The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Night's Candles
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139602Chapter: 1
Excellent

Reviewer: anyaDate: 2005-11-08
Reviewid: 135746Chapter: 1
You truly have an inimitable writing style, all the details and each carefuly chosen word paint a beautiful picture and this story makes gorgeous use of motifs and symbolism without shoving it down throats. The unsent letters, the candles, the descriptions of the scents and sensations of the night seeming less poignant in the morning, its all beautiful. I must admit that Marauders pieces are not the sort of Fics I usualy go out for but this was an honest gem, I hope you continue to write more of these beautiful pieces.

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2005-04-22
Reviewid: 120363Chapter: 1
Love the symbolism of the last 2 sentances. I can just imagine Sirius writing all those letters to Harry even knowing he can't send them because of Umbridges restrictions. And Remeus' Hogwarts memories seem so bittersweet. Just one word sums all this up. Wow.

Reviewer: shiningstarDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102266Chapter: 1
Wow, what a story. You have such an incredible way with detail and descriptive writing. Also, great use of flashback. This is one of the best "post-Sirius' death" Remus fics I've ever read.

Congratulations on being accepted here at SQ. Keep up the great writing.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101477Chapter: 1
Oh, so much emotion. I thought it was a really interesting reading part of Sirius's unsent letters. Well done.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101376Chapter: 1
That was so good. Really, really beautiful. Remus' voice and feelings were excellently done. The flashbacks were...amazing. You could feel the comradery between the four boys. Wonderful.

Reviewer: Getz BlackDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101339Chapter: 1
Wow

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101263Chapter: 1
This is a lovely, poignant take on what happens after the battle. I wept. Thank you.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101228Chapter: 1
Excellent.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101220Chapter: 1
Like everyone else, I thought this was marvelous. The understated, detatched tone created a heaviness in the mood that was very effective. And the unsentimental ordinariness of everything - the unimportance - felt like another loss both for Lupin and the reader. Kudos to you for writing with such restraint. Also (geeky though it is) your sentence structure, and particularly verb choices, were very elegant. Not many authors would have written: "Candlelight twisted the carvings around the edges of the drawers..." Stylistic effort like this really conveys your descriptions and ideas beautifully. I hope you will share more of your stories soon ~ thanks for this one!

Reviewer: jemDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101206Chapter: 1
I'm not often moved to leave a review as I was with this story. Beautifully done. I could feel the near fear and shock of discovery when sorting through someone's things after they have died, as well as the lingering pain mixed with the warmth of memories... The feelings ring true to life and leave me wanting to spend more time with your characters. Thanks.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101202Chapter: 1
This reminded me of when I've lost people close to me and I've had to look through their things. It's such an eerie and sad time and it seems almost unreal. You did a great job of making us guess what Remus felt without melodrama. That's an achievement! Great story.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101198Chapter: 1
I completely agree with the two former reviews. This was amazing. Perfectly done, somehow seeming more realistic than practically any other fic of this sort I've read. I can't wait to see more of your work!

-PQ

Reviewer: mellyDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101190Chapter: 1
i loved it....it's wickedly awesome!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101152Chapter: 1
What poetry! You've made Remus FEEL, without making him sappy in the least. Thank you for such a beautifully written piece - we look forward to reading more of your work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --