mom, you're so good!! I absolutely love some of the lines you use in your stories. I especially love the last line of Chapter 2, here.

"Noah looked from her disappointment to Lockhart's cheery face, believing that some books were easily judged indeed."

I love your characters- they're all so real. Each one of them has a very exact, and unique personality, that we can already see in only two chapters. You've always been very good at putting a lot of who your characters are into what they say and do.

Gilderoy is great to- not necessarily portrayed as being stupid, or evil, or really bad. It's just as you said, "Lockhart's not a bad bloke. Bit taken with the sound of his own voice, sometimes, but mostly alright." I love this story. Can't wait to see exactly how it's gonna grow from the one-shot story that you read to us months and months ago. Let me know when you get the next chapter up!!

^_~

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99587Chapter: 2
>>Most of them had two or more of Lockhart's books in their arms, holding them close to their chests like cherished infants.<<

LOL!

>>A pretty witch dressed entirely in lilac robes had gathered a small group together and they were singing songs from a notebook.<<

Yay! Lilac, Queen of Filks! :)

>>Uninterested in the answer, Noah retreated toward the door, stopping only when he had to politely explain to a pair of garishly dressed witches that Mr. Lockhart was only able to sign books. <<

*snert*

>>He stepped back, posing for another photo, accidentally elbowing Olivia in the face as she was stacking more copies of the book on the table beside him. <<

Ergh! What a git!

Well, now you've got me tantalized. More, please?

~Katinka

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99586Chapter: 1
>>Most of the hair from his head had seemingly migrated to his eyebrows, which were frequently knitted together over his pinched face, lending him a perpetual look of displeasure.<<

LOL! That's a great image.

>>It was nice to have a friend rooting for her, even if that friend had died more than a hundred years ago. <<

Hee! I like Olivia's interactions with Madam Flourish. :)

>>"I believe Mr. Wonder Wizard needs an assistant who won't go swooning every time he asks for a new quill or needs a lavatory break. Townsend, I'm taking you off register and putting you on duty with Lockhart as soon as he comes in." <<

Aha! Olivia's sneaky plot revealed. ;)

>>Olivia heard a loud burst of laughter behind her and she turned in astonishment to the portrait, where Madam Flourish was attempting to hide her face behind a large book from her desk.<<

sadjf;aldkjf;alskdjfl;akdjfa;lskdjf;a

A fun start! Off to chapter 2...

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99464Chapter: 2
Awwww! This is so sweet! We can't believe that 1-You've written a story about Gilderoy and 2-We love it! Tell us there'll be more, and that Olivia and Noah will get together?

Olivia is already going to be one of our favorite OC's. Thanks for a lovely read.

Reviewer: susy_gwenDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99421Chapter: 2
"A pretty witch dressed entirely in lilac robes had gathered a small group together and they were singing songs from a notebook." Hmmm...I wonder who that could be? :)

Well, I believe that you've hooked me on another one of your fics. Only have two chapters, I don't Olivia and Noah very well yet--but they seem like pratical, yet interesting people. Lockhart is perfectly done. Good job! Can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99203Chapter: 2
<<<A pretty witch dressed entirely in lilac robes had gathered a small group together and they were singing songs from a notebook. Curious, he moved closer to listen. He recognized the tune as being from a popular song, but the words seemed to have been rewritten.

"Better than the best of boys
No one's eyes match Gilderoy's,
Anything he'd ask, I'd do
Even face down You-Know-Who...">>>

Oh, my! Is that me? SQUEEEEEE!!!! How sweet! Thanks! Er...if it's not, then it's still cute anyway. :D

<<<<Uninterested in the answer, Noah retreated toward the door, stopping only when he had to politely explain to a pair of garishly dressed witches that Mr. Lockhart was only able to sign books. The young ladies seemed disappointed, but Noah was relieved when they placed their knickers back in their bags without incident.>>>

fjdskajfdlk;jlfdsjal;fdas

*wishes* Pleasepleaseplease let Lydia and Noah get together! :D

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99175Chapter: 2
You have so much great humor in this chapter, and you really have portrayed Gilderoy well. He's thoughtless and self-centered, but not evil. It's kind of fun to watch Noah react to the situation--especially to the witches who want him to autograph their Articles of Clothing That Shall Not Be Named! I'm enjoying this story very much.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99159Chapter: 2
Ooh, I love the way this story is progressing. And the Lockhart fan club song was pure genius. I also loved the ending line - "some books were easily judged indeed." Lockhart seems to have lost much of his appeal rather quickly. The details you add really make this story come to life. Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99155Chapter: 2
Poor Olivia! I really how you show Lockhart's personality here.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98514Chapter: 1
This is a great start, Chris! Olivia is already a very engaging character. Although it makes me wonder why such an intelligent woman wouldn't see through Lockhart (but then again Hermione didn't at first either), but I suppose that makes her even more realistic. The addition of Madam Flourish's portrait was a great too and I love it when an author fleshes out bits of Harry's world that are never shown for more than a brief glimpse.

Looking forward to the next chapter,

Cendrillon

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98238Chapter: 1
You have such a talent for instantly drawing a person in to the story.
I hope you don't mind the comparison, but I had a bit of a 'The Shop Around The Corner' feel as I was reading. Perhaps it was the excited energy of the shop as well as the window display.
In any event, I truly am looking forward to the next chapter. Oooh, how I want to know what happens next!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97970Chapter: 1
Oooh, this looks really interesting! I always like an OC who comfortably slips in among the canon characteres without a fuss, and Olivia has already endeared herself to me. Mr Rankling and Noah were also amusing, and I really like Madam Flourish. She seems to be a lady who loves intrigue. ;)

I'm trying to find something to criticize, and it's difficult. I miss the lack of physical description, but since this story involves Lockhart, I know that the main message will involve looking beyond surface appearances, and the way you put in small details about the shop and people certainly makes up for this.

I look forward to how you'll develop the story and what Olivia will think of Harry - if she manages to notice him. ;)

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97905Chapter: 1
This is a very charming beginning!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97898Chapter: 1
First, I loved your descriptions. I actually felt cold while I was reading the beginning of the chapter and I could picture Olivia's boss very clearly in my head. I'm anxious to see how he reacts to her. I really like Gilderoy as a character. He's definitely got more going on in his head (at least in 1991) than we know! Great start.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --