The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Gift
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140354Chapter: 1
Just Brilliant.

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124069Chapter: 1
After finishing both this outtake and Where the Light Is in one morning, I would like to mention that lemon curd and ginger biscuits are definitely excellent companions when you're lonely! I apologize for not leaving a review over at Where the Light Is, I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-12
Reviewid: 116264Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Funny and sweet and sad all at once, I loved the little actions with a photograph, and the description of Snape's bedroom
<Remus was amused to see that there was nothing remotely edible in the room. Snape had not left him so much as a teabag. The message was clear.>
So typical of Snape!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112053Chapter: 1
I apologize for not having read "Where the Light Is" yet, but after reading a snippet of this in the "Fluff" thread, I had to have more. I must say, I didn't see much in the possibility of Remus/Tonks when OotP first came out, but writing like this makes me a believer. :) You've created such fabulous "interaction" between them here -- so subtle, and yet packed to the hilt with shivery meaning.

>>In the picture, she glanced up and caught his eyes. She smiled, a little shyly, and slipped out of the picture.<<

*happy sigh*

Lovely work, ladies! :)

Reviewer: Snuffle's GirlDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106350Chapter: 1
Oh I know you probably never read the reviews for this story anymore, but I have always loved Remus as a character and you've got him spot on! Everything from his thoughts to his gestures are almost exactly how I picture him. I also agree with you about the David Thewlis thing, although he didn't do a very bad job, I pictured remus Much more handsome, and with out that awful mustache!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104570Chapter: 1
"...our Remus Lupin looks nothing like David Thewlis." - Thank goodness!!!

I wanted to write a review of your work that didn't just gush "It's wonderful!", but it's difficult. The one thing that has bothered me while reading 'Where the Light Is', is that, with so many characters and so much going on, it's difficult to settle comfortably in with any one bit. I really enjoy your characterizations, and the way you both word things. Bouncing from one pov to another has created a little bit of a distance between me and the story, though. I think that's one of the reasons why I like this Outtake - we get to connect much deeper with Remus, bond a little. I hope you’ll consider doing more of these for ‘Where the Light Is’. The overall storyline is marvelous, but (for me, at least) the greatest satisfaction comes from the more intimate glimpses into the character’s souls.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103164Chapter: 1
That was brilliant! I loved the idea of that gift, it's so funny, lol. Nice work.

*Geena

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102931Chapter: 1
Love "Where the Light Is" and love this short piece. Your characterization of Remus is spot-on and tugs at the heart strings. Great writing with all the descriptive details and a clever idea for the gift. :)

Reviewer: ishieDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101820Chapter: 1
"An unnamed longing rose in him and receded like a tide, leaving him hollow."

This line just totally blew me away. If ever a phrase described Remus Lupin, this is it. Great story (that box was driving me crazy). Love the subtlety of Lupin's reaction to Tonk's picture (and the picture's to him). Can't wait for more of "Where the Light Is"!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101408Chapter: 1
You two are always always always brilliant. The descriptions are so vivid. I can clearly see the twins and Tonx moving around in that picture and it's so funny. I love how Snape is so present without being there. The way you easily move from humor to poignancy is beautiful. As ususal - I'm in awe.

Reviewer: Frankie B.Date: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100818Chapter: 1
Ladies, this was absolutely excellent. :D You are the only people I know who can make Remus Lupin turn into Severus Snape and still be utterly believable. I felt horrible for the house elf, but the scene was perfect. Loved the gift Tonks gave him, as well as the antics of the trio in the picture. Most of all, though, your hints of romance between Tonks and Lupin were just right. . . not over the top as so many writers are inclined to do, just. . . perfect. Thanks so much for sharing!!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100660Chapter: 1
I've never actually laughed out loud and cried during the reading of a
fic until this one. You have a gift. This was beautifully written. I've always been a little wary of the Remus/Tonks pairing, but you play it out so well, it's amazing. This is how love starts; with sweet gestures and considerate friendship. In the context of this fic, I can totally accept R/T.

I truly enjoyed the glimpse into Severus' life that you gave us w/ the description of his living quarters. You gave us such a sense of character without even having Severus actually enter the fic. Pure genius!

The last couple of paragraphs were stunning. The image of Remus holding the feelings at bay while watching the owl fly off into the sunset was pure poetry. I started off reading "Where the Light Is" for the George/Ainsley aspect, but it's the R/T part that I'm starting to look forward to most. Thank you for this "Gift". :)

Reviewer: St.MargaretsDate: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100362Chapter: 1
Oh nice story! I really like Lupin's lonely fortitude and how he will *not* stop to examine his feelings - even though he has plenty of them. I liked the gift - and the "other" trio on the label. Just the sort of thing Lupin needs.

And lovely imagery - with the description of Snape's quarters, the food, and the view out of the owlery. And I'm glad he nixed TS Elliot - he would be suicidal by dawn!

Just a lovely L/T story!

Reviewer: DebbieDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100297Chapter: 1
Dear ivy and Gracie ~ Many thanks for the beautiful story, and the smiles, and chuckles, and teary eyes, it produced, just when most needed. You're both BRILLIANT.

That was just wonderful. You've really got Lupin's character down, and the light touch with which you write romance is perfect.

I'm really glad you wrote an outtake to "Where the Light Is," as I've wanted to see Lupin as Snape since I started reading even though it's not the focus of that story.

This just cheered up my entire day.

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100290Chapter: 1
Greasy Git's Hair Tonic... wonderful. Nice piece of work, ladies!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100191Chapter: 1
*waves Hi!*

Another fabulous fic! I love Remus, but I think that sometimes his transformations take the fic over. It's -really- nice to read a Remus fic without him being a werewold be the main focus.

I love the label picture! I love that he still mourns a little over the Marauders.

Much :wub:!

-Genesse

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100148Chapter: 1
This is so excellent! "Greasy Git's Hair Tonic." Hilarious! Wow. You people amaze me with your never-ceasing cleverness.

Good stuff with Remus feeling depressed about his friends being dead, as well. It's an interesting contrast between that and the sheer hilarity of Tonks' gift.

Nicely done.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100132Chapter: 1
I am sorely out of practice writing reviews, so forgive me for what amounts to a simple "I love this ficlet" post. ;o)

But I do love it. So sweet and funny. The whole hair tonic idea was brilliant. I am enjoying the main fic as well, and can't wait to see what happens next.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100120Chapter: 1
"Remus and TONX, sittin' in a tree- K-I-S"- oh, wait! Sorey! I got carried away there for a moment. Can I tell you how it's been driving me nuts wondering about Tonks' gift?? I love this outtake!

The use of Prufrock is magnificent- as is Remus' reply! LOL I am amazed at the number of fanfic irons you girls keep in the fire. BRAVO! Another job well done! (And not a Gary Stu in sight!)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100103Chapter: 1
What a sweet story! You've captured Remus so well: his sense of duty, his endurance, but also the loneliness that is always eating at his soul:

"It was the kind of gift the Marauders would have come up with, he thought, and, for a moment, the silence and isolation of his life seemed too great to bear. An unnamed longing rose in him and receded like a tide, leaving him hollow. "

Such beautiful words, beautiful because they're true.

I am a fan of Eliot, so including that little bit of Prufrock was a great touch. An interesting glimpse into Snape's mind. And of course, the relationship between Remus and Tonks was lovely, nicely balanced between friendship and something more.

One of those stories that made me melt inside.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100102Chapter: 1
Nice! Not a full blown romance, but the sort of tenuous iffy start that feels very real. Nicely done. And I like the foreshadowing of the picture on the box. That feels very much like JKR would do it. As if we can't hide our true feelings from a magical camera.

I also like this whole exercise of what is like to live inside someone else's skin. We're pretty sure that Remus must loathe Snape. So it is bad enough that he has to BE Snape. But then it has to last for six weeks! And on top of it all, he has to face the fact that Snape has the job he would love! The bit about how bare Snape's rooms are was a brilliant metaphore for their lives. When Remus was there, he enjoyed his life. Snape has it good, but his choices are so different from Remus' that it must seem to Remus to be wasted on him. Pearls before swine as it were.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --