The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Distinctions
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138285Chapter: 1
You do write well within this style. Thanks for another entertaining piece.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133265Chapter: 1
I admire Theo and Anne more with every story of yours that I read. This is beautiful, and such a real dilemma. Anyone could find him- or herself in this situation. Not as serious a situation, perhaps, but having to disagree with your family over something you really and truly believe. It would be very hard, and Theo handles it with so much grace. Yet at the same time, he struggles and rebels against himself, which is what makes him such a REAL character.

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2005-04-07
Reviewid: 118969Chapter: 1
Why am I just getting to this series at such a late date!

Reviewer: IssyDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118826Chapter: 1
Despite the fact this is only a one-shot, I think this is my favourite of the series so far.

Theo Nott just... jumps off the page in this one. He was a great character in the previous stories, but in this one he's just perfect. You really captured his mental anguish - the 'traitor, traitor' refrain was a really nice writing technique. This, I felt, was a really big turning point in Theo's character arc - he's moved from theoretically espousing the side of Harry Potter to actually espousing the side of Harry Potter by warning Hermione, and the way you showed his reaction to this and his indecisions was... wow.

I also really liked the way you drew Hermione's character in this story - though she doesn't have much 'screen time', per se, you hit the nail of her character right on the head. The way she was ready to go charging off to Dumbledore as soon as Theo told her what was going to happen to her parents really struck me as a Hermione thing to do. I also loved the R/Hr hint you put in via Terry talking about Hermione hugging Ron for a really long time - long live the Good Ship!

This is an awesome series, Elsha - I've read this far in one afternoon, and I'm not going to stop just yet!

Reviewer: WhitneyDate: 2005-03-25
Reviewid: 117660Chapter: 1
Gosh, you're good. I was almost in tears by the end of this lovely one-shot. And that's kind of odd because it doesn't seem like the kind of story to cry about. But I'm weird like that, and things are so tough for these kids! I know...I'm rambling. Just keep up the amazing work, and I'll keep reading!

Reviewer: PolestarDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114382Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful story. One of the best fan fiction stories I have ever read. I love Theo. And his struggle here, and the fact that he can't find an easy way to put everything right and that Anne can only help him, not make everything perfect, it all feels so real.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105040Chapter: 1
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this one, my favourite of all the D* stories (as someone here called them) - which is something, considering how brilliant all your Theo stories are.

You have a magnificent talent for making stories out of vignettes, out of just a scene, and endowing them with so much depth that they *become* wonderful stories with characters that struggle and change and play off each other, and experience closure at the end of the story. This is precisely why I love Chekhov - for his ability to take an almost-nothing, just dialogue and characters, and evolve it into a story.

Having said that, Distinctions clearly doesn't fall under the 'something out of nothing' category. In many ways, I see this as the biggest turning point in Theo's life, where his principles set up an impossible-to-ignore clamour to be translated into action, and his conflict becomes too real for comfort.

And you handle it with such grace and elegance. It's hard to pick a favourite scene:

Theo's interaction with Terry is brilliant - her world seeming so distant from his, and Theo ending up wanting to protect that.

Theo and Anne are as perfectly drawn as ever, so real, so real. No easy answers there, and no stock speech from Anne was ever going to stop the drumbeat in Theo's head, anyway. Only love and care and the knowledge that he was in this alone - that Anne would be there to love him but not help with his burden - could do that.

Most of all, by juxtaposing Snape and Theo the way you have - Snape walking that tightrope between keeping up appearances of a Death Eater and wanting desperately to show this boy that he is doing right; then succumbing to that flash of pettiness about Harry, and have Theo feel contempt - you've shown us in Theo what Snape might have been, perhaps, if he'd known an Anne Fairleigh.

I don't mean that to sound as mushy as it did (Snape's heart will melt with a little bit of love, yes it will, the coochie koo!) but ... I don't know. I can't help feeling that a long time ago, Snape was at a crossroads and the absence of an Anne in his life went a long way in quelling any Theo-like doubts he might have had about joining the dark side. That, and James Potter's bullying of course. :)

Yes, I think Anne's biggest gift to Theo is that he is conflicted, and has doubts, because of her. The old Theo didn't have the ground reality check that she provides to the easy black-and-whites he has been taught at home.

Oh wow, look at me ramble on. Let me just say that girl, YOU ROCK! If I could write half as well as you I'd give up my day job.

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103633Chapter: 1
I'm glad Theo has made that choice, even though he knew it would be at great risk for his father. He's becoming my new hero. =)

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102118Chapter: 1
I love the way the characters keep evolving. Their problems, their feelings, their thoughts are all so real. I love it! Keep it up!!

Reviewer: ElvenFencerDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100094Chapter: 1
Hello! I haven't read this yet, but I saw at the very beginning you said that you've been busy attending "Fencing Nationals". I just want to say, good for you! I'm still not up to national level with my fencing *sheepish look*. I'm jealous ;) I hope you did well!

Also, I've loved all your other Anne/Theo stuff. I really like their relationship, it just seems so realistic. Anyway, I'll try to leave a better review once I've actually read the story.

Reviewer: LoraDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100085Chapter: 1
Awesome job! Keep up the good work with using great details and showing us your characters. The personalities in your work are fun and intriguing to read about.

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100001Chapter: 1
You did the darn thing
I keep thinking you can't top yourself but you do everytime. I don't want this to come off as some gushing review because its not. From you character development to your excellent story lines you have created a beatiful thing
I found your discription about Hermionie moving

"That child would sit down in Theo's Ancient Runes class with her back straight and her head high, because Hermione Granger didn't falter, no matter what, no matter the glances and whispers and smirks."

To take the small bits and peices that Rowling has supplied and Create stories like these is just awe inspiring

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99935Chapter: 1
Oh, I just love your writing! I keep checking for you to post more! I hope that you continue to (frequently) write on the Sugarquill. Please post again soon!

-Kit Black

Reviewer: St.MargaretsDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99875Chapter: 1
This was a lovely one shot from your world. The title says it all - and I like how Anne called him a Gryffindor - because that is exactly what he acted like. It's great to see that idea of reconciling Gryffindor and Slytherin traits in another character besides Harry.

I liked the technique you used of Theodore writing one letter on parchment and the other in his head to give us the insight we needed for this story.

Good job as always.

Reviewer: shooting starDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99846Chapter: 1
hello! I'd just like to say, that your theodore nott stories are some of my favourite ones on SQ! They're brilliantly written, and the way you write your characters is great! keep going! shooting star xx

Reviewer: BrookeDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99758Chapter: 1
I love these stories with Theo and Anne. You always make them really explore their emotions and that makes the story so much deeper than a lot of fanfic out there. I really liked the traitor theme and how you kept "drumming" it into the story.

You have an excellent flow to your writing -- Please don't stop!

Brooke

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99753Chapter: 1
Another brillant piece! How jealous of you am I? Very!

Disadvantages sounds... ominous. I can't wait.

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99699Chapter: 1
An excellent chapter.

The portrayal of Snape was masterful.

-Steve

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99665Chapter: 1
Wow. I've been meaning to read your fics for months, and I just now got around to it. I enjoyed them from the first chapter of Distractions, and your writing has steadily improved since then. The three paragraphs at the beginning of the section where Theo chooses to tell Hermione are brilliant, especially the recitation of what would happen if he remained silent. I read it to my roommate, who knows nothing of Harry Potter other than the bit of backstory I explained to her, and she agreed that it was very well-written. Technically skillful, and packed an emotional punch. Well done!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99663Chapter: 1
Perfection, for a first chapter. My day was made when I saw you on the update list, I always enjoy reading these so much! I loved how you portrayed Theo's problem, and his thoughts are so realistic, especially how he's battling with himself over whether or not he's a traitor. I can't tell you how much I love this story--keep up the excellent writing!

-PQ

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99643Chapter: 1
Oh, I can't even tell you how much I loved this. So sweet and sad. Bittersweet, I guess is the word. I love Theo more and more every chapter and story. The canon characters, like Hermione and Draco, that are often portrayed in out-of-character ways always seem to be so real and wonderful in your stories. <3 these all.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99641Chapter: 1
Great new story, Elsha! Your Theo is so interesting. If canon!Theo doesn't live up to him, I'll be really put out.

The exchange between Theo and Snape was well done. I've been wondering how they would interact when Theo's loyalty became apparant. I'm a little surprised he confronted Theo, in a way, because now Theo *knows* Snape is protecting him by not passing this info on to the DEs. But I do see Snape as very protective of the students, so I can understand why he might want to tell Theo to watch his step. You did a very nice job keeping Snape ambiguous. He never reveals his double game.

Theo's exchange with Hermione is also very good, with Hermione very IC.

And then there's Anne. I love Anne. Her comment to Theo that he's acting like a Gryffindor is funny and spot-on. And then her comment about Hufflepuffs - "We do decent. That's a bit different. Far less crusading." - is just perfect.

Thanks for this one. I'm looking forward to the next. :)

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99611Chapter: 1
Aha! Yet another brilliant fic by Elsha!
You really are doing a wonderful job on them. I realise a good review would think critically about your fic, but I can't help but love it.

(PS: You fence? I've just started taking lessons, and it ROX about as much as this fic.)

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99592Chapter: 1
oh i just love this story so much hope you write more

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99574Chapter: 1
So beautiful! You get better all the time.

And so accomplished, too! National fencing finals, eh? Hope you won!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99571Chapter: 1
Excellent! My only complaint is the chapter is listed as "Default". Will you be continueing this storyline?

Nice job with Snape (but something in Snape's voice seemed…softer. )but I really like Theo's thoughs on Draco (A world where there was more to Malfoy than self-absorption was too disturbing to contemplate)

Granger responded, ruthlessly practical
-Liked "ruthlessly practical", reminded me of the Granger who kidnapped Rita and took Umbridge to meet the centaurs.

when he walked past Ron Weasley in the corridor and the red-headed boy gave him the smallest of nods
-Nice touch.

More please.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99561Chapter: 1
I have absolutely no doubt that the D* series should be counted among the greatest fan fics in existence, better than most.

Reviewer: ViatrixDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99548Chapter: 1
EXCELLENT! Possibly the best one yet. Thank you for letting us spend time with Anne and Theo.

out of curiosity, for whom do you fence?

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99544Chapter: 1
damn. youre good.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99518Chapter: 1
This is my favorite, and that's saying something! I loved the drumbeat, traitor. That was especially poignant. I also loved the Snape interaction, very well done. Also, this has very rich themes, the nature of betrayal and the meaning of family and that sort of thing, and I will be thinking about them for a long while, which is exactly what good literature does. It's very wonderful. Congratulations, this is one of the best there is of anything!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --