The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: New Year, New Hope
Review(s): 44

Reviewer: jfkerekesDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148884Chapter: 19
I want to tell you how much I have enjoyed reading this story which, written with the style JKR shows in all her books, Shows, I can only assume, a writing style that seems to be quite unique and entertaining. I am not a super emotional person but I found myself, as I did many times while reading JKR's books, a bit choked up while reading a number of parts of this story. I believe that you have done justice to Harry, Hermione, Ron, Jenny and all the others. Thank you for putting your work out there for me to read.

JF

Reviewer: andrew8604Date: 2007-08-05
Reviewid: 148683Chapter: 20
I love a good story and this was one of those good ones.

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-07-10
Reviewid: 148501Chapter: 20
The page format is messed up- I cannot read your fabulous story!

Reviewer: Baron Von KroggDate: 2007-07-03
Reviewid: 148431Chapter: 19
Oh My Goodness. What a very Enjoyable read, and also
a very good TEAR JERKER. When a Fic can bring TEARS
to the BARONS eyes,and it makes you feel Hurt by whats
happening to the persons involved, Its Great. Please
finish the epilog so that the STORY will have a very
nice ending. Lets only hope that Harry and Ginny have
many more happy and enjoyable moments together,and
In the final ending Harry eliminates Voldemourt and
Ginny and Harry MArry and Live Happily Every after.
Please its a very enlightining Fic . Fantastic Job.

Reviewer: rhoswenbudDate: 2007-06-27
Reviewid: 148386Chapter: 19
Looking good Arnel!! I am very excited for the epilogue!! Does this mean that you are missing out the final battle then? I don't see that as such a bad thing to be honest, as we have had quite a long and detailed battle recently!! This chapter was really good again, I loved the "mind-speaking" between Harry and Ginny. The relationship between Ginny and Ron really deepened in this chapter, and I loved that Ron really opened up!! This shows real growth and maturity on his part, and it was truly lovely!! The award ceremony was a wonderful idea, very inspired!! It was nice to see the inter-house co-operation and friendship, and the way that everyone was recognised for the many different forms of bravery!
I look forward to the next update! love xrhoswen

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-06-19
Reviewid: 148293Chapter: 18
What a lot of information you have presented in a delighhtful fashion!
And it ended with a giggle-
“Mr Potter!” the Hogwarts healer barked, causing the two teens to bump noses and spring apart, giggling guiltily. “There will be no such conduct in this hospital! Now lay down or Miss Weasley will be made to leave!”

Harry and Ginny grinned at each other as they said in unison, “Oops!”

Reviewer: orangesherbertDate: 2007-06-10
Reviewid: 148238Chapter: 17
Wow! I absolutely love this story. It is extremely well-written, and also very interesting. I love how you have managed to pack it with action without making it sound like a bad action movie. That is a very impressive feat, considering that the characters in the story are also so sensitively portrayed. I really felt like I was reading another Harry Potter book! So, great job, and THANKS for the quick updates. PLEASE UPDATE AGAIN SOON!

Reviewer: rhoswenbudDate: 2007-06-05
Reviewid: 148205Chapter: 17
Another wonderful Chapter Arnel!! I was so pleased to see your update, and now I just can't wait for the next!! I thought that this chapter sounded a little more mature than the others, and it was definitely very interesting to read!! I love that Harry and Ginny can communicate in their minds, and I loved Ginny's strength in this. I was particularly pleased that you didn't dwell too much on Harry's pain, as has been done so many times before, but instead really showed Ginny's strength, and her ability to react to many different situations with maturity and patience. She reacts in a much better way to Harry to some things. I reckon if you put harry in her place and were telling him to go away and let the healers help her after he had done so much, he would really have kicked off and shouted etc... she was calm enough, and just stated her case, not allowing anyone, least of all her parents to dictate her actions.
I really love your writing, and it is getting better with every chapter!! Keep up the good work, and I really hope that I don't have to wait too long for the next brilliant chapter!! xxrhoswen

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-06-04
Reviewid: 148197Chapter: 17
As always, a well written and informative chapter. I'm like Hermione in that I understand what needs to be done but don't really want to watch it, much less do it.

Reviewer: rhoswenbudDate: 2007-05-14
Reviewid: 148007Chapter: 16
I really like your story, it is nice to see things from Ginny's pov! As other people have said, I think that the dialogue isn't quite convincing, especially between Harry and Ginny, they are too formal, and like someone has already said, I don't see them using so many "my love"s etc... You mention that you have been trying to make your writing sound more British... may I suggest using "ma'am" less? We don't really say that unless we are being cheeky or talking to the queen or a female superior officer if we're in the military! I also find sometimes that you don't explain or follow through with some things quite enough... Like for example, the christmas holidays... I seem to remember them coming back from holidays, but I got quite confused.. I dunno.. maybe I missed something!
When the pixies attacked Hogsmeade, we had a vision of them swooping down, and then they were all on the ground, without much explanation of how this had happened, as far as I remember, only one spell was cast... I just think that if you're going to introduce something unusual, you have to follow it through and explain and expand... One major thing that annoyed me about this attack is "Where in the heck are all the teachers?" I know that the school is under attack, but if Voldemort can be scared off by Dumbledore, surely he would be able to tackle a bunch of death eaters?? Oh well.... I know that this all sounded very negative, but hopefully you will take it as constructive criticism...not anything else!!
Like I said, I am really enjoying this story and would very much like to know where it is going!! xrhoswen

Reviewer: NannyOgg1970Date: 2007-04-30
Reviewid: 147884Chapter: 14
Arnel, thanks for fixing Part 13, it rocked, went straight into Part 14, was disappointed when I had finished it because there was no more to read, please, please finish soon.

Reviewer: NannyOgg1970Date: 2007-04-24
Reviewid: 147847Chapter: 14
Arnel, where is Part 13, because when you click on it the drop menu, it takes you to Part 3, so until this is rectified I can't read Part 14, I'm so sad, because I was enjoying this story so much.

Reviewer: orangesherbertDate: 2007-02-14
Reviewid: 147206Chapter: 13
please finish this! It is wonderful!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-11-29
Reviewid: 146317Chapter: 12
Good again - of course.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-11-11
Reviewid: 146146Chapter: 11
Harry definitely seems to have become quite a bit more mature, in that he's controlliing his responses -- and his magic. This would seem to be a Very Good Thing. :-)

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-11-11
Reviewid: 146142Chapter: 10
Harry does appear to be doing better on controolling his temper. Well done!

Reviewer: lindaleeannDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145833Chapter: 11
I hope you are going to finish this. It has been well written and engaging.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-10-14
Reviewid: 145731Chapter: 9
Ho! Lovely chapter, that! :-) The "love letter in flowers" was quite inspired. Well done!

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-09-05
Reviewid: 145193Chapter: 8
Good to see that Lavender & Parvati can be helpful,given an appropriate stimulus. :-)

I'm not one for spectator sports much, but I enjoyed the Quidditch game -- especially the "Ginny, Ginny,she's our witch!..." cheer.

I've not had much experience observing folks truing on dress clothes -- it's something I tend to avoid. But I recall my wife relating some of her experiences as a seamstress at a shop that designed & sold debutante & wedding gowns; your description was quite believable to me, certainly. And Hermione's exasperation (culmination in her rather inspired Summoning charm) was nearly tangible. And Ginny's approach to her need to be frugal also rang true for me.

Quite well done! :-)

Reviewer: lil_munchkinDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142315Chapter: 7
this iz an AWESUM fic!!!!!!!!!!!!!! plz upd8 soon!!!!!!!! i'm dying 2 no wat happens nxt!!!

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140844Chapter: 7
Another fine story that deserves an ending. Beautifuly written. I find it to be so tragic that Harry has to find his cupboard in order to have a moment of security. It was the one place that was HIS for most of his life.

Reviewer: cloudDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140801Chapter: 7
exelent story please continue

Reviewer: Lloyd LoganDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134381Chapter: 7
I LOVE THIS AND THE PREVIOUS ONE! PLEASE FINISH!

Reviewer: JoshuaDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130827Chapter: 7
Damn another good story not finished NOT FAIR!!! :p i spent two days reading this getting super excited and now i most wait i hate to wait!!!

PLEASE UPDATE SOON!!!!

O and i like your story mate very good. I love the ginny point of veiw. Cant wait till you update ill be here waiting till you do a loyal fan :D

Reviewer: HappydogDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130228Chapter: 7
I'd thought I'd seen this before... PS.net? Anyway, keep going, it's a good fic! I've been waiting for Chap. 8 for awhile now...

Happydog.

Reviewer: WardDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 129995Chapter: 7
I like your store very much it is more upbeat then the new book .
If it was not for writers like you I would stop reading about Harry and his friends . I found this place for my son and got hooked to the stories here . Both he and I check it at less once a day .

Reviewer: reader 2Date: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 129987Chapter: 7
Keep writing & we will keep reading. Here's a hint: as long as it is good - we do not give a flying *** about cannon.

Reviewer: sejalDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 129982Chapter: 7
ooo mee likes it, mee likes it very much...i have to say you're a natural writer...i luv the way to portrayed Harry's feelings in and after potions...i luv the way you've done it and i hope you keep going with it so i can keep luving it...good luck!

Reviewer: ves.heillDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124375Chapter: 6
I'm very much enjoying the story thus far. To be honest, the only thing that I think could be improved upon is your dialogue, especially between Ginny and Harry. I can't see how Harry, after having grown up in a house where love was the furthest thing from his mind would be quite so willing and comfortable with saying I love you to her, or to be so comfortable to use pet names with her. Otherwise, I think the overll story is true to character (especially Harry's continued Anger) and I'm looking forward to reading more. Cheers.

Reviewer: JaxxDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121116Chapter: 5
i really liked it.
good job

Reviewer: JaxxDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121107Chapter: 1
very cool.

Reviewer: harrryp123Date: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121027Chapter: 5
Good chapter. Can't wait to read the next chpater.

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120915Chapter: 5
This is getting good! I'm liking the way things are coming together here. One small problem (I think I might have seen it in a previous chapter as well, but i'm afraid I can't remember) you've mis-spelled angel (as in celestial being), you've spelled it angle (as in "angle between two things"). Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117322Chapter: 3
Oh my gosh, such a fine piece of fiction!! Great writing!! I literally almost mistook it for a JK! (I'm really, seriously, not kidding!) Keep up the fabulous, irresistable, awesome, fantastic, incredible work!!!!

Reviewer: DSmurfDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113099Chapter: 2
I like your plot lines so far, and hope you continue to write this story. I do have one suggestion though- your dialogue sounds so formal! Think like you're talking to a friend when you're writing people talking, not like you're talking to a teacher or an old aunt you have to say please and thank you to every sentence.

Reviewer: 3654Date: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112403Chapter: 1
plz plz plz update!!!!!!

Reviewer: kristyDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102946Chapter: 1
this is a really great story so far. im so glad you decided to write a sequel to 'your still you'. im looking forward to part two!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99964Chapter: 1
Very intriguing with the book of potions. I wonder when JKR is going to use potions for solving a problem. I will look for your next chapter.

Reviewer: haileyDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99462Chapter: 1
i can't wait for part two that is how much i like this story

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99360Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this fic and can't wait to read more!!!!
The book that changes to the person's desires is a very creative idea!!!
Update this story as quickly as possible!!!! Thank you.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99357Chapter: 1
I'm loving this sequel so far. I was disappointed that only part one is up! ;) Can't wait to read the rest!!

Reviewer: ryoroowDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99338Chapter: 1
Great! Thank you for a sequel!

Reviewer: spewingSlugsDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99276Chapter: 1
THis is really good! I'm interested. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Alabaster BlackDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99162Chapter: 1
Yay, I'm your first reviewer! You're off to a great start, and I like the idea of a book similar to the room of requirement that "conforms itself to the readers needs", very clever!!! I'm interested to see where you're going with this!
Alabaster

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --