The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Owls In the Night
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114345Chapter: 1
Different & Interesting. The childrens ages seem off though.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113568Chapter: 1
I really liked some of the Weasley moments.
“Hey! Be careful! My glasses!” Percy shrieked.
"Even almost-four year old Percy had snatched up a pillow and joined in the fracas, although he was careful not to hit any of his brothers very hard."

I really liked the story of what happened to the letters that were sent to the Weasleys instead of the Fawcetts.
(Had to review this after you making my day on the Appreciation thread.)

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109395Chapter: 1
You little... I nearly... I nearly FAINTED! I'm entirely irrational, I know, but I thought Ron was dead! I don't often read long fanfics, but I have to, just 'cos you're being so mysterious about it.

Reviewer: kelleyDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108366Chapter: 1
So Ronnie is named after a Ronnie Prewitt on Molly's line? Nice piece. I love seeing the Weasleys as very little boys.

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108191Chapter: 1
quite good, but very confusing
maybe another chapter explaoining everything for us slow pple. lol! but reallly good

Reviewer: Elise WeasleyDate: 2004-12-12
Reviewid: 107625Chapter: 1
Oh, cute, creepy, awww, write the sequel! You had em really worried that little Ronnie really was dead, and then I remembered that Ron was alive and well when he was older, but anyway, this was a great story!

Toodleoo,
EW

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104748Chapter: 1
Unhappily, the sweet and cute Weasley moments don't redeem this fic from being completely mystifying--and distressingly thin on plot for a (supposedly) stand-alone one-shot.

Part of the trouble is that there's nothing in the story to support Arthur and Molly's conclusion that the senders of the mysterious owls knew of "Ronnie's" death before it happened. It would not be strange for those close to the deceased to know of a murder before it's reported in the papers, and a "recent murder" could have happened anytime from last night to last week. If you meant that it had happened the night before it was reported in the Daily Prophet, you might have been less vague about the time frame.

Additionally, the story depends too heavily on a coincidence that just isn't believable--that no fewer than three post owls would deliver their mail to the wrong destination...not to mention the slim likelihood that Death Eaters would be sending assassination orders by owl post at all. Reading the story a second time, I still can't see any reason why three such messages would miscarry, except to cause the young Weasleys a lot of unnecessary angst, and to arouse Arthur's suspicions. (It also seems strange that Arthur never reassures the children that if something had happened to one of their beloved siblings, their mother would never break it to them in such a stark, cruel way.)

Additionally, the coy little postscript--"There's reason in all things...it's there if you look between the lines"--has an unfortunate, patronizing tone that I'm sure you didn't intend. It does rather suggest that those who (like nearly half your readers) *don't* see the explanation betweeen the lines are dense, or not reading carefully enough. I read "Owls in the Night" very carefully indeed, and while you surely know exactly what meaning you intended, you didn't convey enough clues for your readers to deduce it.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104366Chapter: 1
Really, how silly of me...I wrote "Genesse" as my name in my review...sigh! Like Emily, I have a horror of "being ridiculous"!
:-P

Reviewer: CathDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102278Chapter: 1
From one kindred to another...
This was a very good story. I'll have to read it again to make out the 'between the lines' part, but it was really good. My one concern, though, is that you mention Mrs. Weasley walloping her son. I don't think that she'd do that. But that's just me.
Keep up the good work!
~Q

Reviewer: LotusSriDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102210Chapter: 1
Creepy! I'm very intrigued ... is this story going to continue in the "past" or do these events have repercussions in the "current" Harry Potter universe (e.g. post-OOTP)? Please continue!

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102202Chapter: 1
Wow. What a story. There's going to be more chapters, right? Because I really can't 'read between the lines'. Nice story anyway. I like the characterisations of all the Weasleys. I hope to see more chapters soon!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102200Chapter: 1
Dear kindred,
I'm so "proud" that you're finally here!
I don't really need to comment on the story, since I already have, but know that I really like the way it turned out, especially your characterization of the kids. Also, I could actually SEE the whole scene as I read, which means that you did a good job writing!!
:wub: Gufa
P.S. Do beware of italics, though.
:-P

Reviewer: Jolene_xxDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102144Chapter: 1
The characters are really well written. I love that Percy idolised Bill. But I think you're overestimating us and our memory of canon by saying the reason is in the story. I recognise the name Fawcett but I can't remember where from. Please write more (even just a quick explanation) I desperatly need an answer!

Reviewer: Gina PotterDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102132Chapter: 1
I'm enjoying this fic very much. I love the Weasleys and the boys are really sweet.

Reviewer: GrassDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102098Chapter: 1
Wasn't it a Death Eater that killed them, saying that it was a dark mark? The first that came to mind was to scare the younger Weasley's, or to try and tell the Weasley kids that Voldemort exists. Maybe the Death Eater that was going to kill Ronnie Fawcett knew that the Weasley's had a son named "Ronnie" and was "predicting" her death.

Or maybe I'm trying to understand "between the lines" and am saying complete foolishless... who knows.

Reviewer: Frankie B.Date: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102078Chapter: 1
Oy Genesse! You're here! And you used the word Fracas! My life is now complete. :D

You were right, this is a great little story. Wonderful characterization for each of the kids, some bits of humor, and a bit of dark suspense as well. Great combination of all the elements.

I read through this twice and can't find the extra lines-in-between-the-lines. I know the Fawcett's were a family in O.S.C, and that a girl with the name was in the DA. . .Hmmmm. . . You'll have to 'splain yourself, dear.

Great job, even if I can't find the hidden content. I thoroughly enjoyed this great mix of fluff and fear. Great additions show how the war effects (or doesn't effect) the children in the story, and how Arthur and Molly are trying to protect their children from the truth.

Will we get to see more of this?

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102063Chapter: 1
There is always something heightened about descriptions of children against the background of war and death. You established this feeling of dread from the beginning - the reason Molly left in the first place, was to comfort her sister-in-law. Even during the light-hearted bits the use of the word "army" embellished this theme.

I'm not sure about the "between the lines" part. You set the date as Aug. 1st the day after Harry's birth. I hope it isn't some kind of prophecy for Ron because he is Harry's friend. Since it is only two words long and not "Die Ron Die" from OotP, I don't know what to think. Hope you will clear that up soon! An interesting twist to a Weasley story.

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102035Chapter: 1
Good story. You handled the transition from fun Weasley boys antics to the chilling ending very well. Hope there's more, though, because I'm afraid I didn't get the "between the lines" part!

Reviewer: shiningstarDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 102021Chapter: 1
So glad to hear there will be more to the story. It's off to a great start and I can't wait to find out what happens next.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101864Chapter: 1
I'm confused. There's more? Between the lines? I can't find anything between the lines. I just hope that the "default" in the chapter box is wrong and there are actually going to be more chapters.

Apart from that I'm confused, great story. I love the little Weasley boys. Especially two-year-old Fred and George, constantly poking each other, but also Bill, trying to be the responsible eldest ("Charlie! You're making the twins cry!")

Great story. I hope there is more, and if there is, I'm definitely looking forward to it!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101860Chapter: 1
Brava, Genesse! This is such a fun story: we love anything with the Weasley boys. Some of our favorite lines:

<<Percy tended to over swing and, more often than not, ended up the worse for the effort.>> (Of course he would!)

<<“When’s Dad coming home, Mum?” Bill asked.
“When’s Dad coming home, Mum?” Percy asked. Percy idolized Bill, and wanted to do exactly as Bill did. It was becoming tiresome to everyone.
“When’s Dad coming home!” Fred and George shrieked, and then laughed heartily.>> Three perfectly-in-character voices, right there. We never thought of Percy idolizing Bill, but he would, woulnd't he?

<<Mrs. Weasley often said that her boys were like an army treading loudly through the battlegrounds, trumpeting and thundering and announcing their arrival, and that Mr. Weasley was the worst of all.>>
Oh, how right she is!

And the cliffhanger at the end....You said there's more; does that mean you're going to write it? Cheers!

Reviewer: AlishaDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101847Chapter: 1
Genesse! I am so excited to have read this. I'm on pins and needles to find out what happens (I never am able to read the signs that tell me what does). I knew this would be a great fic, but I'm glad that you upheld my expectations.

My favorite part:
"Mrs. Weasley often said that her boys were like an army treading loudly through the battlegrounds, trumpeting and thundering and announcing their arrival"

vs.

"Arthur marched his little army downstairs (it must be said that the army trod quite softly)"

I think the conrast is very well written, and one of my favorite things to read in any literature; the little descriptives that make the story more meaningful.

Thanks for a beautiful story, I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: KimmehDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101824Chapter: 1
....I swear, I got the chills at the end. o.O This was so well written, props to you. n.n

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101821Chapter: 1
I take it this is a multi-part story, not a one shot. Fawcett ... who're the Fawcett's?

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101809Chapter: 1
hello kindred, my i am intriqued! update soon please

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101781Chapter: 1
I'm so glad I posted bail so I could be your first review!! ;) This is a great start, Genesse, and I can't wait to see more. I'm so glad you showed more Weasleys. I always say- the more Weasleys, the better! LOL

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --