The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dear Harry
Review(s): 37

Reviewer: fitzetteDate: 2007-05-16
Reviewid: 148016Chapter: 1
oh, my heart.

Reviewer: bradDate: 2006-04-21
Reviewid: 142136Chapter: 1
Very good, very nice. Infinitely more preferable to the trash we were served in HBP, with the infantile ranting of Hermione and puerile nonsense from Ron. Harry's fear that he'll be left alone - again - makes perfect sense, but I felt good about things at the end of this little story. Thanks!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141309Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-11-10
Reviewid: 135768Chapter: 1
Oh, God.
Right. I KNOW that I'm supposed to say something about how sweet that was- and it WAS sweet, don't get me wrong!!- but...
WELL. I've been reading this out-loud to my friend Emily- say hullo, Em.
(HI! GREAT STORY!)
I've been reading it out-loud WITH voices, and as soon as I got to '"Dear Harry ... this is the END! We're not the three of us anymore, we're the two of us and you!"' I started getting kind of teary, y'know? But THEN I got to '"Dear Harry ... your HEAD is up your ARSE!'"

And I said it really loud. Roared it, actually, in my Ron voice.
And so Emily and I have died of laughter. Those tears that were threatening to come out come out before? Well, they came out.
And I have almost electrocuted myself on this keyboard.

Bloody funny, though.

Thanks. You've cheered me up considerably.
-Angie W.

P.S- Say goodbye, Emily.
GOODBYE, EMILY!!!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129044Chapter: 1
Awwwww.... great idea for organizing the story. Liked it a lot.
Keep it up!

Reviewer: WilliamDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 106990Chapter: 1
I liked this story. its great

Reviewer: alDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106288Chapter: 1
Great, another story where Harry is the bitch and just accepts everything that life throws at him, apologizing for a human response. His best friends have withheld information from him, information that seriously affects the way they all will be interacting from this point on. And all you can do is have Harry apologize for not accepting this and not immediately being happy for his lying (by omission) friends? All I want is a warning before any of these fics where the author will cut Harry's balls off and make him a complete bitch. He has every right to be upset at his friends actions. They were a trio, equal, and all of a sudden the other 2 are hiding things from him, things that affect their relationship, and harry is the bad guy for not immediately recognizing the wonderful, perfect, obvious, relationship that is R/H? Just give the guy a break.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103051Chapter: 1
Still a great little story. The hook plays so well. I don't remember noticing that the story ends with Harry's heartache. That seems so sad. In a typically noble, Harry way. He is happy for them, but he does not have that kind of love. And who will love him for who he is? For Harry and the The-Boy-Who? Great details in a typically Mosylu way:
Harry comes down stairs "muzzily". The way Ron and Hermione's fingers click together in such a right way. The way Harry punches the tree and then swears a blue streak.

As usual with your work the details make it come alive!

Thanks!!

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102345Chapter: 1
You have such a creative way of getting in the head of a character, especially JKR's. I've enjoyed a lot of your writing, and I must say, I think I really loved this one. Something about just rang true to me.

The last line made me feel so... I don't know. It's not sadness, but it's not happiness either. I know how it feels when your friendship changes, because you just don't want it to.

Reviewer: ErikaDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102275Chapter: 1
ooh. I liked lots. It's so true to how it usually happens. I felt the reactions, especially Harry's, were very true to the characters.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101751Chapter: 1
Loved it. Harry the pratt does make an appearance but them he did get first billing in book five so that's OK. Funny and belivable at the same time.

Reviewer: BrookeDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101420Chapter: 1
I so loved this story. Just awesome. I love your Harry discovering Ron and Hermione. I feel that it's probably pretty accurate because of Harry's angsty, moodiness in the last book. It's the second time I read this story and I have to make sure it's a recommendation on the Checkmated forums.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101327Chapter: 1
Beautiful. I really liked this. Very Harry-like, to be so brash and then admit he was wrong.

The way they spoke as if they were writing letters seemed to flow so naturally, but at the same time it was very creative. Maybe an R/H story next time? ;-)

Reviewer: LDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101161Chapter: 1
This story is too fluffy towards the end. And the whole thing just seems exaggerated.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100418Chapter: 1
Owwww. Oh, poor boy. Heartrending ending, and perfect. Nothing ever turns out as you mean it to, and acceptance is oftentimes the hardest thing you ever have to do.

Life gives you lemons...
...so add limes and tequila and a little salt.

Reviewer: SulahDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100398Chapter: 1
Short and funny fic! I hav read all of ur stories and i am in LOVE with every single one of them, way to go :)!!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100155Chapter: 1
You've done it again. Beautiful one-shot!

Reviewer: Jessica R VanceDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100147Chapter: 1
The presence of a "clank" in Harry's head is PERFECT. I quite liked this.

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100144Chapter: 1
Lovely. You captured quite perfectly the emotions that I think will come into play when the inevitable happens--not just for Harry, but for all three of the Trio. I like the way the sudden reality of Ron and Hermione's relationship "ever so slowly tipped Harry's world sideways" (brilliant!). But then, when the anger was spent, Harry realized that he really had known it was coming for a long time (and that he just hadn't wanted to deal with it).

I don't think Prat!Harry was anything but InCharacter!Harry under these circumstances. I was very proud of him for coming around and finding the means to say he'd be happy for them "eventually". (I was also proud of Ron and Hermione for not apologiziing for their happiness and for realizing that "eventually" was the best Harry could offer them at that point.) Harry's residual heartache will be there until time passes and he realizes that Ron and Hermione are *not* going to abandon him for each other--he's too much a part of who they are, just as they are so much a part of each other. Thank you for a beautiful story.

~NZ~

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100089Chapter: 1
That's SO sweet. I loved it...short, not a word longer than it needed to be.

-PQ

Reviewer: puddleduckDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100023Chapter: 1
Oh this was absolutely perfect. I've been looking for something like this for ages. Finally, someone who obviously agrees that Hermione and Ron getting together will change the dynamics of the group no matter what.

Loved it.

- puddleduck

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99975Chapter: 1
Harry's reaction is just perfect. I can see this (or something similar) happening in Book 6. Or 7, I suppose, if Jo wants to move slowly. ;)

Harry's reactions here are honest, and getting that all out at once is probably better than having him brood over it for ages. And the way Ron and Hermione understand that "eventually" is what Harry can give them, and they can accept that, is perfect.

I especially liked this line: "His world, ever so slowly, tipped over sideways."

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99972Chapter: 1
I've always enjoyed your Weasley fics. Liked the R/H interaction with the "Dear Harry" lines. I wonder what would Harry do if R/H got together in canon, and your idea is certainly plausible.

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99963Chapter: 1
Loved it. Simple, lovely, just plain good. :)

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99955Chapter: 1
Awww….. yes I wondered how Harry would feel when this happened, as inevitably it will *glares around at any foolish H/H shippers who happen to be lurking around*. I liked the “Dear Harry” part- Ron humourous, Harry furious Hermione- well Hermione…. And the thing with the magnolia was incredibly cute. Keep writing!

Reviewer: aliceDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99953Chapter: 1
the last three lines are *wonderful*! Great ficlet.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99949Chapter: 1
You're just wonderful! I love this. It is so sweet and so honest and realistic. I think your assessment of how it might play out is very fair. Prat!Harry didn't bother me at all - Harry could never stay a prat, especially when he has Ginny waiting in the wings.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99936Chapter: 1
Quite beautiful, and I don't think Harry's all that much of a prat. I rather think he'll react somewhat similarly in canon, though perhaps he won't express his thoughts in words. More like he'll be silently fuming, the way he did about Ron being made a Prefect. And then he'll come to terms with it. I also am inclined to think that, despite popular belief in fan fiction, Harry is actually completely unaware of Ron and Hermione's feelings for each other, and it WILL be a complete surprise to him when he sees them together. But then again, there's no proof either way, and your story is quite believable and nicely written.

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99908Chapter: 1
I really like the bittersweet ending. However, my favorite line was "Something in Harry’s head went clank and ground to a halt." I laughed out loud. Poor third-wheel Harry.

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99907Chapter: 1
I loved the "letters" going back and forth. Pretty typical of what teens would do, wizard or not! Harry depends on his two best friends so much, I can see how he might react just like this to a situation he thinks might alter that friendship. Well done.

Reviewer: stefanieDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99906Chapter: 1
i really like the whole yelling at eachother "dear harry" thing. haha. i always love your fics. another great one.

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99887Chapter: 1
What a sweet little story!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99820Chapter: 1
Great! I like this idea. You can see this as one of the ways this could unfold. Harry can be such an idiot some times. I like teh way that Ron and Hermione have a steady but still new relationship. It comes through that way.
Great lines:
I love this one.
>>"Dear Harry," Ron roared, "your head is up your arse!"<<
And this:
"Well. Definitely longer than Ron, anyway."

Great work - as usual!!

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99806Chapter: 1
Awww! That. Was. Fabulous! Oh my goodness! I am stunned! Very, very good!!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99801Chapter: 1
Harry-the-Prat is probably very close to what his reaction will be like in canon if anything of this nature should happen so close after Harry's demeanor in OotP. I'm glad he came around so soon, though, and didn't put Ron and Hermione through weeks of the silent treatment.

One of my favorite lines in this piece reminds me of something Christopher Robin says at the end of the Disney film and seems to be an integral part of childhood (which I'm glad Harry can still have after all he's expected to do): "Doing nothing alone was nice, but doing nothing with them would ten times as fun."

I really enjoyed this story. Please post again soon.

Reviewer: KathyDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99795Chapter: 1
Oh, this'll be the way it happens! Absolutely brilliant. I'm bookmarking for future reference. Thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99777Chapter: 1
Sweet but just a little sad, too. I thought the verbal letters between the trio were a great touch...very effective and very much in keeping with the voice of each character.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --