The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Cold Feet
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Angel of MusicDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116176Chapter: 1
This is really nice. I enjoyed the ending where she slips in that womans... no, Narcissa's dicission making quirk. It's very much the way it could have happened. Isn't that the way we see it though. Bending and sometiems breaking for a lover? How many times do women give up things, big things for selfish men? And then never consider their answeres to the questions that matter most to us? Why don't we ever ask them? Do we really belive it when we think they would comply the same way to decisions of death, giving up things? No. And Visa Versa. Guys too.

Good Job Peppa_Minto.

O.G.

Reviewer: MrBenDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 103989Chapter: 1
I have trouble relating to the character because some of her thoughts are a bit illogical, but certainly powerful in their blind faith in submission. Her lost innocence is certainly a self-fulfilling prophesy if she's going to give up who she is to whatever power snares her, be it Voldemort, Lucius or just the need to be commanded.

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102347Chapter: 1
That was really good; I like your portrayal of Narcissa

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102297Chapter: 1
Wow. This is possibly the best Narcissa I've ever read--so realistic and so cool. I espeically love this line: "Maybe all Blacks are destined to lose innocence." Simply amazing--well done!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102236Chapter: 1
This is a very good little fic. An interesting look into Narcissa's thoughts, all the things and hopes she's given up.

Any ideas for her thoughts after Book V? (hint, hint)

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102164Chapter: 1
I am so happy to see this posted at the Quill! I remember reading this excellent piece on ff.net and am glad you've made it over here.

The POV you've chosen for this piece is exceptionally striking, as are the words goign through Narcissa's mind before her wedding. I can easily picture her thinking all this as she walks down the aisle towards her destiny.

Very well done!

Reviewer: AliDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101989Chapter: 1
WOW! Thats fabulous my dear. its Ali from Hoggywarts just so you know

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101982Chapter: 1
That was really good- I liked how you old it in the second person perspective, there was something very probing, very ruthless about it. I especially liked the part about Lucius telling her how to hold her chin, to pull back her hair. About the issues of innocence and Bellatrix hating her- very human, very sad- as a new perspective on a character, I love it.

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101931Chapter: 1
Congratulations - this is beautifully written. I love Black sisters stories, and I find your Narcissa very believable. I'd have enjoyed a mention of Andromeda, but it would make sense for her never to be spoken of after marrying a Muggle-born.

Looking forward to more from you!

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101885Chapter: 1
*thumbs up* Yay! Great story. I'd actually read this on FF I think. You write really well!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101838Chapter: 1
Nice tone, but one small nit -- What about Andromeda (Tonks's Mum)? Narcissa had TWO sisters, not just Bellatrix.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101830Chapter: 1
damn. that was cool. i especially liked this part ,
"maybe all Blacks are destined to lose innocence". its really cool. thats the only word i can conjure up right now.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101829Chapter: 1
It's hard to pull off second person well, but you've definitely managed it! I like this glimpse into Narcissa's character.

-PQ

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101795Chapter: 1
Peppa_minto! Wow, this was really interesting and well written. I think Narcissa is such an interesting character and I really wish I knew more about her. Thanks for your perspective and insights.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101787Chapter: 1
I've never really thought of Narcissa as anything but towing the Death Eater party line, but this...this made me think.

>>"Your innocence remains, and you're about to let it go for him."<< That's a very chilling thought. Congrats on being accepted!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101782Chapter: 1
This is really well-written. You've done a really good job of bringing the reader inside Narcissa's head and showing us all the complex emotions going through her mind.

>>It hurt, and it was hard, but you bent a little for him, and now it's just one more thing you're going to regret.<<

This is a great line. And the ending is really impactful. Nicely done! I look forward to more stories from you in the future!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101777Chapter: 1
I like this. Definitely an interesting look at what Narcissa would be thinking when she gets married, and how she's not getting a good deal in marrying Lucius. Tragic, really, that she doesn't stand up for herself very well. Same with her reflections on Bellatrix, and how she did not exist as a child.

Congratulations on being accepted!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --