The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Everyday Hero
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121224Chapter: 1
This was amazing. I got all teary toward the end (not sad teary but proud teary). Good job!

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113150Chapter: 1
Good, yes - Is there a Patil story coming?

Reviewer: mandydnamDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102351Chapter: 1
HURRAH!!!! It's up! you wrote it!! it's going to be a parvarti and harry? or just a parvarti museing...
anyway, it's awesome!! meesa like very much.
cyz
MY

Reviewer: AuroraDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102226Chapter: 1
*applause* Wonderful story, very well written, and of course great song! That song always made me want to write a fic to it, but I don't think I could've done it this well. :) I love that you chose to write from Parvati's Perspective as well, very kewl. :P

Keep it coming!

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102094Chapter: 1
I found this story via the Review Challenge, and I'm so glad I did - it's excellent. You've made such good use of canon, and I really enjoyed getting to know Parvati better (it's the first time I've read anything from her POV - such an interesting idea!). I hope there'll be more where this came from - I look forward to it very much.

Reviewer: BandersnatchDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101769Chapter: 1
Very nice. I would like to see more in this story, but a one-shot is kinda nice at times too. Thanks for writing and posting.

Reviewer: GinDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101711Chapter: 1
Loved it! A nice little insight into a minor character who usually only giggles about boys in fandom. And that last sentence was wonderful, I'm a sucker for great end sentences!

And I love coldplay. Never made the "green eyes" connection though..cool!

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101709Chapter: 1
wow. this story is....excellent. what else can i say? angelina is my fav. sporty gryffindor girl, but when i have to refer to being girly and brave at the same time, i go to....parvati.

Reviewer: SelDearDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101679Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this! You've done a spectacular job of giving an otherwise fairly shallow character in the books some depth and reasoning and thought. Really well done!

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101660Chapter: 1
I like this story. The POV was original, and truthful. And I love the last line, -She had never aspired for a place in the history books, but as she sat in the dirty bar, listening to this extraordinarily ordinary boy, she decided that a footnote somewhere might be kind of nice.-

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101656Chapter: 1
This was a really great story. The last sentence was clever and sounded a lot like Parvati. Also, the sentence about her liking kittens and sparkles and pretty things was a perfect description of her.

Reviewer: jenDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101646Chapter: 1
i really liked it, i thought that it was sweet and to the point in a round-about kind of way... you should make a series of this, maybe one of seamus, luna and so forth, i think it would be very interesting.
ps. i thought you drew the reader in very well:)
keep up the good work!!
~jenxox

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101624Chapter: 1
Oh I liked this! I liked Pravati's "simple" point of view and the way your writing conveyed it. You wove pieces of canon in deftly - like the rubber chicken and the "French dates." LoL.

I especially love the last paragraph about the warrior caste and how Parvati fits into that world and the Gryffindor world. The last line was perfect for this often over-looked minor character!

Thanks for the Harry love!

Reviewer: HaydenDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101622Chapter: 1
Wow, I've never read a story from someone else's POV that was so good! I loved this part:

"She had never aspired for a place in the history books, but as she sat in the dirty bar, listening to this extraordinarily ordinary boy, she decided that a footnote somewhere might be kind of nice."

It's a wonderful story, and I loved how you subtly added JK Rowling's description of Harry and the things he did (like smooth out his hair over his scar). It's awesome, you did such a great job!

Reviewer: SaeasDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101615Chapter: 1
This was a very well written piece, I liked it a lot. The last line is fantastic!

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101598Chapter: 1
Realictic, belvieale- todlty in catoer - and yet some how a side of Pravaidi we never see Ill have to think twoce before thinking of her as shalow now....

Reviewer: frank secadaDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101588Chapter: 1
Very nice. very nice. Parvati feels true to canon here, and more. I liked the way her courage was blended into what she considered her own ordinary qualities, almost unknowingly, the same way Harry's "heroicness" blended in with his own "ordinary boy" qualities.

As a small vignette, this story was very warm, with rich feeling. I liked it a lot.

Reviewer: CalliopeDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101561Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed that. When I saw the summary I was thinking, "Parvati? Seriously?" But when I finished I actually said out loud (quietly, of course) "That was awesome." Very good, especially for something so short.

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101555Chapter: 1
Great job! What an interesting point of view. The last line is amazing. :o)

Reviewer: jenadamsonDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101536Chapter: 1
Great insight into Parvati. Just the right mix of womanly strength and frivolous girliness to be believable of any fifteen year old, and most definitely Parvati. Good job.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101533Chapter: 1
What a nice piece this is. A fresh perspective with some added extras. You've drawn a very believable Parvati, describing a very believable Harry. Her thoughts and reactions are pleasingly realistic, both in her assesment of Harry and of herself. I do like the family background you have created for her. Your writing style suits your take on the character, and made for a really pleasant read. I hope we hear more from you and your Parvati.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101523Chapter: 1
Bravo!

Oh, that was exceptional! A wonderful look at Harry through the eyes of a character that we normally don't get to hear much from. You've given Parvati a lovely depth in this piece.

Very enjoyable!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101522Chapter: 1
Interesting insight into the mind of an often overlooked character.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101521Chapter: 1
I like it. It's nice to get another perspective on Harry and how Parvati might see him. I also like that she is a Kshatriya!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101503Chapter: 1
Nice! I love this...especially this:

"Parvati liked to think of herself as a fairly simple girl.  She liked kittens and sparkles and pretty things."

I like how you emphasize that she isn't shallow, and that last line made me laugh.

-PQ

Reviewer: WindscionDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101501Chapter: 1
"Still, she supposed, at least she’d gotten a few dates out of it. French dates, no less."
(snort) I guess thats a good way of looking at it!

"He wasn’t much of a liar outside of Divination" -- perfect!

I really like this characterization of Parvati.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --