The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Practicing
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116618Chapter: 1
Cute

Reviewer: HekateDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107443Chapter: 1
Great story. I loved the voice you gave to Ginny. It's very realistic and believable. Ginny has never been one of my favorite characters, but I really enjoyed your portrayal of her in this piece. Can't wait to read more from you!

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102213Chapter: 1
Cute and intruiging :) Nice job.

Reviewer: TsuniDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102165Chapter: 1
I was just clicking through randomly to find something new to read and found this story. It's such a lovely well written piece and shows where Ginny's character in OotP came from!

Good work!

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102075Chapter: 1
What a great take on Ginny! I could see both that she is brave and adventuresome and that others (Molly, Percy) might not notice it about her. It makes it very believable that later, at Hogwarts, she would turn out to be as brave as she is.

I liked the way you show the other Weasley kids to have unique personalities, and always from Ginny's point of view -- so Percy is the one Ginny likes to have look after her because his head is always in a book, Charlie is the one who inspired her to want to play Quiddich, etc.

This may just be me, but I didn't realize that she didn't grab the broom when you said "she reached out her hand for the broom....and she was in the air." When I went back and read it again, I saw that you never said she grabbed the broom, but on the first time around I thought it was just one of those things like saying, "He went to the restaurant and ordered a hamburger. After lunch he went back to the office." I assumed Ginny grabbed the broom the way I would assume the guy in the quote ate the hamburger. (Does that make sense? Please ignore me if it doesn't make sense.)

Oh, and Percy was great -- I can just picture him checking on Ginny exactly every hour on the hour.

Thanks for the story.

Kit

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 102000Chapter: 1
Awesome! I loved it!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101976Chapter: 1
Wondeful! Just how I imagine the young Ginny- you really are good at creating a child's voice- just the faintest hint of sulkiness, coupled with enthusiasm for lawbreaking. Very very well written, well done!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101955Chapter: 1
A lovely little one-shot - we love that Ginny is full of innocence and wonder and spunk here. She rings very true. Well-writ, indeed!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101953Chapter: 1
I like this! A bit short, but a very enjoyable read. Just the idea of Ginny breaking into the broom shed and going flying by herself has always intrigued me, and I like seeing your portrayal of it here. Nicely done.

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101933Chapter: 1
Yes, just magic. Like this little gem. :D

Nice take on a throwaway line, well fleshed out.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101891Chapter: 1
Wow, that's a pretty powerful piece of magic you had Ginny perform - right up there with Harry Apparating on the roof when he was chased by Dudley's gang. I liked it - welcome to the SQ.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101834Chapter: 1
What a nice little one-shot! I love it when an author takes a single sentence and runs with it. Well done!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101831Chapter: 1
This story is perfect. This is exactly how Ginny would act...the last lines were great. =) Magnificent job, keep writing!

-PQ

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101806Chapter: 1
cool. Well done

Reviewer: juliaDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101783Chapter: 1
Hey, really good job. I like how Ginny just sort of ....floated up to her window, and poor Molly was none the wiser.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --