The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Grim Dawn
Review(s): 90

Reviewer: Cynthia1850Date: 2007-01-16
Reviewid: 146895Chapter: 10
A wonderful story.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145430Chapter: 10
I read seven chapters a long time ago.
I only recently found that it was completed and read it all.
An excellent tale. Thanks.

Reviewer: KrissoniaDate: 2005-10-20
Reviewid: 134856Chapter: 10
I've just stumbled across this - and I adore it whole heartedly. completely. it's a wonderful AU. is this the end, or will there be sequels - perhaps Sirius, Remus and Harry in the Summer at Grimmauld, sharing memories and getting used to each other again?

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134791Chapter: 10
A nice wrap up but I hope you have a chapter or two to go. Something has to go horribly wrong doesn't it?

Reviewer: KevinDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134780Chapter: 10
Wow, this was really good! Normally I don't care much for AU's but I really liked the darkness of this one and ofc, the fact that Sirius is alive and free makes it a wonderful read :D I do hope this isn't the end, although I guess it would be quite hard to do a fourth year etc, but perhaps at least a summer? :) Great writing, keep it up :)

Reviewer: The UnicornDate: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134425Chapter: 7
Very nice story, hope you update soon

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133398Chapter: 7
PLEASE tell me you aren't going to leave it here!!! This is a terrific story... & I really want to see where it goes!!!

Reviewer: NeopyroDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133168Chapter: 7
AMAZING! This fic is now in my top 5 favorites. ever.

I love Sirius more than anything, and I am astounded at how well you portray him. Update soon!

Reviewer: LynnDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132985Chapter: 7
Wow. An interesting twist, and very well written. Are Bellatrix coming out of Azkaban in this story? I really hope so, I loved your characterization of her in the Unbroken trilogy. Lucius too. Is this going to be a long story? I hope so. Anyway, good job.

Reviewer: TsuDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131869Chapter: 1
IT IS?!?!

-races to FF.net-

THANK YOU KIND ONE.

<3333333 oo;;;

Reviewer: BAGDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131215Chapter: 7
you do know that this is finisher on FanFiction.Net but not here?

Reviewer: Darth ShadowDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129724Chapter: 7
hope you update soon

Reviewer: TsuDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129287Chapter: 7
OMG. THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST fic I have ever read. Sooo well done. EEEE. Where's the rest? Omg... don't tell me it ends there? *poke poke prod* D: D: -Flails- You are an amazing writer, y'know that? Now where's the rest to this?! xD

Reviewer: AmandelleDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125737Chapter: 7
Ooh, it's really good. Great story and great characters. I demand more.

Reviewer: Darth ShadowDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121661Chapter: 6
Great gob

Thank for the entertainment

Reviewer: Darth ShadowDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121660Chapter: 5
great chapter wonderfully writen great ideas

thanks for writing

Reviewer: Darth ShadowDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121659Chapter: 4
Great wonderfull excellent Extra Ordinary Amazing.

Reviewer: Darth ShadowDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121658Chapter: 7
Three thumps up.

OOPS, I have only got two.
oh well i'll imagine the third one.

Please updated soon

Reviewer: Darth ShadowDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121649Chapter: 2
great work like it alot thank

Reviewer: Darth ShadowDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121648Chapter: 1
Im speachless.
only thing i can say is wonderfull

Reviewer: Darth ShadowDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121647Chapter: 3
Really good start so far it looks like a wonderfull story hope you update soon

Reviewer: BAGDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119216Chapter: 7
Just read the next 3 chapters on another site and this is really good. Should post here now!

Reviewer: BethDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118792Chapter: 7
....

I hardly know what to say.

....

This is brilliant. A brilliant idea, brilliantly written with a *brilliant* cliffhanger.

It's just... brilliant. :D

Oh, *please*, update.

Reviewer: BAGDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118519Chapter: 7
You haven't updated this eather! Get it together! Update now. It has been over a month you know!!!!!!!!! ):

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-20
Reviewid: 117224Chapter: 7
Oh, you did NOT just stop there.

Reviewer: SerenityDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113091Chapter: 1
I really like how you've built up the characterization and Sirius and Harry's relationship. Keep up the good work.

Serenity

Reviewer: RainbowDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113077Chapter: 7
I am siriusly about to scream. Talk about cliffhangers! You're killing me here!

By the way I love it. :P

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113002Chapter: 7
“I know where my breaking point is—I became quite well acquainted with it in Azkaban, as you well know.”
Moody jerked back as if struck, and for the first time in his life.
-Looking forward to learning more about that!

Good chapter. Hope you update soon. (and that you continue to have Moody involved)

Reviewer: DazedMarauderDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112916Chapter: 7
*blink*

wait for it, wait for it...

WHAT?!?!?! You can't do that to us (no offence or anything)! That's the evilest cliffhanger that I have ever seen!!! You can't end it like that, I'll die! What about Harry? What will happen to Sirius after that nasty hit (werewolves are strong...)? What will everyone think? Will Dumbledore believe him? Will Remus believe him? I've got loads of questions.

You have to update soon, if you can, please?

please?
Insquequo terminus,
amanda

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112910Chapter: 7
This is the third time I've read the story. It's so wonderful- exactly how I wish the books went. Don't ever stop. :)

(Also, you want "elusive" for "illusive" somewhere towards the front of the story, about Sirius.)

Reviewer: SinyaaDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112854Chapter: 7
It's nice to read the events of my favorie book in a different way. :) I always did love Sirius. I'm not sure if I review this story before now, but it's kept me hooked from the first chapter. I can't wait to see what happens next. Poor Sirius, no one will give him a chance to explain.

I do have one very small canon nitpick I have to point out even if it is an AU story. Sorry, I can't help it. ^_^ JKR said on her website (under the first fan site award), that Sirius's eyes are grey.

Reviewer: Felina BlackDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112838Chapter: 7
Wow. I've been following this story from the beginning but I just HAD to leave a review to this chapter. Even though this is an AU fic, you capture Remus's emotions so well. You had my heart aching for him as he struggled with his emotions toward Sirius. We often are cruelest to those we love most (either intentionally so or not), and the interactions between Sirius and Remus in the Hospital Wing were captured beautifully. Well done. Ah - off to go read it again! It really touched me. I'm looking forward to the next chapter; please don't make me wait too long! But keep Promises Defended coming too! (I'm not being too demanding am I?) ;)

Reviewer: VittaDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111367Chapter: 1
I'm really enjoying this story. Keep up the good work!!!

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111174Chapter: 1
I've read the entire six chapters, and I'm dying to know what happens next! Oh, life could've been much easier if Sirius would have been this clever and would've try to explain it all to Harry... Maybe Sirius wouldn't be dead... I'm actually considering believing your side of the story and *not* reading HBP when it's out. I'd hate to read an entire Sirius-free book.
Right now, though, I'm crying, because the possibility of Sirius and Harry hugging made my heart break... did you realize they never had the chance to formally hug, like father and son? JK is so cruel sometimes, you know.
Anyways, thank you for giving us a chance to explore this Alternative Universe, which, right now, I like much better than Jk's...
Did I mention my favourite character used to be Sirius?
Abby, who's very impressed at how you've moved her...

Reviewer: Lyra PryceDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109994Chapter: 6
Your writing is absolutely brilliant! Your portrayal of the characters is what I think JK may have had in mind. I love the idea of this storyline, I always wondered why Sirius didn't try to contact Harry earlier. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Frank SecadaDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109959Chapter: 3
I started this story just as you did, then I stopped for a bit and busied myself with your "promises unbroken" trilogy, which was and is very good. But I came back to this one because it the story line looked so promising (ha ha). And I really enjoy your writing style.

One thing that bothered me, though. At the end of this chapter, I couldn't help thinking, "Why doesn't Sirius just write a the following note to Dumbledore:"

"Albus,

Ron's pet rat, Scabbers, is really the unregistered animagus, Peter Pettigrew. If you do the 'XYZ' charm on him, he will be forced to resume his human form. Once you do this, perhaps you could ask him why he's been in hiding for the past twelve years, and ask yourself, how safe is Harry with Peter sleeping in his dorm in rat form? Remus can confirm Peter's animagus form."

Maybe I'm just being a killjoy, but I was wondering if you were planning on addressing this in your story?

Now that I've thought on it, the same question could've applied to POA as well. Oh well, if it's good enough for JKR, it's good enough for me.

^-^

Reviewer: JJMDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109861Chapter: 6
UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109751Chapter: 6
Eeee, this story makes me feel all happy inside, despite the fact that this chapter is quite not happy. Love it love it love it, even though I think I read it at ff.n or FA.

One thing- you said "Ford Angelina," which should be "Ford Anglia."

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109722Chapter: 6
CLIFFHANGER!

Reviewer: BAGDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108868Chapter: 5
i just started reading this and i have to say, wow!!!!!!!! you aren't as good as Rowling herself but you get pritty darn close. your true to the booiks and make everything fit, hell this could be the course the books could have takin had it been you pickin up after Rowling in the story plot. man your good with the charicters too. they fallow their discription well, unlike some other people you don't change them to fit your story, your true to the books. hopefuly you stay that way as i love your writing. and i've never seen anyone write Sirius as well as you! Sirius Black is a dark, powerful person with a past. as much as it kills me to have seen him die i find that you have kept him alive in all your fic. his charicter is alive and you keep him as the person Rowling made him and the charicter that i fell in love with when he was first writin out on the pages. am i wrong in thinking that he is one of your favorit charicters in the books? please keep writing!
regards a an HP fan and critic! Britt

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107796Chapter: 1
Two updates, and neither of them have been for Grim Dawn....

*am sad*

Reviewer: Weasley_QueenDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107196Chapter: 5
Bloody brilliant!

Reviewer: BlackRaven13Date: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107195Chapter: 5
I can't wait to see what happens, really good story. Where's Sirius?! So much suspense! So much suspense! (Finds little yellow pills)
REALLY good story.

BlackRaven13

Reviewer: KatjaDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106304Chapter: 5
Fascinating!! I can't wait to read more. This is really well-written.

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105681Chapter: 5
What happened to Sirius???
I'm going out of my mind here!
TELL ME!

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105669Chapter: 5
In alot of ways, this has to be my favorite fanfic of all time. Even though it isn't cannon, it just feels 'right'. I just can't explain it any further than that. Keep up the good work, and update soon
Sam

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105658Chapter: 5
Another excellent chapter... but I must admit that I await impatiently the moment that Sirius makes himself known... or not. Personally, I see Harry finally leaving Grimmauld place on Sept. 1st and turning up at Hogwarts, much to confusion of everyone^^ Of course, I doubt that's what you have in mind, and I am certain that whatever you do have in mind will be wonderful. Thanks! Update Soon PLEASE.

Reviewer: Evil WombatDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105651Chapter: 5
Agh! Agh! Don't stop there!!! The suspense!!!
The suspense is killing me!!! Give me more! I need more!!!

*takes a valium*

Ahhh...that's better. Wonderful chapter! There are some moments that are almost too poignant to bear. You are a very very gifted writer! You do an amazing job of keeping the tension and suspense (as I've noticed in your other works as well). I am deeply impressed. Great work! I'm hoping to see another chapter posted soon!!!

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105602Chapter: 5
I'm begging you!!! PLEASE update more!!! You're killing me here, this is my absolute FAVORITE fan fiction right now-- its getting so hard to find good ones-- and I just gotta know what happens! I check to see if you've updated everyday! Please, the story's brilliant just keep writing!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105424Chapter: 4
Please... update... quickly... thank you...

I really like your story by the way, I think it even beats your other AU stories, and until I read this one they were some of my favorite on the Sugarquill.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105415Chapter: 1
*huggles Harry* Sorry! Oh, dear. I'd thought he was going to freak out and tell everyone and mess everything up worse than usual. Anyway, I'll try and keep up with this fic, 'cos I tried to read "Promises" about three times, lost track all three times, and it's hard to read something much more than three times in less than a year, you know? Anyway, very promising!

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104968Chapter: 4
I've always enjoyed your AUs, but for some reason this chapter was very hard to follow. Can you slow things down a bit? Everything's so epic and important; I feel like we need a breather between bits of dramatic dialogue and action.

Reviewer: CrceresDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104462Chapter: 4
This is definitely one of the best alternate universe stories! You've done a nice job using information from the later books while not using their tone.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104389Chapter: 4
This remains to be the most interesting AU idea I've ever seen, and a story that does the idea full honour.

Reviewer: neopyroDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103172Chapter: 3
Awesome fic! Sirius is the best charrie ever! Please keep writing!

Reviewer: Ron HathcockDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101482Chapter: 3
This time I have just two complaints... this is the last chapter you've posted of a GREAT piece that obviously will run for many, many more, and, again, a quibble:

“No. But the Dark Lord still wants him, that’s certain enough—and he was not especially pleased that Avery was used in the boy’s place.”

I'm sure you meant that Amelia Bones was used.

Actually, I'm VERY impressed by your skill. Keep going!

Reviewer: Ron HathcockDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101481Chapter: 2
I'm impressed! You've come up with a scenario that rings "true" -- you're being true to JKR's characters, have them speaking very much as she does, keeping the narrative moving... So far, the only error of any sort was in the following passage:

Black snorted. “Not likely. I certainly thought I’d come back to this awful place…”

You dropped a word, perhaps "never," and have reversed your intended meaning.

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101325Chapter: 3
I don't usually read AU stories, but I'm quite taken with this one. I like the way you've mixed together events from books 3-5 to make a new story. I'll be keeping my eyes open for updates...

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101293Chapter: 1
Amazing work like usual, Robin. you never surprise me, but i love these curveballs yo'ore throwing at me. I love the color Purple too. tis a royal princess color.

rock on.

Reviewer: &#21152;&#27833;!Date: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101277Chapter: 3
Hurry up and finish! This is great!

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101236Chapter: 3
Okay...this is loverly and all, but it is moving a bit slow. I know it's because you're working very hard on all of your stuff, but...something needs to happen!
*realizes what she just said in light of Voldy's return*
uh...I mean something involving Ron. Yeah. That's it. Something involving dialogue and characters. Let's move past the exposition!
I can't wait. :-)

Reviewer: tootlesDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101151Chapter: 3
what a wonderful idea, i am looking forward to finding out how you are going to take this! great job!

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100417Chapter: 2
Ah--no--not another story--too far behind on Promises Remembered--and now this one--where am I going to find time to read it all?

Anyway, this is EXTREMELY intriuging, and has thousands of possibilities, and your writing is great, and I loved the section with Remus, and you need to update soon! :-)

Reviewer: CineDate: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100363Chapter: 2
Lovely story, can't wait to see what Dumbledore thinks when he finds out Sirius has hidden Harry under a Fidelus charm (oh, the irony).. Keep it up, I love the way you write.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100331Chapter: 2
Really, really well written. You have the best ideas!! I can't wait for more, I love a truly captivating story without any fluff! They're so rare!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100264Chapter: 2
Argh! MORE MORE! I can't take this stuff where it ends right when I REALLY get into it! lol, anyways... please update, ^^

Reviewer: Margaret CarterDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100260Chapter: 2
Good chapter! Sirius and Remus are 2 of my favorite characters; I always enjoy seeing more of them. And to see Harry have a chance to live with Sirius helps to fill the void left by Sirius's death in canon. Of course I'm eager to see how the reconciliation between R. and S. plays out in this AU version.

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100230Chapter: 2
awesome
just awsome. and the best part is its only chapter 2!! there are hopefully alot more coming! you're a great writer!

Reviewer: FableheartDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100229Chapter: 2
ooh. you are the master of cliffhangers, Robin. Not that this is a *real* cliffhanger, though, but... it's driving me MAD that there's not another chapter. This is a brilliant concept!!! I love where it's going. The bit about Remus was execelent. He's got to be my favorite character in all of the books, and you've always portrayed him so well. Update soon.

Reviewer: neopyroDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100194Chapter: 2
whoa! This fic is awesome!!! Keep it up!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100178Chapter: 2
I'm really interested as to how this will turn out. But again, Sirius has gray eyes. I know that in the Promises AU he has blue ones, and I suppose it's too late to change it there, but here...
http://www.jkrowling.com/textonly/fansite_view.cfm?id=1

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100150Chapter: 2
Oh, you always tease us with two new chapters, and then I have wait impatiently for the next. Lol, still wonderful story, though I believe you left out a Never in Sirius saying “Not likely. I certainly thought I’d come back to this awful place…” Unless I'm reading it differently than you intended. I'm looking foward to more.

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100104Chapter: 2
Another wonderful piece of work from one of my favorite fanfiction authors. As a college student, I wonder at how you can be in the military and manage to keep up several stories at once, all of which are phenomenal. Anyway, I love Harry Potter, Sirius Black, and the third book the best, so stories that realistically (or should I say pseudo-canonically) combine all three are the ones I love best.

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99952Chapter: 1
Gah!

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes. I want more. More more more more more!

Sorry, I'm not usually like this, reviewing. I'll be better later.

GAH!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98887Chapter: 1
Oh, this is great! I can't wait to read Sirius's explanation to Harry about what really happened. The only thing wrong is that you haven't finished the other story!

Reviewer: htbmnyDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98873Chapter: 1
this is really really good

Reviewer: sarahDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98817Chapter: 1
fascinating concept. I've loved your promises unbroken and promises remembered series...this is just wonderful.

Reviewer: TiaDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98800Chapter: 1
Woot! Great story, I'm waiting the new chapter already! You're awsome writer! :] Keep going!

Reviewer: anonymooseDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98715Chapter: 1
I admire your ability to write, while disregarding the last two books and all the character developments they brought. but it's moving too slowly for my taste. :) It's a good story idea, can't really think of any advice to give you at the moment...hoping to read more.

Reviewer: Cheesy MonkeyDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98703Chapter: 1
You know, this is an interesting turn of events. I've never really thought about what would have happened is Sirius met Harry face to face in human form in the beginning of the third book. I can't wait to see where this leads. And hopefully Remus will make an entrance? *laugh* I'm such a Lupin fan, it's sickening. XD Anyway, whatever you do, I'm sure it'll rock my wee little socks. ^^ -The Cheese

Reviewer: CineDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98690Chapter: 1
This, if awesome! <3<3 You've GOT to continure this! Pleeaseeeeee, I WANT MOOORE.

Reviewer: Jillian! >.<Date: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98678Chapter: 1
More! More! More! More! More! More! More! More! Write more! This is my favorite AU. Not enogh people do this one. Write more pweeeeeez? Pretty please with sugar on top? >.<

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98676Chapter: 1
Once again, the beginnings of a great story. I have quite enjoyed all of your AU fics to date, and this one promises to be just as much fun to read. I look forward to the next update. ^^

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98667Chapter: 1
Brilliant!!!! Oh but your stories are always good. This is a really good idea though. I wonder why I haven't read any fics along these lines before? All I can say is please,please,please write more soon!!!

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98653Chapter: 1
This is a awesome start:D. I can't wait to read more. I could honestly see where Harry could trust Black in the story. In 5 minutes of talking with him, he showed him more respect than the Dursley's had in 13 years..
Way to go:D

Reviewer: JohannaDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98626Chapter: 1
You are such a great writer! I am simply awed by all your stories and left wondering how you could write so...well and with suspense! I also really loved your stories Forget Me Not and Promises Remembered. Update! And hope the Navy's okay!

Reviewer: nightcrawlerDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98616Chapter: 1
Wow, very nice! I think this is a great idea for an AU fic, I'd love to see where it's going...

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98614Chapter: 1
Whoo, I am so glad you're posting this here! It's about time Sugarquill re-allowed AU fics, because they can be really good - like this one, obviously, since I wouldn't have reviewed if I didn't like it. ^^

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98589Chapter: 1
Phantastic! A great idea for an AU, and I fully believe you have the ability to make this into an amazing story. Your start is great, anyways.

One little detail. On her web page, JKR has stated that Sirius's eyes are grey, not blue.

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98569Chapter: 1
Wowsers! That's really, really good! I love how Harry has to decide who to trust. Update soon!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --