The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 34

Reviewer: Lira BibliusDate: 2007-03-22
Reviewid: 147570Chapter: 1
This is a general "Awesome!" review. I actually don't have musical talent, so I can't provide comments, but I think you managed to capture people's character while not sacrificing the general ambience or the beat.
Great Job!
Lira B.

Reviewer: ZaniidorDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139486Chapter: 1
Upon having read some reviews...

Don't change the lines. The beat is so much more important to this song than correct grammar:
buhBAbuh buhBAbuh buhBAbuh buhBA ("We'll show her what Dumbledore's army's about") works better than buhBAbuh buhBAbuh buhBAHbu BAbuhBA (or buhbuhBA). The broken beat would kill the line.
And there's no need to change "Harry was right" to "Harry, you were right" if Harry's not onstage, which I'm assuming he's not (I would guess that the twins are onstage alone doing pranks for the first part of the song? sneaky sneaky). BAbuhbuh BAbuhbuh BAbuhbuh BA works; BAbuh BAbuh BA buhbuhBA buhbuhBA is just a mess.
I think the major appeal of the song is the swift and regular rhythm, which completely fits the twins, and would allow a much faster singing, or even an escalating speed. And this is part of your genius, in making the songs individual--unique--so that they fit the characters and the mood of each scene. I adore this.

Reviewer: ZaniidorDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139485Chapter: 1
I gotta say, I adore this. The rhyme scheme and beat are unusual to my ear, so that's a plus. Including "give her hell from us, Peeves" makes me shiver with delight. The rhythm of the phonemes is also very nicely put together. A++ and I'm not sure an MP3 would do this justice, but I'll hope for one anyway (in lieu of--for the moment--the actual staged show).

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133567Chapter: 1
*Squeals* That was HILARIOUS! Ingenius! Tied up there with the "Department of Mysteries" one now! They were so in character, too! Brilliance! :D ;) :)

Reviewer: Johan CederholmDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113061Chapter: 1
and mayby
Harry you wer right, itís our turn to fight!
insded of
Harry was right and itís our turn to fight!

Thes ar only tips i don't mean to spoil your work witch by the way is bloody briliant!
I hope to read all lot more of your work.

Reviewer: Johan CederholmDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113060Chapter: 1
i think it wood be nicer if
We'll show her what Dumbledore's all Army's about!
insded of
We'll show her what Dumbledore's Army's about!

Reviewer: MiaRoseDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107293Chapter: 1
Oops! and also, I was reading my review, and just scratch the E at the end of the second to last verse. I's not supposed to be there.

Reviewer: MiaRoseDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107292Chapter: 1
I forgot to add: the # is a sharp. You probably could figure that out if you can read music though.

Reviewer: MiaRoseDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107291Chapter: 1
I love this, along with all of your other entries for "Hogwarts, the musical." I also agree with every peson who said they would like to see this on Broadway. I would loooove that!

Anyway, I read this, then decided to put it to music of my own. This is probably nothing close to how Barbra the wallpaper-er sings it- but being that she never gave us any music, here's how I sang it:

Chorous:
Weasley's Wizarding Wheezes
B B A B A G
I's time to put them to the test
D D D E D E #F D
What do you reckon?
#F #F #F #F D
Let's bring them all out!
#F A B A G E
We'll show her what Dumbledore's army's about!
E D E #F G G A B B A G

Reviewer: iggyDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106307Chapter: 1
so...how am i supposed to sing along when i dunno the tune?

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104003Chapter: 1
That was hilarious! Awesome job.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103865Chapter: 1
Umbridge is a [i]countertenor?[/i] ::snerk:: I would love (and I mean LOVE) to have the score to this. It's so cute! I can just imagine the scenes.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103504Chapter: 1
^_^ For a song, it's pretty good.

Reviewer: JeneeDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 103005Chapter: 1
Hello! First review here at sugar quill :-P Feel proud, lol!

Anyway, this is absolutely marvelous. I love it. The humor fits, it's written in musical style perfectly.

But you've already have countless people tell you this.

So, I have some general questions/comments on stuff concerning "Hogwarts, a Musical."
Comment 1: (This is more in response to one of the reviews I read) It is possible for a 16 year old to be a contralto. I should know. I am one. :-P Well, I'm 17 now, but I've been a contralto since . . . two Julys ago (Wow, has it been that long?).
Question 1: All of these songs seem to be based around OotP. Have you any idea of roughly where they are? Have you/anyone attempted to roughly outline a script? (If no one has, I'd love to, though I don't know how much time Iíd be able to put into it regularly. I've been writing scripts for musicals for a bit now, but I tend to do it in random bursts. Like, 30 pages in a day, and nothing for a full week or so after that, then 5 pages, then 1, then none, then 10, and so on.)
Question 2: Any luck getting those recordings of the songs? I'd be willing to host a few of them, and if you needed anyone to sing anything, I can catch a tune pretty quickly.
Comment 2: Did I mention how awesome I think this is? I know many people have said it, but I hope someone on the musical scene gets wind of this. It's awesome.
Question 3: Now that I've gone all expectations-of-grandeur on you, I should ask: do you have a vision of this as a play, or do you just enjoy writing songs?

Ok, there are my questions. On another note, if you'd like, I could set up a FAQ page for you for "Hogwarts, a Musical." Just so you don't have to deal with pesky questions from people like me all the time. :-D.

Alright, I'm done. Bravo on everything.

-Jenee

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102501Chapter: 1
I would never have thought of writing a musical but this I would love to see performed on Broadway or perhaps more appropriately in London. It's not easy to capture character in a song but I think you've got Fred and George to a T especially the part about throwing Umbridge out. I was also impressed with how you incorporated the actual text of the scene into the song. Well done!

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100274Chapter: 1
Love it! This is so cute! Um... I'm not quite sure that Hermione could be a Contralto, though, because I'm told there's no such thing as a young Contralto and womens voices can only mature into that timbre as they get older. She could be an Alto or a Mezzo-Soprano, though.

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99454Chapter: 1
Wow. Hermione's a contralto?

I love your musicals and the ending was a nice touch. The beginning was my favorite part.

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99433Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness! These songs are brilliant!! They made me laugh and good light they almost made me cry! I am in awe and I am speechless, and you.. you are amazing!

Reviewer: Other GirlDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99395Chapter: 1
Wow. I really like all your songs-they would be really fun to put together and stage. Keep writing more!

Reviewer: MiekeDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99354Chapter: 1
So funny! I love it! The give her hell for us Peeves is my favorite part! Love it!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99315Chapter: 1
Umbridge is a counter-tenor!...I'm laughing so hard my husband asked me if I was OK. You are brilliant!! I'm still laughing...the sound is forever in my head!

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99312Chapter: 1
A delight, as always! Somehow I can almost hear the music! I can certainly see the staging--complete with flying brooms and house choruses. Any chance this could be staged at The Witching Hour? (Not that I have any involvement in planning it!) Just a thought...it would be summat' to see.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99293Chapter: 1
Yay! Another good one. I was hoping you'd do one about Fred and George!

-PQ

Reviewer: St.MargaretsDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99275Chapter: 1
What is it about your writing which is always so clever and amusing, but also pulls at the heart? "The time is now" suggests so much more than it's denotaion. It, of course, fits the scene you are describing but it also makes me afraid . . . Nothing like a war cry to chill the blood - yet it also gets the heart pumping. "The time is now" is also the voice of courage.

I could go on and on - since that is only the first line!

Can you tell I love poetry? I do - esp. yours!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99259Chapter: 1
You've done it again. This is perfectly, shall we say, "in voice" for Gred and Forge. Your sense of timing is wonderful. The thing is, I can hear it, and for a minute I think the musical exists. I can especially see Fred leaning into his spoken line. Great stuff.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99257Chapter: 1
Barbara... I am *DYING* to see and hear this musical. You're brilliant, man, you're brilliant! And, oh God, this is my favourite scene in the whole book and you've done it so well! The spoken bits are perfectly chosen... the Umbridgitis one had me in fits and I almost cheered aloud when Fred said, "Give her hell from us, Peeves."

Can I thank you enough for writing this? No... never...

When can we see the rest of Hogwarts, A Musical? And when is it going to be produced??

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99236Chapter: 1
Delightful, as always! I especially like the fact that Umbridge is a counter-tenor. A castrato, do you think?

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99229Chapter: 1
Made me smile, as always. I love the interweaving of the parts. I love Ron being a baritone! It's great! What would Ginny be? ;) Best part was probably:

Fred: We're running a sale

George: This yearís been a farce

Both: So kick this old bloodsucker out on her --

(screamed)

Umbridge: Stop them!

Ha ha ha! :D

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99224Chapter: 1
Great, as always. I would really like to see this show (or at least get the chance to listen to it!) when you're done with it. Do you have someone who can help you getting the melodies on paper? I absolutely love this musical of yours, and I really think it should be recorded.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99220Chapter: 1
These songs always leave me smiling...and this one's no exception. I can just hear the last line spoken in class as the last student pukes, runs a fever, or revives from a fainting spell.

I look forward to the next installment.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99196Chapter: 1
AWWWW **blush** Thanks, B the W, for this little gift. When we saw your name up, we clicked on it immediately and were doubly-rewarded, as it's another exerpt from HtM AND it's about the twins. (Actually, the dedication makes it triply-rewarding.) This is so funny! The bits with the Student Body chiming in are priceless. And Filch is a bass....Of course! What else would he be?

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99192Chapter: 1
Nice one - it totally suits Fred and George and the events of OotP. And it's just fun. :)

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99186Chapter: 1
He He! It's one word broken up:
Hi.Lar.I.Ous.
I laughed! A lot! I love your work, but this one has got to be my favorite!
*Katie*

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99168Chapter: 1
First to review! w00t!! lol.

Anyway, this is, like everything else, really, really excellent! I liked this one because it had a lot more humor to it, and it was also written with a more free-form style, which I really liked for a change.

Please continue to write! You truly are a talented individual!

~Caitlin

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --