The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Sleeping Princesses
Review(s): 42

Reviewer: michelleDate: 2007-03-08
Reviewid: 147411Chapter: 1
St Margarets rec'd this on her Percy/Penelope fic and I'm so glad I came! This is absolutely beautiful. I loved all the vignettes, but my favorite was H/G (my OTP) This story is going into my favorites.

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2007-01-07
Reviewid: 146775Chapter: 1
Oh the loveliness! I came here through St Margarets rec on her Percy/Penny piece and I'm very glad I did. Each little vignette has its own story, told with wonderful economy and beautiful imagery. Thank you!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144961Chapter: 1
That was one of the most beautifully writen things I've ever read in my entrie life. and man, do i mean that. It's one of those things that you wish was a group of paintings so that you could look at them all the time. that kind of warmth is one of the greatest gifts we own, isnt it?

Reviewer: starfisherDate: 2006-06-22
Reviewid: 143595Chapter: 1
This is such a cute story, I love how all the different scenarioes take place at different times, jumping around. =D

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-04-13
Reviewid: 141880Chapter: 1
This was beautiful, Julu. I found my way to your page after your words of wisdom on the forum the other day. I liked James best - predictable, that IS my favorite ship, but it really communicated the ephemeral beauty of love and life. In the running were Percy (great imagery of fire/rain and light/dark) and Ron (I like his inner conflict). Like the best fics I've read, this will stay in memory as fanon. The text on the poem at the top was a bit hard to read due to it's small size. Well done!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129922Chapter: 1
Made me smile and the part with James brought tears to my eyes. Just beautiful.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2005-07-20
Reviewid: 127485Chapter: 1
Oh, that was wonderful! Just perfect, really.

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122315Chapter: 1
Julu, you are such a romantic. You have a real gift for seeing the beauty in everyone and everything, and thru many different eyes. Good job!

--S

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-05-08
Reviewid: 121606Chapter: 1
What a lovely piece. You really captured strong emotions, using small moments and beautiful language, and yet kept it all simple and clean - my very favorite writing style, handled very expertly.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121152Chapter: 1
St.Margarets was right. This is a creative and touching little gem.

Reviewer: TanteDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120926Chapter: 1
That was beautifully done. I've always found a peace and beauty in watching my loved ones sleep. It makes me love them more. And while Harry's view of Ginny is the odd man out in situation, it fits. It's better that she be awake and happy than asleep and fretful. Well done. I'm saving this one! Thanks.

Reviewer: Rebecca Erin ConnollyDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119100Chapter: 1
Just so you know, this made me cry.

Unique.

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118727Chapter: 1
What a sweet story. I'm not sure I understand why you put them in the order you did. It seems that Lily should have come first. But it's sweet.

Reviewer: Wind WitchDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117110Chapter: 1
Wow. Awesome. The Dumbledore one was...interesting in a sad kind of way. (That's a good thing.)

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114905Chapter: 1
Well, look at this. I'm reading one of your stories. And I'm loving it.

This is a very beautiful image you're painting.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114902Chapter: 1
Yummy fic. Just yeah, trying for something coherant, want the little :wub: emoticon. What's so cool about your whole fic, that it really feels so individual.

Normally I'm an H/G anti-shipper, but I really liked your H/G. Short and sweet, and so natural. You just let his feelings unfold, and it feels just right, feels like it's really Harry's thoughts. I love how you played the realization angle, letting it creep onto Harry and having him laugh about it. Not the usual freak out.

No other ship but R/Hr would have worked in the first scene. It's so them, with Ron thinking Hermione would give him a lecture, and be so prim and proper about it, and him wanting to shut her up. It feels right, in way, probably cause you throw in so much humor. Same with him wanting to deny the fantasy in the morning, and feeling safe about it at night.

The Percy/Penny one was yummy. Sweet and caring and great imagery. The interplay of light and dark and the storm outside and the cozyness inside, all just make it wonderful. How much he cares for her just pops put of the page and what she does for him, and the closeness and love they have for each other.

The Lily/James one was also wow. <i>"I’ll share her with you, mate. She’s the best gift I can give you."</i> -Just made me melt. I loved how you focused on the relationship between James and Harry, and let the love James has for Lily shine through that. I'm a softie for father/child stuff though.

The Albus/Liz one was so sad. How he discusses Harry with her, and how tired he is and that he just wants to be with her again, and the he will be soon, it's just heartbreaking. You put more intimacy into a conversation with a photograph then I've seen many people put into ones between two people. I loved the little touches of dusting her off and her sneezing, added lighter touches to a more dramtic viginette.

The Arthur/Molly one was just cool. That fear he has of her not being there, and the relief at finding her, and that he still feels that way after all those years, and how it comes across to the reader, just wow. I love how again, you focus on the children, what they've done together, and the little stuff, like the yellow picture and knitting and milk. Little stuff that really help to conjure it in my mind.

Which gets me back to why I'm so in love with this fic. I can see each of the scenes playing out in my head. There are enough details, interweaved with each scene, rather than a standalone part. You don't really try to describe how each person feels, rather letting the reader feel it for themselves by setting it up perfectly for it. I think it's so cool how you create so much feeling by leaving out the fireworks and electricity, instead going for the everyday, small, things, the ones that tend to be overlooked.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114899Chapter: 1
Oh no, Harry/Ginny is the only way to go! ;)

This was so lovely. I agree with others that James was probably the most touching.

I also really loved this part:

"There was something in Harry that had never erased the image of the little girl unconscious on the cold stone floor. But as he watched her flying in the sunrise, he realized he had to let go of that little girl. Ginny had become someone else, someone alive and fearless and…um…beautiful."

That was so beautifully put, and seemed very in character. I can see Harry very possibly having a few thoughts just like that in HBP.

Reviewer: Lila the Ice Cream QueenDate: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114868Chapter: 1
I love it, it captured the spirit and the mood of the caracters so well. Although, I am not a big harry/Ginny fan, it should have been Harry/Luna. oh, well, I guess I'll write a harry/luna moment. Great job.

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114602Chapter: 1
I love this so much. It's such a sweet fic. It's touching (and the James/Lily part almost made me cry) and the Arthur/Molly part is so lovely. Great job. :)

~Brittney

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114563Chapter: 1
That was lovely. Some beautiful insights into the various relationships, and your writing flows very well. I especially liked the Molly/ Arthur one, the way he remembered her as Molly Prewett- it really made me visualise her as a young girl, amd the homey details like Arthur planning to fix a cupboard. Great stuff!

Reviewer: SueDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106917Chapter: 1
This is absolutely beautiful. I forgot I was reading a fanfic and felt like I was reading about real people. So very well done.

Reviewer: DazedMarauderDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106914Chapter: 1
That was very sweet. I loved Albus and James. Thanks!
Insquequo terminus,
amanda

Reviewer: crazyspaceystraceyDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106484Chapter: 1
I adored this.. It was nice.

Reviewer: wenchlyDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102097Chapter: 1
That was gorgeous. It made me smile. I loved it, especially the last line.

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101583Chapter: 1
Just enough of everything.



Perfect.

Reviewer: HederaDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100880Chapter: 1
This is an absolutely excellent idea, and beautifully done. I loved Dumbledore's part, with the portrait, not only it's a great idea again, but the moment, when he admits he could use a bit of advice or rather support in those hard days from someone he loved, was great.
Arthur's part was nice, too. I like how he was already thinking on what would need to be fixed and done tomorrow.
In comparison with the boys, who didn't think on what needed to be fixed, painted and done, and didn't think of tomorrow, but rather these moments for them was a piece of eternity (like for Percy).
I liked it very much.

Reviewer: Sherster6Date: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98520Chapter: 1
Cuteness! I love it! I especially like that it appears Dumbledore was married, or at least in love. I mean, don't we all figure he is/was? Hopefully we'll find out more about that in a later book. Great fic!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98491Chapter: 1
We're jealous - we wish we'd written this ourselves! Just brilliant - and so beautifully done. We look forward to more from you.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98462Chapter: 1
I can think of nothing else to say but, "awww." Albus and the picture - I got to that 'teary' point. And James? This was so wonderful to read. Good job.

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98433Chapter: 1
Awww... that's so sweet. It's just the way it is, isn't it? I can't say anything about boys, but this is just the way I've been looking at my loved ones. Watching them in their sleep, watching them when they don't know I do. Wonderful, Julu.

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98400Chapter: 1
The line "his greatest privilege and his greatest responsibility" is beautiful.

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98390Chapter: 1
Oh wow. This was beautiful. I loved all the different pictures, young and old; and the Shakespeare quote was perfect. The little bits of humor were great (loved Ron wanting Hermione to stop talking in his fantasy!), and the overall effect was lovely and bittersweet.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98347Chapter: 1
Ooh, loved this! As people've said before, poignant. I'll remember it.

Reviewer: HaydenDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98330Chapter: 1
These are great. I loved it, they're so well written and really interesting! I loved how you portrayed their characters so accurately, these are things I would definitely imagine them thinking/saying. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98313Chapter: 1
Poignant.

This series of vignettes is delicately done, like a single warm fingertip on the heart. These brief touching down on different lives, each at a different moment of discovery, is warming without being precious. Nothing feels forced. (Although I would have liked to see James' and Percy's moments extended to match those of Arthur and/or Albus. But I'm greedy that way.)

I am reviewing this for the Review Challenge at the Pensieve.

Reviewer: Grandma KateDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98290Chapter: 1
Lovely, just lovely. I agree that James was the most delightful, but all of them were charming.

Reviewer: lalaDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98289Chapter: 1
cool

Reviewer: St.MargaretsDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98287Chapter: 1
You know how much I love this work of yours. It is beautiful and poetic and so very poignant. I really like what you did with the Albus and how beautifully in character you made:
Ron
"The whole scenario just made him want to make her shut the hell up. If she would just stop talking then he could run his fingers through her hair and taste her properly"
And James:
"Carefully James memorized the two of them together, willing time to stand still. This moment, forever. This was his eternity"
And Harry:
"What do you know, little Ginny Weasley, looking beautiful"

All these scenes are so understated, yet carry such an impact. I'm so glad everyone else at the Quill gets to read this!

I like that song too, btw.

Reviewer: aww thats sweet!Date: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98278Chapter: 1
u shud totally write like a longer.. chapter story about each of these characters n like explain more about them n like wut happens! you can do soooooo much w/ what u lust laid out here! it wud make like a really good prologue!

Reviewer: Hermione HairDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98274Chapter: 1
i liked it...it was so sweet. I liked James's the best...I think you should put a summary up for it, then more people would read it. Keep it up o talented one.

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98271Chapter: 1
very wistful yet joyous vignettes.
Thank you.

Reviewer: ahdunnoyDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98269Chapter: 1
ummm...touching, introspective, great presentation from various points of view. Keep it up! :-)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --