The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Memory Gum
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: MuggleForMagicDate: 2007-09-20
Reviewid: 149351Chapter: 1
That was sweet, I love Neville he's brave and been through alot, when i read that part in ootp i almost cried i felt bad for neville, good story

Reviewer: merry101Date: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125823Chapter: 1
this is an awesome story, and i like the fact that there's no R/H stuff. much as i'm a fan of em, i think this should be a quiet little story more focusing on the stuff we don't usually think about.

~merry

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109839Chapter: 1
An okay memo. Thank you. Can you write a story?

Reviewer: Elise WeasleyDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 108003Chapter: 1
LOVED IT!
I think that Neville and Hermione have a really cute friendship, too, but i think Neville's gonna end up with ginny....cause I'm really sick of the harry/ginny thing, and neville/ginny is way cuter......(cuter, is that a word?) Alright sorry, just had to get my two cents in there, anyway this was an adorable fic!

Toodleoo,
EW

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105095Chapter: 1
You're absolutely right in saying Hermione and Neville have a cute friendship! Neville is one of my favourite secondary characters and I'm glad you expanding on the St. Mungo's scene. Again, a few grammar errors but you are getting better all the time. So please, keep plugging away at it!

Reviewer: becky hartleburyDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103894Chapter: 1
i love this story, it was well written and a really sweet moment with neville and hermione. i nearly cried when neville was explaingning about the gum wrappers well done keep up the good work

Reviewer: Sherster6Date: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98963Chapter: 1
I love it! Even though there was no R/H...sigh.... And I saw you today, but was there any, "oh btw, I updated on the Quill."? no! Anyway, keep writing, and keep sending me your fics so I can tell you where you can stick in fun R/H moments. lol! cute fic!

Reviewer: BrianneDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98824Chapter: 1
Aww, that's really cute!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98780Chapter: 1
I most certainly agree with the author that this is NOT a Hermione/Neville romance fic...It's Hermione being herself at her best! I believe she values friendship at all levels and, in her own obsessed way, categorizes people and puts them in "pigeon holes" so she knows how to react to them. Neville is one of those people who fits in the "needs extra care" category, so naturally, when she sees him hurting, Hermione does her best to cheer him up. You've done a tremendous job at developing this side of Hermione, since we see is very little in canon. I've read the story twice and each time have picked up on the subtlties you've given this much-beloved character.

Reviewer: ArianaEvansDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98763Chapter: 1
That was a really cute fic!! I like how you stayed true to the characters and inserted a scene into an actual space in canon...it made it more believable. I look forward to reading more!!
~ArianaEvans

Reviewer: marshaDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98762Chapter: 1
I really liked your portrayal of Neville. We just get glimpses of him in canon that are almost a tease. I like that you "fleshed" him out. Plus I really enjoy how you write your conversations - they sound very natural. One problem I find with alot of fanfiction is that the dialogue sounds forced or unnatural. Thanks for a gereat little story - was a hour well spent on your part.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98761Chapter: 1
Sweet, sweet story. I was a bit distracted by errors that have already been pointed out, and by the extended author's note concerning CSI (what is that?), but I do love the premise of the story and the way you wrote the characters. They were very much in character and the dialogue was excellent!

Reviewer: MiekeDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98752Chapter: 1
I LOVE IT!!! Your right Neville and Hermione could have a cute friendship!I did see the CSI finale and you know all my thoughts! Darn bout the r/h not being in there! It is awsome! Please write more!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98665Chapter: 1
It was a cute fic, so sweet and in character. I love the reason behind keeping the gum wrappers, it makes a lot of sense. I liked that you showed the friendship between Neville and Hermione, you did a great job showing the dynamics between them. I also loved that you showed Hermione trying to get Neville to open up, not just having him break down in front of her. It's hard to find friendship fics, especially male/female ones, so I'm glad that it's not N/H, even though I kind of like the ship. I also liked the scene in the cafeteria, with Harry laughing and all of them joking around.

She was surprised by three things. 1.) Lockhart was fast asleep (hairnet in place) in his bed 2.) Her purse was in the hands of 3.) Neville Longbottom.
I don't think that you needed numbers here, or that it would have been better to write them out, but I think that your use of the list format really made each item stand out.

I also liked your Hermione a lot. I love that she's got Kreacher and Harry and Neville and so many other things on her mind, that she can't even hink straight anymore. I also like that you don't mention R/Hr, I agree with you that it wouldn't have fit, and it's nice to see Hermione thinking of something besides a boy in fanfic.

Basically, this fic rocks, can't wait to read more of your writing.

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98654Chapter: 1
I know there is more to Neville than we have seen so far in the books and your story hints at that. I really enjoyed reading it, glad to have you back!

Reviewer: Alabaster BlackDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98623Chapter: 1
Awww....that was so cute! And I certainly didn't see it as an N/H fic at all. I loved Neville's reason for keeping the gum wrappers too! Just one little typo, sorry for being picky- you accididentally wrote "know" instead of "no" here:

<<Know its not, Hermione said softly, Shes your mum. She loves you.>>

I wonder how Neville knows about the order....did Dumbledore tell him? Is his Grandmother part of it???? Hmmm...this demands a follow up fic......And also, you HAVE to write about the "Expelliarmus" challenge between Hermione and Neville.....this one little ficlet needs all sorts of sequels!!!

Alabaster

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98613Chapter: 1
This was really good; you had Hermione somewhat in character. I really can see her being nosy like that. However, there were two errors - Neville was leaving when she saw him, and Bellatrix didn't escape until around January. Also, why is it a problem if it was Neville/Hermione? I know this site mainly supports Ron/Hermione, but it's not like we all immensley dislike other ships. I know this fanfic wasn't Neville/Hermione, I'm just not sure why it matters.

But yes, I really liked this fanfic otherwise; you write Hermione extremely well, and I liked your gum theory!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98603Chapter: 1
I love this fic. I always enjoy seeing gentle!Hermione and I just adore Neville. Good job.

Reviewer: shooting starDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98600Chapter: 1
sniff....sob...very touching....

Reviewer: AngelaDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98583Chapter: 1
This was really, wonderful. I absolutely adore Neville, and it's so cute/sad about the gum wrappers. I absolutely love CSI!!! And am a G/S shipper, so I was so happy to see the hand hold at the end. It made my summer, and now I can't wait for the premiere this Thursday!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --