The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Disadvantages
Review(s): 32

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-19
Reviewid: 138702Chapter: 1
Another wonderful chapter

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2005-12-29
Reviewid: 137798Chapter: 1
OH MY BOB ELSHA. Do you really come from New Zealand too? ! Joy! Jubilation! I'd given up on ever finding anyone else from here on the quill. I have to say though, I didn't know New Zealand even HAD fencing competitons. Whewn you say central New Zealand, do you mean the Waikato? or the Central Plateau? (that's not too specific, is it?)

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133266Chapter: 1
I loved how Theo immediately labeled Shakespeare as Baroque. I'm an avid Shakespeare fan, but also a musician, so I totally connect with him there.

Yet another wonderful Theo/Anne story! I probably shouldn't start the next one until after my biochemistry exam, though, or I'll never study!

Reviewer: KelseyDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126828Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story, because I've read all the previous stories concerning Anne and Theodore. The only problem was, that in your text there were capital letter E's, I'm assuming they might have marked errors from your beta?? Anyways, they were only slightly distracting, but your story was too good to be distracted from, haha. :)

Reviewer: IssyDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118828Chapter: 1
Heh. That was cute.

I enjoyed the change of tone in this piece - I like fluff as much as the next person! While Distinctions is still my favourite, this one certainly has its merits. It was interesting to see the use of the first person narrative - it gave a bit of a new perspective on Anne.

And I love, love, love that you introduced Theo to Shakespeare. That observation Anne makes about Theo and Shakespeare being perfectly suited was great. I think perhaps I loved Theo's reaction to Shakespeare so much because mine is similar - some of his characters are total idiots, yes, but it doesn't stop me loving his plays and sonnets all the same!

Great work, once again!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116066Chapter: 1
Elsha,

I've been reading your stories from the beginning, so I thought it was about time I dropped you a review to let you know how much I enjoy your portrayal of Theo and Anne as a lovely, quiet OC who fits in so neatly with the rest of the HP universe. I can see why Theo would like Shakespeare - he's universal, and a lot of his plays are about power, its misuse, how to gain it, how to keep it, how it's lost.

My only criticism is that the font in this story is rather small.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104157Chapter: 1
Ooh, cute! Warms my Shakespeare-loving heart! (And trust a Slytherin to see straight through Henry V.)

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103857Chapter: 1
"Not that he's ever lost his liking for Shakespeare. When Nicola was visiting a few days ago, she threatened to find the person who'd introduced him to it and stab them. (Theo was feeling eccentric that day and answered everything she said to him with a quote. I would have owned up except I was laughing too hard.)"

AHHHHHHHHHH!!! FORESHADOWING!!!! How far are you going to go with this story? I love it so much; Theo and Anne are amazing! Keep writing, and good work!

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103634Chapter: 1
This was cute. I can't say I don't enjoy a little fluff between all the dark times. =)

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102356Chapter: 1
I've spent an obscene amount of time recently reading fan fiction, but this is the first time I've felt compelled to leave a fawning, worshipful note of gratitude. You have a gift for writing, Elsha. Your development of Anne and Theo as complex, believeable characters is magnificent - Theo's gnawing doubts and intensifying torment is both heartwarming and wrenching, and Anne serves as both a wonderful foil and richly detailed personality in her own right (she comes off as the quiet, thoughtful, good-natured kind of girl I can see myself falling for, and to achieve that level of believability with your writing is astonishing).

You also have a knack for capturing the nuances of human relationships - Anne and Theo's interactions and conversations seem grounded and genuine to the last detail, and I adore how you have Theo eventually come to view Terry with affection, amusement and exasperation.

And last but certainly not least you have a pitch-perfect sense for language itself. Your work flows with rhythm and grace and lyricism at which I (having had my own literary senses dulled by years of training in the natural sciences) can only sit back and marvel. Every sentence feels as though it's been shaped until it does perfectly what it is supposed do. And yet you seem to have found your own voice - I can tell that this is YOUR writing and not someone else's, just from the unique stamp you have put on the way you craft your words.

As a result your stories have a weight and a heft to them - I've walked away from each story feeling as though I've been enriched somehow, that looking at this world of yours in the way you've described it teaches the reader something worthwhile, even if I can't put my finger on it, in the way that all good literature does.

I feel lucky in a way to have found your work - I have a sense that here in these stories I am watching the emergence of a virtuoso at the beginning of her career, one whom the world will one day celebrate but which for now is my (or HP fan fiction's) own wonderful little secret. I know, I know, the literary world is a cruel, cutthroat kind of place and there are tons of talented writers out there, but I still think it would be a shame if you didn't take at least a crack at writing for a living. I think you could be pleasantly surprised.

Hmm, those are mighty bold words to be using, now that I look at them. Um :-) I hope you don't find them too over the top - I just wanted to express my appreciation for your writing, as well as the fond hope that I'll be reading even more of your stories soon. And I hope the overwhelmingly positive responses you've gotten will encourage you to do something even more with your talents. Who knows? Maybe I'll find myself reading something of yours in a bookstore one day, when I'll be able to smile secretly to myself and say to a bystander, "I knew this writer once, before she hit it big..."

Reviewer: jkDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102188Chapter: 1
aaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh!
i haven't written in SSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOO long!
i love this WHOLE story!
keep up on the writting, it's great!
luv ya!

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102117Chapter: 1
Very cute. I loved it!

Reviewer: Jess V.Date: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101617Chapter: 1
I love your Theo/Anne series. There are no words to describe the emotions iI feel when reading your stories. All I can say is that you are a truly talented writer! I especially love the surprises and random interactions between the Theo and Anne. Can't wait for Disavowels!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101606Chapter: 1
I love your stories and I believe that you have turned me into a Theodore Nott fan (I really need to stop reading fanfiction -- first RJ Anderson convinces that Snape is a, if not good, at least alright guy, then Ozma has me liking Filch, what's next? Malfoy?). However, in that last paragraph, you implied a happy ending for Anne and Theo. Does this mean I can stop worrying about them? Not that I'll stop reading, I just won't angst over the angst. :)

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101458Chapter: 1
Silence is the perfectest herald of joy. I were but little happy, if I could say how much. (Much Ado). Brava - I love it. Shakespeare and music and lots of quotes...a perfect match. Love the pun on cannon.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101333Chapter: 1
"And he says I'm a corrupting influence."

A lovely sentence in a lovely fic.
But I'm confused by the end. Who is Nic that she actually talks to Theo? Under what circumstances could have she and Theo, and perhaps even Anne, met during the summer?
Very confused.

Reviewer: shooting starDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101319Chapter: 1
wow....that was a good chapter! LOved the switch to Anne's perspective-shes very nicely demure, and quirky! and very very ravenclaw, look forward to more!

Reviewer: AlishaDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101318Chapter: 1
I have been reading the series between Anne and Theo. I love the characterization you've given them. I've always wanted Theodore Nott to be a good guy. You have made him all that I wanted him to be, and probably even more. I also like the 'realness' of the situation. Both Theo and Anne (but mostly Theo) fall back into their earlier assumptions about each other, but overcome it anyway. I just wanted to say thanks for a great set of fics!

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101315Chapter: 1
I love this! Anne is such a wonderful character, and telling the story in first person from her POV is an interesting, enjoyable change. Her references to the romantic side of their relationship are sweet, and feel so IC. A great line -

>>"It was nothing." I picked up my bag and stood on tiptoe to kiss him on the cheek. The fact that I sort of missed has no bearing on this story and five minutes later is an excellent time to return to it.

Very nice use of Shakespeare in the story. It's a pleasure to see someone from the wizarding world read a famous author and have difficulty understanding it - it's exactly what you'd expect in a world where the people have trouble with the concept of matches, but it never happens in fanfiction. And Theo's reaction to Shakespeare is excellent - describing why Henry V shouldn't invade France and all. So funny!

>>Not that he's ever lost his liking for Shakespeare. When Nicola was visiting a few days ago, she threatened to find the person who'd introduced him to it and stab them. (Theo was feeling eccentric that day and answered everything she said to him with a quote. I would have owned up except I was laughing too hard.)

I'm a little confused by this line. Is this supposed to be Anne speaking as an adult, when she and Theo are married, and a grown-up Nicola is visiting. ? If so, the chronology of the story is currently unclear, because the story's first paragraph is in present tense - "I go out with him" - and is clearly set during their time at school.

Please don't apologize for the fluffiness. You touch on the war in the story, so it's not total fluff, and even in times of trouble, people fall in love and discuss art and literature. It's nice to see a story that tells that side of things too.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101314Chapter: 1
I love this! Anne is such a wonderful character, and telling the story in first person from her POV is an interesting, enjoyable change. Her references to the romantic side of their relationship are sweet, and feel so IC. A great line -

>>"It was nothing." I picked up my bag and stood on tiptoe to kiss him on the cheek. The fact that I sort of missed has no bearing on this story and five minutes later is an excellent time to return to it.

Very nice use of Shakespeare in the story. It's a pleasure to see someone from the wizarding world read a famous author and have difficulty understanding it - it's exactly what you'd expect in a world where the people have trouble with the concept of matches, but it never happens in fanfiction. And Theo's reaction to Shakespeare is excellent - describing why Henry V shouldn't invade France and all. So funny!

>>Not that he's ever lost his liking for Shakespeare. When Nicola was visiting a few days ago, she threatened to find the person who'd introduced him to it and stab them. (Theo was feeling eccentric that day and answered everything she said to him with a quote. I would have owned up except I was laughing too hard.)

I'm a little confused by this line. Is this supposed to be Anne speaking as an adult, when she and Theo are married, and a grown-up Nicola is visiting. ? If so, the chronology of the story is currently unclear, because the story's first paragraph is in present tense - "I go out with him" - and is clearly set during their time at school.

Please don't apologize for the fluffiness. You touch on the war in the story, so it's not total fluff, and even in times of trouble, people fall in love and discuss art and literature. It's nice to see a story that tells that side of things too.

Reviewer: BookQueen604Date: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101305Chapter: 1
Great work! I love your Anne/Theo series. In this one you did an excellent job of showing how Muggle culture influences wizards, whether they know it or not. The ending was especially funny: "When Nicola was visiting a few days ago, she threatened to find the person who'd introduced him to it and stab them."
I had to laugh at that, but you made me wonder-why would Nicola be visiting Theo and Anne, and where? Is Anne writing this years after the fact?
Anyway, I like your portrayal of Nott. Have you read St. Margaret's "Red is the Heart"? It has a good Theo too, and he eventually ends up having to bunk with the Gryffindors for his own safety. I can picture this happening with your Theo as well, since he doesn't seem to realize that even if he leaves his family when he turns 17, he still has to deal with his dorm- and housemates.
Got a bit long-winded there. Sorry. I hope JKR's Theodore turns out like yours! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101300Chapter: 1
This is great. Infact i want to write fanfiction of the fan fiction :) Please update soon. btw i read somewhere HP related that Shakesphere was actually a wizard, but i'm not sure if that is cannon or just from another fanfic. Well done!

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101299Chapter: 1
I adore Anne. I adore Theo. I adore fluff. So it must be natural for me to enjoy Anne/Theo fluff. And this wasn't that ultra-sugary sweet fluff that can make you ill. This is the perfect fluff. It's sweet and has enough of a plot and, well, I love it. A lot.

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101262Chapter: 1
I hope this wasn't a slip up:
"When Nicola was visiting a few days ago, she threatened to find the person who'd introduced him to it and stab them."

Does this mean that they both survive the War?

Oh, please, please, please. I'm so very enchanted with Anne and Theo.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101249Chapter: 1
I loved it. I love that it was told in first person. I think it really added to the story--it was much more personal than the other stories--by having Anne give her thoughts. And I really like fluffy!Theo.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101219Chapter: 1
Loved this! Theo and Shakespeare do fit perfectly...very amusing. Especially Anne's remarks about her and Theo being together.

*hugs story* As usual, I loff your work. And I've been using that ridiculous word far to often lately.

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101205Chapter: 1
Very cute.

Reviewer: Ashtur an'VanganDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101177Chapter: 1
I love the byplay between the two of them, it just fits so well. The entire story arc is one of the best I've seen,and this story easily makes up for the slight annoyance in the formatting issues. Bravo!

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101170Chapter: 1
Why is it that seeing your name on the updates list puts a smile on my face only surpassed by a very large chocolate brownie sundae? Don't worry, that's rhetorical :) Seriously, fantastic ficlet, and a nice refreshing little twist on the style - I like being on a more personal and humorous level with Anne. Oh, and I'm very glad they're finding time for a little... ahem... snogging session every once in a while ;) Looking forward to the next one...
Fluffy_Rose xxx
P.S. Oh, and the Terry Pratchett comment? TOTALLY hearing you! :)

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101166Chapter: 1
I have to say that I love everything about this entire story arc. You write Anne and Theo so well that I keep forgetting they aren't canon- I certainly hope that Theo turns out to be JKR's "good Slytherin" because it will be very hard for me to reconcile any change in his personality thanks to you. ;o)

I liked this story for another reason- I have seen Shakespeare mentioned in fanfic before, usually with the tossed-off "reason" that he was really a Wizard. I rather like your take on it that genius comes from Muggles as well as Wizards.

Once again, a delight, and I hope to see more soon.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101165Chapter: 1
what a great update i do hope you write more i am totally loving this couple and the way you write =)

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101164Chapter: 1
A switch to first person. Boy, that was unexpected. Not that I can sy anything as all my stuff is FP. Anyway, I'm a confirmed fan of the Distrctions series and it always makes me grin to see an Elysha link on the Latest Fics list.

Undoubtedly fluff, but good fluff. And it's nice to see a bit of Slytheriness rub off on Anne - the girl could use it. The only criticism is that it strikes me as a bit odd that Theo is quite so clueless about Muggle culture, given his knowledge of music. But it is central to the plot so I suppose I'll have to let it slide. I suppose that ort of interest would be somewhat frowned up in hi house. :-)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --