The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115276Chapter: 1
fair tale

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100372Chapter: 1
wow this is great.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100361Chapter: 1
What a wonderful story! Your writing is delightful and your dialogue is outstanding and believable. I love the name of the astronomy professor! (I'm a space geek, what can I say?)

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100277Chapter: 1
wow... well written and resltisc. Very good read. Loved his frist name. Great ending

Reviewer: MacarellaDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100235Chapter: 1
Great! I was so glad to see your name on the updates again!

This is a very charming, vividly written story. I especially liked various details, such as about security measures at platform 9 3/4 and owl post precautions at Hogwarts - this makes it very real, the situation and the description. And the tense, suspenceful atmosphere, when the students try to find out the news by whatever means they can as the day drugs on, is very haunting. And description of the attack on Ollivanders' shop and Mack's and his parents' reaction - they are clearly *very* concerned, but there is no panic, and one gets the sense that this is something they've almost grown used to expect to happen once in a while (maybe like bombings during a war?). And, as always, loved your humor:
"And it's not dangerous here? Please remind me not to hex our estate agent the next time she gushes about the advantages of our 'prime location.' I honestly think he'd be safer at school."
(And this during a very serious discussion on their son's safety - once again one gets the feeling that danger and uncertainty is something they've gottten used to living with, and so they can even joke about it.) And it's very natural that although James and Lily mean a lot to us, to Mack and his classmates they're just two more people in the long list, but the last two people, so he is grateful, but much more joyful (at Voldemort's demise) than saddened over their deaths (although he does relate to their orphaned child).
And, LoL, if Snape's predecessor was about as competent as Neville Longbottom, that explains how he got the job! (I mean, of course, he's competent, but as a teacher...)

Thank you! Hoping to read more of your pieces in the future,
Macarella.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100193Chapter: 1
Wow. I think you did an outstanding job--we don't get enough "what were other people doing on 1 November 1981" stories. Great premise, very touching. I will most definitely read abou grown-up Mack.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100174Chapter: 1
Oddly enough, in a fanfic I wrote, Sprout was the one who delivered the news, too! (If I remember correctly, anyway).

As for the fanfic itself - brilliant. I always wondered what current students must have been thinking, and this sums it up! Poor kids, though, growing up during such hard times.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100123Chapter: 1
I really like the composition of this story. The flashbacks add a lot of color and interest to the piece. I also like that another character tells his pov, thus expanding upon what we know from canon.

I'm now going to find and read your other recommended fic because I'm quite intrigued and like your style of writing.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --