The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Measure Before Mind
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: xMarauderxDate: 2007-01-24
Reviewid: 146985Chapter: 1
I think you're being way too harsh on Hermione here. Yes, her actions were a bit too much but considering the circumstances involved...I was actually quite happy and proud of Hermione there. I don't think I have any sympathy for Umbridge...please that woman is as good as a Death Eater. She sent Dementors after two innocent boys, one of them Muggle, and if Harry wasn't so good at the Patronus Charm, both of them would have suffered a fate worse than death. That makes Umbridge inhuman. Also...she's just about to torture Hermione's best friend and also there's the tension of Sirius hanging over her head. I think, considering what she was dealing with, she did quite well.

As for her hexing the DA parchment, it was a bit extreme as well....but they were dealing with extreme things too. All of the DA would have been chucked out of Hogwarts if Marietta had blabbed...and as such I feel she got exactly what she deserved..the stupid snitch.

However, I can understand what you're trying to tell about Hermione, the character, in this one shot and it's great to see someone tackling such a topic. I just felt that Mcgonagall was OOC here as she was way too harsh on Hermione. I don't think that Mcgnagall would be sympathetic about Umbridge at all. And she's a softie when it comes to injuries and such; she would be soft on an injured Hermione.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2006-05-21
Reviewid: 142939Chapter: 1
You know what I liked about this? The way you -rightly!!- criticized Hermione! It's refreshing to see that people aren't sainting her. Also nice job on Minerva (who is terribly underapprichiated in FanFiction) and a change in Hermione.

Reviewer: IriaDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135009Chapter: 1
That was interesting, but I have, too, mixed feelings about it ... sure, Hermione's Hex on Marietta was a bit too much, but Umbridge ... she had just admitted she had send a couple of Dementors to Harry; what would have happened if he hadn't been able to conjure a Patronus? Plus, she was planning to use the Cruxiatus Curse on him ... what was Hermione to do, stay still and watch her best friend being tortured? She didn't have the time to think of a better plan. Many adults would have made the same mistake ... and besides, it isn't Hermione's fault if Umbridge had the bad idea to call the centaurs "filthy half-breed".

Personally, I do agree that it's time for Hermione to think about other people. I just don't think the whole 'Umbridge thing' was a good example ...

Overall, that was a good story, well-written, and all. Keep writing!
~Iria (English isn't my first language, so I probably made mistakes ;) )

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108174Chapter: 1
Interesting take on Hermione's actions. I doubt I would have been able to take this view, but it sure was a surprise! Well thought out and written!

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106206Chapter: 1
Yes! About time somebody had that conversation with Hermione! Both characters were beautifully drawn.

Reviewer: Jessica R VanceDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100142Chapter: 1
Inexplicably, this fic made me tear up a bit. o.o Can't explain why. Very good though!

Reviewer: AdipodesPoeDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 99997Chapter: 1
I have mixed feelings about this story. I don't think that Hermione acted irrationally at all. I wanted Umbridge to be put in pain. She stole an entire year of fun from a boy who has had very little through his life. She had a pen that cut into his hand and made it bleed. For a second, imagine that was you holding that pen, feeling it cut into your skin and knowing that you were controlling the cut,but you were forbidden to stop. You look at the clock and you still have forty minutes of detention left.
My point is, when there is conflict a character must choose sides. Hermione has chosen the side that is working against evil. She IS changing, she IS learning how to think of other people: she's thinking of protecting Harry, the Weasleys, her parents, and herself. The changes in her have begun and that's making her more vicious, but war is unforgiving.
Good job. You got a reaction out of me.
Keep writing.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99978Chapter: 1
Interesting fic. Obviously you disagree with Hermione and her actions in OotP. So you have McGonagall condemn her. I assume you believe that Hermione is due for a fall in the next book.

Reviewer: MissBrooke06Date: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99954Chapter: 1
That was really a very cool story. I loved it. Very original.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99867Chapter: 1
Thanks for tackling such a controversial subject. While I'm not quite as sure that Hermione would have reconsidered her actions so quickly just because McGonagall confronted her, I can definitely see McGonagall taking this position, considering, for example, how she reacted to the "two-against-one" fight at the end of the first Quidditch match in OotP. I think Marietta's response to Hermione is quite realistic, though -- she doesn't seem as angry, but she doesn't seem to have completely forgiven Hermione, either.

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99848Chapter: 1
Very interesting story! I really like the premise, and it was quite thought-provoking. I don't think enough people really spend time thinking about Hermione's motivations and mistakes - possibly because most of the time she's right, heh. This fic was very well written and very insightful. Thank you.

Reviewer: LorieDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99831Chapter: 1
You have given an interesting glimpse of the problem of just how far Hermione is willing to take things. I think that your story is very well written, and well-organised; I especially like the ending, which conveys hope and Hermione's growing maturity. Not many people have tackled this subject, maybe because it is sort of "sticky", to think that one of Harry's closest friends would take such a morally questionable action, and I praise you for writing it, and for the wonderful job yoou have done!

Reviewer: Big CroftyDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99799Chapter: 1
The story was well written, however I believe you have not fully understood the events in the Order of the Pheonix. Hermione did not personally hex Marietta, rather the parchment that each member of the DA signed. When Marietta betrayed the DA the hex came into effect, but you have failed to appreciate that without the security that Hermione's hex provided, Marietta would have been able to confess all to Umbridge, resulting in the expulsion of every member of the DA. Also, when considering that Umbridge showed a desire to use an unforgiveable curse, any action by Hermione to prevent it is totally justifiable. Your story is a condemnation of Hermione's actions in the Order of the Pheonix, however I doubt McGonagall would have a problem with her actions when placing them in the correct context.

Reviewer: WeasleyJunkieDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99797Chapter: 1
Yes yes yes!

Wow, you make me excited to review this! Not everyone thinks of hermione's actions, and how they could have (or did) seriously affect peoples lives but you hit it right on the head.

"Maybe McGonagall was right; maybe it was time to think about other people."
YES!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --