The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 50

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2007-03-27
Reviewid: 147610Chapter: 1
I really liked this, even though it's pre-HBP it's still wonderful Weasley family interaction. Loved Bill being all mature and the twins being daft and Arthur and molly reminiscing and embarrassing the children. Harry was his clueless self about ginny (you foreshadowed that beautifully) ... and Ron - I wanted more Ron!

~"You're our last hope for a peaceful life," Ron said, rolling his eyes.

and

~"I thought it was cabbage leaves,"

So cute!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144841Chapter: 1
I love this!!!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-06-01
Reviewid: 143163Chapter: 1
That was beautiful, simply beautiful. Too bad they couldn't have gotten one with Harry in it.

~GW

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132889Chapter: 1
Quite excellent. Thank you very much.

Reviewer: buckbeakbabieDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120958Chapter: 1
Aww. Very sweet. I thought they'd insist on Harry joining the picture, though, since they made such a thing about him forgiving Percy...

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119075Chapter: 1
Wow. I'm pretty emotional today but I think that's very sweet and it brought some tears to my eyes. Very wonderfully written and something I think a lot of us can relate to. I've been reading everything else you've written and you definitely have an amazing talent for writing! I think this does connect A LOT. Made me very happy yet still emotional. lol :)

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118775Chapter: 1
Aw, so sweet! It should've won something.

The only criticism I have is that I would've had the Weasleys insist that Harry be in the picture. Or at least in a second picture, if the first had all the blood Weasleys in it. Just a thought. :-)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107908Chapter: 1
I am so glad I decided to go read some of your work today. I loved this one as much as I did the others. I loved reading about the Weasleys as kids, and the reconciliation with Percy. I'm just kind of disappointed that Harry wasn't in the photo, too, but what the heck, it was his idea and he'll be in a Weasley family photo someday... ;)

Reviewer: Lilian BrownridgeDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103797Chapter: 1
OMG - That was absolutely amazing.

As you said "You even try to describe it. But then you realize you can't." That's how I feel.

Real touching.

Reviewer: chacotaDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103486Chapter: 1
oh my, maybe I should have said it before, but every time I read your story it's just WONDERFUL!
so sweet and so Weasley!^.^, you're great!

Reviewer: chacotaDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103485Chapter: 1
oh my, maybe I should have said it before, but every time I read your story it's just WONDERFUL!
so sweet and so Weasley!^.^, you're great!

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102321Chapter: 1
Awww. That was really sweet. Excellent job.

Reviewer: PiperDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102284Chapter: 1
Hee hee! That stork line had me cracking up! Good job! This was really sweet. It seemed a little rushed in some parts but overall, I really enjoyed it.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102280Chapter: 1
Really sweet story...I really enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: NARDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102231Chapter: 1
I've nearly fallen off my chair at the stork line because of the laughter. Another great story!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102216Chapter: 1
gorgeous!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102121Chapter: 1
Another great fic, St. M! It's good to see Percy return to his family so that all the Weasleys and Harry can be together for Arthur and Molly's 25th.

This wasn't for a SIYE challenge, was it? I see that you mention several cue lines (loved the twins and the big bottom line) but I don't remember seeing any other fics with those lines at SIYE.

This fic still doesn't merit a redlightspecial score of one. (I know how much you're hoping for one!) RLS reserved the one for pure fluff stories. To me, this fic was more about Percy rejoining the family, although you briefly mention both Arthur/Molly as well as H/G.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102085Chapter: 1
She patted his arm. "Someday you'll have your own picture over the mantel."

That was the best line. Wonderful characterization of Harry, always craving the family he never got to have...I loved it..well done..keep it up

Reviewer: FleurDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102054Chapter: 1
This was so cute! I really just wanted something short and sweet to read and I found it in this story. All the characters were wonderful and I especially liked Harry and Ginny's chat at the end.

Thanks!

Reviewer: DragonladyDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102031Chapter: 1
I know that a non-angsty story is good when it leaves me with a warm feeling at the end. And I must say that this did exactly that. Your characterizations of the Weasleys and Harry were wonderful, and I love the way you incorporated the challenge lines. I especially liked how Bill, Charlie, Ginny, and Ron were more accepting of Percy than the twins, but it was the twins who made Percy, in a sense, realize that he had come home. I did spot a few grammatical errors, but I'm well known to be nitpicky. Some favorite parts:

"Yeah," George said, "and she's the best looking of all of us."
"Don't you think so?" Fred asked slyly.
Harry looked at Fred with confusion. "Of course she's the best looking one." He looked around at the knowing smiles. "What?"

That made me smile. I always love it when Harry and Ginny are the only ones who don't know that they aren't in love with each other.

"Well, honestly!" Mrs. Weasley said, blushing rosy red. "How do you think you lot got here?"
"The stork," Charlie replied. "That's my story and I'm sticking to it."

That was my favorite line in the story. That's exactly how Molly would react, and I can just see the Weasley children cringing when forced to think about how they were conceived. *grins*

"I didn't do anything. It was Fred and George who did the forgiving. Besides, I wanted a picture with you in it." Harry wondered who just said that.
"You are tipsy."
"I reckon so."

*happy sigh* So in character, and so wonderful. I love Tipsy!Harry.

And the ending, of coures, was absolutely perfect. Thank you for brightening up my evening.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101993Chapter: 1
I remember reading this on phoenixsong at the time - not sure if I left a review there, so I might as well leave one here. :-) It's a nice piece, full of beautiful little touches and lines (which other reviewers have already cited, so I won't repeat). Perhaps the Ginny/Harry interaction was too much, though. I mean, you integrated it smoothly, but somehow, it pulled the story in two directions - one about family, and one about fluff. In my opinion, it would have been more poignant if it concentrated on only family. I do believe Harry's thoughts of his own family were important to this story, but I would have liked it more if it wasn't Ginny - or not just Ginny - replying to him. Of course, I realize lots of other people feel the exact opposite to me, but I still mention it, b/c you are a good writer and you might like to think about a different perspective on this. I enjoyed this a lot, though, don't take me wrong - I only ever offer constructive criticism on stories that move me strongly enough to make me put in the effort. :-)

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101983Chapter: 1
Ah... You sure you didn't win anything? Well, it was funny, romantic, touching, sometimes sad - I think you did it all except for angst :D.
Excellent. Really.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101969Chapter: 1
"Mr. Weasley cleared his throat a lot, and said things like 'well then.'"

LOL!

Great piece of writing there.

Reviewer: Ford PrefectDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101968Chapter: 1
Very nice little vignette and much more meaningful than teenage angsting. As a 42 year old, I consider teenagers to be a form of alien being that hopefully rejoin the human race sometime in their 20s.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101961Chapter: 1
It just gets sweeter and richer! I love this little piece because it's so true to the over-arching themes. My favorite parts...
The Weasleys as the children of summer - that was just too beautiful and captured them so well.

Everything Mr. and Mrs. Weasley said...'how do you think you lot got here?' etc...I always love hints of Molly/Arthur romance.

And of course Ginny to Harry...'you are your parents tomorrow'.

Reviewer: AlieneDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101941Chapter: 1
Beautiful, very moving and overall excellent work. Loved it :)

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101932Chapter: 1
I don't want to call this "sweet." Too treacly -- that's Harry's favorite dessert, not mine :D

You have such a grasp of language and word-weaving, and it's not just pretty words all in a row. You wrestle with ideas, too, and themes.

"And for them to make Percy laugh was something they had strived for their whole lives." That line just struck me to the heart.

One of the most powerful themes in all your writing is ... healing. Not just forgiving and forgetting, but healing and growing. That's one of the things I enjoy most about your work. Thank you.

Reviewer: SammyDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101928Chapter: 1
that's so very sweet!

Reviewer: lenaDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101913Chapter: 1
the only word I have for this is Perfect.

Reviewer: ValDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101904Chapter: 1
I quite liked this. Arthur's reaction to the surprise was priceless, and the stork comment made by Charlie was hilarious. Oh, and great job giving George the 'bottom' line and then trying to sit on Fred; that was perfect.

Reviewer: SpewingSlugsDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101900Chapter: 1
I'm so glad that you started writing right after you finished "Red Is the Heart" I did not have anything to read! Please keep this up. This one was so cute and flufffy! :)

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101886Chapter: 1
*dies* I just remembered why you are one of my favorite ever fanfic authors. This is brilliant!!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101882Chapter: 1
You shouldn't try putting yourself in a pigeon hole. Let other people do that!

First of all, this is a very cute story. It's rather uneven at the beginning with you fitting all the phrases in - I get the feeling you just wanted to get them over and done with so you could develop the story. It doesn't detract from the story that much, once you start developing everything.

The Weasley interaction was wonderful - especially giving George the line about his bum. And then trying to use said body part to sit on George. Percy laughing at them seemed appropriate - it certainly told him that he was home. Charlie's remark about the stork made me laugh out loud. Harry's remark of how ALL the Weasley boys hated being posed was also funny. Molly and Arthur's interaction was very realistic. ;) The comparison with the photo of Lily and James on their wedding day was thoughtful.

And of course, the Harry/Ginny interaction was lovely.

One of my favourites from you.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101875Chapter: 1
what a great little fic that was very nice =)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101873Chapter: 1
You're right. It is not angsty at all. But if there is a fluff tournament around for you to enter, I think you might win hands down!

I really enjoyed this! I like the idea of There needing an outside force to bring Percy back into the fold! Great work!

Reviewer: Scarlett488Date: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101866Chapter: 1
What a lovely, sweet story. It truly was full of the hope for Harry that you mentioned in your summary. I think you captured family life and more specifically, the Weasley's family life almost effortlessly. I wanted to throw myself into the warmth of the moment. Thanks for sharing the story.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101865Chapter: 1
Oh this is lovely! What a wonderful story and the characterisations are spot on! Well done.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101861Chapter: 1
Bah. That story should have won by lengths. Never mind the missed objective.

Reviewer: marieDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101853Chapter: 1
i liked it. . . i don't see why you didn't win!

Reviewer: katulaDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101852Chapter: 1
really nicely written story - That you don't include some climax kiss, but still fully satisfy H/G shippers, is quite a talent.. I really love all your writing, by the way. You've obviously got a very good understanding of the psyches behind jk's characters... definitely one of the best hp authors on sugar quill, or anywhere, for that matter...

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101825Chapter: 1
Too sweet for words! I loved this...I was SO glad to see your name on the update list...I thought you were giving us a 'surprise' extra epilogue or something...but this is just as good.

"You know, I'm tipsy enough for that to make sense."
:lol:

-PQ

Reviewer: NevDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101818Chapter: 1
That was a really beautiful story--so very very cool.

Reviewer: IlliriahRisingDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101816Chapter: 1
This was wonderful! I just love those heartwarming-slightly-angsty fics. Would it be asking too much to beg for a sequel?

Reviewer: YeopStarunDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101815Chapter: 1
This story was so sweet and so incredibly true. It's that "crossroads" feeling when you're looking forward, at the present, and remembering the past all at once, with those you love and trust around you- an amazing story, great writing style.

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101813Chapter: 1
Nice sweet fic ...

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101805Chapter: 1
ahhh That's so sweet

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101804Chapter: 1
So sweet! I especially enjoyed a tipsy Harry. Perfect ending.

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101803Chapter: 1
Yay! You have made me so happy! Keep posting! This was really cute, I really liked the whole idea of Harry forgiving Percy in order for everything to work out, that was a really neat thought...

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101786Chapter: 1
I really liked that, St. M. It reminded me of when my siblings and I had our picture done for our parent's 25th anniversary. I like how Percy came home. It's fitting that the twins would make him laugh.

Reviewer: JuliaDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101780Chapter: 1
1st review!!!REally good story. First time I've read any of you work, I'm really impressed!!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --