The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Flashback
Review(s): 54

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2005-10-31
Reviewid: 135546Chapter: 1
WOW! I like this! And it's unusual -- I don't think I've ever seen an HP fic quite like this before! I love the idea of Harry and Voldemort being each other's only companions at the end of the human race; how ironic!

Right off the bat, I can think of several people I want to rec this to!

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134555Chapter: 1
Wow. Really well written. Twist at the end. Do you have a sequel? Oh...well, good job!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 123986Chapter: 1
That was interesting....Does Voldemort know all that Old Harry said to Young Harry? And did OH mean that he would win this time or him and V would win together??? Lol. Interesting.

~GW

Reviewer: SamDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119463Chapter: 1
Wow. Interesting idea. Not sure I like the whole Luna thing, I'm still rooting for Harry and Ginny, but everything else was top-notch. Very nice ending. Of course, I've got to get over the image of He-Whose-Name-We-Can't-Think-Of talking to cockroaches...

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-07
Reviewid: 118906Chapter: 1
Fantabulus. A True MUST READ for all HP fans.

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-20
Reviewid: 117219Chapter: 1
WOW. That was mind-boggling.

I always love seeing Harry as an old man--it takes so much more creativity to write well.

Reviewer: DNDDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114069Chapter: 1
Eeee...e.
That was wickedly odd. I love time-travel fics, as a rule, and this one is no exception. The beginning was pretty confusing, but that was to be expected, since it's written in the present-day!Harry's mindframe. Of course, during the dialogue everything is explained. I particularly enjoyed the lack of painstaking detail in the retelling by Old!Harry - you left the reader with enough information to know the state of affairs in the future, yet with little enough to allow us to imagine stuff. A true brain-teaser.

The little jabs at humour are great, without losing the focus on the dark reality Old!Harry is coming from. The line "he was lecturing a herd of cockroaches on the importance of purity of blood" just about cracked me up. Provided a priceless mental image. *dreamy look* And Tommy's Toerags? Gods, why can't I ever come up with these lovely names?

But my absolute favourite part is the end. Chilling. Harry and Riddle working together for a better future...? Well, nobody said Moldywarts was stupid, eh?

Good job!

DND

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113996Chapter: 1
Oooh, ironic! I like the ending, and the entire concept, and... Good job!

Reviewer: Ivy WryterDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113098Chapter: 1
Wow. Excellent. Just confusing enough to work right. Older Harry's wit and wryness helps to show just how much he's been through. It's sad, scary, ironic, and bittersweet. And, somehow, funny. I love it.

Reviewer: Brian TurkDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108881Chapter: 1
Oh ...
My ...
GOD!!!

This was so awesome! Witty, perceptive, insightful, futuristic, and not a little frightening besides! I love head-spinning endings, and yours had my jaw bounce off my shoe-tops and spin across the room, babbling incoherently! I genuflect before your magnificence!

Write more! Write more!

Reviewer: PlancksDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108119Chapter: 1
aaaaaaahhh!!! hey! so cooool!!!!! XD
now I wannna know what would Riddle tell his youngerself.
I´m just not sure about the harry/luna thing, but I don´t really mind. GREAT FIC! XD

Reviewer: david abbeyDate: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108057Chapter: 1
nice one! i loved the twist at the end w/ riddle, leaves us guessing. well done!

Reviewer: GridleyDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 107992Chapter: 1
Oh.

Well.

That was an unexpected ending; it does upgrade the story from a B- to an A, I think.

Reviewer: Amiable DorsaiDate: 2004-12-11
Reviewid: 107526Chapter: 1
The Reviews keep coming! Thank you all.

Shaldana Blackwater: Thanks.

kayjal: I hadn't remembered it when I wrote it, but a variation of that line occurs in Arabella and Zsenya's excellent "After the End" available right here on the Sugar Quill. It comes out of Ron's mouth in that story, and... well, I won't spoil it. If you haven't read it, you should. It's a bit out of date now, OOTP has thrown a bit of a monkey wrench into its works, but it's still an first-rate story.

Aaran St Vines: Thanks. Time travel is tricky, I'm gratified to hear that people like my take on it.

Blank: Glad you enjoyed it.

Jack Ichijouji: Paradoxi? Thank you. I did spend a lot of time thinking about how to deal with the paradox.

I've just started reading your Marauder stories. Fun stuff, so far.

story645: Thanks. The ending worried me. Shows the importance of a good Beta. Night Zephyr assured me that it was good, and kept me from weakening it.

Deborah Peters: I thought a little comic relief would help the story at that point. It also struck me that Old Harry had a lot of regrets to catch up on...

Mrs's_Norris's_Mouse: I hope you find more to like.

Reviewer: Mrs's_Norris's_MouseDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107044Chapter: 1
A truely excelent story I will look though the archive and see what other treasures you have here :)

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105540Chapter: 1
Awesome. I loved the way you played with the whole time travel-paradox...thing. And, you know, what can I say... I love the idea of pervert!Harry. Dirty old man, he.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105417Chapter: 1
Ultra cool fic. I loved how you took this idea and ran with it, and how hard Harry tried to convince his younger self of the importance of love. I love how you play up platonic love, familial love. I like the references to Harry/Luna. The ending was ultra cool, having Harry and Tom make a deal with each other to each go back and alert their pasts, in the hope of changing their fates.

Reviewer: Jack IchijoujiDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105214Chapter: 1
I came across this rather accidentally, and am I glad I did! There's nothing I love more than temporal physics, and the manipulation thereof. It's very rare to read something by someone willing to drive themselves mad (even if you really didn't) dealing with paradoxes. Paradoces. Para... thingies.

Bravo.

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103026Chapter: 1
That was a good story. I was sometimes confused about what was happening, but that made the story more interesting. Great job!

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102768Chapter: 1
Time travel is my favorite type of Sci Fi. The really good ones work with the Grandfather Paradox and create an understanding of just how the subtle issues must be played. This slight change brings hope for the future. The GREAT time travel tales execute this, and then create another change just before the end to cast doubt on the hoped for solution.

Congrats! This story is in the second group.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102655Chapter: 1
very interesting in a warped, parody-like sort of way. i like that line, " so i shall just love him to death shall i ?" or something like tt. that was cute. nd the ending.... very.... cool

Reviewer: Shaldana BlackwaterDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102565Chapter: 1
Very interesting. I like the line of this. It's an excellent one-shot.

Reviewer: Amiable DorsaiDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102124Chapter: 1
More Replies! Thanks for the reviews.

p0tterfan: I'm amazed at the number of people who want a sequel. I had no plans to write Voldie's conversation with his younger self, and I'm not sure how to do it well. If I figure it out, I'll write a sequel.

beck: Glad you found it interesting.

Pineapple Queen: The last bit had me worried. It seems to have gone over.

Amanda: Not so much a double-cross as betting it all on Young Harry and his friends. Remember, Old Voldie is also constrained to make only a subtle change. Of course, he is completely mad...

Robin: Thanks. I hate those concepts too. 'Flashback' is my protest against them. I intended this as a stand-alone story, but so many people want more that I'll give it some thought. No promises, any sequel will have to wait until inspiration strikes. If inspiration strikes.

Frankie Beeblebrox: Thank you. The GrandFther Paradox was the second hardest part of the story, Once I figured that out, the rest (except the ending) just flowed.

sruti: Thanks. Old Harry evolved a lot as the story went through several drafts. I like the one I ended up with a lot better than my first version.

Reviewer: Amiable DorsaiDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102123Chapter: 1
More Replies! Thanks for the reviews.

p0tterfan: I'm amazed at the number of people who want a sequel. I had no plans to write Voldie's conversation with his younger self, and I'm not sure how to do it well. If I figure it out, I'll write a sequel.

beck: Glad you found it interesting.

Pineapple Queen: The last bit had me worried. It seems to have gone over.

Amanda: Not so much a double-cross as betting it all on Young Harry and his friends. Remember, Old Voldie is also constrained to make only a subtle change. Of course, he is completely mad...

Robin: Thanks. I hate those concepts too. 'Flashback' is my protest against them. I intended this as a stand-alone story, but so many people want more that I'll give it some thought. No promises, any sequel will have to wait until inspiration strikes. If inspiration strikes.

Frankie Beeblebrox: Thank you. The GrandFther Paradox was the second hardest part of the story, Once I figured that out, the rest (except the ending) just flowed.

sruti: Thanks. Old Harry evolved a lot as the story went through several drafts. I like the one I ended up with a lot better than my first version.

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101268Chapter: 1
lovely--i really like older harry-his sense of humour is intact atleast-cheers for sucha great fic

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101181Chapter: 1
Wow. Very interesting concept, and I really like how you dealt with the grandfather clause. Ingenious way of getting around that. Very well written, and I think you did a great job with the characterization, which had to have been tricky. And the kiss? LOL. Very nice. Great twist at the ending as well. Just a great story all around!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101142Chapter: 1
Oh.

Wow.

Mindboggling.

You know, I enjoyed this little fic until the end. Then the end...simply blew me away. It's amazing what one little thing can do, and you've made this completely believable. You took so many concepts that I despise in a lot of stories and weaved them together seamlessly--Harry abandoning his friends, everyone dying, Dumbledore's failures--it's perfect. I'm usually not a fan of time travel stories, but your's is simply awesome.

I've only got one question: Is this it, or do we get more? It's a great little one shot, but I can see lots of expansion. The possibilities are endless, though you'd have to delve a lot into sixth year, which you may or may not want to do. Regardless, I enjoyed this a lot, and I can't wait to read aything else you may write!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101129Chapter: 1
Wow. I'm not sure I can come up with anything more coherent than that. This is, of course, all a double cross by Old Harry to defeat Voldemort right? Right? I'm going to cling to that. :)

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101127Chapter: 1
Brilliance. Utter and sheer genius. I loffed it..especially the last bit.

-PQ

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-10-11
Reviewid: 101083Chapter: 1
well that was very interesting

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-10-11
Reviewid: 101053Chapter: 1
Interesting premise. Will you be showing Voldemort having a conversation as well? Should be interesting, Harry muddling through affection and love as a weapon.

Reviewer: Amiable DorsaiDate: 2004-10-11
Reviewid: 101031Chapter: 1
Stu: I’m glad it was understandable at half-past midnight! I myself have trouble understanding anything that late at night.

I know what you mean about (some) people’s perceptions of Hermione. Myself, I see her as flawed (as she should be, real people are) heroine in her own right. This is the girl who really prefers to obey the rules, but who helps sneak dragons onto the castle roof, brews Polyjuice Potion in a deserted bathroom and helps found an illegal Defense group in defiance of the authorities.

She’s afraid of heights, but she’ll ride a hippogriff or a thestral(!) to the rescue.

She helps Neville with Potions, Harry and Ron with Astronomy, traps nasty reporters in jars and slaps Malfoy in the face.

She cleans up nice, too. She turned heads at the Yule Ball.

I’d put up with a little self-righteousness from a person like that.


Megan: Personally, I agree with you, but who are we to dispute all these others? :-) (steal from the best, I always say)

In defense of my Ron: this is the kid who stood up on a broken leg to get between Harry and a man he thought was a mass-murderer. I think he’ll find the courage to spit in Moldywart’s eye when the time comes.


Narumi: I always wanted to have potential.

Hazelle: Thank you. I was particularly worried about the ending.

If I ever think of anything interesting for Old Riddle to say to Younger Riddle, I’ll write it up.

Jill W.: Are you the Jelsemium who wrote “A Harry Situation”? If so, I’m doubly flattered. Good story, that.

Big Crofty: Thank you.

oybolshoi: Thank you, too.

SueP: The idea came from reading several stories where Harry sidelines or dumps his friends, then trains himself into a superwizard and kicks Lord Thingie’s butt single-handedly. I thought those stories missed the point.

Grass: Glad you liked it.

B. Nonymous: Myself, I think that Old Voldie just wants to give Young Voldie a marvelous recipe he’s worked out for Cockroach Soup.

Steve Calabrese: Thanks, I’ll give it a look (may take a while--I’m going on the road soon). Going back for a second reading is high praise indeed.

Old Harry hands back young Harry’s wand when Harry stands up after he collapses.

Annie__Jaye: Well, I did intend some parts to be funny...

cheshire: You and me both.

Beatrice: I think that at most, Old Harry’s gone to the grey side. YMMV

jay: I shall. I’m working on a longer piece that will take place in the summer after book five.

crceres: Glad you liked it.

reedy70002: When Tommy gets around to sending me a transcript. He procrastinates a lot, though.

Kathryn Grover: Thanks.

rabid lola: I think both time travelers have something up their sleeves.

anynomous: Thanks. I think my next story will be a little more relaxed, though I hope to put in a few twists, here and there.

Night Zephyr: You rock! And you were right. Thanks for all the encouragement!

I see you snuck in a few more chapters of “Endangered Species” (Highly recommended, folks) while I was out of touch. I’ve downloaded them. Expect some reviews when I get a chance to read them.

You caught me on the initials. ;-)

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 101003Chapter: 1
AD, (Did you ever notice your screen initials are the same as Dumbledore's? -- Never mind, of course you did... :)

Hmmm...remember that bit you asked me about and I said to leave it because it was wonderful?

:)) Told ya. (Sorry, couldn't resist--and congrats on all the nice reviews-- you deserve them!)

~NZ~

Reviewer: anynomousDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100984Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so brilliant! Through each part of it I thought I'd finnaly gotten the twist and then it twisted AGAIN! WOW! Great job! Your older Harry character was wonderful and the way you introduced him, with us thinking it was Voldemort or something, was perfect. Until the split second before I read it I really didn't think of it being Harry himself. This story was like reading a seamless thriller in the format of a short story. Please give us more like it! :)

Reviewer: rabid lolaDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100959Chapter: 1
woah. are you going to follow up on this? do Old Harry and Tom have something up their sleeves? 0_o that was cool, sad, and nice at the same time. Go you! keep on writing!

Reviewer: Kathryn GroverDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100953Chapter: 1
Interesting story, great ending. LOL

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100941Chapter: 1
So do we get to see the two Riddles chat?

Very good story.

Reviewer: crceresDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100936Chapter: 1
Oh, nice story harmonics in this one. I liked it very much.

Reviewer: jayDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100929Chapter: 1
write a another :P

Reviewer: BeatriceDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100915Chapter: 1
D: Oh no! Harry's gone to the Dark Side!

But whoa, that was a GOOD story!

Reviewer: cheshireDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100902Chapter: 1
I hope you realize that now I am going to be curious FOREVER what would happen after this.

Reviewer: Annie_JayeDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100899Chapter: 1
I thought this was funny. Cockroaches? lol

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100893Chapter: 1
Had to go read it again, well, because it's just that damnned good.

Also, I wanted to see it again to see if I missed any clues.

I did notice one small error, I think. In the beginning, Old Harry takes Young Harry's wand - but I don't think he ever gives it back. You might want to fix that.

-Steve

Reviewer: Steve C alabreseDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100892Chapter: 1
Wow.

Creative, original, and funny.

I know this is primarily an H/G site, but Harry is a teenager, and the thought of him being attracted to multiple girls is more realistic than a lot of the stuff on the Quill, where Harry falls for Ginny and never has anyone before or after.

I also would like to ask you to take a look at my story, Draco Malfoy and the Denial of Reality - it's a D/G story, with a Harry / Draco friendship (yes, FRIENDSHIP, not slash) undertone - but it bears quite a resemblence to your story, complete with the conflict of the Muggle world. The big difference is that in my story Draco is the time traveler instead of Harry. You can read it at:
http://www.fanfiction.net/s/1681242/1/

The little clues in your story - especially the bit about Sirius - are quite tantalizing. I think this story works wonderfully as a standalone, but you've packed enough into this little one-shot to expand it into a larger story if you wanted...I hope you consider it.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100887Chapter: 1
Now mind you, you've set yourself up for questions like this: "Can we please see the conversation between Voldemort and Voldemort?" :) And what about the cockroaches?

This was a very inventive turn on time travel, especially given your predicted (intial predicted) outcome!

Reviewer: GrassDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100886Chapter: 1
Wow, that takes a lot of thinking. That's actually a kinda cool story. hm. great writing!

Reviewer: SuePDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100879Chapter: 1
That was haunting. I don't know how you got this idea but I'm really glad you wrote it down and shared it.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100878Chapter: 1
That was brilliant!

Reviewer: Big CroftyDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100872Chapter: 1
That was brilliant.

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100871Chapter: 1
Oh, you are a genius! This is one of the top ten time travel stories I've ever read... and I've read a lot! The last bit was really the clincher.

Good job!

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100870Chapter: 1
Wow, this is great! I had to read it twice, it's just one of those things that you need to see more than once. The end is brilliant, it makes me wonder what Tom Riddle would have to say to his former self, and if it would have any effect-- are you planning to do a follow up? Way cool concept.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100868Chapter: 1
strange. but it has potential.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100860Chapter: 1
Hmm, interesting idea, but everything is a bit off. First of all, your explanation of "subtle difference" is really muddled, and I don't see how it can get you out of the paradox. It IS future Harry who burns the letters. Plus, you know, what happens has already happened and all that. JK was a lot more careful with the time travel. I don't claim much knowledge, as I'm not a sci-fi fan, but even I could see the contradictions. And second, the characters were a bit off, too. Ron, who shudders when someone says Voldemort, will end up making nicknames for him? I don't think so. And old Harry was OC, too - that bit about Rosmerta was too much. I could perhaps buy Tonks, with some stretch of imagination, but not much more. But the final lines turned the story around for me - now that, amazingly enough, I COULD buy. So, you know, this is a mixed review, but I hope to see more work from you.

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100859Chapter: 1
This is brilliant!

Well, to be fair, in my 12:35 am humble and sleep-deprived opinion, this is brilliant. It was very, very good right up until then end, at which point it became brilliant. And funny, for a guilty moment. In my humble opinion.

But I don't see how anyone (other than maybe a time-travel expert) could call it anything other than brilliant. Harry is in-character without being all boring-cliche, there aren't any annoying glitches in the writing (at least not at 12:35 am) and it's creative in big ways and in little ways, too. And the "affective" part-very strong there. You had me so very upset and so very touched both.

I nearly felt sick for a while near the beginning hearing about Hermione, but I really like what you told us about her--I'm trying not to be spoiler-y, but I made the mistake of reading a Hermione thread today and everyone was going on about how she needs her comeuppance and I want to ask how on Earth people could wish her upon Ron if she's such a horrible person. But what we hear of your Hermione and Ron, they're both wonderful and lucky and deserving and how I think of them.

The bit about the nukes and plagues and stuff I didn't really follow. I got the point-badness-but it sounded almost like Harry was making it up off the top of his head at that very moment. But I don't really even think that's a problem with the story because, as I said, I got the point: badness, absurd badness.

But this, this is goodness (absurd goodness).

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --