The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 72

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-19
Reviewid: 151342Chapter: 1
Hi Fernwithy! I would like to introduce myself as a huge fan, and an even bigger lurker. Hopefully now that I'm writing to you, that will change! I found you back in the summer of 2007 after DH came out and I was looking for some post-DH fics involving Teddy. I was very excited to find Forest Guard, and I was blown away with your ability to capture the essence of the characters. Naturally I followed along with HM and DM, and when that was finished I read all your LJ HP fics. Then I went to look through your journal for your thoughts on the books, and fantastic "Ask my characters anything" meme. I never commented because I never had an account, and that's a stupid excuse. So now that I've read your journal (and incidents like stumbling on Hermione's Sorting was so worth it!!!!) I'll be leaving your much deserved reviews. I wish that SQ had a PM system, so I hope you don't mind that I do it here.

Now for my first review! I think out of all the one-shots I've read, "Loosey Lippity Lessons" is my all time favorite. There is so much love in this family, and Molly is the ultimate mother as she knows the balance between when to discipline and when to mix in some fun. Prequels like these are guaranteed fun because the kids are just so gosh darn cute, but having them interact with each other the way they do really takes it up another level. Including Bill and Charlie's pictures at the end was a great touch.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-08-18
Reviewid: 148917Chapter: 1
Well done. It reminded me of my teaching days.

And it isn't your fault that JKR kept changing her story about how old everyone was. Then she announced that no one, not even Hermione, could go before they were full eleven. So Charlie went two years after Bill (mid December and late November birthdays) and Percy three years later (August birthday). I got the impression that the two older boys were a bit older than Percy than canon says now.

Reviewer: Scrittore Di NovelleDate: 2006-05-31
Reviewid: 143143Chapter: 1
Ah, you're one of those short fanfic writers, eh? You know the characters very well, which makes the story very realistic and entertaining. Very funny but I do have a comment on :

"Don't forget generally gibbering George," Fred said. "That's three more."

"It's four more," George said. "Fred can't count."

^^It's actually five g's. I would've assumed that it was a joke but then Molly goes on and doesn't correct them. Besides that, love the fic!

Reviewer: lau3rieDate: 2006-04-22
Reviewid: 142152Chapter: 1
I am slowly starting to read my way through your SQ archive, and I'm loving it!
Especially the confusion about ages, and this line:
"You were born at exactly the same time. It was very special Don't-Argue-About-It magic."
Brilliant! I can just see the twins having fights about who was older, and trying to pull rank.

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140834Chapter: 1
Yeah, after reading this one...I've decided I will become your groupie...this one bad me smile after all the others made me cry!

krumfan

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137226Chapter: 1
Very Cute

Reviewer: bethDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135421Chapter: 1
heyaz i realy like your fanfic keep it up i hope you have writen more im loking forward to reading some more of your work and if you havn't got any more work PLEASE write some more PLEASE!!!!!!

Reviewer: Li the bumble bee who's bumbled been into the binDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134503Chapter: 1
Lo
I really likd this FernWithy.....You should defo. write more on this line

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-10-01
Reviewid: 133552Chapter: 1
This is really funny I really enjoyed this. Fred and George were so cute in this fic. I absoloutly adore little kids especially Ginny's, Ron's, Fred and George's ages they are so cute! Percy was very pompous in this fic.

Reviewer: claudiastarDate: 2005-10-01
Reviewid: 133518Chapter: 1
Aww so cute! I love the Weasleys and all their madness. This was a really lovely family scene. very convincing.

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2005-09-25
Reviewid: 133230Chapter: 1
This was a fun, quick read. I think your characterization of the young Weasley family was perfect, and it really increased my interest in reading more stories about the Weasley family and also reading more stories by you, as this was my first. I'm glad I've got lots of other stuff to read by you; otherwise I wouldn't be able to take it!

Reviewer: LizBingDate: 2005-09-09
Reviewid: 132023Chapter: 1
Sooooo cute!

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 131057Chapter: 1
I lurved it!

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-08-20
Reviewid: 130453Chapter: 1
A very sweet fic. I bet this is exactly what lessons in the Weasley house were like.

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128742Chapter: 1
WIKED!!!!!!!!BRILLIANT!!!!!!

Reviewer: Sarah M.Date: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127955Chapter: 1
I think I reviewed this before, but can I just say again (if I didn't before)...ADORABLE!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-07-24
Reviewid: 127733Chapter: 1
Oh, that was just the sweetest! All the characters were in character and I got a warm feeling just picturing all the kids together during the lesson. You can really feel the family love here, but it's not overly sappy, like when Molly's patience starts to wear a little thin at dinner and she decides that Arthur can tell the twins to go to bed several times (hehehe!). And I loved, "What comes after G?" "I". I can really picture young Ginny like this. Such a fabulous, fantastic, fic!

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125341Chapter: 1
Very sweet and funny and family-ish.

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124560Chapter: 1
I'm homeschooled, and I know a lot of big homeschooling families. Knowing them, I'm sure lessons with their mums would be similar to this. Very well done. And adorable.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119470Chapter: 1
Ooh, back again. I really think that George is the older, out of him and Fred.
Maybe because he's more concientious about problems...?
"'Why do you go first?'
'Because I'm older.'
'Are not! Mum?'"
See? Fred also a little.. how do I say this ... Immature? (Did I spell that right?)
Even at eight, compared to his twin. Huh.

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118434Chapter: 1
Hi ! Fernwithy, i think you did an excellent job of portraying homeschooling, and the magic touches made it fun.
(I ought to know about the homeschooling. I've been homeschholed for about 5 years and i help with my siblings too. )

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116501Chapter: 1
I really liked this story. I like all Family!Weasley fics. (Does it make sense to use the "!" like that?)

"Bill's bobbity boxy broomstick!"
-very cute.-

I like the way Molly teaches them and "tries" to be stern.

Reviewer: MariposaDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116380Chapter: 1
I loved this story! And the gold stars were perfect and magical! I want one! You have a great way of writing from a child's pov.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116087Chapter: 1
Good. Goobey Gobbers Gunky Good. Funny.

Reviewer: Gabriella Du SultDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115911Chapter: 1
This was so adorable. I half expected when Ginny was having trouble with H for Harry to be mentioned -- but there really wasn't a good reason for it, and you are too good a writer to do something as contrived as that (more my style).

"By the time they'd finished eating, her nerves were starting to wear." Ha! As a mother of two preschoolers, I know that this is the time of day when the kids just go bonkers -- how familiar Molly's feelings were to me. Very nice view of the Weasely family.

Reviewer: Chelsea_EvansDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113745Chapter: 1
Aww! That was so cute! I love the gold star!

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112229Chapter: 1
The chaoes was very true to form too.

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112228Chapter: 1
This is great, and somehow very Ron:

"Is four-plus-three the same as three-plus-four?"

"Yes, well-spotted, Ronnie! Good job."

"And it's still seven," he said tentatively.

It's all truly funny. What a nice little fic--it reminds me of my Mum homeschooling me and my three sibs ("Abracadabra: peanut butter sticks!").

Reviewer: DoxyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111605Chapter: 1
stories don't get much sweeter than this!! i loved it!

Reviewer: Mandy of the AmoebaDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108729Chapter: 1
*coos* Oh, this is marvelous, simply marvelous. I adore it. *bookmarks*

Reviewer: mrs whoDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105848Chapter: 1
As a homeschooling parent, I found this ficlet charming and sweet, even if not particularly accurate to our style of education. My kids enjoyed it as well!

Reviewer: JewelDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103613Chapter: 1
I absolutely adore every single one of your stories! I especially love the continuity you've got going through them all. :) Please keep writing and please let me know when you have another one posted.

Thanks for writing!

~Jewel~

Reviewer: TabeaDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102806Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so, so, so, so cute!!!
I simply loved this story!
Please write more, a sequel or another ficlet like this!

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101921Chapter: 1
Oh, how sweet! I wondered if they were home schooled, or if there was a wizarding elementary school they attended. I loved Molly Weasley's lessons and rewards! Wouldn't it be fun to get a shiney, glowing star for doing well in school?

Reviewer: SaeaDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101918Chapter: 1
Oh, little Weasleys are so cute! Do you have experience of teaching young children? Everything seemed so accurate and believable. Well done!

Reviewer: angelical angelina wishy washy weasleyDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101710Chapter: 1
oh, dear. now i'm doing it , too.it's quite fun, though.this is an excellent , soundly supurb (heh) story.
crazy cheers for the fabulous, friendly Fern Withy,
the absolutly artistic angelina!!!!!

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101680Chapter: 1
:) what an absolutely sweet little story. i really liked that. your little weasley's are soooo squeefully *cuuuuuuuuute*!

i really liked the bits where Molly couldn't stop herself laughing.

*When she sat down beside Ginny, Percy gave her a long-suffering sigh and shook his head. "Children," he said in a commiserating way.

Molly pressed her tongue against the roof of her mouth and pursed her lips to keep from laughing.*

AND

*She tried to bite back a smile--the twins didn't need much encouragement to keep up with this sort of thing--but couldn't quite do it.*

thanks heaps - i couldnt hold back a little giggle either.

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101587Chapter: 1
"You were born at exactly the same time. It was very special Don't-Argue-About-It magic." Priceless.
Another brilliant story.

Reviewer: etcDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101549Chapter: 1
Very cute and eerily accurate. I have 12 brothers and sisters. The 9 of us at home are 14 and younger and the seven youngest ones are homeschooled. Based on my experience your story was an excellant depiction. Also, I think you did an excellant job portraying and characterizing the Weasleys. Vety vety goot!

Reviewer: MicheDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101486Chapter: 1
Very cute. Love the alliteration.

Reviewer: Peppa_MintoDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101369Chapter: 1
Hah. You're here. I think I read this on Fanfiction.net, but I didn't take time to review. So sorry.

This is brill. Simply adorable.

Reviewer: IvyDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101130Chapter: 1
So adorable! I think you had the Weasley characterizations dead on, and I just wanted to give them all a huge hug. I love it.

Reviewer: rekhaDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100304Chapter: 1
so cute! i love the weasley family

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100095Chapter: 1
Oh dear! Between the two of us, we have seven children, and we've both home-schooled them at times. We can say with authority that your story is spot-on! We love the cute interactions, the competition, the children getting silly...and we can identify with Molly, who is about to go 'round the twist by suppertime!

This isn't the kind of story one reads often, in fanfic, but it's adorable. Thanks for a fun read!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99385Chapter: 1
This is the ULTIMATE cute little-Weasley story!!! I loved the ideas of the gold stars and Bill's and Charlie's pictures. Plus, the dialogue was so cute! Excellent job!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: MicDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99295Chapter: 1
That was so sweet!
I loved your Molly. She was just like I imagine she must have been. :)
and Percy was absolutely adorable.
Thanks for this!

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99185Chapter: 1
Oh! That's so sweet! It reminds me vaguely of another fic I've read-- who wrote the one about Ginny's doll? Anyways, I loved it! I have all of your fics in my favorites list, and I'm reading all of them. Or all of them that I can. :)

~Brittney

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99117Chapter: 1
Oh, this was a lovely little look (see, I can play too) at a day in the life of the Weasleys. I thoroughly enjoyed the lessons! It's an area not many people would think to write about, and I think you did a wonderful job. Very sweet!!

Reviewer: Cassie ClaireDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99113Chapter: 1
O_O Erm, I hope you know that whoever posted my story "Mortal Instruments" under the name "Cassandra Claire" was not actually me. The story is hardly appropriate for this website, being NC-17 and Ron/Ginny to boot. I hope someone removes the post and perhaps a bit of ISP banning might be in order. All apologies to FernWithy and I hope this gets cleared up!

Cassie Claire

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99091Chapter: 1
what a cute story =)

Reviewer: PelirrojaDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99087Chapter: 1
I admire your adept usage of a lot of alliteration ;) On a serious note, well done and very entertaining. A great glimpse into Molly's control of her three-ring circus.

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99031Chapter: 1
Ok, now I'm sure. When not writing the actual Harry Potter series, JK Rowling runs a website called The Sugar Quill. On this site, she has many different pen names, such as Arabella, FerWithy, Zsenya, Elanor Gamgee etc.
(PS: Thank you for writing this, FernWithy. I'm sick and this was a much better cure than the endless cups of tea with honey I've drunk all day.)

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99027Chapter: 1
Squee! I LOVED this - so perfect! Very, very well done! :)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99018Chapter: 1
Lovely. Perhaps it should be loosey, lippity, lovely. Or lyrically, lastingly lovely.

The strength of JKR's portrayal of the Weasley clan just seems to demand a childhood and family like this.

Great work!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99008Chapter: 1
Trust a geek like me to start scribbling out the ages problem...

If Percy was born in Aug 1976, and Charlie was born late in 1973, then Charlie would still technically have been 2 when Percy was born, but still (maybe) have gotten into Hogwarts in 1984, meaning he'd have finished in the spring of 1991, just before Harry got there. So it would depend on how late of a birthday Hogwarts lets a kid have and still come in as a first year. I could see a 2 year old with a November or December birthday still being conceptually 2 (to a grownup) in August. (Did that make any sense? Probably not. I should go back to my diplomacy readings!)

Er -- just thought of a problem, though. By Halloween in GoF, there were 17 year olds in the 6th year class. So that would imply that Charlie's birthday probably has to be in September, or before mid-October at the latest. Maybe Percy was born Aug 1(ish), 1976, and Charlie Sept 30, 1973? That might work...

Back to foreign policy! Right!

Reviewer: wmlawDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 98994Chapter: 1
That was flippity fabbity fantastic.

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98976Chapter: 1
Oh, sweet and funny story. I love the interaction of the kids as they have fun learning, and Molly's amusement. Very nicely done!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98965Chapter: 1
mmmm.... ::closes eyes and revels in FernWithy's goodness::

you know, whatever you write has THE perfect flow for HP fiction. I don't know if you can do it in other fandoms, but your words simply seem to come straight out of JKR's head. All of your charactarizations are nice and 'round', and you've got quite a 'strong voice', as my english teacher would say. ;)

i just love your writing. you simply make the characters come alive, no matter what age you make them (i love Ickle!Ginny and Ronnie and Freddie and Georgie and Percy and...) they're all wonderfully OC and just...wonderful. :)

well, i still think the ages are wrong, but that's my beef with JKR, not with you. i loved how you made the idea of Molly homeschooling them come alive, what with maps of Britain and wizard detectives...and those golden stars! as real stars! ingenius!

please write some more soon.
more something. i don't care what, if it's by you i'll read it and love it. (though if you continued your Remus/Tonx stories it would make me eternally happy.... ;)

~TPR

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98952Chapter: 1
I love this - I'd never thought before how wizarding children learned their letters and maths before Hogwarts! That was a really cute bit of writing!

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98951Chapter: 1
Very heartwarming story for this homeschooling mother. But poor Molly might be sorry that she had children named "Charlie" (no "C" sound but a "CH" sound) and Ginny (soft G rather than hard G) Even "George" doesn't help. Ginny would be smart enough to figure this out! ;-)

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98938Chapter: 1
Sweet! Simply the Sweetest Wondfulst Wezaly work Ive seen in ages.... (soory I count help self- anyway I adore it)

Reviewer: GuinevereDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98928Chapter: 1
What a lovely story! I'm a homeschooled child myself (entering my last year, yippee!) and I applaud you on the accuracy of daily lessons! These very much resembled how things used to be when my siblings and I were younger. (Ginny reminds me quite strikingly of my youngest brother!)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98925Chapter: 1
What a sweet story! It's great to see everyone's personalities already coming through: Percy already trying to be too grown up, the twins being disruptive, Ron keeping his head down and Ginny chattering away. I thought the idea of the stars was wonderful, and the pictures were a nice touch. The general atmosphere of teaching small children was also presented in a realistic manner. My only criticism is that it felt a little repetitious towards the end.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98913Chapter: 1
This is so incredibly sweet. Be it the Weasleys or anybody else, reading about children this way is just too sweet.

Reviewer: Godrics HollowDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98902Chapter: 1
Gosh those lessons sound busy! I like Percy's 'Im not at all purple'. hehe.So Percy. And I also like that you put our dates and ages confusion into your story, i found it humourous!

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98896Chapter: 1
Grrr. Just realized that the ages still don't make sense. :(

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98892Chapter: 1
A Cute Cotton Candy Creation

Fluffy Family Fun

:)

Reviewer: ritaanimagusDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98868Chapter: 1
Fantastically fluffy, Fernwithy!

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98860Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWWWWWH. That was SO cute! *cuddles*

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98857Chapter: 1
SO cute!

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98843Chapter: 1
i love it! :)

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98830Chapter: 1
How absolutely lovely! Reminds me of homework lessons at home in my childhood!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --