The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114641Chapter: 1
I quite enjoyed. thank you.

Reviewer: avidDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110716Chapter: 1
Great. Liked the dark tension of the rescue attempt, although I'd have liked a happier outcome to that part of the story!
Alphard and Sirius are very believable, as are Sirius' young companions.
Very enjoyable - I wanted more ...

Reviewer: seabourneDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102653Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful first fic! I hope to see you post many more.

Reviewer: the returned reviewerDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102295Chapter: 1
Great story. It
tells a lot about
Sirius and describes
how he found his
magic mirror.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102069Chapter: 1
Very nice story. Great explanation of where the mirrors come from, wonderful foreshadowing of events in Sirius' future, and great characterization of everyone in the story. I felt so bad for that little wolf cub!

"Bless my soul, thought Alphard this child’s mood changes more often than a boggart at a barn dance. " Great analogy. Made me giggle.

I also really liked how you began the story, showing Bellatrix as being a ringleader of the group, even if she is the younger one.

Great job! I look forward to seeing more of your work!

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102026Chapter: 1
Very enjoyable look at little Sirius, Uncle Alphard, and a nice little twist about the mirror. My favorite line was simply: "I like dogs."

Reviewer: shiningstarDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 102022Chapter: 1
Great story. I like how you captured Sirius' character. Also, you did a good job switching from Sirius' POV to Alphard's. Well done.

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101966Chapter: 1
This was really great... I loved the way you gave bits of history everywhere, it added so much to the story. The whole idea of pure-blood families rationalising their claim on the land because 'they were here first' - this is so realistic. It's what everybody uses to claim superiority in the real world. And I could just imagine the old England, full of only magical people - muttering druids and mysterious witches .. wow.

As for the dialogue and Uncle Alphard's characterization, let me just second everything that's been said here already. :)


There's only one thing that jarred me slightly in the story - the riding crop and the whole beating thing. Somehow I had imagined the Black family to be the emotional abuse sort rather than physical (and the former is certainly way more effective), and even if they didn't 'spare the rod' I can't see them taking the beating to such extremes. But this is wholly and purely my speculation and opinion, so it's not to criticise your wonderful story in any way at all.

- Wendelin

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101947Chapter: 1
Nicely done! I like the idea of Sirius as standing up to his family over something like this. I like the interactions between Sirius and Bellatrix and REgulus, too!

I hope to see more of your work, soon!

Reviewer: BobcatDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101944Chapter: 1
Nice little story. You did a really good job with the dialogue--I can totally hear the characters in my head. It looks like you might have accidentally posted a beta-reader comment, though.

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101934Chapter: 1
Well, ivy's right -- you've got a real knack for catching character "voice" -- making each character sound individual. Many writers have a problem with that, and one character sounds awfully similar to another.

Nice smooth shifting of POVs, I was never confused and knew exactly who was thinking/speaking.

Look forward to more by you!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101877Chapter: 1
I think this a great little story too!
Please keep writing, looking forward to your next.

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101812Chapter: 1
this is cool i hope there is more or a sequel.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101801Chapter: 1
Oops, I said that wrong. I know it's horrible that it's any Werewolf, I just meant since we know Remus and everything. But it's sick that it happens, period.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-10-19
Reviewid: 101799Chapter: 1
Wow, I really liked the irony of this! Did the rest go through with the hunt, though? I'm glad you imply they didn't find Remus, at least. :( That would be so horrible.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --