The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: WormyDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129146Chapter: 1
Aww that was so cute and well-written...and a very clever idea to post the A/N because you never know.
It was well-written, original, cute, touching and grammitically correct...I'm sure I'll read it again.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114457Chapter: 1
A nice tale - thanks.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113984Chapter: 1
Wow, great story! At first I thought that the man was Dedalus Diggle though, since Harry did once meet outside a shop and on that occasion Mr. Diggle did drop his hat when he saw Harry, but I really liked it when he revealed himself to Fortescue. Really excellent way of giving Harry a bit of cheer in his life.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101630Chapter: 1
You know, for some reason this story touched me a lot, I can't say why. I mean, it's well-written and original and all that...but I think it's just the idea of that little boy sitting there staring at the chocolates, and then how nice Florean was - and what a good idea, by the way! I've always though that FF must be a really nice guy, and now you've "confirmed" it!
:-)
I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101570Chapter: 1
I'm glad you put in that author's note! I was intrigued to see how the wizard was - and it makes sense that it would be Florean Fortescue considering how kind he was to Harry in PoA.

Poor Harry - I don't like to think about his childhood! You did a good job not making it too angsty!

Reviewer: 加油!Date: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101489Chapter: 1
Love this story. Keep it up!

Reviewer: AQstar23Date: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101473Chapter: 1
Great story. You should write another chap. when Harry walks into Diagon Ally for the first time, he sees the sign for the ice-cream palor, he remembers his first real magical ice-cream cone. What do you think?

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101425Chapter: 1
nice work <---- HA one word.

Reviewer: ChristyDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101380Chapter: 1
I normally don't like these "Harry meets a magical person who's nice to him before he goes to Hogwarts" but this was really well done and well-written- kudos to you!

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101313Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. Why I was expecting Harry's visitor to be Dumbledore I don't know, but you did a nice job of giving me an "Of course, Fortescue!" moment. And I do think this is in keeping with the hints that JKR has given us that Harry has had contacts with wizards at various times in his life. Good job!

Reviewer: StephDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101309Chapter: 1
Very sweet story; I really liked it.

Reviewer: AllemandeDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101304Chapter: 1
Very cute indeed. Course, it departs slightly from canon (the first book informs us that Harry has never been to London, and he would probably have recognized the Leaky Cauldron), but I didn't mind that at all. I agree with what somebody (sorry!) said further down - it was a very nice reacquaintance with young Harry after all the angst JKR is putting him through now! I hope you're going to post more of your fiction on here.

Reviewer: RosebethDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101276Chapter: 1
This is very sweet. I just loved it.

Reviewer: RoDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101241Chapter: 1
I have to say... This is very well-written, but the A/N is what really drove me to comment. ;) I hadn't even thought of it as being "taking candy from strangers." That's funny. Keep writing the good stuff--this is great. :)

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101235Chapter: 1
Good story, and good footnote there. Kinda sad the way society is - needing a footnote like that ...

Reviewer: emma moonDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101233Chapter: 1
What a wonderful story! I am in awe! (kneels and bows)

Reviewer: KylieDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101227Chapter: 1
I appreciate your sentiments but anyone who reads fanfiction has to be over 9 at least. do you think a bright nine year old would take candy from strangers???

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101222Chapter: 1
This was a very good story. Your characterization of young Harry, especially how he felt about the unfairness of the way he was treated, along with the delightfulness he experienced when he ate that ice cream. Love it! =)

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101211Chapter: 1
This was so adorable, good job keeping Aunt Petunia totally in character!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101200Chapter: 1
"Children should never talk to strangers or accept anything from them. I am certainly not trying to suggest that they should; this is simply a whimsical story that I put together. It is meant to be quite harmless, but one should not follow Harrys example in the real world."

*whines* You mean not even if they wear funny clothes and come in and out of dirty, rundown buildings?

Cute little story...loved it. Makes you feel sorry for poor Harry, doesn't it?

-PQ

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101192Chapter: 1
Aww, this was really cute! And I think it's good that you added the precaution at the end. Yeah, I speak as another adult (sort of ) - never do anything like that in real life.

Reviewer: IzhilzhaDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101189Chapter: 1
Oh, well-written. I love the way this story gets inside young Harry's head.

"He supposed that when people looked at him, they thought he was just a pile of old, stretched-out clothing sitting on the curb."

That made me laugh, even though it's kind of sad.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101188Chapter: 1
That was lovely, just lovely!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101169Chapter: 1
What a cute story! You've really captured the dynamic between the three family members, and having Harry meet Fortescue brings a nice element into the scenes in PoA where he gets sundaes every hour. Not having the ice cream melt was a great touch. Very sweet, wonderful story!

Reviewer: Christina KeimigDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101168Chapter: 1
I loved it! Quite whimsical and a way for the wizarding world to put in a few emotional supports during Harry's oh-so-difficult childhood!! Thanks!

Reviewer: The cheese that makes you sneezeDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101160Chapter: 1
Excellent, as always.

And when, my dear, are you going to update your stories on ff.net?

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101158Chapter: 1
This was a lovely, bittersweet scene, perfectly in keeping with canon. You brought Harry closer to me than he's been in recent times - and I'm talking as a die-hard fan. After OOTP and all the angst, and the talk about Harry's powers, and everything - somehow I forgot about the sweet boy we met in the first book.

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101148Chapter: 1
hi just wanted to say that this was a really good one chapter story keep them coming

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --