The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Desk Duty
Review(s): 70

Reviewer: Matera the MadDate: 2008-06-14
Reviewid: 150912Chapter: 1
Aurghhh -- that was great!

Reviewer: IzzieDate: 2007-08-30
Reviewid: 149100Chapter: 1
Madam Pince should be idolized after this! She is delightfully protective of the students and her library, and even though we rarely see her in the Harry Potter series, the character you've created for her is just as it should be! Brilliant.

Reviewer: rainingpaperliliesDate: 2007-08-18
Reviewid: 148909Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I loved the inclusion of the twins and how, even though we only ever see a few lines regarding Madame Pince, you've crafted a full character out of it. Pure awesomeness.

Reviewer: khehaDate: 2006-07-05
Reviewid: 143972Chapter: 1
Ha! Here via the Multifaceted nominee list -- I thought I knew where this was going halfway through, but the ending really did catch me by surprise! Oh, Umbridge.

I thought the characterization of Irma was great, from the way she's interacting with the students (so canon) to the way she's so very passive-aggressively refusing to work with Umbridge either.

Reviewer: venivincereDate: 2006-06-11
Reviewid: 143364Chapter: 1
Subtle and delicious. Irma Pince is my new hero. :-D Lovely work!

Reviewer: Cordelia VDate: 2006-06-11
Reviewid: 143354Chapter: 1
Hi. I thought you'd like to know that I posted a review of your story at my livejournal site, at: http://regan-v.livejournal.com/30556.html

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-29
Reviewid: 141426Chapter: 1
So Short yet sooooo Goood. Bless you.

Reviewer: Tara HawksthorneDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139668Chapter: 1
Whee! Just reread this for the (quickly counts on fingers) fifth -- no, tenth time -- and I still love it! You've got the Weasley Twins pegged (completely in-canon) and the line about Irma's voice dripping icicles as well as the line about the smiles women give each other to show how much they hate each other are pure genius. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Post-scriptum: I'm in a Principles of Cataloguing and Classification class this semester, and I'd hex for that card catalogue enchantment! Brava! Author, author! (Applauds wildly)

Reviewer: KresselDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136434Chapter: 1
LOL! Especially the twins' reaction!

Reviewer: WaywrenDate: 2005-11-25
Reviewid: 136270Chapter: 1
Irma! MARRY ME! *faints with joy*

Seriously. I adore you.

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135656Chapter: 1
Okay, so after I read Starved (a few minutes ago) I had to read some more by you. I picked this because I'd never read anything about Madam Pince, and it seemed interesting. I was not disappointed. I love your portrayal of her. You show her total dedication to the library, but you give her another, kind of spunky side that I loved. You made me believe that she would be willing to destroy library records to stop Umbridge. Fred and George were great here, right on. And Umbridge would TOTALLY burn books.

Reviewer: DanaDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132557Chapter: 1
Very nice. It is good to see Madam Pince fleshed out a bit.

Reviewer: sidneyDate: 2005-08-26
Reviewid: 130938Chapter: 1
That was simply beautiful. Beautiful in its simplicity, not simple in its beauty.

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130766Chapter: 1
LOL! Delightful dialogue from Madam Pince =). As a school librarian, I can totally relate to this.

Very hilarious. Great job!

~ DS.

Reviewer: AnnaDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130547Chapter: 1
Just reread this story for the tenth time. I keep finding new details with each reading. I love the way Gred and Forge fall down and want "to grovel at [her] feet"!! And when I *do* manage to get my degree and start working in a library, I bet I'll wish more than once for that card catalogue charm!

To bring this review (somewhat and rather reluctantly, I might add) back to siriu--er, seriousness, I love the way you deal with censorship and records interference. You touch on some of the ethical issues perfectly: "Umbridge was, as she said, the High Inquisitor. And in her . . . Inquisiting, she certainly could use those student records. Indeed, by Ministry decree, she had a perfect right to those records, and any other bit of information she decided she needed. . .Madam Pince knew what she had to do. She didn’t like it, but she knew it." And you sum everything up perfectly in this line: "Quite frankly, it was none of that irritating little toad Umbridge's *business* who read what."

Congratulations again on -- hang on, something just came up... *Jinxes for the Jinxed*, you disgorge that Hufflepuff *right now* or I'm donating you to a Muggle's doctor office--for *children*!

Reviewer: AnnaDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130544Chapter: 1
Mosylu, you've never been a librarian in a past life, have you? You're not presently training to be a librarian, are you? Because this sounds EXACTLY like the type of piece a librarian would write and believe me I mean that as a compliment. I've got about two years of Library Science grad school classes under my proverbial belt and this story reaffirms my decision to finish the program and receive my MLS (Master of Library Science, although I'm thinking of forc--er, persuading people to say Mistress or Dominatrix instead) degree. I love the way you've taken a woefully under-represented character and fleshed her out, painted her as human rather than as a black-and-white Evil Stereotypical Glasses-Wearing "Shh!" Saying Librarian. Yay Madam Pince! I love the way you have her confront and deal with that toad of a -- er, anyway -- with Dumbridge (yes, I said Dumbridge because anyone who'd burn books is more than a few quills short of a writing set) and the way you show her thoughts. I love love LOVE the mention of the card catalogue -- I'm one of those weird people who remember when they actually used to be printed instead of electronic (although I realize that in this story it couldn't possibly be electronic anyway, cause...Hogwarts). Anyway. I love all the little in-jokes about the library process ("Do you want to be weeded?" and "You know what that means...Storage" never fail to crack me up no end) and Madam Pince's reply to Dumbridge about needing information will probably become one of my catchphrases.

*"This is a library," Madam Pince said. "I should say you've come to the right place."*

Ha!

Congratulations on a wonderfully developed and executed glimpse into the life of everyone's favorite Hogswarts librarian.

Reviewer: QDate: 2005-08-21
Reviewid: 130487Chapter: 1
Oh, what makes you so sure she didn't burn any books? Perfect Irma Pince right here. Lovely.

Reviewer: LeanneDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128836Chapter: 1
That was a funny story! I really enjoyed how you stuck the Weasley twins in there. It was a very nice (missing) moment that I hope many people read!

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128768Chapter: 1
I loved this story!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128102Chapter: 1
[Each card was enchanted to change colors depending on whether the book it corresponded to was checked out, taken off the shelf but still in the library, or on the shelf.]

Very clever idea. I bet some of the librarians here would love that charm!

[enchanting the new copy of Potions for Everyday Use to snap forcefully shut if opened when it was overdue] *snert* Madam Pince sounds delightfully snarky.

["Feel a bit ill, do we?"
"Yes, ma’am."
"If you vomit in here you shall never step foot in my library again." She jerked her head. "Out."]

Hahahaha!!! Too funny! I love how Pince seems like she's going to be nice, and then not.

[The two women gave each other sweet smiles, the way women do when they want other women to know how much they hate them.]

A very perfect, very true line.

OMG! This was absolutely awesome! I love reading about minor characters and you really brought Pince to life. She wasn't cuddly, but she was funny and brave and her love of books and her strong sense of right was amazing. I loved the bit at the end with the Weasley twins being impressed by her. Fabulous fic, I really enjoyed it!

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124036Chapter: 1
A wonderful story about a character who isn't written about nearly enough. Great job.

Reviewer: KaesydianDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123260Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I love how Madam Pince was portrayed here. As a former library aid (and someone who may still go on to become an actual librarian someday) I can tell you that almost any librarian would do the same. I think that there are few people more possessive and protective of books and records than someone who works with them everyday.

Reviewer: clumsy maniacDate: 2005-05-13
Reviewid: 122016Chapter: 1
Oooh. That Madam Pince? I think I've fallen in love.

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121935Chapter: 1
LOL! SOO CUTE!!!

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121538Chapter: 1
This story was MARVELOUS! I love how you've shown us both the workings of the library, and the sour and dry humored side of Mme Pince.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120668Chapter: 1
I just wanted to say that I totally loved this story. I'm an MLIS student, about to graduate, actually, and will soon become my own Madame Pince. You've done an excellent job with this. I can tell you certainly know your way around a library.

Reviewer: anonDate: 2004-12-22
Reviewid: 108287Chapter: 1
Genius, darling. It's so refreshing to read original stories like this one, with wonderful characters that take us deeper into JK's world. Thank you!

Reviewer: Pam McLaughlinDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105469Chapter: 1
Bravo! I'm a librarian by profession, and I loved this story! (and, in case you are interested, our library's computerized catalog system wipes out all traces of who checked out what once the item is returned)
From a story point of view, neither too long or too short, but just right. (so much fanfict just natters on and on)

Keep up the good work

Reviewer: Ditsy BlondeDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105061Chapter: 1
Wow! This is so good!
Ditsy Blonde

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102317Chapter: 1
I already reviewed this on FF.net(under This Parrot has ceased to be), and I just thought I'd let you know again how great this story is. I especially: "Feel a bit ill, do we?"

"Yes, ma’am."

"If you vomit in here you shall never step foot in my library again." She jerked her head. "Out."
Very funny.

Reviewer: shiningstarDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102269Chapter: 1
Being a librarian myself, I have to say this story made me laugh so hard. Great job!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101871Chapter: 1
Oh I love this! Always adore your ficlets, m'dear, but this one's got a punch that will probably hit every reader. I know I felt it. Books. Abused! Dear heavens...

Looking forward to the next one! *hugs*

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101613Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful little story. I love how you've written Madam Pince - she's ever-so canon, with a great backbone (that I think we've seen there as well). It's also a very well-written story technically; you have a nice writing style and it was paced very well. Great job!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101418Chapter: 1
"Do you want to be weeded?"

"And as for you," she said to the grimoire. "I fed you just this morning. If this keeps up, there’ll be no room on the shelf for you. And you know what that means."

It hunched its covers.

"Storage."

LOL!! *chokes on coffee* I saw this on the Review Thread, and thought i'd check it out. (No Librarian Pun intended, really!) I love this fic!!

I've always been a bit cranky that JKR insists on the stereotypical old/mean/fussy/ librarian, but your piece really shows the professional behind the image. It is so in character for Umbridge to nose around the records and impose her own nasty censorship on the collection.

Bravo, and I love that the Weasley Twins fall down in worship. As well they should. ;o)

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101402Chapter: 1
Great fun, and a wonderful read. "The Invisible Book of Invisibility" - LOL. And the twins were perfect - absolutely canon.

Ah, those little acts of subtle passive resistance! Never, ever under-estimate a librarian ...

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101401Chapter: 1
just asusume! wonderful... soooo lifeling aned reliclic... and claver

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101373Chapter: 1
Very, very good. I have a new respect for Madam Pince.

Reviewer: Jen_SnufflesDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101353Chapter: 1
I just wanted to say that I have read many of your stories and have loved all of them. Your stories make me cry, laugh, and think. While all of us are waiting for JK Rowling's next book, your stories are a very good substitute, keep up the good work!

Reviewer: fantasylover12001Date: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101338Chapter: 1
Hah! Go Madam Pince! I can see Umbridge burning books, now that you mention it. Nice story, love the cameos by the Weasley twins.

Reviewer: AllemandeDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101320Chapter: 1
Delightful! The style is extremely consistent, and your characterization is spot-on - not that we really know Madam Pince from canon, of course, but I imagine her just like this. And the Weasley twins were, well, *exactly* like I know them from canon.

I think what I like best about this is the beginning - the first two lines.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101316Chapter: 1
Wow, that was excellent! You've actually made Madame Pince sympathetic, which is quite a feat, and the student-eating grimoire was hilarious.

And Umbridge ... Grrr. Spot on.

Reviewer: BookQueen604Date: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101301Chapter: 1
This was brilliant! I love the way you kept Pince in character but still made her funny. And the alliance with the Weasley twins at the end was perfect. It would be even better to have a sequel showing Umbridge's reaction when she can't burn the books (hint, hint).
Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101296Chapter: 1
*peals of laughter*

What a revelation! MAdam Pince as we've never seen her. Your Umbridge is spot-on and I can just hear Pince clucking her tongue. Your dialogue is concise and well-characterized.

Excellently done.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101285Chapter: 1
Yeah! Go Irma! I loved the reflections on the Weasley twins

""Did you want something?" she asked suspiciously.

But their faces were awed. "To grovel at your feet, ma’am," said the one on the left."
Wonderful characterization- I love the twins. And a flawleaa characterisation of Madam Pince and Umbridge too.
"The two women gave each other sweet smiles, the way women do when they want other women to know how much they hate them."
*sniggers*- I've done that. Wise and very funny, just like a ll your stories, thank you.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101282Chapter: 1
This is an amazing story! Not only is Umbridge sickeningly in character, you've shown us a whole new side of Madam Pince that is in keeping with her "book-obsessed librarian" image from canon, yet shows us that she does have a human, caring side. I don't know any librarians personally, but when I was a child, I loved going to the library, and since my family wasn't well-off there were many books I wouldn't have read as a child if not for the library. I think Umbridge would certainly have had it in her to burn books. Whatever your politics are, I think this really makes you stop and think about contemporary issues.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101271Chapter: 1
I loved this story, especially the end. It reminded me of one bit I liked about The Day After Tomorrow -- the librarians

Reviewer: AmeliaDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101267Chapter: 1
This was really great. Aside from that fact that, as everyone else has said, Umbridge definitely would be the type to burn books, the characters were wonderfully written. You really led insight to Madam Pince's character.
Really, it reminded me of the new view of McGonagall in OotP when we saw her going up against Umbridge. Something about that woman really makes people bring out their coolness factors, eh?

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101261Chapter: 1
lovely-madam librarian as we've never seen her before-pls keep writing

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101258Chapter: 1
This is just WAY too cool, and very fitting for the "Read a Banned Book" (Month? Week? Day?) campaign that was advertised (among other places) at The Leaky Cauldron.

I know Umbridge would've burned books too! You a librarian yourself?

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101240Chapter: 1
Brillant! Although I really had it in my mind that Madam Pince was going to indeed give her the files...ALL the files, for the entire thousand years, and just bury her with them!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101224Chapter: 1
Yes! You've given character and spirit to Madame Pince! This was a very entertaining read.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: anonymousDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101223Chapter: 1
Awesome story... a very quaint language, but with a chill creeping up your spine that can't be ignored... I've just finished reading Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, so this story was very ... unnerving. In a good sort of way, of course. Umbridge is one of those people who is very much in for removing 'controversial' literature off the library shelves... (Look what she did to the Quibbler!)

Reviewer: Riah-chanDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101212Chapter: 1
Ooooohhhh~! That was an awesome story. Very impressed.

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101207Chapter: 1
Oh. OH! Umbridge trying to get library records; burning books... oh, man. This story and your Madame Pince are BRILLIANT! And you're right, she would have.

Reviewer: PokeyDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101204Chapter: 1
This is great, I love how you wrote it, but kept it simple as well. Very entertaining. The twins were the cherry on the sunday, awesome job.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101194Chapter: 1
Very good! I felt bad for the Ravenclaw. And yes, I think Umbridge is the type to censor - though not everyone who censors *is* like Umbridge. I'm against book censorship, but I think some people have good intentions. Still, there are other people, like Umbridge...

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101186Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I agree with you that Umbridge absolutely would've burned books (she probably did and we just don't know about it).

Madame Pince is awesome - she's totally believable and I found myself wanting to stand up and cheer for her by the end of the story.

I also found this piece oddly resonant of current times with the provisions of the US Patriot Act that allow law enforcement to monitor the reading habits of library and book store patrons. It's scary to think of the measures some people in authority will take to keep us "safe."

Anyway, politics aside, this was a delightful read and I think you did a great job!

Reviewer: WindscionDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101185Chapter: 1
Very nice, original premise, reasonable characterization.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101183Chapter: 1
Hurrah, Irma!!! HURRAH!!!

I love that woman! And I agree with her: Umbridge is the book burning type!

I love the fact that the twins were there to witness her bravery! I also like the way that she simpers back to Umbridge in Umbridge's style.

Altogether a very clever piece!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101182Chapter: 1
Is this in honor of banned book week and all of those books that have been burned? (growl)

Loved it. Loved it loved it loved it. Only Umbridge could bring out this side of Madam Pince.

" The two women gave each other sweet smiles, the way women do when they want other women to know how much they hate them."

Best quote ever!

-PQ

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101176Chapter: 1
That was simply marvelous! Pince was perfect, your descriptions of her library is just. . . perfect. Great job building her character more, and the additions of the Invisible Book of Invisibility, as well as the Ravenclaw eating tome were just inspired. Very nice tension between Umbridge and Pince, and the climax? LOL. Fantastic. Absolutely fantastic.

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101163Chapter: 1
That was terrific. It was original, everyone was perfectly in character, nothing happened that would have seemed out of place in the books, and it was FUNNY.

Reviewer: Etc.Date: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101162Chapter: 1
This is brilliant! The characterization of the Weasley tiwns and Umbridge was superb, and the incident was very realistic. Also, I think you know a librarian. All my librarian friends would probably do the same thing, were they in that situation. Please write more. Your stories always make my day.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101154Chapter: 1
Oh, this is just priceless! We had to read it twice - Bravissimo!!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101153Chapter: 1
Bravo! Bravo! A librarian must always know how to protect her patrons! You've brought a tear to this librarian's eye. You've also brought up a very relevant topic, what with the new laws that are going into effect where records (including library records) may be up for any to review...I shudder to think of it.

But, for now, I'd just like to say: Thank you. :)

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101150Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this more than I can tell you. Madam Umbridge is so much in character, it's scary. Yes, she would burn books, given the opportunity. Didn't she proclaim in class that previous DADA textbooks were dangerous? And I thoroughly enjoyed the insight into Irma Pince - you did a great job there, too! All those little episodes with students are priceless. And more importantly, you managed to keep the pace of the story, without getting bogged down into any sideline incidents (as many authors are tempted to do). Beautiful.

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101146Chapter: 1
Great story! Love the characterizations. Our local library has been dealing with privacy issues regarding internet use, so this fic is very topical to me. Good job!

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101145Chapter: 1
Great fun! I enjoyed the descriptions of Mdm. Pince going about doing what librarians do when they putter about the library.

"Storage."

Reviewer: RitsikaDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101144Chapter: 1
Ha! What a wonderful little ficlet! I love the Weasley twins: "To grovel at your feet, ma'am." Madam Pince and Umbridge are both perfectly in character. A siriusly original idea, and extremely well written.

Reviewer: DragonladyDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101143Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I was laughing the whole time. Who knew that Pince had it in her? Thanks for brightening up my morning.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --